the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby mero » May 11th, 2025, 10:55 am

alfa wrote:Tbh washing wares with gun on your waist seems extreme but these guys who applied for personal protection weapon would know the reason why. Recently I did a firearms course and a classmate told me even when he's watching tv and playing with the dog his pistol is within arms reach. This is an older big belly dude who has his decades now, not the metro gym rat type who now get ful and looking to flams.

A former special forces guy once told me even when he on the beach in his swim trunks he has his piece 'discreetly concealed' and just cleans and lubes the gun and ammo after. It's s Glock so no rust. I didn't bother to ask where exactly he conceales it and no it wasn't no funny man discussion but genuine carry mindset he was trying to impart

Hopefully neither of those situations ever reaches me but those guys know why they carry the way they do. Trinidad ain't for the light hearted

Key words, special forces and seasoned FUL holder. But better than me. Can't imagine having to deal with that responsibility and just living my life normal. Better to have it and not need it than need it when u don't have it but I cool dey.

Sure yuh breden swimming in tiny mid thigh trunks too lmao

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 11:02 am

mero wrote:
alfa wrote:Tbh washing wares with gun on your waist seems extreme but these guys who applied for personal protection weapon would know the reason why. Recently I did a firearms course and a classmate told me even when he's watching tv and playing with the dog his pistol is within arms reach. This is an older big belly dude who has his decades now, not the metro gym rat type who now get ful and looking to flams.

A former special forces guy once told me even when he on the beach in his swim trunks he has his piece 'discreetly concealed' and just cleans and lubes the gun and ammo after. It's s Glock so no rust. I didn't bother to ask where exactly he conceales it and no it wasn't no funny man discussion but genuine carry mindset he was trying to impart

Hopefully neither of those situations ever reaches me but those guys know why they carry the way they do. Trinidad ain't for the light hearted

Key words, special forces and seasoned FUL holder. But better than me. Can't imagine having to deal with that responsibility and just living my life normal. Better to have it and not need it than need it when u don't have it but I cool dey.

Sure yuh breden swimming in tiny mid thigh trunks too lmao
Honesty is good for the soul .
NOT EVERYBODY who apply going to get .

While allyuh trolling, it hsve people like time lapse who are easily rattled and push the propaganda hard, making things unnecessarily difficult

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2025, 11:38 am

makes sense

when bandits robbing you in public in 2s and 3s it really don’t make sense to engage and run high risk of everybody dead including yourself
and no doubt them bandits will adjust their robbing protocols to suit

j.o.e wrote:Everyone’s situation, lifestyle and risks different. With a FUL my focus is on home protection but can’t knock anyone who wants to carry 100% of the time. I would really pick and choose when I carry. A gun is a big responsibility and sometimes a hassle.

Postby j.o.e » May 11th, 2025, 11:47 am

pugboy wrote:makes sense

when bandits robbing you in public in 2s and 3s it really don’t make sense to engage and run high risk of everybody dead including yourself
and no doubt them bandits will adjust their robbing protocols to suit

j.o.e wrote:Everyone’s situation, lifestyle and risks different. With a FUL my focus is on home protection but can’t knock anyone who wants to carry 100% of the time. I would really pick and choose when I carry. A gun is a big responsibility and sometimes a hassle.

Plus I don’t feel like I am at risk in public based on where I am and times of day. Don’t move flashy, don’t do cash transactions at banks, don’t drive a in demand car for thieves, not around any gambling etc
I more at risk of collateral damage and a gun wouldn’t help in that case.

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2025, 11:51 am

Mero,

What about the FUL holder who purposely walking around with the firearm printing through the clothes or the fake “stretch” where they raise their hands so their shirt could raise and ppl can see dey carrying

LOL

Postby 16 cycles » May 11th, 2025, 11:54 am

some folks just want to know they have to tools to protect their home and family if it comes to that...one person jumping a wall to pick a zabocar is different from 5 persons in the night trying to break in your home.

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2025, 12:13 pm

I agree with giving ALL citizens firearms for stand your ground laws and home defense only.

ONLY Effective air rifles would be best, but if it goes along the lines of shotguns and pistols….keep that at home and when you emptying d clip, make sure your property is secure so as to not spray the houses/occupants around.

Personal carry should not be overly approved….the general irresponsible population should not have firearms in public.

NO Firearms in:

Schools
Banks
Rivers
Beaches
Malls
Bars
Restaurants
Govt Offices
Groceries

Stay your ass at home and stand your ground and wait for the home invaders and mango pickers and leh gooooo.

Let us be reminded that the TTPS also has their job to do.

