"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Re: "Official" Gary & POLICE matters thread ....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 23rd, 2019, 3:35 pm

Rovin wrote:98 more NEW police officers ... hopefully we see a better police presence now

Ninety-eight officers of Squads A to D, Batch 1 of 2019, successfully graduated from the Police Academy, St. James on Wednesday 21st August 2019. Here are some highlights.

https://www.facebook.com/PoliceServiceT ... =3&theater

20 of them will become corrupted
20 of them will know about the corrupted ones
20 will become police damaged(swelled headed, abuse power)

and the others will try to work hard, work up the ranks and do their best

reality

Re: "Official" Gary & POLICE related matters thread ...

Postby Rovin » August 23rd, 2019, 6:17 pm

like christmas reach early for d TTPS , 98 new offciers , 200 new motorbike & mobile detention unit

check d caption on d page : Transportation is now available free of charge for the "allyuh too wicked" choir .... :lol:

https://www.facebook.com/35626897124441 ... =3&theater

abducted

Postby abducted » August 26th, 2019, 5:59 pm

What camouflage reveals
Police commissioner Gary Griffith
PHOTO BY MARK LYNDERSAY
AS TOLD TO BC PIRES

My name is Gary Griffith and I am a St Mary’s/Sandhurst old boy and I’m using all the traits I acquired at those two institutions to try to make TT a better country.

I spent most of my life as an only child in the very boring Valsayn Park, but I (often) ran away to my grandmother’s massive family in Diego Martin to enjoy things that, unfortunately, many people don’t experience in Trinidad now.

Doors were left open and children could walk free.You could go up the hill, pick mangoes, climb over the mountain, come back in the afternoon. Boat-racing in the canal.

Now, young persons, inclusive of my son, have to spend their time behind locked doors and in front of some screen.

I really didn’t need to become commissioner of police. Both my parents died back-to-back about three months before I became (the United National Congress) national security minister.

And they both did pretty well, so I inherited quite a bit.

They were divorced for 25-odd years so it looks like they couldn’t live with each other but, apparently, couldn’t live without each other either.

My father was an old QRC boy and a true Trini. He loved everyone and everybody loved him.

My mother was rigid, meticulous, stringent.I take character traits from both. One day, round the Savannah – I was about 14 – I asked a sno-cone man if he had a valid food badge.

I never get cussed so in my life!

I realised that day I mustn’t use all the traits of my parents!

This country is full of negativity.

In England, if Newcastle is being demoted from the Premiership, there will be 80,000 people in the stands for their last game.

In TT, as soon as we feel we may not qualify, nobody turns up. That is how we are.

Everyone who’s tried to do something for this country – the Brian Laras, the Stern Johns, the Russel Latapys, the Dwight Yorkes, Minshall, Rudder – they’re recognised as role models internationally – but they’re ridiculed at home. The national U-15 football team – little boys just trying to play football – and the country tried to destroy and undermine them.

You can criticise it but you must stand firm with your country.

Who has more problems now than the United States or the United Kingdom? But how many of them attack their own country? In Africa, all over the world – but, in this country, we attack our own.

You may not have voted for a prime minister but he or she still represents YOU! The more you ridicule the prime minister, the more you undermine your own country!

I’ve noticed that the people who know very little about any topic are the ones who speak the most.

I want to tell people: have faith! Believe! Trust!

When it comes to the main problem, crime, people feel the easiest thing to do is to blame the politicians, blame the police.

Police commissioner Gary Griffith. PHOTO BY MARK LYNDERSAY

But when you do that, you’re attacking your own.

We are not the enemy. Trying to demonise us is not helping.

Maybe it’s my military training but I work towards a chain of command of my God, my country and the citizens.

If BC Pires tells me that people say I like to pose with guns for pictures, I ask, “Who wants death threats?”

I don’t need to advertise. If people say, “Gary Griffith loves the camera,” it shows (their own) ignorance. I am just doing what is required.

I see individuals who do that as hypocritical. I don’t go to the media, the media comes to me. So, because of me being accessible, you try to condemn me for it?

I have stepped on many toes. There have been 27 death threats on me and my family from criminal elements in my first year as police commissioner.

Before me, there wasn’t any death threat on any commissioner probably for years. So it means I’m doing something right.

I’ll be turning the screws even harder. So I expect twice as many next year.

In total contrast to what people may think, I have the world of respect for (businessman and social activist)] Kirk Waithe, who has attacked me for (what he apparently worries might be the militarisation of the police force).

