The TT$1 Billion abandoned Water Recycling Plant

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2019, 1:02 pm

THE billion-dollar project that should have been on stream by now to mitigate the impact of a punishing dry season has not only evaporated but left the country even deeper in the financial hole than was initially thought.

On Friday, the National Gas Company (NGC) said an updated calculation of the money sunk into the incomplete and abandoned Beetham Water Recycling Plant is actually $163 million higher than the original figure of $780 million given to the Parliament in November 2015.

That figure has now been revised upward to $943 million, an increase of just over 20 per cent.

What has not increased is NGC’s assessment of the project as being only 40 to 45 per cent completed when it terminated its contract with Super Industrial Services (SIS) Ltd on December 4, 2015, six weeks after the initial completion date.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 7b73b.html

Re: The TT$1 Billion abandoned Water Recycling Plant

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2019, 1:31 pm

So what sis do with the monies paid ?

Postby De Dragon » January 20th, 2019, 1:40 pm

pugboy wrote:So what sis do with the monies paid ?

Somebody, (but I suspect as with every other large scale corrupt project here in sweet T&T, no one will) should be rotting in jail when this is investigated and adjudicated in on. I am also alarmed by NGC's Comm. Dept saying there are "no plans" to restart the project, because she didn't say "at this time" so is she saying that billion cannot be recovered, if only partially?

Postby Redman » January 20th, 2019, 1:59 pm

If the contracts air tight....and they were....it might be tough to get the money back.

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » January 20th, 2019, 2:18 pm

What alot of people dont know is that this project was created to illeviate the water problems that we have. Descalcott who supplies water to the point lisas industry and parts of the country would have continue to supply and this beetham water treatment plant the rest of the country. Theres a company the along the north coastline there that recycles waste water and sends it back into the sea. The idea was to take that water and make it useable for the domestic household.

Im not a polically biased person but theres a trend of not continuing the previous administration projects if govt change hands. Theres alot of projects that are unfinished becuase of this and its taxpayers dollars are being wasted and projects that could have benefited the nation are now abandoned

VII

Postby VII » January 20th, 2019, 2:19 pm

Disgusting,now add many other scenarios with other contractors in different undertakings and you will get a clearer picture,as a country we lucky if we got 33% of our value for money.

Go to spotters thread and you will see some of the money looking real sharp and shiny..many big thieves holding their heads high and looking down at the masses and the masses continue to drop their draws in admiration instead of asking for accountability..

I look forward to the day when a metre is a metre and a foot a foot in T&T,then maybe all can benefit,and I don;t mean by being able to buy a nice car too,but benefit in the simple ways,like being able to go to any hospital or school simply because it's of high standard,the results we see on the streets and public service is simply a result of corruption,that billion dollars could've done wonders in the health and social sectors.

And for MUCH MUCH MUCH less every road in T&T could've been made safer from median crossings,excursions etc and equipped with better lighting and signage etc..

Multiply this billion by over 100 and you will start getting close to the amounts that have been stolen by a few in this lovely place..

Postby shogun » January 20th, 2019, 3:36 pm

Madness. Would love to hear what's up with this.

pugboy wrote:So what sis do with the monies paid ?

Somebody, (but I suspect as with every other large scale corrupt project here in sweet T&T, no one will) should be rotting in jail when this is investigated and adjudicated in on. I am also alarmed by NGC's Comm. Dept saying there are "no plans" to restart the project, because she didn't say "at this time" so is she saying that billion cannot be recovered, if only partially?

Wurd.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2019, 4:21 pm

And it have men in here who claim the partnersheit is the next best choice

Postby De Dragon » January 20th, 2019, 6:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:And it have men in here who claim the partnersheit is the next best choice

They have done and are doing a considerable amount of sheit, but next to the Sandals cheerleading squad PNM, they smell almost rose like right now.

Postby The_Honourable » January 20th, 2019, 6:07 pm

Meanwhile Krishna Lalla breezing in Panama since 2015 elections

Melchizedek

Postby Melchizedek » January 20th, 2019, 6:58 pm

Party financier legislation needed

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2019, 7:37 pm

Melchizedek wrote:Party financier legislation needed
PNM cake sales generate alot of money bro

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 20th, 2019, 8:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Meanwhile Krishna Lalla breezing in Panama since 2015 elections

Was thinking what ever happened. This place is not real nah.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Trinidad will continue not being a real place as long as unc and pnm exist

Postby Redman » January 20th, 2019, 8:59 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:And it have men in here who claim the partnersheit is the next best choice

Elections are entirely about making your choice from those that offer themselves.

