New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2019, 8:42 am

screwbash wrote:is still say is what we not reading or hearing is the real reason. it has to be a bigger picture for all this ? first we line up for gas, den we line up for money, dry season 2020 we mite hadda line up for water, den probably food or medication. are they trying to see how much we suffers will take before we riot? or are they conditioning the population for things to come? or are they frustrating the population so that we will all vote for the opposition next year as they cannot run the country? the previous govt like they did the same ting in the last GE probably hoping the incoming would setup the property tax and close the refinery and do the hard task, jus like when panday setup caroni to close but let manning close it and them indian still vote for the unc after that.

Consider UNC/PNM as the orange party that wants to maintain 100% control. Now everything you just said makes perfect sense.

Postby MaxPower » December 13th, 2019, 8:42 am

I must commend the US Embassy on their strict stance on this transition.

Come on locals, get with the times before you BEG for visa.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » December 13th, 2019, 8:45 am

Redman wrote:So the barber was paying taxes and Nis like the rest of us?

He paying rent? Ttec equipment consumables etc?

How manyof us keep all our gross income?

Does the barber EVEN EXIST ?

Just because people name Rowley, Young, Imbert , Al Rental etc stand up infront of a camera and say something , doesn't automatically mean that what they saying is true.

Especially when we watching video after video of people getting rob - and hearing story after story from people we actually know- but people name Young and Imbert saying 'well that is anecdotal so wee kya take on dat :) :mrgreen: '

And then they proceed to tell we some anecdote about a barber :roll: ,,,,,who hear that d gobbament trying to flush out people who hoarding money and that you have to account for where you got your money from - AND that they eh just exchanging the money jus so jus so,,,,,,,,

- and so marches right up and into a bank with a duffel bag or carib case with a whole one million dollars - not $603,026, or $425600 nooo --Exaaactllyyy One Meeleeonee dollars ---a nice big round number for your mind to take een.

And all ah we hearing that and going 'hmmm !' "eh heh !' and 'kee kee kee'.

Something I have noticed having attended PNM rallies - they always have these little entertaining segues - these little stories, or tales and examples that are never really specific - but does just happen to perfectly illustrate and justify what the person behind the mic is trying to tell you - and most importantly - it does keep the crowd going 'hmmm !' 'eh heh !' and 'kee kee kee' .

Postby sMASH » December 13th, 2019, 8:51 am

that is the fault of the barber and the difference between him and imburt. imburt's taxes and money behaviour would be able to explain his amount, while the barber most likely wasnt filing enough taxes, and deposit history wasnt showing that he would have the income stream to explain it.

so, al lot of money will become demonetized. and imagine if they have a lot more printed than was in circulation. u dont have an increase of notes floating around causing print-money inflation, u just have a shift, in who holds the value. as the barber just lost a million, the govt gained a million, without pushing inflation.

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2019, 8:55 am

Short man say business owners can refuse the old notes as it's a private transaction. Charging a 5% tax on the cotton bills well I doh know about dat one.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 13th, 2019, 9:02 am

bluefete wrote:Is this legal? No use to call for a boycott because we do not stand up for anything.

But if the US Embassy can do it and the gov't says nothing, then who is Prestige Holdings.

KFC, Starbucks, Subway not taking old $100s after Dec 23

Offer ends December 25th

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 13th, 2019, 9:04 am

Went rbl S/park for some change yesterday. 20s done, 50s done, singles done. Only tens and some 5s
Phone Surgeon wrote:Real ppl going to buy soft drink and chewing gum with $100 note lol.

Just now 20s will run out all over

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2019, 9:08 am

Those are private businesses. They have the right to refuse service to a customer based on whatever rules they decide for their establishment. The customer has a right to boycott the business if they are not happy with the services provided (lol boycott KFC in Trinidad, yeah right).

The Macoya NAMDEVCO market was a problem because that's a government institution (NAMDEVCO was created by Act of Parliament No. 16 of 1991) and hence cannot go against what the government says about the old currency deadline. That's why the Minister stated publicly that that notice was illegal.