I think he has the interests of the country at heart and is just trying to make sure that checks and balances are in place. Kirk Waithe could be an asset towards my intention to clean up this country.

My Sandhurst comrade Raffique Shah has attacked me.

But at least I’m using my military training to try to help the country, not to overthrow it.

The camouflage matter was blown totally out of proportion.

Another unit used camouflage for 22 years. I’m not saying that makes it right, but there was a precedent. One point three million people did not see it as an issue.

The five persons who did had access to the media and continued to pump it. In hindsight, if it hurt those five people so much – and one of those people is BC Pires – I could have held it back for a month.

I have no problem with people who criticise me in a classy manner.

But social media has provided (People’s National Movement) red and (UNC) yellow sycophants with an avenue.

People try to call me a puppet – but this puppet stood firm against (the) government (in which he was a Cabinet minister) against (the programme associated with alleged corruption) Life Sport.

That probably caused him to get fired.

This puppet said state contracts shouldn’t be given to gangs. This puppet was bold enough to clear (controversial parliamentary revelations by now Prime Minister Keith Rowley) E-mailgate and (controversial accusations against then Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar) Plant-like-substance-gate.

So who am I a puppet to?

Well, I am a puppet – but to my God.

People want change, they want the country to become better – but it mustn’t affect them personally.

Don’t come and tell me I can’t drive intoxicated. Why you picking on us? Is because we are the One Per Cent! Why you only arresting us? Is because we are the little black boys!

Go after everybody else but don’t harass me, my people, my race, my community.

Gangs aren’t even involved in robberies much any more, because they’re getting easy money from the State. If you have two pothounds – and I refer to gang members as pothounds – in fact, I take that back: pothounds are very nice animals – if you give two pothounds two plates of food, they’re good.

But if you take away one plate of food, they start attacking one another in the cage!

So be it! The majority – almost 90 per cent – of our homicides involve people engaged in questionable activity.

As much as the lady in the towel cries, “He was a good boy, police too wicked!”

I called gang leaders, “cockroaches” and people were upset, so I wish to apologise: gang leaders are not cockroaches.

Because cockroaches will get into your food, but they do not deliberately try to harm you.

A gang leader is worse than a cockroach.

So I wish to apologise…to the cockroaches!

I might lose some fans with this statement, but I have NEVER eaten doubles in my life.

One day I’ll try to understand why 20 people would stand up in front a wooden box on Sunday morning with curried channa running down their mouth because they just have to eat two more. I just don’t get it.

A Trini is a citizen of the greatest country in the world. Simple as that.

What TT means to me is this: I plan to live for my country.

But I am prepared to die for it.

Read the full version of this feature on Wednesday at www.BCPires.com

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/26/what-c ... ge-reveals

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2019, 8:34 pm

^^^ Gary understands.

I hope you all see what a stupid country we live . Stupid people that vote for this goverment.

Postby Rovin » August 26th, 2019, 9:45 pm

good interview

d doubles part i eh believe dat for a minute , jes now he will say he never eat kfc or ah chicken roti

somebody get d man 2 with slight pepper ...

Re: "Official" GARY GRIFFITH & POLICE related matters thread ...

Postby rspann » August 26th, 2019, 10:03 pm

I wonder if Gary setting the stage for something bigger? Perhaps when he is through with the COP post and people see that he is a performer, honest and trusted, he and his wife will make a play for the PM post. He might even get through.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 26th, 2019, 10:04 pm

Low blow on Raffique Shah there.

antlind

Re:

Postby antlind » August 26th, 2019, 10:53 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Low blow on Raffique Shah there.

True. But Shah look for that. People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.

Postby Rovin » August 27th, 2019, 7:01 pm

MAN SHOT DEAD BY POLICE FOLLOWING ALLEGED SHOOT OUT

A man was shot and killed during a shoot-out with police early this morning in Longdenville.

The shooting comes less than a fortnight after the shooting death of Rochyon King Ashterman and Kristan Kerry Serries, who were killed by SORT officers in Santa Cruz.

Sources say police were on patrol on Scott Trace, Longdenville, during anexercise which went from 9 pm on Monday to 4 am on Tuesday. At about 3.30 am they came under fire.

Police returned fire and shot Malcolm Charles, 26, from Scott Trace, several times.

Police found him with gunshot wounds in a house. They took him to the Chaguanas District Health Facility, where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

Police also found a Berretta 9 mm pistol and eight rounds of 9 mm ammunition near him. Police sources say Charles was a known drug offender.

