The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 9:00 pm

Nice, nice. At least this may help some of the affected get in touch with their loved ones and start coordinating to get their lives back on track...

CNC3 Television, Trinidad and Tobago

TSTT INSTALLS FREE INTERNET AT FLOOD SHELTERS

The Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) has begun installing internet services in flood shelters throughout Trinidad and Tobago.

TSTT says it is being done as part of its continued commitment to national service and in particular ensuring that the national community remains properly connected even in times of natural disasters.

A statement by TSTT said Planning and Development Minister and Member of Parliament for Arouca/Maloney, Camille Robinson-Regis was on hand to witness the first of these installations today at the shelter located at the Arouca Community Centre.

That shelter currently houses two families but expects to accommodate as many as 50 more families.

Internet service was installed at La Horquetta and the team has moved to Pinto Road, Arima.

TSTT notes that all internet services are free of charge.

VII

Postby VII » October 20th, 2018, 9:01 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
VII wrote:Hope animal rescue is in place,the encounters have already begun,this could be a wildlife disaster also if not attended to,some huge ass caimans and anacondas already making the rounds,countless turtles and other snakes etc..

This
44429114_1169013326581584_2264710399477678080_n.jpg

8-)

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 9:03 pm

rspann wrote:Who saw when they were talking about where people building ,and the reporter asked " isn't a lot of the affected HDC developments?"
Influencing the narrative...
U recognize the voice of that reporter asking?
Screenshot_2018-10-20-20-56-57-316_com.twitter.android.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » October 20th, 2018, 9:17 pm

rebound wrote:
matix wrote:Lemme know if you get through. I wanna head up shortly
Np...still waiting on the shoulder
Well i made it to the Airport.....the route from the highway block was tru the road by heartland plaza to Talparo then tru Chin Chin then San Rapheal to Tumpuna Road and back to the Airport......deepest water I went tru was about 30 inches as the water was subsiding..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 9:19 pm

evo-flood.jpg

brainchild

Postby brainchild » October 20th, 2018, 9:21 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ok nice the truck passed and they distributed the palau we got 10 boxes of palau and 3 case of bottled water.

Amazing that the private citizens are the ones that saved us
U see n ppl bad mouth the 1%. I hope this disaster open some eyes around the country n ppl realise that we all in this together. If is anyone we have to watch cut-eye it's the politicians (on both sides) who pit us against eachother repeatedly.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 20th, 2018, 9:23 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
matix wrote:Good lord.

Things look like they starting to move

Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 8.44.39 PM.png

Are those cars parked on the side of the highway?

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 9:27 pm

UPDATE: The Uriah Butler Highway between Grand Bazaar and Monroe Road Flyover remains closed. Commissioner Gary Griffith says trucks can pass on the Northbound lane but they have to drive very slow. Other vehicles are not allowed to pass. The Southbound lane remains impassable.

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 9:28 pm

Postby mero » October 20th, 2018, 9:32 pm

sMASH wrote:
rspann wrote:Who saw when they were talking about where people building ,and the reporter asked " isn't a lot of the affected HDC developments?"
U recognize the voice of that reporter asking?
Screenshot_2018-10-20-20-56-57-316_com.twitter.android.jpeg

Farmers who used to plant in the area before it developed said they used to come across there on boats and even fished sometimes when it rained for a bit.. They said water used to be around 4 -6 ft high.. never truly visioned it till I see it with my own eyes.

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 9:36 pm

Dr. Rowley told a reporter at the press briefing that Monday will be a normal workday (i.e. no holiday) as those affected are counting on the ones who can work to provide goods and services for them.

Employers and schools should be reasonable and understanding when dealing with victims of the disaster.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 20th, 2018, 9:43 pm

I'm actually surprised majority of citizens are doing their good will and contributing while the bald head who in his dry bed waiting till Monday to ask cabinet for 25m and only 5% of that would barely reach person who actually been affected.

Postby bluefete » October 20th, 2018, 9:47 pm

Cause yuh know men done rubbing dey hands to see what they cud get.

Thank God for the good citizens.

WarrLordd wrote:I'm actually surprised majority of citizens are doing their good will and contributing while the bald head who in his dry bed waiting till Monday to ask cabinet for 25m and only 5% of that would barely reach person who actually been affected.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 20th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Can anyone give the status of the Southern Main Road from Kay Donna to Cunupia?

Postby bluefete » October 20th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Is that the Evo in trouble?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:evo-flood.jpg

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 9:59 pm

WarrLordd wrote:I'm actually surprised majority of citizens are doing their good will and contributing while the bald head who in his dry bed waiting till Monday to ask cabinet for 25m and only 5% of that would barely reach person who actually been affected.

I thought I heard him say he will go to the cabinet on thursday? I believe they should have met today and dealt with the situation while it's going on. There must be some sort of fund they could access right away. The protective service needs to be trained to respond to these situations. I was in that traffic around 9.30 this morning and a police van turned around in the traffic and made a twirling sign with his hands ,like "better allyuh turn around yes" everybody just started to turn and created more traffic.

I just drove forward into the space they created and turned into the lay by exit running alongside all the parts shops after grand bazaar. No traffic at all. If there were police out from early, majority of the chaos and damage to vehicles could have been avoided.

