Updated: Six kidnapped by Venezuelan pirates: US 200k demanded

stikid09

Updated: Six kidnapped by Venezuelan pirates: US 200k demanded

Postby stikid09 » January 29th, 2019, 6:41 pm

Venezuelan pirates reportedly kidnapped five Trinidadian fishermen and a 17-year-old boy yesterday afternoon and demanded a ransom of US $200,000 for their safe return.

Senior officers in the Southwestern division this afternoon confirmed the kidnapping, and said the message was sent to the victims' families through another fisherman.

The kidnapped men are Ricky Rhambarose, 35, Jerry O'Brian, 36, Jason O'Brian, 38, Brandon Arjoon, 38, and Linton Manohar, 35.

Police said they left Morne Diablo sometime yesterday afternoon and were not sure where exactly they encountered the pirates.

They were told the pirates threatened to cut off one of the men's arm if it was not paid.

Newsday understands officers of the Anti-Kidnapping Unit and the Southwestern Division are assisting in inquiries.

More as this becomes available.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/29/five-k ... -demanded/

Re: Updated: Six kidnapped by Venezuelan pirates: US 200k demanded

Postby matr1x » January 29th, 2019, 6:47 pm

And we beating up about their "rights"

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 29th, 2019, 6:56 pm

Pirates of the caribbean

we somalia now

Postby maj. tom » January 29th, 2019, 7:03 pm

Place get like off the coast of Somalia was a few years ago. Caused by a somewhat similar situation of bad internal government and economic collapse.

So... what the TT government doing about this? The answer for Somalia was the combined efforts of the US Navy and other European Navies forming a Joint Task Force and patrolling the Gulf of Aden to keep safe passage. Has the TT government set up patrols with our Coast Guard in the affected areas? Any request for assistance from Venezuela and Caricom to help patrol the area? It will only get worse as the situation in Venezuela could painfully devolve into a violent Civil War.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2019, 7:08 pm

Dragon gas more important

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 29th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Venezuelans will keep bullying us because the truth is, we can't do anything about it. We are intimidated by them and hence being afraid allows our politicians to suck up to their demands. The headless chicken followers like most in the other thread will say how we trini fishermen were in their waters.

We should just leave Venezuela and let them become a giant cesspit and Trump should act against T&T for aiding with these power hungry demons to teach us a lesson. The anti American trinis will turn to their relatives from Russia, Turkey and China etc to get their occasional barrels of clothes and sneakers etc. Everyone will be happy: the 1% will remain in control, T&T men will get their nasty Venezuelan prostitute women and you all will be one big happy family of PNM vs UNC tribe followers.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2019, 7:13 pm

Our ghost guard need to start roughing them up

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 29th, 2019, 7:32 pm

Lol I like that. Our ghost guard motto is to get their hands greased. It has nothing to do about making a difference in a positive way.

Postby Les Bain » January 29th, 2019, 7:38 pm

I take great umbrage at this incident.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2019, 7:46 pm

Jah bless our hard working Coast Guard, I hope they are well fed and ready for parade in full uniform .

They doing a good job

No_Name

Postby No_Name » January 29th, 2019, 7:48 pm

matr1x wrote:And we beating up about their "rights"

Set em up at sea, kill dey MC, sink d vessel, less border pests, problem fixx...
And we ha bad man here, wey dem now?

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 29th, 2019, 7:57 pm

they feel trini currency is US or wah

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 29th, 2019, 8:14 pm

zoom rader wrote:Jah bless our hard working Coast Guard, I hope they are well fed and ready for parade in full uniform .

They doing a good job

:!: :!: :!:

Postby hydroep » January 29th, 2019, 8:20 pm

No_Name wrote:

Set em up at sea, kill dey MC, sink d vessel, less border pests, problem fixx...

