IMG-20191006-WA0006.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0007.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0008.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0003.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0001.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0002.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg
Is it just me or does this event look poorly attended? Looks like you've to beat one or two people to win a medal

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 9:11 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:These are the photos from DR wirh the TT team
IMG-20191006-WA0010.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0011.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0005.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0006.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0007.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0008.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0003.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0001.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0002.jpeg
IMG-20191006-WA0009.jpeg
Is it just me or does this event look poorly attended? Looks like you've to beat one or two people to win a medal
It depends on your age group. There are various age groups.

These events you gain qualifying points that can get you entry in to continental and world championships .

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 11:46 am

Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 8th, 2019, 1:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Redman wrote:Not everyday yet- but getting there
You need to ride at least 5 days a week if you want to get fit.
Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.
Aim to ride around 1.5 hrs a day and on weekends do 1.5 to 2.5 hr rides.

In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.

If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
That's on endurance rides for 3.5-4.5 hrs
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.

So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice

Gravel bike is life! just got one myself...remember my "nannysaying" about 27.5ers? not anymore...lol....

Zoom right on the frequency tho...

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2019, 2:37 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Use small gears learn to spin 90+ rpm ,never push. Start by doing endurance base easy rides, don't ride to tire yourself.
You should ride where you can hold a conversation with another rider and not get out of breath.

In cycling you go by time and not by miles. Cause you made ride 12 miles in an hr today but as you get fit you can easily do 20 miles in one hour.

If you can ride 25 plus miles in an hour, see me cause you can win the national road 40km time trial title.

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

Agreed. I used to average 15-17kph on rides, that crept up to 20-22, (MTB) now I'm floating between 26-29. (Gravelbike)
If I ever switch to a full blow roadbike with 26c tires, I feel I could maintain mid 30's.

So far my fastest over mostly flat terrain was 30km in 1 hour flat. That's a little road circuit down by me - waterloo to couva twice

Gravel bike is life! just got one myself...remember my "nannysaying" about 27.5ers? not anymore...lol....

aaah boy rover, like yuh fedup of de bush

Postby Monk BANzai » October 8th, 2019, 2:57 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Zoomie you're a cyclist?
well gawddamn.

aaah boy rover, like yuh fedup of de bush

nuh really but love the combination of riding on the tarmac without that heavy road noise dem 27.5er's give...Bush nice man..real kix esp when yuh riding in a pack and yuh hear a cry of peril....lol.....

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 3:15 pm

yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over
if your engine dont have high headroom then you cant compete

high headroom/vo2 is a good predictor of athletic performance

zoom rader wrote:Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 3:19 pm

you guys use strava ?
you can compare your fitness to others on popular segments like chancellor hill etc
of course on hills weight plays a big factor

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2019, 3:21 pm

pugboy wrote:you guys use strava ?
you can compare your fitness to others on popular segments like chancellor hill etc

Linkup on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/20372279

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 5:39 pm

pugboy wrote:you guys use strava ?
Lots of guys e-dope on Strava for bragging rights, it can't be trusted in some cases

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 5:44 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over

zoom rader wrote:Some of the best mountain bikers end up on world tour pro teams, eg tour de France and grand tour riders. They normally have very high wattages and superhuman V02 max valvues.
It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.

But VO2 max is king in road cycling.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2019, 9:09 pm

I doh understand VO2 max, but apparently mine poor for running (10k avg is just under 70 min); and better on cycling.
Granted i'm a tubby lardman, but it boils down to I'm plenty faster on a bike than pounding pavement on p2. Hillclimbing capability pretty decent.

There's a ride coming up from Arima to Las Cuevas thru the Northern range/Blanchisseuse, wanna do it. That's about 20k of nonstop climb and about 50miles total. That will test my very existence.

My longest ride to date was 107k, aiming for a 160k (100 miles) by the end of the year, or maybe early next year.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 9:26 pm

That is very long hard climbing route.

It’s not hard to improve in cycling, just be consistent and purposeful
Don’t just go waltzing around and get in the proper time at proper intensity as zoom say.

I rarely ride on the road anymore, I use an indoor trainer with the zwift online software.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 9:30 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I doh understand VO2 max, but apparently mine poor for running (10k avg is just under 70 min); and better on cycling.
Granted i'm a tubby lardman, but it boils down to I'm plenty faster on a bike than pounding pavement on p2. Hillclimbing capability pretty decent.

There's a ride coming up from Arima to Las Cuevas thru the Northern range/Blanchisseuse, wanna do it. That's about 20k of nonstop climb and about 50miles total. That will test my very existence.

My longest ride to date was 107k, aiming for a 160k (100 miles) by the end of the year, or maybe early next year.
In short easy words ,

VO2 max is the ceiling on your speed and the time you spent building your aerobic fitness or engine. V02 max is affected by age. By just riding your bike everyday with some hard efforts inbetween it improves.

By going interval training you will raise your speed. But there is limit on how high your V02 max is, it is what you are born with but it can be raised to be improved.

The best road cyclist are made from their parents and fined tuned by training.

Lance Armstrong had a VO2 max around 86%, so hes kinda super human. He doped to bring this value around 91%

A normal person is around 42%

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 9:39 pm

Vexxe ,

If you want to improve then loose the weight and ride everyday.

Just do some short hard efforts of 3 mins and rest for 3mins and then do that about 5 times. Try the following for 6 weeks and you will see some improvements.

Monday, light ride 10 to 20 miles
Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 9:42 pm

pugboy wrote:That is very long hard climbing route.

Don’t just go waltzing around and get in the proper time at proper intensity as zoom say.