NEWSDAY REPORT

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 28th, 2019, 4:59 am

One day I’ll try to understand why 20 people would stand up in front a wooden box on Sunday morning with curried channa running down their mouth because they just have to eat two more. I just don’t get it.

i duz say the same ting. d vendor have no running water and sometime is level flies or a big dutty drain or a smelly gas station dese vendors choose to sell an at $5 for one is like dey eating more.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2019, 5:05 am

Gary on sheit with that doubles thing, he just trying to play stush...prolly eat it with knife and fork at home

Postby j.o.e » August 28th, 2019, 6:35 am

I could believe he doesn’t like doubles. Never eaten ? Nah!!
I probably didn’t eat a doubles until I was about 20.

Postby sMASH » August 28th, 2019, 7:00 am

Rovin wrote:MAN SHOT DEAD BY POLICE FOLLOWING ALLEGED SHOOT OUT

A man was shot and killed during a shoot-out with police early this morning in Longdenville.

The shooting comes less than a fortnight after the shooting death of Rochyon King Ashterman and Kristan Kerry Serries, who were killed by SORT officers in Santa Cruz.

Sources say police were on patrol on Scott Trace, Longdenville, during anexercise which went from 9 pm on Monday to 4 am on Tuesday. At about 3.30 am they came under fire.

Police returned fire and shot Malcolm Charles, 26, from Scott Trace, several times.

Police found him with gunshot wounds in a house. They took him to the Chaguanas District Health Facility, where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

Police also found a Berretta 9 mm pistol and eight rounds of 9 mm ammunition near him. Police sources say Charles was a known drug offender.

NEWSDAY REPORT

hoss, u aint know, when u see police and u have iron, u need to leggo lead on them? it always turns out well.

Postby hydroep » August 28th, 2019, 7:13 am

Eat or doh eat doubles, dais not what he there for.

People want change, they want the country to become better – but it mustn’t affect them personally.

Don’t come and tell me I can’t drive intoxicated. Why you picking on us? Is because we are the One Per Cent! Why you only arresting us? Is because we are the little black boys!

Go after everybody else but don’t harass me, my people, my race, my community.

This is de real thing. He gone after gang members, Ministers, South Business Owners - persons who were probably relatively easy to get to, but good...buss they throat.

However fuh all the talk he does talk the country still waiting for one of dem sophisticated criminals in the West to get take down. Only when that happens we go know he eh just talking out he arse...:|

Postby Rovin » August 28th, 2019, 12:05 pm

Postby Rovin » September 4th, 2019, 2:05 pm

"allyuh wicked" - take zap in yuh kant ..... :lol:

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

The TTPS has deployed tasers

Within the next fiscal year, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) is expected to increase the number of tasers, pepper sprays, and even body cameras, that are being utilized by its officers.

This was stated by Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith while speaking to The Express yesterday afternoon.

The commissioner confirmed that at least 100 tasers were already in circulation in the TTPS with over 100 officers having been trained to utilize the non-lethal weapons.

These weapons were distributed to various ‘first response units’, Griffith explained, including the Emergency Response Patrol, the Guard and Emergency Branch, and the various divisional task forces.

He noted that he hoped throughout the upcoming fiscal year, another 600 tasers would be procured, and the relevant officers to whom these non-lethal weapons would be issued to, would be trained.

“The tasers we have secured are the ideal equipment needed to ensure that minimum use of force will be utilized, as it will neutralize anyone in a confrontation. So it ensures that the firearm will indeed be the last resort,” Griffith said.

He noted that pepper sprays were also provided to these various units and were also in rotation. However, he did not give an exact number.

He was hopeful that more of these items would also be procured over the next fiscal year, to ensure that there were several options before firearms came into play.

With respect to body cameras, Griffith said that there were already ‘about 130 cameras’ being used throughout the country.

Again, he said first responders were given priority, and will continue to be given priority for these cameras when more are procured.

“I want body cameras for all first responders, that’s the main aim right now due to its cost and operational costs. It is not a tool that every police officer out to have per say. But most certainly those that will first interact with a situation, they ought to be equipped with this tool,” Griffith said.