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2019, 9:28 am

hydroep wrote:So there's actually a benefit of being poor — who would've thunk it...
Self employed does not mean being poor. Most are very crafty in spending and saving.

Working for yourself can be good only downside is you have no pension to collect unless you have a private one.
Then agian you can't get a loan from the banks or Visas ect.

I know loads of folk in this group and they don't depend on goverment or hand outs.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2019, 9:30 am

Self employed paying rent or Bills is not our problem.

NIS in this country is a rip off and nothing more that a ponzi scheme for PNM and 1% to abuse

We get no value for taxes paid in country.

I gave up working in this country over 10 years and stopped PAYE and NIS. It is very little benefit to me.

There is a very big segment of the population for whom the NIS system is a massive help and its presence is critical to their lives. From pensions to sick benefits to the funeral grant. Because you a big shot don't mean they aren't average joes who it helps out.

Even I myself was surprised this year to learn that Widowers benefit applies after a contributor stopped working. My mother was eligible for a Widower's benefit when my father passed away in March. She gets something like $1200/month even though my father was a retiree for 13 years.

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2019, 9:55 am

Self employed paying rent or Bills is not our problem.

NIS in this country is a rip off and nothing more that a ponzi scheme for PNM and 1% to abuse

We get no value for taxes paid in country.

I gave up working in this country over 10 years and stopped PAYE and NIS. It is very little benefit to me.

There is a very big segment of the population for whom the NIS system is a massive help and its presence is critical to their lives. From pensions to sick benefits to the funeral grant. Because you a big shot don't mean they aren't average joes who it helps out.

Even I myself was surprised this year to learn that Widowers benefit applies after a contributor stopped working. My mother was eligible for a Widower's benefit when my father passed away in March. She gets something like $1200/month even though my father was a retiree for 13 years.
Bro I paid into the NIS for over 20 years so at 60 I have my pension to collect.

NIS does little to tell you what benefits you are entitled too. They try to barr you from claiming what is due to you.

You had to learn about benefits, that explains how they operate.

It's a con job

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2019, 10:01 am

yup
nis does give u hell for spite

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2019, 10:05 am

pugboy wrote:yup

I dunno.
In my experience they are efficient but maybe with death they try harder and do better because with father earlier this year the funeral grant was approved and disbursed within 2 days and the Widows Benefit for my mother was approved within a month.

Apart from that I have no experience with them except for the contributions I make.

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2019, 10:13 am

pugboy wrote:yup

I dunno.
In my experience they are efficient but maybe with death they try harder and do better because with father earlier this year the funeral grant was approved and disbursed within 2 days and the Widows Benefit for my mother was approved within a month.

Apart from that I have no experience with them except for the contributions I make.
They very quick with death cause they stop the pension at once.

All other benefits is HYMC

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2019, 10:15 am

too much stress with this $100 drama?

https://guardian.co.tt/news/bank-employee-collapses-dies-6.2.1007217.cd310f5944
Bank employee collapses, dies
A Sco­tia­bank em­ploy­ee at­tached to the Ch­agua­nas Main Road branch col­lapsed on the job and was lat­er pro­nounced dead.

In­sid­ers told Guardian Me­dia that the woman in her for­ties was at­tend­ing to cus­tomers when she col­lapsed around 2:45 p.m.

Sources say there were at­tempts to re­vive the Sco­tia­bank em­ploy­ee but it proved un­suc­cess­ful. She was lat­er tak­en by a Med­ical As­so­ciates am­bu­lance to a pri­vate med­ical in­sti­tu­tion where she was pro­nounced dead.

Since the gov­ern­ment an­nounced the changes to the new $100 poly­mer bill, banks have been asked to open longer hours to help fa­cil­i­tate the changeover.

