California Romaine lettuce E-Coli alert- do not eat!

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2018, 7:19 pm

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/ministry-of-health-romaine-lettuce-not-safe/article_a1ec38fa-edd9-11e8-ad6c-e318f7518d1b.html
The Ministry of Health (MoH) has noted that a Health Advisory issued by the by the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), USA on November 20th, 2018, has identified an outbreak of illnesses in North America relating to the food safety of romaine lettuce within the USA. The CDC also notes that the outbreak may be linked to a particular type of E. Coli Bacteria.

As such, the MoH advises the public that the romaine lettuce originating from the US should not be consumed. Homeowners are advised that refrigerated romaine lettuce should be bagged and discarded along with any other food item in direct contact with the lettuce. Refrigerators should be cleared and sanitised before replacing items. Members of the public exhibiting symptoms consistent with gastroenteritis including:

- Diarrhea

- Severe stomach cramps

- Vomiting after consuming romaine lettuce should immediately contact their physician or the nearest health facility.

Wholesale Distributors, supermarket and restaurant owners/managers are also advised not to offer for sale, romaine lettuce in any form (such as in Caesar salads) to the public, until clearance is provided by the Ministry of Health. Thus far, there have been no reported cases of illness in Trinidad and Tobago, as a result of persons consuming romaine lettuce. However, this advisory is being issued out of an abundance of caution, to protect the health of consumers.

The Ministry will continue to monitor this health concern and provide the public with further updates as and when necessary.

Members of the public may contact the Chemistry Food and Drugs Division (CFDD) at 623-5242, cfdd@health.gov.tt or the Public Health Inspectorate (PHI) at 645-4589 or publichealth@health.gov.tt for further information.
Last edited by redmanjp on November 27th, 2018, 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Romaine lettuce E-Coli alert- do not eat!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 21st, 2018, 8:26 pm

Wheeeeeeeeeyy

And i now blaze down a whole bowl of salad with romaine

I hope i doh dead

link

Postby link » November 21st, 2018, 8:31 pm

Massy stores has full shelves of romaine lettuce........... hope it's not of US origin..........

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2018, 8:32 pm

A real ecoli or salmonella is serious compared to a spoil food
I get that once, spent a week in the toilet

Postby *KRONIK* » November 21st, 2018, 8:46 pm

pugboy wrote:A real ecoli or salmonella is serious compared to a spoil food
I get that once, spent a week in the toilet
(⊙x⊙;)

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 21st, 2018, 8:50 pm

Really hard to sanitise contaminated green leafy.... been getting unacceptable results a while now when samples are taken....on another note...spike in suspected lepto cases educate yourselves on precautionary measures....

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2018, 9:10 pm

Pftt........Can't afford romaine anyhows!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 21st, 2018, 9:18 pm

Good thing I can't afford that yes....

This is one downside to evolving by cooking food, our stomach acid gets weaker but our brains get bigger and we get smarter. But unlike the Crocodiles and vultures we go sh!t for weeks if we eat ah lil E-coli

One thing that puzzles me is the vagrant up by my side, I see he does drink garbage water with rotten meat and tons of maggots in it and he doh ever get affected in anyway, shape or form.

matix

Postby matix » November 21st, 2018, 9:22 pm

Well this is pressure. I had some food today in Atlantic plaza with that lettuce. Walk with Crix and coffee

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2018, 10:42 pm

Yeah , at $44 a pack
Leave that for the 1%

Dizzy28 wrote:Pftt........Can't afford romaine anyhows!!!

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2018, 10:46 pm

Lepto is not hard to defend against
Need basic hygiene and washing
Basic soaps kill the virus as well as dryness.

Key is keeping environment and goods dry
Stuff like soft drinks etc should not be exposed to where rodents pass, rinse cans etc before using.

Prob is many supermarkets have rats running in their warehouses.

streetbeastINC. wrote:Really hard to sanitise contaminated green leafy.... been getting unacceptable results a while now when samples are taken....on another note...spike in suspected lepto cases educate yourselves on precautionary measures....

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 22nd, 2018, 2:25 am

Looks like I'm gonna be eating salad all week guys

Wish me luck

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 22nd, 2018, 2:46 am

pugboy wrote:Lepto is not hard to defend against
Need basic hygiene and washing
Basic soaps kill the virus as well as dryness.

Key is keeping environment and goods dry
Stuff like soft drinks etc should not be exposed to where rodents pass, rinse cans etc before using.

Prob is many supermarkets have rats running in their warehouses.

streetbeastINC. wrote:Really hard to sanitise contaminated green leafy.... been getting unacceptable results a while now when samples are taken....on another note...spike in suspected lepto cases educate yourselves on precautionary measures....

Cases seem to be because of direct result of playing swimming etc in flood water...

Postby hydroep » November 22nd, 2018, 4:44 am

Yuh could stir fry it, but that kinda defeating the purpose.

pugboy wrote:Yeah , at $44 a pack
Leave that for the 1%

$5 a head for Iceberg Lettuce at last Sunday's Market. But with the recent local flooding I'm not sure how safe those are either...:|

UK Premium Imports

Postby UK Premium Imports » November 22nd, 2018, 5:09 am

Ate some greengiant romaine lettuce from pricesmart recently right before the news broke on this. I still alive for now.

Anyone know how that particular brand is fairing with this outbreak?

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2018, 5:43 am

Bruhhh..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 22nd, 2018, 7:57 am

Yet, we were worried about local farmers selling flooded greens....

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 22nd, 2018, 8:37 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Good thing I can't afford that yes....

