*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Pablo660

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Pablo660 » December 16th, 2018, 8:45 pm

Chiney wrote:Image

Decided to go with the Image Dynamics IDMAX 15" D2 sub.

Check the specs online.

Hey Chiney
I want to build this sub. How has it worked out so far since 2015
Any info on box will be helpful, I won’t be using an internal amp.
Thanks

Postby rollingstock » December 16th, 2018, 8:58 pm

I'm using a treo ssi 15.
3.5cu/ft tuned to 24hz.

Tried all different types of ht subs, but none within my budget could do what I want.
Was either eating for a year or a sub.

Postby Gladiator » December 17th, 2018, 7:55 am

rollingstock wrote:I'm using a treo ssi 15.
3.5cu/ft tuned to 24hz.

Tried all different types of ht subs, but none within my budget could do what I want.
Was either eating for a year or a sub.
LOL.... yeah those high end off the shelf subs can cost an arm and leg.

The best results is to build it yourself. That way you can customise the enclosure size for your room and get the freq response you need.

Postby X_Factor » December 17th, 2018, 1:50 pm

kaizen who sells image dynamic stuff has the id 15 for 1300
its low powered so a pair of those would be around 700rms with decent headroom on the amp to avoid clipping

Grudge

Postby Grudge » December 18th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Hi Guys, where can I get equalizers, receivers, passive speaker boxes to buy in San Fernando or Princess Town. POS dry only these horrible powered boxes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 18th, 2018, 6:59 pm

Grudge wrote:Hi Guys, where can I get equalizers, receivers, passive speaker boxes to buy in San Fernando or Princess Town. POS dry only these horrible powered boxes.

https://www.gopaulelectronics.com/

Postby rollingstock » December 18th, 2018, 9:44 pm

R&N on cipero Street.
Triple r on the same Street has some also.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » December 19th, 2018, 7:42 am

Thanks Guys, will check them out.

Postby hydroep » December 19th, 2018, 7:54 am

R&N moved to Coffee Street, opposite Furniture plus.

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2018, 11:37 am

the dbx 131 eq is decent for the sub channel

i cannot see an eq being used for the midrange part unless u using separates with pre outs and stand alone amps
and most recievers has a fairly decent eq that works well for the midrange

Streamline systems in elsocorro has a few decent but not cheap stuff

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » December 19th, 2018, 11:45 am

Pablo660 wrote:
Chiney wrote:Image

Decided to go with the Image Dynamics IDMAX 15" D2 sub.

Check the specs online.

Hey Chiney
I want to build this sub. How has it worked out so far since 2015
Any info on box will be helpful, I won’t be using an internal amp.
Thanks
Have a BASH 300 plate minutes the amplifier if you interested for your build.

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2018, 11:50 am

^ he bought the inuke 1000

Pablo660

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Pablo660 » December 19th, 2018, 12:13 pm

What u asking for the bash?
I could buy if it’s in my budget and give it back to my uncle, the psb 10 rebuilt.
He would love to have another as he has a velodine 15

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » December 21st, 2018, 1:47 pm

Tried my best with speaker placement, using a Bosch Self-Leveling Cross-Line Laser GLL 55 and a printed 360 degrees protractor.
Used for speaker placement - https://www.svsound.com/blogs/svs/74790 ... -placement

I'm sure its not 100% positioned correctly but the placement had such a noticeable difference during the viewing experience. Was amazing or could just be mind over matter who knows.

I used rtings TV size to distance viewing calculator to place the couch about 7.6' from a 50"TV.
The majority/all of the content being viewed is still 1080p.

IMO, proper sound setup for viewing movies made the experience much better than viewing on a larger screen.

Postby X_Factor » December 21st, 2018, 2:20 pm

psychoacoustics plays a huge factor in our listening

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 21st, 2018, 3:06 pm

turboturnsmeon2 wrote:IMO, proper sound setup for viewing movies made the experience much better than viewing on a larger screen.

yes it makes a significant difference

Postby mero » February 16th, 2019, 3:00 pm

Looking for a svs pb1000 or sb1000.

Anyone has or know where to find locally?

