Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » October 29th, 2019, 12:41 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:Good morning guys , anyone can point me in the direction where to get this please.

Remind me what this is again p!ease?
It is a bench chain vise.

Yup...would not have guessed that. Ever.
If you have ever had to cut and thread steel pipe (a lot of steel pipe), you would probably have one mounted on the rear bumper of your truck.

So anybody could tell me where i can get one ?
I believe that I saw the handheld Vise-Grip model at SSL about a year ago but I have never seen a bench chain vise for sale in Trinidad. It is not typically a common vise in my experience.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:Good morning guys , anyone can point me in the direction where to get this please.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 30th, 2019, 7:47 am

adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

If you have ever had to cut and thread steel pipe (a lot of steel pipe), you would probably have one mounted on the rear bumper of your truck.

I believe that I saw the handheld Vise-Grip model at SSL about a year ago but I have never seen a bench chain vise for sale in Trinidad. It is not typically a common vise in my experience.

Called ssl they are out of stock , allied has it $1900 for it. SSL had it for $3000 or so

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 7:55 am

I've seen the non mounted ones, like an oil filter wrench in auto places
if you handy and can weld its not hard to take one and rig up a table mount for it

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 30th, 2019, 7:56 am

adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Called ssl they are out of stock , allied has it $1900 for it. SSL had it for $3000 or so

Postby adnj » October 30th, 2019, 10:56 am

trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Do you recall what brand and what size for $1900?

Postby rspann » October 30th, 2019, 12:02 pm

I saw it by the tool shop in Duncan Village. I got my pipe threader there.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » October 30th, 2019, 12:20 pm

adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Do you recall what brand and what size for $1900?

brand is rigid , 1/8 in. to 4 in. BC410P Top-Screw Bench Chain Vise

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 12:50 pm

I in Duncan vlg now
Will pass and see if they havr

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2019, 1:01 pm

They don’t have, first time I went there
It is basically a harbor freight shop yes

Postby Ted_v2 » October 31st, 2019, 9:24 pm

i agree, some of their pricing are good, others are not.

as of recent im buying 90 percent of my tools on amazon, Everything coming out alot cheaper.

LDG

Postby LDG » November 2nd, 2019, 9:42 am

hydroep wrote:
amd-dude wrote:Hey guys you all know where I can get one of those hand pump vacuum kits for bleeding brakes/clutches. Like this:

https://www.harborfreight.com/brake-ble ... 63391.html

Swore I saw these down here before but not so much luck now. Preferably south, checked allied, didn't see any.

LDG Tool Store.

Stanley One Man Brake Bleeder w/Bot (STA78-036) at The Tool Store at Laughlin & De Gannes
Please call 800-4LDG to check current price and availability at the branch nearest you.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 2nd, 2019, 11:42 am

Price?
LDG wrote:
hydroep wrote:
amd-dude wrote:Hey guys you all know where I can get one of those hand pump vacuum kits for bleeding brakes/clutches. Like this:

https://www.harborfreight.com/brake-ble ... 63391.html

Swore I saw these down here before but not so much luck now. Preferably south, checked allied, didn't see any.

LDG Tool Store.

Stanley One Man Brake Bleeder w/Bot (STA78-036) at The Tool Store at Laughlin & De Gannes
Please call 800-4LDG to check current price and availability at the branch nearest you.

Postby X_Factor » November 2nd, 2019, 3:58 pm

anyone using the bissell extractor type vacuum
little green etc?

wanna get one and want some reviews

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2019, 4:02 pm

I have the little green
Works great but water doesn’t really get hot just a lil warm.
The suction is good, I spray Tuff stuff as the detergent.

X_Factor wrote:anyone using the bissell extractor type vacuum
little green etc?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 2nd, 2019, 4:46 pm

I have the spotclean
Works good
little green etc?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 2nd, 2019, 5:34 pm

Fellaz
For installing purlin screws into roofing....

Drill or impact driver is the better tool?

carluva

Postby carluva » November 2nd, 2019, 5:41 pm

I have one and it is excellent.

I bought it July and so far I have done the carpet in our Fortuner and the kitchen chairs.

It came with a lil bottle of the bissell solution which I mix in the water dispenser with warm water.

Now here's where this machine shines. Before i use it, I spray some turtle Wax or 3m upholstery cleaner. Let that sit for a bit, scrub gently using a brush or the brush on the bissell and then vacuum out the carpet. This is done a section at a time in the van or for one kitchen chair at a time.

