Re: Breaking News: Venezuela 2019 new President Juan Guaido to be sworn in

Postby brams112 » January 27th, 2019, 10:14 am

matr1x wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:PM Responds to US Embassy: I take umbrage at the US Ambassador for making a public statement criticising the government of T&T as we take action in protecting the citizens of T&T.

Who cares who shitk1cker takes umbrage at? Growley need to sit his little peong ass down and STFU! The big boys doh give a fcuk what this jackarse have to say. And this fool going to UN for what? It will be like intermission in an Indian movie when he get up to talk. Trump and Putin will be like "who De fack is this"?

Trump would joke to Putin and say, "you believe we let one of them run our country for 8 years? "

Trump to Putin who the fcuk is that,Putin to trump I say you know,they saying he from your side of the border,trump to Putin well ask that fellah next to you,me and he doh talk,Putin to trump,look boi fcuk he oui,he not important.

Postby bluefete » January 27th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Gladiator wrote:Taken from Facebook... For those who high on the balisier juice.

It’s is time for countries to choose what side they they are on... right or wrong... good or evil. Right now, Trinidad is on the wrong side and we will pay the price. You can’t sleep with the devil and expect that all go well.

Originally posted by Jeanette Pollonais

U.S. calls on world to 'pick a side' on Venezuela; Europeans set to recognize Guaido
Reuters By Michelle Nichols and Mayela Armas,Reuters

UNITED NATIONS/CARACAS (Reuters) - The United States on Saturday called on the world to "pick a side" on Venezuela and urged countries to financially disconnect from Nicolas Maduro's government, while European powers signaled they were set to follow Washington in recognizing Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guaido as the country's rightful leader.

In heated back-and-forth exchanges at a United Nations Security Council meeting, the opposing camp led by Venezuela and Russia, which has invested heavily in Venezuela's oil industry, accused Washington of attempting a coup, and lambasted Europeans' demand that elections be called within eight days.

Guaido, who took the helm of the National Assembly on Jan. 5, proclaimed himself interim president on Wednesday. The United States, Canada and a string of Latin American countries recognized the young leader in quick succession. Maduro, who has led the oil-rich nation since 2013 and has the support of the armed forces, has refused to stand down.

But on Saturday Guaido, 35, gained support from a key military official. Venezuela's defense attache to Washington, Colonel Jose Luis Silva, told Reuters that he has broken with the Maduro government and recognized Guaido as interim president.

Speaking at the U.N. meeting, called by the United States, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said Maduro's "socialist experiment" had caused the economy to collapse and reduced ordinary Venezuelans to rooting through dumpsters for food.

"Now it is time for every other nation to pick a side. ... Either you stand with the forces of freedom, or you're in league with Maduro and his mayhem," Pompeo told the council. "We call on all members of the Security Council to support Venezuela's democratic transition and interim President Guaido's role."

Pompeo also called on the international community to disconnect their financial systems from Maduro's government. Washington has signaled it was ready to step up economic measures to try to drive Maduro from power, but on Saturday Pompeo declined to elaborate on any such plans.

By overcoming opposition to holding the U.N. meeting on Saturday, Washington successfully put the global spotlight on Venezuela as a Security Council problem. However, any council action to address the crisis would be blocked by veto-powers Russia and China, diplomats said.

Britain, Germany, France and Spain all said on Saturday they would recognize Guaido if Maduro failed to call fresh elections within eight days, an ultimatum Russia said was "absurd" and the Venezuelan foreign minister called "childlike."

"Europe is giving us eight days? Where do you get that you have the power to establish a deadline or an ultimatum to a sovereign people?" Venezuelan Foreign Minister Jorge Arreaza told the Security Council.

Russia also said military intervention in Venezuela should be avoided at any cost, while Caracas reiterated that its offer of dialogue with President Donald Trump's government was still on the table despite his administration's two-year campaign against Maduro.

"If President Trump, like other presidents of the United States, is in search of war to show he can govern and to stimulate the economy, he won't get that war in Venezuela," Arreaza told reporters later.

'FULL SUPPORT'

Venezuela has sunk into turmoil under Maduro with food shortages and protests amid an economic and political crisis that has sparked mass emigration and inflation that is seen rising to 10 million percent this year.

Maduro cruised to re-election last May. The opposition largely boycotted the vote after its senior leaders were blocked from taking part. Critics accused the government of vote buying. The domestic opposition, the United States and right-leaning Latin American governments declined to recognize the result of the ballot.

