The Ministry of Health (MoH) has noted that a Health Advisory issued by the by the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), USA on November 20th, 2018, has identified an outbreak of illnesses in North America relating to the food safety of romaine lettuce within the USA. The CDC also notes that the outbreak may be linked to a particular type of E. Coli Bacteria.
As such, the MoH advises the public that the romaine lettuce originating from the US should not be consumed. Homeowners are advised that refrigerated romaine lettuce should be bagged and discarded along with any other food item in direct contact with the lettuce. Refrigerators should be cleared and sanitised before replacing items. Members of the public exhibiting symptoms consistent with gastroenteritis including:
- Diarrhea
- Severe stomach cramps
- Vomiting after consuming romaine lettuce should immediately contact their physician or the nearest health facility.
Wholesale Distributors, supermarket and restaurant owners/managers are also advised not to offer for sale, romaine lettuce in any form (such as in Caesar salads) to the public, until clearance is provided by the Ministry of Health. Thus far, there have been no reported cases of illness in Trinidad and Tobago, as a result of persons consuming romaine lettuce. However, this advisory is being issued out of an abundance of caution, to protect the health of consumers.
The Ministry will continue to monitor this health concern and provide the public with further updates as and when necessary.
Members of the public may contact the Chemistry Food and Drugs Division (CFDD) at 623-5242, cfdd@health.gov.tt or the Public Health Inspectorate (PHI) at 645-4589 or publichealth@health.gov.tt for further information.
(⊙x⊙;)pugboy wrote:A real ecoli or salmonella is serious compared to a spoil food
I get that once, spent a week in the toilet
Dizzy28 wrote:Pftt........Can't afford romaine anyhows!!!
streetbeastINC. wrote:Really hard to sanitise contaminated green leafy.... been getting unacceptable results a while now when samples are taken....on another note...spike in suspected lepto cases educate yourselves on precautionary measures....
pugboy wrote:Lepto is not hard to defend against
Need basic hygiene and washing
Basic soaps kill the virus as well as dryness.
Key is keeping environment and goods dry
Stuff like soft drinks etc should not be exposed to where rodents pass, rinse cans etc before using.
Prob is many supermarkets have rats running in their warehouses.streetbeastINC. wrote:Really hard to sanitise contaminated green leafy.... been getting unacceptable results a while now when samples are taken....on another note...spike in suspected lepto cases educate yourselves on precautionary measures....
pugboy wrote:Yeah , at $44 a pack
Leave that for the 1%Dizzy28 wrote:Pftt........Can't afford romaine anyhows!!!
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Good thing I can't afford that yes....
This is one downside to evolving by cooking food, our stomach acid gets weaker but our brains get bigger and we get smarter. But unlike the Crocodiles and vultures we go sh!t for weeks if we eat ah lil E-coli
One thing that puzzles me is the vagrant up by my side, I see he does drink garbage water with rotten meat and tons of maggots in it and he doh ever get affected in anyway, shape or form.
Musical Doc wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Good thing I can't afford that yes....
This is one downside to evolving by cooking food, our stomach acid gets weaker but our brains get bigger and we get smarter. But unlike the Crocodiles and vultures we go sh!t for weeks if we eat ah lil E-coli
One thing that puzzles me is the vagrant up by my side, I see he does drink garbage water with rotten meat and tons of maggots in it and he doh ever get affected in anyway, shape or form.
And is like they have a natural 6 pack too!!!!
airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?
crazybalhead wrote:I work in La Romaine, am I safe?
pugboy wrote:Yeah , at $44 a pack
Leave that for the 1%Dizzy28 wrote:Pftt........Can't afford romaine anyhows!!!
Dizzy28 wrote:airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?
Why Nat Sec?
airuma wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?
Why Nat Sec?
Isn't customs and excise under that ministry?
Dizzy28 wrote:airuma wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?
Why Nat Sec?
Isn't customs and excise under that ministry?
No. Customs and Excise is Ministry of Finance
FDA: Romaine lettuce is safe once it's not from central CA
Romaine lettuce is safe to eat as long as it's not from California’s Central Coast growing region, federal health officials said late Monday.
So far, an outbreak of E. coli linked to romaine lettuce has made 43 people sick in 12 states, plus another 22 in Canada, the Food and Drug Administration said.
The FDA and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said they had narrowed down the suspect lettuce to lettuce harvested in northern and central California.
They still don’t have enough information to name a specific grower or distributor, but said consumers can begin to look for the popular lettuce again.
Last week, the CDC and FDA told people not to eat any romaine lettuce at all and said stores should take it off the shelves.
"Over the Thanksgiving holiday, the FDA continued to investigate the outbreak. Our investigation at this point suggests that romaine lettuce associated with the outbreak comes from areas of California that grow romaine lettuce over the summer months, and that the outbreak appears to be related to 'end of season' romaine lettuce harvested from these areas," FDA commissioner Dr. Scott Gottlieb said in a statement.
So people can eat some romaine confidently.
“If you do not know where your romaine lettuce is from, do not eat it,” the CDC said in a statement
Bronze lettuce grown in the farm
KRISTIAN DE SILVA
Sharlene Rampersad
The Ministry of Health is warning consumers not to eat romaine lettuce grown in the Salinas California growing region, amidst international reports of an e.Coli outbreak.
In a release yesterday, the Ministry also ordered that retailers should not sell any romaine lettuce, including all use-by dates and brands of romaine lettuce from this region.
The advisory was first issued by the US Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) after an outbreak of a specific strain of e.Coli (Escherichia coli O157: H7), which is a serotype of the bacteria. People with e.Coli can develop kidney failure.
As for romaine lettuce that has already been purchased from the affected region, the ministry advises that the produce be discarded or returned to the place of purchase.
If you are unsure whether a salad mix or wrap contains romaine, the product should either be discarded or returned to the seller. The ministry also advises that all refrigerators where romaine has been stored should be thoroughly cleaned and sanitised.
These restrictions will be in place until the ministry clears the product for sale and the release says although there have been reported cases in T&T of people eating romaine and becoming ill, the ministry is taking every precaution necessary to protect consumers. If you want more information on this issue, you can contact the Chemistry Food and Drugs Division of the Ministry at 623-5242/623-CFDD or email cfdd@health.gov.tt.