I rarely ride on the road anymore, I use an indoor trainer with the zwift online software.
Hope you not e-doping on a tron bike

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 9:43 pm

Zoom what you know about doping locally?

I understand that amongst the middle aged privileged recreational cycling crowd testosterone use is not uncommon. Have seen it firsthand, a non racing chap pull from Valencia to pos 25-28mph continuous

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2019, 9:45 pm

Lol , I have tron bike, took me a year or so riding twice during the week an hour doing 2x20min intervals on the hilly route.

pugboy wrote:That is very long hard climbing route.

Hope you not e-doping on a tron bike

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2019, 10:09 pm

zoom rader wrote:Vexxe ,

Just do some short hard efforts of 3 mins and rest for 3mins and then do that about 5 times. Try the following for 6 weeks and you will see some improvements.

Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Yup, diet and exercise.
I'm hovering around 190lb right now at 6ft.
Was 255 at my peak.

Not really cycling to lose weight, per se - that's all diet imho. I ride because I love it. Just me and the outdoors, seeing the country from a different perspective.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 10:19 pm

pugboy wrote:Zoom what you know about doping locally?

I understand that amongst the middle aged privileged recreational cycling crowd testosterone use is not uncommon. Have seen it firsthand, a non racing chap pull from Valencia to pos 25-28mph continuous
Well I know lots on cycling doping, being studying and reseaching it for over 20 years.

First in order to use drugs in cycling you must be very fit. It is not for the agv joe racer. You have to train harder and smarter. Being a couch potato and using drugs will not make you fast.

Testosterone does not improve your cycling performance, it however makes you recover very fast. Without test it can take you days to recover from a hard ride or race.

Going fast in cycling via dope means you have to trick your red blood cells into taking in more oxygen. You do that by using EPO , which is a long topic. You can buy EPO in Trini at local drug stores, but it not cheap .

You can also dope the natural way by training at high altitude or sleeping in an altitude tent.

There are other quick drugs that you can use, the puffer that people use for asmatics works for a fast boost.

Froom was found with subutamol in his blood at twice the legal limit but they gave him a slap on the wrist for it. Sky is not a clean team

Cycling is still a dirty sport

On the local scene we have small time dopers , they not into the heavy stuff like EPO, HGH and transfusions. They normally use pain killers like Tramadol or Modifin

There are big local dopers but they race abroad, thats another long topic.
Last edited by zoom rader on October 8th, 2019, 10:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2019, 10:23 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Yup, diet and exercise.
I'm hovering around 190lb right now at 6ft.
Was 255 at my peak.

Not really cycling to lose weight, per se - that's all diet imho. I ride because I love it. Just me and the outdoors, seeing the country from a different perspective.
Nice, keep riding

Postby ismithx » October 9th, 2019, 6:05 am

pugboy wrote:yeah, mtb races require a lot of short hard accelerations over and over

It all depends you can compete against powerfull riders if you dont have a high VO2 max. It requires you to train using your cardiovascular system to power your legs, thats why why I advise all cyclists to spin rather than push.

SMH so there's my problem. I've trained for push not for spin. Will adjust accordingly, hopefully I can do a long ride with hills really next year

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2019, 6:09 am

yeah most people use the wrong thinking
the "push" forces you think of are very small in reality
its oxygen utilization which is important and not muscle strength for endurance

ismithx wrote:

SMH so there's my problem. I've trained for push not for spin. Will adjust accordingly, hopefully I can do a long ride with hills really next year

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2019, 7:59 am

ismithx wrote:

Dude aim for spinning around 90 rpm, it will take a while to get accustomed. Just spin you may find that you will be bumping about on the saddle but just stick with it. Just look at any Tour de France rider and you will see they are always spinning . Don't rock your upper body, keep it still cause its wasted energy. Let your cardiovascular do the work for it, save your muscular power for when you need it.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2019, 8:02 am

Make sure and have bike properly fitted to your body, saddle height etc

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2019, 8:31 am

Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Mario..define "short hard efforts of 3 mins " nuh...as in a hill push or hard pedalling on flat surface?

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2019, 8:41 am

not hard out 100m sprint but hard enough that if you had to you could go an extra 10sec

These kind of efforts are best done repeatedly in road with slight incline so you can know what gearing you use each time to keep it steady and consistent.

Monk BANzai wrote:

Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Mario..define "short hard efforts of 3 mins " nuh...as in a hill push or hard pedalling on flat surface?

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2019, 8:43 am

Monk BANzai wrote:

Tuesday, 3 min intervals
Wennesday, rest ride
Thursday, same as Tues
Friday, 1 hour easy ride
Sat, 1.5hr ride
Sunday 2hr ride.

Its basic for anybody

Hard efforts is where you are pushing at your body max.

It means at the end you must want to feel like never to ride a bike again. Its working to your max heart rate. If you vomit at the end it means you reached your Max V02 effort and you hit it just right.

If you have hills then sprint up hills.
If on the flats then use a harder gear and sprint for it.

When you do the sprint, get out of the saddle for about 5 to 8 seconds to get the gear rolling and then sit in and push/spin all the way.

Seeing that it is mountain bike then it is only fitting that you train on the hills. Do it going up then come back down and repeat.

Remember its hard work so you need to recover which means doing a rest ride the following day.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2019, 8:50 am

Good stuff gents..

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2019, 8:56 am

If you use strava and have cadence and gps on your bike computer

You can see what rpm you spun etc on the road segment you did the efforts on and compare if you getting faster over it, also heart rate
It can become obsessive though and takes away from the enjoyment.
Good computers allow you to press a timer to track efforts.

This is how ppl who hire coaches online/abroad are trained.

Monk BANzai wrote:Good stuff gents..