Postby De Dragon » September 4th, 2019, 9:37 pm

"You may not have voted for a prime minister but he or she still represents YOU! The more you ridicule the prime minister, the more you undermine your own country!"
Everything else about the article is clouded with this statement. Is it because he was appointed by JUHN Scarfy that he is talking this sheit? Is the PM infallible? When he sheits up, and ours does so with frightening regularity, do we hush our kants so as not to "undermine" the country? Really Gary Griffith,facking really?
Last edited by De Dragon on September 6th, 2019, 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

abducted

Trinidad Police starts using tasers

Postby abducted » September 4th, 2019, 10:07 pm

The commissioner confirmed that at least 100 tasers were already in circulation in the TTPS with over 100 officers having been trained to utilize the non-lethal weapons.

These weapons were distributed to various ‘first response units’, Griffith explained, including the Emergency Response Patrol, the Guard and Emergency Branch, and the various divisional task forces.

He noted that he hoped throughout the upcoming fiscal year, another 600 tasers would be procured, and the relevant officers to whom these non-lethal weapons would be issued to, would be trained.

“The tasers we have secured are the ideal equipment needed to ensure that minimum use of force will be utilized, as it will neutralize anyone in a confrontation. So it ensures that the firearm will indeed be the last resort,” Griffith said.

He noted that pepper sprays were also provided to these various units and were also in rotation. However, he did not give an exact number.

He was hopeful that more of these items would also be procured over the next fiscal year, to ensure that there were several options before firearms came into play.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 18f41.html

dd130e73-287c-4831-a03d-2247f67ccc52.jpg

Postby j.o.e » September 5th, 2019, 7:36 am

De Dragon wrote:"You may not have voted for a prime minister but he or she still represents YOU! The more you ridicule the prime minister, the more you undermine your own country!"
Everything else about the article is clouded with this statement. Is it because he was appointed by JUHN Scarfy that he is talking this sheit? Is the PM infallible? When he Roosters up, and ours does so with frightening regularity, do we hush our kants so as not to "undermine" the country? Really Gary Griffith,facking really?

Ridicule
noun
the subjection of someone or something to contemptuous and dismissive language or behaviour.

Criticizing or commenting on someone’s actions is different to ridicule. Hardly ever does ridicule come from a place of positivity or nationalism. Maybe this is what he meant, possibly.

Re: Trinidad Police starts using tasers

Postby Ben_spanna » September 5th, 2019, 7:37 am

So when is the general public going to be allowed to have legally too? we NEED protection...…. firetruck away with these criminals

Re: Trinidad Police starts using tasers

Postby 88sins » September 5th, 2019, 7:42 am

so, ttps get's taserz & pepper spray to have less-than-lethal options for crowd control & subduing suspects. cool. so theoretically there should be fewer police shootings. emphasis on theoretically. cuz I have serious reservations believing that ttps officers going to pull for is a taser or pepper spray when they go into known and established hot spots where illegal firearms are everywhere and facing a small mob of 50 ppl or so. I wait patiently to be convinced of otherwise.

meanwhile, several years after the GoRTT said they considering amending the law so that law-abiding civilians that are being beaten, robbed, raped & murdered daily could have and keep the same sort of equipment as a means of self defense, nothing said or done &the discussion has been put in a box in a vault and buried in a hole 100 feet deep with a giant latrine built on top of it. So to date, it's more of the ssdd.

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2019, 3:12 pm

but police shootings are the only justice the citizens of this country have left!!!

Re:

Postby De Dragon » September 6th, 2019, 1:47 am

j.o.e wrote:
De Dragon wrote:"You may not have voted for a prime minister but he or she still represents YOU! The more you ridicule the prime minister, the more you undermine your own country!"
Everything else about the article is clouded with this statement. Is it because he was appointed by JUHN Scarfy that he is talking this sheit? Is the PM infallible? When he Roosters up, and ours does so with frightening regularity, do we hush our kants so as not to "undermine" the country? Really Gary Griffith,facking really?

Ridicule
noun
the subjection of someone or something to contemptuous and dismissive language or behaviour.

Criticizing or commenting on someone’s actions is different to ridicule. Hardly ever does ridicule come from a place of positivity or nationalism. Maybe this is what he meant, possibly.

While I would hope so, knowing GG's tendency for saying what is on his mind without forethought sometimes, I doubt

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 6th, 2019, 7:45 am

abducted wrote:What camouflage reveals
Police commissioner Gary Griffith
PHOTO BY MARK LYNDERSAY
AS TOLD TO BC PIRES

My name is Gary Griffith and I am a St Mary’s/Sandhurst old boy and I’m using all the traits I acquired at those two institutions to try to make TT a better country.

When it comes to the main problem, crime, people feel the easiest thing to do is to blame the politicians, blame the police.