Venezuelan opposition sympathizers had been urging Guaido to assume the presidency since Maduro was inaugurated for a second term on Jan. 10. Hundreds of thousands took to the streets in Caracas earlier this week, calling on Maduro to step down.

Guaido's declaration of himself as the interim president takes Venezuela into uncharted territory, with the possibility of the opposition now running a parallel government recognized abroad as legitimate but without control over state functions.

After the Security Council debate, Guaido sent a letter to Secretary General Antonio Guterres asking the United Nations for help addressing hunger, violence and the lack of medicines in his country.

The United Nations did not immediately respond to a request for comment on the letter.

Guaido celebrated the support of European countries and also asked them to send humanitarian aid to help relieve the economic crisis. "We woke up today with nothing less than the full support of the European community," Guaido said at a small political event in a square in the capital Caracas.

"Several European countries have been in touch with us and are going to support the entry of humanitarian aid. ... We continue adding countries to this great effort," he said.

The Maduro government has previously rejected such aid, denying there is a humanitarian crisis in the country and blaming economic problems on sanctions.

After Washington's declaration of support for Guaido, Maduro cut off diplomatic relations with the United States on Wednesday and gave U.S. diplomats 72 hours to leave the country.

Some U.S. embassy staff left Caracas on Friday, and Venezuela was withdrawing staff from Washington on Saturday, Venezuela's foreign ministry said in a statement

However, Maduro softened his demand that all U.S. embassy staff withdraw by Saturday.

Instead, the two countries will seek an agreement to replace the embassies with "Interest Offices" in their respective capitals within 30 days, the statement said. If that fails, the missions would close.

(Additional reporting by Paul Day in Madrid and Angus Berwick in Caracas; Tom Miles in Geneva and Michelle Nichols in New York.; Writing by Humeyra Pamuk; Editing by Mary Milliken, Jonathan Oatis and Sandra Maler)

https://www.yahoo.com/news/u-calls-worl ... 00064.html

Postby rspann » January 27th, 2019, 5:59 pm

Tanty Kams should declare herself prime minister and swear herself in.

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2019, 6:06 pm

rspann wrote:Tanty Kams should declare herself prime minister and swear herself in.
That's like kams using the N word on PNM ppl. Pnm ppl and 1% won't allow this to ever happen

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 27th, 2019, 7:46 pm

This is another plot to get Oil from Venezuela, this is no different from Iraq and Libya etc etc etc
This is why Trump supports the opposition.

What I find bizarre is Nancy Pelosi supports a coup, more proof the old hag is an Establishment whore

Not saying Maduro is a good guy by any means but think about Iraq and Libya etc see what happens when the US interferes. If Trump actually sends in the Military in Venezuela as he has hinted he would, then he is an equal piece of sh!t like Obama and Bush

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 27th, 2019, 7:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is another plot to get Oil from Venezuela, this is no different from Iraq and Libya etc etc etc
This is why Trump supports the opposition.

What I find bizarre is Nancy Pelosi supports a coup, more proof the old hag is an Establishment whore

Not saying Maduro is a good guy by any means but think about Iraq and Libya etc see what happens when the US interferes. If Trump actually sends in the Military in Venezuela as he has hinted he would, then he is an equal piece of sh!t like Obama and Bush

It's not a coup if Maduro stole the election, people are suffering and the country wants Guaido. This a revolution for a the people to finally get a working country and government. Look at the facts and leave your biases at the door.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 27th, 2019, 8:10 pm

^ What facts? you mean the facts regarding what has happened in Iraq, Syria and Libya? The US doesn't give a sh!t about democracy or suffering, they only give a sheit about their own interest.

People need to stop their warmongering, we don't need anymore wars given what we have witnessed when the us tried to bring "democracy" to every resource rich 3rd world country in the world which somehow ALWAYS happens to end up as a bigger piece of sh!thole

Let the Venezuelan people sort out their own mess.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2019, 8:27 pm

Venezuela suspends expulsion of US diplomats

Venezuela postponed a showdown with the United States by suspending a demand that US diplomats leave the country, as Washington called on the world to "pick a side" in the South American nation's fast-moving crisis.

President Nicolas Maduro broke relations with the US on Wednesday after the Trump administration and many other nations in the region recognised opposition leader Juan Guaido as Venezuela's interim president, a move that Maduro called a coup attempt.

Maduro initially gave US diplomats three days to leave the country, but the Trump administration said it wouldn't obey, asserting that Maduro is no longer Venezuela's legitimate president. That set the stage for a showdown at the hilltop US Embassy compound Saturday night when the deadline was to expire.

