Skrrr wrote:Redman wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:Haven't we been importing fuel since forever?
How dare you inject pragmatism and logic into the thread.
We importing fuel on a regular basis from Venezuela and elsewhere for years.
We have been importing crude not fuel. To use together with our local crude to refine to make fuel and other products for years.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:SMc wrote:I confused- where they getting the fuel from once the plant is closed next month? If they have 20 days worth of fuel as backup shouldn't they already have the alternative source of supply decided upon and ready to go.
Last night two people said deals like this should have been sorted out months in advance...not days...just imagine if they try to rush a seller, last minute thing they get some ridiculous prices.....who you think gonna feel it???
Great is the PNM yes
33 hertz wrote:Hush yuh stink mouth. How dare you try to educate the populationVexXx Dogg wrote:Haven't we been importing fuel since forever?
88sins wrote:allyuh red & ready yet?
88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
so when they start supplying fuel & prices at the pump keep climbing upwards at random points in time & they then cut off the supply because we have no forex to pay the bill, then we go see how many ppl really red & ready.
88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
so when they start supplying fuel & prices at the pump keep climbing upwards at random points in time & they then cut off the supply because we have no forex to pay the bill, then we go see how many ppl really red & ready.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
What about cooking gas?
PNM people only fear cooking gas they say they are safe because cooking gas won't be affected so they will continue to support the PNM.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
if the subsidies are removed on super and diesel....how much we looking at?? close to $5 per liter?
pugboy wrote:we go have to revert to charcoal soon like haiti and other poor countries
boatloads coming from vene
88sins wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
if the subsidies are removed on super and diesel....how much we looking at?? close to $5 per liter?
From what I saw awhile ago some ppl were estimating initially just under $6.00/l for super, with increases as time goes along.
hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.
The thinking must be: "Rape them until they riot."...
Daran wrote:88sins wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
From what I saw awhile ago some ppl were estimating initially just under $6.00/l for super, with increases as time goes along.
$6 not bad at all was thinking closer to $8
hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.
88sins wrote:Daran wrote:88sins wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
$6 not bad at all was thinking closer to $8
Oh don't you worry, it'`ll get there & surpass that soon enough if they lease/sell the refinery or just leave it to rot (as is the usual practice with defunct state assets), & scrape together dumb deals with profit driven corporations to supply fuel on a national scale. I have serious doubts about the alleged "restructuring plans" that the Tobago tuntun & Minister of Grinning idiocy yapping about, much less the state retaining ownership & control of production & revenues. But back to the initial topic...
Now, that's approx. 50% increase in fuel cost from where it is now. So, taxis fares will be the first thing to increase, immediately, to be followed soon there after by the cost of goods, starting with the basics such as groceries/produce. Meanwhile, 99% of the working population gonna be making the exact same salaries they did before the increases forced the little purchasing power they had downward, & it'll only get worse. The socio-economic gap we currently live with is going to widen.
Ben_spanna wrote:hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.
Only due to a disgusting Public transport system, and lack of Bike lanes and lack of education for motorists to respect bicycles on the roads!
I would happily ride meh bike, but then yuh haffi put a DOME over beetham as I woud feel threatened to ride past there
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
diesel is the real MC...wait for it...this is where yuh going and pay $20 per lb for tomatoes
No_Name wrote::agrue:hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.
Very much so...
Trinis don't knw how/when to say NO/ENOUGH IZ ENOUGH...!!!
Ething izza shrug shoulder, party n lime attitude...