Nowhere in the rules is there a qualitative requirement that needs to be met

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2019, 10:13 pm

on the other hand the other preferred contractor gone into selling cement business to try and legitimize their loot.

eurotuner wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Meanwhile Krishna Lalla breezing in Panama since 2015 elections

Was thinking what ever happened. This place is not real nah.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 20th, 2019, 10:29 pm

Question for you, because contractors who delivered work made a profit, why do you see that as corruption? You think if it was as corrupt as you claim, wouldn't PNM be all over this like they were with the Piarco airport? Could it be that, while nepotism was at work, things were done above board meeting all criteria?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 21st, 2019, 4:57 am

Sigh.. biggest flood ever last year .. months later .. all that water done? So how does desert areas like dubai get water.. eh this country is a waste sometimes yes .. we need to start getting serious.. else 10-20yrs from now.. we will be in trouble

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 21st, 2019, 5:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trinidad will continue not being a real place as long as unc and pnm exist
Yup yup. And as soon as we get smart ..they throw in racialism to distract us ... back in the days they pave your road n walk around to mamaguy u... now them might jus throw a party make promises n people eating chain

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2019, 5:03 am

l33t2 wrote:

Question for you, because contractors who delivered work made a profit, why do you see that as corruption? You think if it was as corrupt as you claim, wouldn't PNM be all over this like they were with the Piarco airport? Could it be that, while nepotism was at work, things were done above board meeting all criteria?

but this work was not delivered

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 21st, 2019, 6:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

but this work was not delivered

Nah, doh say dat. Kamala had a opening ceremony with plaque an ting. So dat mean it open.

Leh we jus forget about all dem contractor who collect millions of dollars in advance payment under de PP and eh dig out one bit of dirt at de site, and now walk away with the cash.

l33t2 wrote:Question for you, because contractors who delivered work made a profit, why do you see that as corruption? You think if it was as corrupt as you claim, wouldn't PNM be all over this like they were with the Piarco airport? Could it be that, while nepotism was at work, things were done above board meeting all criteria?

What do you considered delivered? Kamala having an openining ceremony for a facility that has no statutory and regulatory agencies approvals that cannot be used and UML putting up pictures to fool the masses?

From what I understand, PNM are currently investigating these contractors. The question is whether they will use the findings from these investigations for the good of the people or for their own good, which hardly ever aligns with the good of the people.

From what I have seen, PNM are really no better than the UNC, they just duncier and can't hide the corruption as good as the UNC.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2019, 6:18 am

Id be convinced when I see financiers of both parties start being charged....but in the mean time I not voting for none and all ah dem could hull deh mc

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 21st, 2019, 7:13 am

This is a big waste of taxpayer money. Even though I hate the PNM and will never vote for them someone still needs to be held accountable. Finish the project and make sure somebody get charged.

Infamouz

Postby Infamouz » January 21st, 2019, 7:14 am

World Boss Lallla!

imangotit08

Postby imangotit08 » January 21st, 2019, 7:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trinidad will continue not being a real place as long as unc and pnm exist
Now THAT is a comment that I agree with...

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2019, 7:19 am

the king of mobilization fees yes

Postby Les Bain » January 21st, 2019, 7:34 am

Seems a bigger fuss was made for the airport that's actually in use than ALL the big money projects that wound up existing in a dusty cabinet somewhere.

Tally the cost of the failed & development limbo projects and you might get sick.

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2019, 7:58 am

Les Bain wrote:Seems a bigger fuss was made for the airport that's actually in use than ALL the big money projects that wound up existing in a dusty cabinet somewhere.

Tally the cost of the failed & development limbo projects and you might get sick.
Men forgot PNM project pride where some 450million was spent and nothing to show for it.

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2019, 8:04 am

true,
its because the airport was the first set of new generation type blatant bobol all going to three guys

but yes the panday projects did yield some fruit which are actually quite critically in use presently
eg desal plant, trinity power

Les Bain wrote:Seems a bigger fuss was made for the airport that's actually in use than ALL the big money projects that wound up existing in a dusty cabinet somewhere.

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2019, 8:07 am

if you ever study the ppl behind project pride you will know that the panday piarco bobol is an extension of it
some of the unc men are descendants of mervyn de souza

furthermore the cuban florida contractor who made a jail in miami and admitted piarco was a big bobol also worked on mt hope hospital

Men forgot PNM project pride where some 450million was spent and nothing to show for it.