But as the sun set on Venezuela's capital, the Foreign Ministry issued a statement saying Maduro's government was suspending the expulsion to provide a 30-day window for negotiating with US officials the setting up of a "US interests office" in Venezuela and a similar Venezuelan office in the US.

The US and Cuba had a similar arrangement for decades before the Obama administration restored diplomatic relations with the communist-run island.

The State Department did not confirm the Venezuelan government's account, reiterating only that its priority remains the safety of its personnel and that it has no plans to close the embassy.

'Do not test the United States'
Earlier on Saturday, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo told the UN Security Council that he "fully" expects diplomats will continue to receive protections provided under the Vienna Convention.

"Do not test the United States on our resolve to protect our people," he warned.

In the Security Council meeting, critics and supporters of Maduro's government faced off, reflecting the deep divisions over Venezuela, which is mired in political confrontation, as well as an economic collapse that has forced millions to flee the country.

During the debate, which was requested by the US, Pompeo urged all nations to end Venezuela's "nightmare" and support Guaido.

"Now is the time for every other national to pick a side," Pompeo said. "No more delays, no more games. Either you stand with the forces of freedom, or you're in league with Maduro and his mayhem."

Russian Ambassador to the UN Vassily Nebenzia said that the Trump administration is trying "to engineer a coup" against Maduro. He said Venezuela doesn't threaten international peace and security, and he accused "extremist opponents" of Maduro's government of choosing "maximum confrontation", including the artificial creation of a parallel government.

Nebenzia argued any UN involvement in the Venezuela crisis constituted a violation of the nation's sovereignty, and urged Pompeo to say whether the US will use military force.

Pompeo later told reporters who asked for a response, "I am not going to speculate or hypothesise on what the US will do next."

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/01/ ... 14984.html

Postby maj. tom » January 27th, 2019, 8:30 pm

Maduro like he biding time right now, while he in a frenzy organizing the voter padding and election fraud. Oh don't worry, he will call an election when that in place and ready. Just need to play the UN fiddle for some time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Postby K74T » January 27th, 2019, 10:03 pm

Postby RedVEVO » January 27th, 2019, 11:11 pm

Fake news .

Fake video .

It's a trick .

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 28th, 2019, 12:26 am

RedVEVO wrote:Fake news .

Fake video .

It's a trick .

Explain

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 28th, 2019, 4:34 am

U.S. calls on world to 'pick a side' on Venezuela; Europeans set to recognize Guaido

Y d fork d world int call on trump tuh pick ah charity and drop food and medicine in venezuela? y al the other cuntries aint drop food and ting for the citizens of a cuntry in trouble and then send the UN tuh ensure a fair elections and then see wah happens, buh noooo all dem fraid the big bad USA and like puppets and wah overtrow the man and take he oil. i doh understand how dem is leaders and cud tink so dotish. is like yuh pick up a gyul and she dey with u horning she husband and left she husband tuh be with u and u feeling nice.... if it was so easy for she tuh leff she man an horn for u it go be easy tuh leff u for a next man an u go be in d same boat wit d ex-man, next man come along she go horn u. trump wah d oil so he wah overtrow muduro is only a matter of time before he overtrow europe.
ask yuh self dis .. he deporting spanish/mexicans and wah build a wall between dem jus like d berlin wall y is it he boddering with a next spanish cunrty?

Postby matr1x » January 28th, 2019, 4:51 am

It's funny how the Democrats became the warmonger. Maybe they always were. Odombo and his drone strikes anyone?

This is going to get a lot worse

Postby Ben_spanna » January 28th, 2019, 8:05 am

Russian Bombers that are capable of speeds twice the speed of sound have landed in Venezuela along with support air craft.

what I dont understand is why are they landing there? if its the US they are trying to intimidate, then send them to your Ally thats closest to the US coast, dont bring the fight here..take it there where they will feel it... dont gear up to have a war over seas..

Postby j.o.e » January 28th, 2019, 8:37 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Russian Bombers that are capable of speeds twice the speed of sound have landed in Venezuela along with support air craft.

what I dont understand is why are they landing there? if its the US they are trying to intimidate, then send them to your Ally thats closest to the US coast, dont bring the fight here..take it there where they will feel it... dont gear up to have a war over seas..

I get what you’re saying. But from a strategic POV Venezuela is very close to the US. Think about it when last has someone rolled INTO this side of the world to oppose US?

Postby teems1 » January 28th, 2019, 8:44 am

j.o.e wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Russian Bombers that are capable of speeds twice the speed of sound have landed in Venezuela along with support air craft.