Postby 88sins » May 11th, 2025, 1:13 pm

Max, that's why I always say, shotguns for everyone who wants them.
It eh easy to hide a 12 gauge with an 18" barrel, even if it's a bullpup, and that's more than enough for home or business defense applications.
Additionally, unless you're are a hunter, it has no reason to leave your property other than for the purposes of going to the range for training and practice, or to the smithy for repairs or upgrades, or for disposal by sale or destruction.

I am all for arming the public that wants arms. but I'd prefer it be done in a way that lends itself in support of responsible ownership and usage.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2025, 1:21 pm

max that is called small t**** syndrome

MaxPower wrote:Mero,

What about the FUL holder who purposely walking around with the firearm printing through the clothes or the fake “stretch” where they raise their hands so their shirt could raise and ppl can see dey carrying

LOL

Postby mero » May 11th, 2025, 5:05 pm

MaxPower wrote:Mero,

LOL
Telling me. Worse yet when they head nice and trying to impress a lil smally or Spanish.

Same smally and Spanish who putting them in place to get rob.

Imagine when the General public, once they have a coc and fit fhe "requirements" get their hands on it. Real marrow flying

matix

Postby matix » May 11th, 2025, 6:33 pm

mero wrote:
mero wrote:Guns in the hands of cowards and already paranoid men who does want to cross the road when they see a creole walking on the same side is a recipe for disaster waiting to happen..

FUL screening should consist of social media posts and heavy psychometric and mental evaluations cuz like half a allyuh who want gun not right in allyuh head.

X3000.

Brandishing like that for any and everything.

The FUL requirements are way too easy to fulfill and “law abiding” and “responsibility” is difficult to really determine.

I have said it before….the insecure small coco man that sending death threats to he woman/hornerman, the village drunk that beating the wife/children, the road rage ignoranters, the questionable social media posters…….they can all be easily shown as law abiding on paper.
Almost every new recipient i see who acquired a firearm suddenly became obsessed with it till it become their personality and identity, from business man to bad boy. That power is not for everybody. Thay is a serious burden and responsibility to carry.

Suddenly men want men test them and trying to put themselves in unnecessary situations to pull it or talking talk where they could use it, as if it not gonna be the beginning of a new set of problems they not ready for.

Man washing wares with gun on dey waist. Men checking in on d gun every 15 minutes, man taking selfie, men showing everybody it. Madness

You’re clearly around some real life panty men

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 8:17 pm

Let's say there are certain parts of the country where the crime rate is markedly lower , and FUL will try to extend that gratuity to other parts but by legal means.

Postby RBphoto » May 14th, 2025, 2:02 pm

So Tants say to apply for the FUL. can someone post the current procedure?. Also, the "reason" for application, can it be for "Protection of self and property, hunting and professional marksmanship?" Would that get my application thrown out?

Postby alfa » May 14th, 2025, 2:09 pm

RBphoto wrote:So Tants say to apply for the FUL. can someone post the current procedure?. Also, the "reason" for application, can it be for "Protection of self and property, hunting and professional marksmanship?" Would that get my application thrown out?

My advice is to wait until they roll out whatever new legislation they coming with in case they change the whole application procedure.
As it stands get a form # 1 and 16 from govt printery in caroni and together with a cert of character drop into firearms dept corner or park and Richmond street pos.
You can apply for any of the above reasons but as it stands you must have proof to justify it, eg letter from sport shooting association, land deed etc

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2025, 2:26 pm

the form info is pretty basic
it’s really when they come to interview you to see your situation
assuming not going thru the “fee” route

RBphoto wrote:So Tants say to apply for the FUL. can someone post the current procedure?. Also, the "reason" for application, can it be for "Protection of self and property, hunting and professional marksmanship?" Would that get my application thrown out?

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2025, 1:23 am

Use allyuh head and have some patience.

They did say they are or may be changing some requirements.

Rushing to apply with no new system/procedure/guidelines in place is just causing unnecessary paperwork and a waste of manpower for those receiving the docs.

So what is it? Allyuh rush to apply and when they ask for more requirements, allyuh rush to get that? Make a guess as to how many docs will be all over the place and would never even reach the files.

An inefficient system will encourage processing fees eh.

Postby hover11 » May 19th, 2025, 11:35 am

FUL PROCESS TO BE DONE ONLINE

ACTING Police Commissioner Junior Benjamin says there has been a noticeable post-election increase in Firearm User Licence (FUL) applications and the police service is embracing technology to deal with the expected continuous rise.

The UNC, while in opposition, promised to make legal gun ownership easier if it won the election.

https://www.facebook.com/share/15LZANAiRF/

Postby redmanjp » May 19th, 2025, 11:42 am

hover11 wrote:FUL PROCESS TO BE DONE ONLINE

ACTING Police Commissioner Junior Benjamin says there has been a noticeable post-election increase in Firearm User Licence (FUL) applications and the police service is embracing technology to deal with the expected continuous rise.