Vigilante justice could send us down a slippery slope, but the way things going people mightn't have a choice nuh...:|

Postby meccalli » January 29th, 2019, 8:27 pm

From what I heard, the major gangs have units and strict training systems in place for their recruits, might as well hire them....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2019, 9:38 pm

Melchizedek wrote:they feel trini currency is US or wah

They did ask for 200,000Usd

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 29th, 2019, 9:42 pm

No_Name wrote:

This is what suppose to be done by Coast guard/Army sspecial forces. In a real country that would occur but again we living in.....

kstt

Postby kstt » January 29th, 2019, 9:49 pm

orionis

Postby orionis » January 29th, 2019, 10:33 pm

Rumors that it is a drug deal gone bad and also rumors that the kidnappers are trinidadians.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2019, 10:54 pm

Redress10 wrote:
No_Name wrote:

This is what suppose to be done by Coast guard/Army sspecial forces. In a real country that would occur but again we living in.....
https://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?p=9872145#p9872145

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » January 30th, 2019, 6:30 am

orionis wrote:Rumors that it is a drug deal gone bad and also rumors that the kidnappers are trinidadians.

heard they already heading inland to vene when they were held.

Postby Slartibartfast » January 30th, 2019, 9:05 am

Damn. It was just a matter of time before the violence spilled over here considering how easily they have been getting access to come into our country.

But US$200,000 they asking for? Either they are fools to they think that ordinary fishermen have access to US$200,000 or I am a fool for thinking those are ordinary fishermen. I only hope that no innocent people are harmed in this whole ordeal.

Postby MG Man » January 30th, 2019, 9:29 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Damn. It was just a matter of time before the violence spilled over here considering how easily they have been getting access to come into our country.

But US$200,000 they asking for? Either they are fools to they think that ordinary fishermen have access to US$200,000 or I am a fool for thinking those are ordinary fishermen. I only hope that no innocent people are harmed in this whole ordeal.

they are playing a very strategic game
They are pushing to see if the government will step in to pay up the ransom for its citizens
If the government does, it's open season
If the government doesn't, it's free reign to pillage without fear
Either way, sadly those guys will soon be featured in a gory dismemberment video
I wonder what all the yellow anti-OPV people are saying now...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2019, 9:32 am

Lets hope we don't see the Trinis on WatchPeopleDie on Reddit

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2019, 10:02 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Damn. It was just a matter of time before the violence spilled over here considering how easily they have been getting access to come into our country.

they are playing a very strategic game
They are pushing to see if the government will step in to pay up the ransom for its citizens
If the government does, it's open season
If the government doesn't, it's free reign to pillage without fear
Either way, sadly those guys will soon be featured in a gory dismemberment video
I wonder what all the yellow anti-OPV people are saying now...
Our Coast Guard will protect us.

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2019, 10:17 am

Gary and special ops cudda run in venezuela and blow away them priates. Let them know what time it is

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » January 30th, 2019, 10:36 am

I wonder what all the yellow anti-OPV people are saying now...[/quote]

I'm neither yellow nor red but having an OPV is really just that. Having it. How many vessels are currently within the TTCG's possession? Where are these vehicles? How is the coastline currently being guarded? How are patrols done? What is the role and function of the TTCG and what are they actually doing?

Postby MG Man » January 30th, 2019, 10:41 am

well there was an entire plan / proposal that was associated with the purchase of those vessels
The current fleet doesn't have much in the way of high speed pursuit etc
But yeah, it's remarkable that all the drama unfolds off cedros but it's not guarded .

Postby 88sins » January 30th, 2019, 10:45 am

No_Name wrote:

love how some ppl feel it so easy to set up & ambush ppl at sea :lol: Most will happen is a patrol will pick them up eventually
local fishermen begging for access to firearms for years now & getting nuttn. maybe they might be taken a little more seriously now.

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » January 30th, 2019, 10:50 am

MG Man wrote:well there was an entire plan / proposal that was associated with the purchase of those vessels
The current fleet doesn't have much in the way of high speed pursuit etc
But yeah, it's remarkable that all the drama unfolds off cedros but it's not guarded .

The current fleet can maybe act as a deterrent if placed to patrol in strategic locations. And that's a big maybe when you consider the fact that your opposition has faster boats, better weapons etc.

And there's also the question as to who's on whose payroll to let certain things go undetected...