Dinghies and small boats could be used to reach the affected areas to bring relief ,rescue and supplies. People had no cause to stay on a roof all night. Growlers say the access was cut off, we know, but get a way to reach the people. Kalco had an overloader transporting people and supplies. The army and other authorities could commandeer equipment and resources to deal with the situation, but they and the ODPM were like headless chickens.

Postby The_Honourable » October 20th, 2018, 10:09 pm

Not looking good

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 10:10 pm

Hmmm, ah dunno...looks like at attempt to capitalize on people's misery. If yuh helping others (and not yourself) why not do it anonymously?

Then again business is business, yuh have to make back what yuh giving out even if it's only goodwill. Quite the list of contributors thus far...:|

A FLOOD OF RELIEF

While the news of the extensive flooding in some parts of Trinidad has been tragic, it has also brought out the best in people from all walks of life.

In an effort to capture this huge outpouring of support to those in need at this time and in order to provide a single platform and vehicle for sharing critical information, the Guardian Media Group has created an initiative called 'Flood of Relief'.

It will be used to educate and inform the public on the resources available to those affected and open a channel through which you can respond with support which you may wish to give and the means of doing so.

Chairman of the ANSA McAL Group of Companies, Norman Sabga, has announced a one million dollar initial donation in goods to the areas affected.

More support has also come through:

The Agostini Group of Companies
The Prestige Group of Companies
Sagicor
Richard Azar (Dairy Dairy)
Colin Sabga. (Iceland)
FireOne Fireworks and Fineline
Distributors.
Hadco
Massy
Blue Waters
Global Brands (Pizza Boys)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 10:12 pm

Current sediment plumes in the Gulf of Paria

Photos by Ronny Alcazares — with Annette Bedasee.

Postby The_Honourable » October 20th, 2018, 10:15 pm

Because some on fb accusing "de 1%" for not helping. A lot of 1% businesses are helping, it's just not widely circulated or shared. Dominos, SuperPharm, KFC for example giving to victims and the protective services.

hydroep wrote:Hmmm, ah dunno...looks like at attempt to capitalize on people's misery. If yuh helping others (and not yourself) why not do it anonymously?

Then again business is business, yuh have to make back what yuh giving out even if it's only goodwill. Quite the list of contributors thus far...:|

A FLOOD OF RELIEF

While the news of the extensive flooding in some parts of Trinidad has been tragic, it has also brought out the best in people from all walks of life.

In an effort to capture this huge outpouring of support to those in need at this time and in order to provide a single platform and vehicle for sharing critical information, the Guardian Media Group has created an initiative called 'Flood of Relief'.

It will be used to educate and inform the public on the resources available to those affected and open a channel through which you can respond with support which you may wish to give and the means of doing so.

Chairman of the ANSA McAL Group of Companies, Norman Sabga, has announced a one million dollar initial donation in goods to the areas affected.

More support has also come through:

The Agostini Group of Companies
The Prestige Group of Companies
Sagicor
Richard Azar (Dairy Dairy)
Colin Sabga. (Iceland)
FireOne Fireworks and Fineline
Distributors.
Hadco
Massy
Blue Waters
Global Brands (Pizza Boys)
Last edited by The_Honourable on October 20th, 2018, 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 10:16 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Can anyone give the status of the Southern Main Road from Kay Donna to Cunupia?

I tried to pass there but after the UTT entrance was only water so evereybody was turning around there too.

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2018, 10:19 pm

sMASH wrote:
U recognize the voice of that reporter asking? Screenshot_2018-10-20-20-56-57-316_com.twitter.android.jpeg

Ent Rowley say that ppl have to live somewhere somehow ...when he replied . I can't remember exactly but it was along those lines.

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 10:19 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Not looking good

Yuh mad? She real hot!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 10:19 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Can anyone give the status of the Southern Main Road from Kay Donna to Cunupia?

passed there last night to get to the airport from Chaguanas as Kelly and St. Helena were underwater. There were sections of the road inundated with water last night so I can imagine now would be worse.

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2018, 10:20 pm

hmm idk ITCZ was a lady....

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 20th, 2018, 10:23 pm

Thanks guys.
One can only hope for an alternate route to south.

Aranguez Traffic Camera
Line up waiting to get onto flyover
Screen Shot 2018-10-20 at 10.24.37 PM.png

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 10:28 pm

d06e6410-5933-42b1-94a8-4972cc12e7aa.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2018, 10:33 pm

What vehicle you have going through 30”

rebound wrote:
matix wrote:Lemme know if you get through. I wanna head up shortly
Np...still waiting on the shoulder
Well i made it to the Airport.....the route from the highway block was tru the road by heartland plaza to Talparo then tru Chin Chin then San Rapheal to Tumpuna Road and back to the Airport......deepest water I went tru was about 30 inches as the water was subsiding..

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 20th, 2018, 10:40 pm

That route a little sketchy at this hour especially with seniors.

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2018, 10:43 pm

i spent about $1800 and dropped 20 cases of water, about 50 tins of vienna sausage, 50 tins of sardine, soap and a box of medical gauze off at kampo restaurant in chag for them to distribute

real people lose everything they have, real sad situation

we end up passing through the flood in a hilux from munroe road to caroni about a hour ago, have some parts where water coming over the bonnet

wreckers charging between $400 to $600 to load u up and drop u from munroe road to caroni as well