I get what you’re saying. But from a strategic POV Venezuela is very close to the US. Think about it when last has someone rolled INTO this side of the world to oppose US?
Cuban missile crisis which nearly resulted in WW3.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 28th, 2019, 8:57 am

Russia will never bomb the US mainland directly and neither will the US bomb the Russian mainland (directly).
They will merely posture like silverback gorillas but at the end of the day those two (and maybe China) are the foes none of the other will directly go to war with.

Being the leader in a post apocalyptic world doesn't make sense and they all know it.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 28th, 2019, 9:14 am

FB_IMG_1548644006438.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2019, 10:02 am

After Washington urged the world to pick a side in Venezuela's presidential showdown, Nicolas Maduro's government has backed off from a threat to kick out U.S. embassy staff.

Venezuela's self-proclaimed president is leading a call for more protests against the leadership of Nicolas Maduro.
Juan Guaido has declared two days of anti-government demonstrations, starting on Wednesday.

International endorsement of Venezuela's self-declared interim president Juan Gauido is growing, Israel and Australia are among the latest countries to recognize Juan Guaido. That's after his rival, President Nicolas Maduro, rejected a European ultimatum for fresh elections to be held within eight days.

CNN's Nick Paton Walsh goes inside the deepening crisis in Venezuela to capture the desperation gripping the nation that could lead to political change.

xtech

Postby xtech » January 28th, 2019, 1:04 pm

8D613BFB-FCD3-46CF-BBA4-C67D68BBAD22.jpeg
8D613BFB-FCD3-46CF-BBA4-C67D68BBAD22.jpeg (20.31 KiB) Viewed 4122 times

PM Kamla Media Statement following her bilateral talks with President Maduro

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/pms-medi ... E81VE4pDYU

death365

Postby death365 » January 28th, 2019, 1:09 pm

Dude ... thats 4 years ago. it na make sense to post that now

xtech wrote:8D613BFB-FCD3-46CF-BBA4-C67D68BBAD22.jpeg

PM Kamla Media Statement following her bilateral talks with President Maduro

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/pms-medi ... E81VE4pDYU

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 28th, 2019, 2:37 pm

Some of the most notable U.S. interventions in Latin America:

1846: The United States invades Mexico and captures Mexico City in 1847. A peace treaty the following year gives the U.S. more than half of Mexico’s territory — what is now most of the western United States.

1903: The U.S. engineers Panamanian independence from Colombia and gains sovereign rights over the zone where the Panama Canal would connect Atlantic and Pacific shipping routes.

1903: Cuba and the U.S. sign a treaty allowing near-total U.S. control of Cuban affairs. U.S. establishes a naval base at Guantanamo Bay.

U.S. Marines repeatedly intervene in Central America and the Caribbean throughout the first quarter of the 20th century, often to protect U.S. business interests in moments of political instability.

1914: U.S. troops occupy the Mexican port of Veracruz for seven months in an attempt to sway developments in the Mexican Revolution.

1954: Guatemalan President Jacobo Arbenz is overthrown in a CIA-backed coup.

1961: The U.S.-backed Bay of Pigs invasion fails to overthrow Soviet-backed Cuban leader Fidel Castro but Washington continues to launch attempts to assassinate Castro and dislodge his government.

1964: Leftist President Joao Goulart of Brazil is overthrown in a U.S.-backed coup that installs a military government lasting until the 1980s.

1965: U.S. forces land in the Dominican Republic to intervene in a civil war.

1970s: Argentina, Chile and allied South American nations launch brutal campaign of repression and assassination aimed at perceived leftist threats, known as Operation Condor, often with U.S. support.

1980s: Reagan administration backs anti-Communist Contra forces against Nicaragua’s Sandinista government and backs the Salvadoran government against leftist FMLN rebels.

1983: U.S. forces invade Caribbean island of Grenada after accusing the government of allying itself with Communist Cuba.

1989: U.S. invades Panama to oust strongman Manuel Noriega.

1994: A U.S.-led invasion of Haiti is launched to remove the military regime installed by a 1991 coup that ousted President Jean-Bertrand Aristide. The invasion restores Aristide.

2002: Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez is ousted for two days before retaking power. He and his allies accuse the U.S. of tacit support for the coup attempt.

2009: Honduran President Manuel Zelaya overthrown by military. U.S. accused of worsening situation by insufficient condemnation of the coup.
https://www.apnews.com/2ded14659982426c9b2552827734be83

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 28th, 2019, 3:09 pm

Doh forget the US want and excuse to enter Wakanda for Vibranium!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 28th, 2019, 3:21 pm

ADONI wrote:Doh forget the US want and excuse to enter Wakanda for Vibranium!

