Is it just me or does this event look poorly attended? Looks like you've to beat one or two people to win a medalzoom rader wrote:These are the photos from DR wirh the TT team
It depends on your age group. There are various age groups.metalgear2095 wrote:Is it just me or does this event look poorly attended? Looks like you've to beat one or two people to win a medalzoom rader wrote:These are the photos from DR wirh the TT team
VexXx Dogg wrote:zoom rader wrote:You need to ride at least 5 days a week if you want to get fit.Redman wrote:Not everyday yet- but getting there
Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.
Aim to ride around 1.5 hrs a day and on weekends do 1.5 to 2.5 hr rides.
In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.
If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.
Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.
Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
That's on endurance rides for 3.5-4.5 hrs
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.
So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice
Monk BANzai wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:zoom rader wrote:You need to ride at least 5 days a week if you want to get fit.Redman wrote:Not everyday yet- but getting there
Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.
In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.
If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.
Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.
Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.
So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice
Gravel bike is life! just got one myself...remember my "nannysaying" about 27.5ers? not anymore...lol....
Zoom right on the frequency tho...
VexXx Dogg wrote:Monk BANzai wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:zoom rader wrote:You need to ride at least 5 days a week if you want to get fit.Redman wrote:Not everyday yet- but getting there
Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.
Gravel bike is life! just got one myself...remember my "nannysaying" about 27.5ers? not anymore...lol....
Zoom right on the frequency tho...
aaah boy rover, like yuh fedup of de bush
zoom rader wrote:Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.
pugboy wrote:you guys use strava ?
you can compare your fitness to others on popular segments like chancellor hill etc
of course on hills weight plays a big factor
Lots of guys e-dope on Strava for bragging rights, it can't be trusted in some casespugboy wrote:you guys use strava ?
you can compare your fitness to others on popular segments like chancellor hill etc
of course on hills weight plays a big factor
It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over
if your engine dont have high headroom then you cant compete
high headroom/vo2 is a good predictor of athletic performancezoom rader wrote:Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.
In short easy words ,VexXx Dogg wrote:I doh understand VO2 max, but apparently mine poor for running (10k avg is just under 70 min); and better on cycling.
Granted i'm a tubby lardman, but it boils down to I'm plenty faster on a bike than pounding pavement on p2. Hillclimbing capability pretty decent.
There's a ride coming up from Arima to Las Cuevas thru the Northern range/Blanchisseuse, wanna do it. That's about 20k of nonstop climb and about 50miles total. That will test my very existence.
My longest ride to date was 107k, aiming for a 160k (100 miles) by the end of the year, or maybe early next year.
Hope you not e-doping on a tron bikepugboy wrote:That is very long hard climbing route.
It’s not hard to improve in cycling, just be consistent and purposeful
Don’t just go waltzing around and get in the proper time at proper intensity as zoom say.
I rarely ride on the road anymore, I use an indoor trainer with the zwift online software.
zoom rader wrote:Hope you not e-doping on a tron bikepugboy wrote:That is very long hard climbing route.
It’s not hard to improve in cycling, just be consistent and purposeful
Don’t just go waltzing around and get in the proper time at proper intensity as zoom say.
I rarely ride on the road anymore, I use an indoor trainer with the zwift online software.
zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,
If you want to improve then loose the weight and ride everyday.
Just do some short hard efforts of 3 mins and rest for 3mins and then do that about 5 times. Try the following for 6 weeks and you will see some improvements.
Monday, light ride 10 to 20 miles
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.
Its basic for anybody
Well I know lots on cycling doping, being studying and reseaching it for over 20 years.pugboy wrote:Zoom what you know about doping locally?
I understand that amongst the middle aged privileged recreational cycling crowd testosterone use is not uncommon. Have seen it firsthand, a non racing chap pull from Valencia to pos 25-28mph continuous
Nice, keep ridingVexXx Dogg wrote:zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,
Just do some short hard efforts of 3 mins and rest for 3mins and then do that about 5 times. Try the following for 6 weeks and you will see some improvements.
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.
Its basic for anybody
Yup, diet and exercise.
I'm hovering around 190lb right now at 6ft.
Was 255 at my peak.
Not really cycling to lose weight, per se - that's all diet imho. I ride because I love it. Just me and the outdoors, seeing the country from a different perspective.
zoom rader wrote:It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over
high headroom/vo2 is a good predictor of athletic performancezoom rader wrote:Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.
But VO2 max is king in road cycling.
ismithx wrote:zoom rader wrote:It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over
SMH so there's my problem. I've trained for push not for spin. Will adjust accordingly, hopefully I can do a long ride with hills really next year
ismithx wrote:zoom rader wrote:It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over
SMH so there's my problem. I've trained for push not for spin. Will adjust accordingly, hopefully I can do a long ride with hills really next year
zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.
Its basic for anybody
Monk BANzai wrote:zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.
Its basic for anybody
Mario..define "short hard efforts of 3 mins " nuh...as in a hill push or hard pedalling on flat surface?
Hard efforts is where you are pushing at your body max.Monk BANzai wrote:zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.
Its basic for anybody
Mario..define "short hard efforts of 3 mins " nuh...as in a hill push or hard pedalling on flat surface?
Monk BANzai wrote:Good stuff gents..