I kid you not when I say that I like to think that I keep my vehicle clean but when I was cleaning, the vacuumed mix in the waste container looked like Coca-Cola. It was awful. After that the carpet in the van was fresh and clean.

Takes some time though as the entire Fortuner took me about two or three hours but it was worth it.

5 kitchen chairs, bottom only as the backrest is wood, took less than an hour.

Next thing I plan to use it on will be couch, if I don't replace the same first, as it's in dire straits.

I say it is well worth the 85 USD I paid for it. It's not commercial grade so you will have to take some time to complete your job which is no big deal if doing a Fortuner project annually, IMO.

While you are at it, look at the McCulloch MC1275 steam cleaner. I paid 119 for it and used it to clean the grease from our range hood. Worked flawlessly and good was cleaned in an hour. It has great pressure too so it'll make quick work of tough grease patches.

Anyway I say but the little green. You will not be disappointed.
little green etc?

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2019, 5:45 pm

Impact

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2019, 7:04 pm

It’s when you use it on your seatbelt and realize how dirty that is too

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 2nd, 2019, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:Impact

Impact is not required. It's just unnecessary noise in that application.
Purlin screws require the speed of a drill to create the hole which is then an exact size for the thread and does not require the force an impact can provide. Maybe if you screwing into wood an impact will be beneficial but I can't see it for metal.
You need variable speed if nothing else.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 2nd, 2019, 8:08 pm

A worker want a cordless drill to finish a roof
I have both: 3spd impact dr. And 3spd hammer drill.
I kinda unconfortable lending my tools to ppl.
So i wanna give him the correct thing, so they get the job done quickly and efficiently.
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Purlin screws require the speed of a drill to create the hole which is then an exact size for the thread and does not require the force an impact can provide. Maybe if you screwing into wood an impact will be beneficial but I can't see it for metal.

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2019, 8:11 pm

Regular drill is around 2400rpm
Impact tend to be closer to 3000

Postby adnj » November 3rd, 2019, 8:37 am

*KRONIK* wrote:A worker want a cordless drill to finish a roof
I have both: 3spd impact dr. And 3spd hammer drill.
I kinda unconfortable lending my tools to ppl.
So i wanna give him the correct thing, so they get the job done quickly and efficiently.
Strugglerzinc wrote:

A cordless drill/driver will spin fast enough to install a drill point screw. The problem is typically installing the screw at too high a torque, so a tool with torque control should be used. Just dial in the proper torque and screw it down until the screw stops.

Most local roof installers seem to use #10 or #12 screws.Image

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2019, 8:43 am

Thanks guys

Will give him the cordless drill and set it midway for him.

Postby hydroep » November 3rd, 2019, 9:19 am

Allyuh good yes. Long time a tradesman used to walk with his own tools, these days is borrow, borrow and borrow.

Doh mind lending a hammer, saw or something so but not power tools nuh. Next thing they damage it and leave you there with yuh mouth open...:|

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2019, 9:42 am

This is what i worried about....
But its a job that we managing and we returned the generator already, so they need to finish out a small section of galavanise and ridge cap.
Its not cost effective to rent and transport a generator for a half day's work.
So cordless tools was the next option.
The builder had his own tools, but the site has absolutely no electricity.

I dont usually lend my tools, especially unsupervised.

At a crossroads here now, cuz they want it for tomorrow.
hydroep wrote:Allyuh good yes. Long time a tradesman used to walk with his own tools, these days is borrow, borrow and borrow.

Doh mind lending a hammer, saw or something so but not power tools nuh. Next thing they damage it and leave you there with yuh mouth open...:|

hindian

Postby hindian » November 3rd, 2019, 9:49 am

Regular variable speed drill for me. I did that trade for 11 years and never used impact or slip chuck drills once. The trick is when to know to let the trigger go to avoid pulling the screw too much causing the roofing sheet to sink thereby creating a potential future leak. You might need a fairly powerful drill because sometimes you may be required to go through double lapped purlins and a cheapo unit might not have the beans.

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 9:49 am

it is more fun to use impact driver though
whirrrrrr, clack clack

you should try and get your own small generator, like a 2000 size
one person can lift and could power a fridge etc in event natural gas run out

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2019, 10:38 am

Yea
The drill is the big dewalt 3spd 20v hammer drill.
So power is not an issue.
hindian wrote:Regular variable speed drill for me. I did that trade for 11 years and never used impact or slip chuck drills once. The trick is when to know to let the trigger go to avoid pulling the screw too much causing the roofing sheet to sink thereby creating a potential future leak. You might need a fairly powerful drill because sometimes you may be required to go through double lapped purlins and a cheapo unit might not have the beans.