But, technically the politicians and the police are to blame. They are the ones in power. They left the borders open on purpose for the influx of drugs, guns criminals to enter. The politicians are the ones who divided the population since independence to keep themselves in power. Wasn't it the politicians that caused the decay of all governments services, so that corruption would be allowed to prosper. Isn't it the government that controls the assets of the nation, and has the power to make decisions on behalf of the population?
Also, aren't the police themselves involved in crime. Pretty much everyday you can see a police officer breaking the same laws that they want to enforce on the population? They are involved in questionable behavior all around the country.

All the sheit Gary Griffith does talk about himself, yet he have nothing to back it up. If he had any integrity he would have resigned long ago, but he instead wants to continue gargling Rowley marbles.

And to top it of Gary say, don't blame him, blame somebody else.

Postby Rovin » September 11th, 2019, 11:31 am

its about damn time ....

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

6 days instead of 6 years: TTPS gets own Forensic Science Dept

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) is in the process of acquiring its own Forensic Science Department (FSD).

This was revealed via a release from the TTPS yesterday afternoon.

In the release, Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith noted that an FSD was important to the organisation so that it could treat with the matters of crime scene investigation.

This would include forensic testing for live rounds, and DNA testing, the release stated.

“The Commissioner of Police believes this will take some of the burden off the Forensic Science Centre in St James. However, he says, matters relating to police shootings will be dealt with by the FSC and not the TTPS,” the release added.

The release was in response to a statement issued by Fixin’ T&T calling for priority to be placed on ballistic testing.

Griffith agreed that there is an undue delay in the process for results from the Forensic Science Centre.

He noted that in some countries the results take six days, whereas in Trinidad and Tobago the results could potentially take up to six years.

“Commissioner Griffith says this is no fault of the FSC, as it is simply overwhelmed. The CoP confirms that he has contacted the FSC and has asked for these matters to be prioritised and was given an assurance that they would be,” the release read.

Earlier in the day, Fixin’ T&T issued a release signed by Kirk Waithe, in which it called on the commissioner to answer why there were so many delays in attaining ballistic testing.

“Fixin’ T&T has called on you to exercise the latitude available to request of the head of our Forensic Science Centre (FSC), Mr Derek Sankar, that certain cases be given priority for ballistic and any other requisite testing. Namely: The Big Yard, Carenage, episode where a teenage girl was among those killed; The “Laventille Five”; The Santa Cruz incident where a young man and woman were shot in a vehicle resulting in death,” the release noted.

It went on to further ask if the commissioner had made any such requests in relation to the matters, and if yes, what was the response, if any.

“The apparent deficiencies regarding ballistic and possibly other testing to be done by the FSC have been blamed for delays in matters under investigation by the Police Complaints Authority as well.

“Fixin’ T&T maintains that this untenable situation constitutes a miscarriage of justice. Out of respect for the deceased and in fairness to their families, the police officers involved and the national community, this must be treated with the utmost urgency,” the release stated.

Postby zoom rader » September 11th, 2019, 12:00 pm

^^^ All that don't matters when you have a police force that is controlled by the PNM/1%

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 11th, 2019, 1:53 pm

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith is urging members of the public to call him at 482-GARY and let him know who has illegal firearms.

Griffith said now that the Firearms Amendment Bill has been passed, the police can begin the operational aspect of the legislation.

so y not call about those selling drugs in our neighborhood. well all see the men who sell the small bits ah weed on the block. illegal guns and drugs go hand in hand, pass a law and jail the drug sellers for 10 years for any amount not just 1kilo an above. once yuh selling yuh selling. man selling drugs under the 'say no to drug sign' and nobody doing a ting about it.
outlaw the 'sheet of paper' that yuh hear and see people buy in the shops and groceries. i always see man and woman buying a half broadway and ah sheet ah paper.
time to clean up the drugs for the kids, nobody wants their chirren going up with them ting

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 11th, 2019, 8:30 pm

Wait until allyuh hear who getting contract to supply the DNA machine....fyi....a dammmm good one costs approximately $800k usd...and it can be found at a lab in the vicinity of Vero Beach in Mia....so just wait on it

Postby zoom rader » September 11th, 2019, 8:56 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Wait until allyuh hear who getting contract to supply the DNA machine....fyi....a dammmm good one costs approximately $800k usd...and it can be found at a lab in the vicinity of Vero Beach in Mia....so just wait on it
I guess it's not the 99%

Postby Rovin » September 15th, 2019, 7:09 pm