The UNC, while in opposition, promised to make legal gun ownership easier if it won the election.

https://www.facebook.com/share/15LZANAiRF/

by the way, the move to online was not triggered by UNC winning or the surge in applications, it was in the works before

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2025, 11:51 am

“System Down”

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2025, 12:02 pm

submitting is one thing
what system they putting for follow up years down the road whilst yuh seeing ppl get just a few months after applying?

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2025, 12:19 pm

pugboy wrote:submitting is one thing
what system they putting for follow up years down the road whilst yuh seeing ppl get just a few months after applying?

The Govt has announced to revamp the process and also mentioned there will/maybe some additional requirements.

These dotish empty d clip mentality Trinis do not even know what is the new process and additions and still gone to apply to flood out the system again? More so, why did Kyamila even tell them to apply with no new system.

T&T eh ready to do this online. You gonna have every tom/dick/harry who have criminal records, not even of age, dont meet the requirements, cant even fill out a form properly or upload a document in pdf who just gonna keep back the process even more.

Put everything on pause, reset everything if you must, set up the new system and then invite applicants. Have a proper appointment system where applicants come in with their documents and be interviewed in person and once all the criteria is met…then load it up in the system for another department to action in a timely manner.

pug yuh right….the way they start already…men gonna get through in a week while others waiting for years….yuh don know what going on. I tell allyuh before men hungry for long now and money hadda make back and they will structure the system accordingly.

Postby alfa » May 19th, 2025, 12:19 pm

That eliminates this dotish trip to Caroni just to get a form.
But yeah everyone waiting to hear what they doing about the backlog and how fast new applications will be processed

Postby redmanjp » May 19th, 2025, 12:58 pm

alfa wrote:That eliminates this dotish trip to Caroni just to get a form.
But yeah everyone waiting to hear what they doing about the backlog and how fast new applications will be processed

we need divisional units, cyah be 1 unit for d whole country - at least to take care of the backlog and the surge in applications
Last edited by redmanjp on May 19th, 2025, 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2025, 1:05 pm

i don’t see that happening at least for divisional
will have plenty corruption possible that way

we can be sure them cops waiting to see what the new “systems” will be put in place and how they can work around it

redmanjp wrote:

we nee\d divisional units, cyah be 1 unit for d whole country - at least to take care of the backlog and the surge in applications

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2025, 1:10 pm

Listen we need efficiency.

We need a system just as when you applying for a US Visa.

Fill out your forms and lies online, print and walk with all documents and lies for the interview.

Right there and then you should be told whether you qualify or not.

Postby hover11 » May 19th, 2025, 1:33 pm

MaxPower wrote:Listen we need efficiency.

We need a system just as when you applying for a US Visa.

Fill out your forms and lies online, print and walk with all documents and lies for the interview.

Right there and then you should be told whether you qualify or not.
Check us back next 50 years for that. We still using paper based files and forms in ministries and state organizations. You know the same thing we been using since 1962(independence )

Postby redmanjp » May 19th, 2025, 2:09 pm

pugboy wrote:i don’t see that happening at least for divisional
will have plenty corruption possible that way

we can be sure them cops waiting to see what the new “systems” will be put in place and how they can work around it

redmanjp wrote:

we nee\d divisional units, cyah be 1 unit for d whole country - at least to take care of the backlog and the surge in applications

less likely with a digital system- plenty auditing can happen - it logs who accessed what file and who edit , delete it, from what IP, etc. customer should ideally also be able to track the process. that's why some ppl at licensing objected to digitalization - cuz it removes corruption or at least tracks what is happening

with a database there is no misplacing of files or putting somebody file at d top because u got 'processing fees'

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2025, 2:35 pm

tracking is definitely needed along the way
but it still ends up in finality at the desk of a human to make final “approval”

unlike a drivers license where you physically perform the test in public

during the height of the gg feeding frenzy
ppl were getting responses from ful dept within a month or two that their applications were approved and “awaiting signature”
which of course was simply a message to let you know now is the time to get your friend gun dealer involved

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2025, 3:28 pm

The majority of Trinis are too lawless and irresponsible.

Too many Trinis with FULs is a problem, they like to jackass everything.

We should be focusing on improving the TTPS.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » May 19th, 2025, 3:39 pm

MaxPower wrote:The majority of Trinis are too lawless and irresponsible.

Too many Trinis with FULs is a problem, they like to jackass everything.

We should be focusing on improving the TTPS.

it's easy to say "improve the ttps", when no one seems to have any feasible idea of how to do so. most arguments like "root out corruption" or "increase bar for entry" falls flat when faced with the reality of the situation.

and most importantly, the police can only act once a crime has been committed. in the case of a home invasion or robbery, it is already too late for that.

the only answer to get a hand back on the wheel within the next few years is for the citizens to help with the task of eradication. the jackassery we can deal with when the time comes