Sev­er­al banks across the coun­try have been faced with long lines as cus­tomers rush to beat the De­cem­ber 31 dead­line of ex­chang­ing their old $100 notes for the new poly­mer note.

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2019, 10:15 am

they asked my mom for payment slips of her working life

how many of you have or keep payment slips ?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2019, 10:19 am

pugboy wrote:they asked my mom for payment slips of her working life

I have all my payslips going back to 2004

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2019, 10:21 am

I keep my end of year tax returns showing all my NIS payments.

Plus NIS Sends you a statement from time to time showing what you paid.

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2019, 10:24 am

Rbl by south Park is 24 hour

assassin

Postby assassin » December 13th, 2019, 10:33 am

Lou Screuz wrote:

Does the barber EVEN EXIST ?

Just because people name Rowley, Young, Imbert , Al Rental etc stand up infront of a camera and say something , doesn't automatically mean that what they saying is true.

Especially when we watching video after video of people getting rob - and hearing story after story from people we actually know- but people name Young and Imbert saying 'well that is anecdotal so wee kya take on dat :) :mrgreen: '

And then they proceed to tell we some anecdote about a barber :roll: ,,,,,who hear that d gobbament trying to flush out people who hoarding money and that you have to account for where you got your money from - AND that they eh just exchanging the money jus so jus so,,,,,,,,

- and so marches right up and into a bank with a duffel bag or carib case with a whole one million dollars - not $603,026, or $425600 nooo --Exaaactllyyy One Meeleeonee dollars ---a nice big round number for your mind to take een.

And all ah we hearing that and going 'hmmm !' "eh heh !' and 'kee kee kee'.

Something I have noticed having attended PNM rallies - they always have these little entertaining segues - these little stories, or tales and examples that are never really specific - but does just happen to perfectly illustrate and justify what the person behind the mic is trying to tell you - and most importantly - it does keep the crowd going 'hmmm !' 'eh heh !' and 'kee kee kee' .
This man gets it
A barber, a bank and a million in cash
...has the makings of some wonderful stand up comedy

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 13th, 2019, 10:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:Rbl by south Park is 24 hour
Opening/business Hours?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 13th, 2019, 10:35 am

On a side note, anybody know where to get the pocket sized UV lights in South? Going gulf later to check but if you know anywhere else...

Postby hydroep » December 13th, 2019, 10:35 am

All slips for the last six years stapled to my Income Tax Returns...:|

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2019, 10:37 am

viedcht wrote:
Opening/business Hours?

like dey want rbl employees to kill out deyself like the scotiabank employee i posted above?

Postby Rovin » December 13th, 2019, 11:02 am

1st customer for d day a older man comes with a old 100 to buy 2yds of solder wire worth $10 , didnt want to refuse him & is 1st sale for d day ... yea i know , dise small ting i will spend it in d grocery normal

Postby Rovin » December 13th, 2019, 11:05 am

so hear nuh wey roget , abdullah , watson duke & all dem trade union man - it suppose to have about a dozen of dem , all on vacation or all of dem gone away ... where have all d usual complainers gone

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 13th, 2019, 11:09 am

^out of all the businesses, I wouldn't expect supermarkets to refuse the old bills until maybe last Monday of the year. Maybe the Chinese and small minimarts will refuse. Irony is that they more cash based than the larger supermarkets.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 13th, 2019, 11:10 am

Rovin wrote:so hear nuh wey roget , abdullah , watson duke & all dem trade union man - it suppose to have about a dozen of dem , all on vacation or all of dem gone away ... where have all d usual complainers gone
Too busy looking for the seasonal free rum

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2019, 11:10 am

viedcht wrote:
Opening/business Hours?
To deposit in ATM

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 13th, 2019, 12:24 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:You can just deposit using the atm in RBL south park and withdraw some of the new bills one time

in and out 20 mins, no need for tellers

they have a max amount to deposit? asking for a friend

waited for it to show up in my account before i responded

i just did it in batches of 5k in the envelopes, no problems with the atm or the account balance