Choice of Car

Re: Choice of Car

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 1st, 2019, 6:35 pm

KIA vehicles look good, drive of a new vehicle is nice (drove the rio, cerato, optima at the expense of my work place and they drive pretty decent)...

Problem with Korean vehicles is as many others say: the stealership...plain and simple

2: parts are difficult to get
3: sheity resale

Toyota
Nissan

And what ever pleases your mind after...cuz face it, the avg person only keeps a car for around 5-7 years before selling only is some kinda prpject they going to do....notice how "project" vehicles, as old as they are, holding price...look @

R32-34
S14-15
3rd gen
Altezza

Postby aaron17 » November 2nd, 2019, 10:18 am

When you add too many features in a car..it have a higher chance of breaking.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » November 2nd, 2019, 1:04 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:KIA vehicles look good, drive of a new vehicle is nice (drove the rio, cerato, optima at the expense of my work place and they drive pretty decent)...

Problem with Korean vehicles is as many others say: the stealership...plain and simple

2: parts are difficult to get
3: sheity resale

Toyota
Nissan

And what ever pleases your mind after...cuz face it, the avg person only keeps a car for around 5-7 years before selling only is some kinda prpject they going to do....notice how "project" vehicles, as old as they are, holding price...look @

R32-34
S14-15
3rd gen
Altezza
B14

rebound

Postby rebound » November 2nd, 2019, 5:13 pm

I hear you but, my experience with multiple vehicles over the years have been great...I can only speak for me.
kamakazi wrote:
rebound wrote:I know some would disagree but, Toyota's Service has been excellent for me and well, the vehicle itself is known to be reliable as well.
Know that saying ignorance is bliss. If you saw what was done to your vehicle... You might say something different; or they probably change, but I doubt that.

I've seen their work and their "specialized tools". It's probably worse for someone who can do servicing themselves to see amateurs or people who don't care about your property work on your vehicle. Then again most external mechanics are worse but they charge accordingly.

Probably best if you never know.

Postby gastly369 » November 2nd, 2019, 5:29 pm

I import all the oem parts for the optima we got at home at less than 1/2 price dealership and have a good mech... 2013 model no issues thus far.... Think the issue for kia is prob the "name" and the stigma that's made in Korea from a trini point of view

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » November 2nd, 2019, 7:07 pm

There is a simple reason why Toyota is the number 1 car manufacturer in the world..quality

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2019, 8:39 pm

I have a problem with sufferers wanting to buy Toyotas......especially the annoying Trini wave that buying the foreign used ones mainly Aqua and Axio....running the car to the ground and blaming the manufacturer smh......

Allyuh ONLY buy $60k and under Nissans and HYMC na

msg1

Postby msg1 » October 14th, 2020, 6:23 pm

Getting a lot of advice to stay away from the 2016 RORO Altis (Singapore). Can anyone shed some light on what's the story with that car?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 14th, 2020, 7:14 pm

msg1 wrote:Getting a lot of advice to stay away from the 2016 RORO Altis (Singapore). Can anyone shed some light on what's the story with that car?

My old man using one as a daily driver going on 2 years and no issues. Stick with regular fluid changes as every other vehicle and you good to go

msg1

Postby msg1 » October 14th, 2020, 7:25 pm

One dealer was telling me that because the parts are unavailable if it gets hit, insuring the car is a problem at times.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 14th, 2020, 7:43 pm

Previously, the older Altis based on the E12x frame came with 3ZZ-FE and 1ZZ-FE. For the few that came with the 1ZZ, those engines were apparently more reliable than the 3ZZ. So 3ZZ's kinda got a bad rep here hence NZE's would carry generally better resale than an Altis. In addition, the local and JDM version of the E12x came predominantly with the 1NZ-FE which are more robust.

Do take note though, it's not all rosy with NZE's either. If they suffer EPS failure, you can feel free to hold your head and bawl because I was told that is pressure. On the other hand, those older Altis's have conventional belt-driven hydraulic power assist steering.

Now with the newer E17x frame, the Altis shares the same engine as the locals which is the 1ZR-FE. So it (Singapore Altis) shouldn't be any less reliable than an E170 supplied by TTTL.

Maybe the "issues" is all about the engine mapping and how it was tuned to handle Singapore petrol which I would imagine is different to trini petrol. But in the absence of proper evidence, I would say neither is superior to the other.

msg1

Postby msg1 » October 14th, 2020, 7:53 pm

Well boy...the talk was that there are and will be no parts for it in the bamboo if it does get hit, cuz nobody brings parts for the Singapore models. So I say lemme ask.
Doh mind TTTL model is same engine but different transmission.

msg1

Postby msg1 » October 14th, 2020, 7:54 pm

msg1 wrote:Well boy...the talk was that there are and will be no parts for it in the bamboo if it does get hit, cuz nobody brings parts for the Singapore models. So I say lemme ask.
Doh mind TTTL model is same engine but different transmission.

I think different transmission.