Oil seems a pretty convenient if not totally logical excuse for plenty Trinis wrt US and Western intervention.
Does the US really need Venezuelan oil at this time? They are producing more than they use and globally there is also an oversupply issue.
Recently OPEC had to actually do something they hate to do which is cut oil supplies from their membership. And all this even with heavy sanctions on Iran.

The US can just wait out this period of Venezuelan instability and see what becomes of the country all the while not being bothered about oil.

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2019, 3:24 pm

Cold war tactics in the media... RT running some documentaries on past american interventions in latin american countries.

Postby Redman » January 28th, 2019, 3:58 pm

ADONI wrote:Doh forget the US want and excuse to enter Wakanda for Vibranium!

Oil seems a pretty convenient if not totally logical excuse for plenty Trinis wrt US and Western intervention.
Does the US really need Venezuelan oil at this time? They are producing more than they use and globally there is also an oversupply issue.
Recently OPEC had to actually do something they hate to do which is cut oil supplies from their membership. And all this even with heavy sanctions on Iran.

The US can just wait out this period of Venezuelan instability and see what becomes of the country all the while not being bothered about oil.

Many Gulf Coast refiners are set up for Venezuela spec crude
So it's not an easy switch.

Is this about oil?
I dunno.

Could be oil,the USD, cocaine routes,gold, arms,
I don't think the US ever needed an excuse.

Zachery

Postby Zachery » January 28th, 2019, 4:02 pm

Venezuela has a Humanitarian crisis that cannot continue to be overlooked.
Maduro is also not inline with the constitution of his country.

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 28th, 2019, 4:15 pm

‘Good for business’: Trump adviser Bolton admits US interest in Venezuela’s ‘oil capabilities

With the Venezuela crisis escalating after the US’ provocative intervention against elected leader Nicolas Maduro last week, an honest admission by National Security Advisor John Bolton was overlooked by the media: It’s about oil.
Trump’s top adviser, who has been branded the most fervent hawk in the administration, has admitted that Washington is heavily invested in political outcomes in Caracas particularly because of Venezuela’s vast untapped oil reserves.

Indeed, it just so happens that Venezuela has the world’s largest proven oil reserves.

Speaking to Fox Business host Trish Regan, Bolton said that the US had “a lot at stake” in Venezuela’s political crisis, specifically citing the country’s oil and the economic benefit it could bring to the US.

"It will make a big difference to the United States economically if we could have American oil companies invest in and produce the oil capabilities in Venezuela."

During a separate appearance on Fox Business, Bolton was less explicit, telling host Stuart Varney that getting rid of Maduro was paramount since he was bringing “countries with interests hostile to ours” into the country and ousting him would be a “potential major step forward” for “business” opportunities in the region.

Of course, Bolton also repeated the usual lines, claiming the US intervention in Venezuela’s domestic politics was about ousting an “authoritarian” leader and protecting democracy and human rights — but the comments about oil betrayed what many have suggested is the underlying reason and driving force behind the White House’s interference.

Bolton’s interest in seeing the US economy profit off Venezuela’s plentiful natural resources shouldn’t be much of a surprise. Trump himself has a history of arguing for regime changes in oil-rich countries around the world… but only if US companies benefit.

“I’m interested in Libya if we take the oil. If we don’t take the oil, no interest,”he told Fox in 2012 a month after the disastrous US-led NATO intervention which left Libya a failed state. “We’ll help you, but we want 50 percent of your oil,” he said of Libya in another interview. Trump has also advocated a “take the oil” policy for Iraq in the past.

Bolton isn’t the only one to admit oil is a primary factor in US actions in Venezuela. Florida’s Republican senator Marco Rubio tweeted last week that refining the much-sought after heavy crude from Venezuela already “supports great jobs” for Americans in the Gulf Coast.

"Biggest buyers of Venezuelan oil are @ValeroEnergy & @Chevron. Refining heavy crude from #Venezuela supports great jobs in Gulf Coast.

For the sake of these U.S. workers I hope they will begin working with administration of President Guaido & cut off illegitimate Maduro regime."

Despite clear admissions that oil is a primary interest for Trump and Bolton, that aspect of Venezuela’s crisis has been mostly overlooked by mainstream media in the US and Europe, with journalists, who are usually more hostile to Trump, unquestioningly adopting the narrative that the intervention is about “democracy” instead.

https://www.rt.com/usa/449982-john-bolt ... venezuela/