Postby rollingstock » February 16th, 2019, 5:25 pm

mero wrote:Looking for a svs pb1000 or sb1000.

Streamline systems
The sb1000 sealed 300w 12" is around 4500

Postby mero » February 17th, 2019, 11:15 am

That price really isn't that bad then seeing its 500usd..

It's on sale on for 400usd so I'm considering pulling the trigger and bringing it via sea.. unless some alternative options come up before..

Open for options but those svs subs hella nice tbh
mero wrote:Looking for a svs pb1000 or sb1000.

Streamline systems
The sb1000 sealed 300w 12" is around 4500

Postby X_Factor » February 17th, 2019, 12:35 pm

u know we will say diy sub and crown or behringer amp

Postby mero » February 17th, 2019, 1:20 pm

I'm all for that. Wouldn't mind saving a couple thousand $ too and getting some hands on exp too.

Check pm. Anyone else can feel free to drop some suggestions too
X_Factor wrote:u know we will say diy sub and crown or behringer amp

Postby Gladiator » February 17th, 2019, 10:06 pm

mero wrote:I'm all for that. Wouldn't mind saving a couple thousand $ too and getting some hands on exp too.

Check pm. Anyone else can feel free to drop some suggestions too
X_Factor wrote:u know we will say diy sub and crown or behringer amp

I have a brand new Behringer NX3000 to sell if you interested... PM me

Postby rollingstock » February 17th, 2019, 10:40 pm

As mentioned above, diy
You can tailor your specs to suit your intended listening area.
If Zim around, I built a custom enclosure for an id12 for him that more than did his room justice. Coupled with a plate amp, saved several thousand dollars if he had to buy a sub to do the same.

I'm guessing also the Bic just not cutting it? :D
I had a feeling it wouldn't, nice sub but underwhelming.

Postby mero » February 18th, 2019, 11:54 am

rollingstock wrote:As mentioned above, diy
If Zim around, I built a custom enclosure for an id12 for him that more than did his room justice. Coupled with a plate amp, saved several thousand dollars if he had to buy a sub to do the same.

Tbh I feel like I deserve more than the 8"BIC. Think I'll still keep it as a back up.

The 8" sub from the Take classic system used to suffice for me, average to meh for audio but sounded pretty sweet for bluray movies, so I'm really wondering if I need a 12 for that same space.

From start to finish what's the possible cost of a DIY 10 inch sub?

Postby mero » February 18th, 2019, 12:01 pm

And I checked out streamline systems and saw this.. nice prices on the klipsch. Think the svs little out of the budget now dImage

Postby rollingstock » February 18th, 2019, 1:50 pm

mero wrote:
rollingstock wrote:As mentioned above, diy

Tbh I feel like I deserve more than the 8"BIC. Think I'll still keep it as a back up.

The 8" sub from the Take classic system used to suffice for me, average to meh for audio but sounded pretty sweet for bluray movies, so I'm really wondering if I need a 12 for that same space.

From start to finish what's the possible cost of a DIY 10 inch sub?

An id10 should run about 800
Plate amp from parts express about 1200
Sheet of mdf and an aeroport about 500
I would suggest going with a 12"

Postby rollingstock » February 18th, 2019, 1:58 pm

Zim

Postby Zim » February 22nd, 2019, 9:46 am

Yeah rs, I here. I still rocking the enclosure with the "twins" no complaints except from the neighbours lmao. I use one sub mostly, also had to lower the gain on the Sony

vasquez

Postby vasquez » February 22nd, 2019, 10:14 am

Guys looking at the Bose 700 Soundbar and the sub to go with it any thoughts on it heard it was impressed

Postby mero » February 22nd, 2019, 10:23 am

rollingstock wrote:https://www.parts-express.com/peerless-by-tymphany-ne315w-08-12-subwoofer-speaker--264-1142

https://www.parts-express.com/yung-sd30 ... z--301-510

For consideration
Boy I say fook all that and ordered the pb1000. Reaching under 20hz so I cool with that.

Looking to upgrade L +R channels soon.

The NHT superone 2.1 got some nice sales rn