This is one downside to evolving by cooking food, our stomach acid gets weaker but our brains get bigger and we get smarter. But unlike the Crocodiles and vultures we go sh!t for weeks if we eat ah lil E-coli

One thing that puzzles me is the vagrant up by my side, I see he does drink garbage water with rotten meat and tons of maggots in it and he doh ever get affected in anyway, shape or form.

And is like they have a natural 6 pack too!!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » November 22nd, 2018, 9:00 am

Musical Doc wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Good thing I can't afford that yes....

And is like they have a natural 6 pack too!!!!

That's the key silly rabbits!!!

Drain water gives you gains.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 22nd, 2018, 11:09 am

So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 22nd, 2018, 11:17 am

airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?

Why Nat Sec?

Postby crazybalhead » November 22nd, 2018, 11:38 am

I work in La Romaine, am I safe?

snatman

Postby snatman » November 22nd, 2018, 11:44 am

crazybalhead wrote:I work in La Romaine, am I safe?

Not from Dracula!

snatman

Postby snatman » November 22nd, 2018, 11:49 am

pugboy wrote:Yeah , at $44 a pack
Leave that for the 1%

Its only slightly more expensive.

$30-45 for a pack with with three heads. Each head has as much content as one typical local lettuce.

Guy in 'puna market regularly has it for $25.

I aint buying it now, but just saying.

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2018, 12:26 pm

hmm so both local & foreign lettuce ha problems now

airuma

Postby airuma » November 22nd, 2018, 2:17 pm

airuma wrote:So did the Ministry of Agriculture contact the Ministry of National Security to confirm the importers then contact the importers to determine their customers with the intention of visiting all of the customers (retail outlets and restaurants) in a specified time frame? If they did, can this be communicated to the public as well so we can feel a little comforted?

Why Nat Sec?

Isn't customs and excise under that ministry?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 22nd, 2018, 2:43 pm

airuma wrote:

Why Nat Sec?

No. Customs and Excise is Ministry of Finance

airuma

Postby airuma » November 22nd, 2018, 3:51 pm

airuma wrote:

Why Nat Sec?

No. Customs and Excise is Ministry of Finance

My bad, always associated customs officers with immigration officers. Scratch Nat Sec and replace with Ministry of Finance then...... so we need to riot for them to be proactive!

Postby redmanjp » November 27th, 2018, 7:30 pm

only the ones from California are affected

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/fda-romaine-lettuce-safe-once-its-not-central-ca

FDA: Romaine lettuce is safe once it's not from central CA
Romaine lettuce is safe to eat as long as it's not from California’s Central Coast growing region, federal health officials said late Monday.

So far, an outbreak of E. coli linked to romaine lettuce has made 43 people sick in 12 states, plus another 22 in Canada, the Food and Drug Administration said.

The FDA and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said they had narrowed down the suspect lettuce to lettuce harvested in northern and central California.

They still don’t have enough information to name a specific grower or distributor, but said consumers can begin to look for the popular lettuce again.

Last week, the CDC and FDA told people not to eat any romaine lettuce at all and said stores should take it off the shelves.

"Over the Thanksgiving holiday, the FDA continued to investigate the outbreak. Our investigation at this point suggests that romaine lettuce associated with the outbreak comes from areas of California that grow romaine lettuce over the summer months, and that the outbreak appears to be related to 'end of season' romaine lettuce harvested from these areas," FDA commissioner Dr. Scott Gottlieb said in a statement.

So people can eat some romaine confidently.

“If you do not know where your romaine lettuce is from, do not eat it,” the CDC said in a statement

Re: California Romaine lettuce E-Coli alert- do not eat!

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2019, 4:44 pm

here we go again

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/dont-buy-or-sell-lettuce-6.2.997911.58494fe0b4

Bronze lettuce grown in the farm

KRISTIAN DE SILVA

Shar­lene Ram­per­sad

The Min­istry of Health is warn­ing con­sumers not to eat ro­maine let­tuce grown in the Sali­nas Cal­i­for­nia grow­ing re­gion, amidst in­ter­na­tion­al re­ports of an e.Coli out­break.

In a re­lease yes­ter­day, the Min­istry al­so or­dered that re­tail­ers should not sell any ro­maine let­tuce, in­clud­ing all use-by dates and brands of ro­maine let­tuce from this re­gion.

The ad­vi­so­ry was first is­sued by the US Cen­tre for Dis­ease Con­trol and Pre­ven­tion (CDC) af­ter an out­break of a spe­cif­ic strain of e.Coli (Es­cherichia coli O157: H7), which is a serotype of the bac­te­ria. Peo­ple with e.Coli can de­vel­op kid­ney fail­ure.

As for ro­maine let­tuce that has al­ready been pur­chased from the af­fect­ed re­gion, the min­istry ad­vis­es that the pro­duce be dis­card­ed or re­turned to the place of pur­chase.

If you are un­sure whether a sal­ad mix or wrap con­tains ro­maine, the prod­uct should ei­ther be dis­card­ed or re­turned to the sell­er. The min­istry al­so ad­vis­es that all re­frig­er­a­tors where ro­maine has been stored should be thor­ough­ly cleaned and sani­tised.

These re­stric­tions will be in place un­til the min­istry clears the prod­uct for sale and the re­lease says al­though there have been re­port­ed cas­es in T&T of peo­ple eat­ing ro­maine and be­com­ing ill, the min­istry is tak­ing every pre­cau­tion nec­es­sary to pro­tect con­sumers. If you want more in­for­ma­tion on this is­sue, you can con­tact the Chem­istry Food and Drugs Di­vi­sion of the Min­istry at 623-5242/623-CFDD or email cfdd@health.gov.tt.