We have fuel for 20 days after Petrotrin refinery closed - Khan

vaiostation

Re: We have fuel for 20 days after Petrotrin refinery closed - Khan

Postby vaiostation » September 27th, 2018, 7:28 pm

Sometimes I wonder if people don't realize that politicians don't give a firetruck about you... They only business about themselves and their financiers. Everybody else could dead, it ain't go matter.

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2018, 7:59 pm

Skrrr wrote:
Redman wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Haven't we been importing fuel since forever?

How dare you inject pragmatism and logic into the thread.

We importing fuel on a regular basis from Venezuela and elsewhere for years.

We have been importing crude not fuel. To use together with our local crude to refine to make fuel and other products for years.

Petrotrin imports 92 and 95 RON when needed.

It would be needed if the specific plants are down, or when the refinery run is sold and there is a shortfall.
The Vene gas was also a different color at times
It's been happening for ever as Vexx said.

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2018, 8:08 pm

NP to lease the galleons passage from PATT to ferry gasoline to the country from Venezuela

Mr President

Postby Mr President » September 27th, 2018, 8:23 pm

Last time we hear news from the ministry of energy see what happen
http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/fake-news-ab ... y-minister

No_Name

Postby No_Name » September 27th, 2018, 9:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
SMc wrote:I confused- where they getting the fuel from once the plant is closed next month? If they have 20 days worth of fuel as backup shouldn't they already have the alternative source of supply decided upon and ready to go.

Last night two people said deals like this should have been sorted out months in advance...not days...just imagine if they try to rush a seller, last minute thing they get some ridiculous prices.....who you think gonna feel it???

Great is the PNM yes

Lack of foresight & proper planning...
Galleon's Garbage scenario once again...
Cya expect anything else from this bunch of degenerates...

Postby Ben_spanna » September 27th, 2018, 9:44 pm

At least if Petrotrin ain’t gonna make the sh1t quality diesel again, we might finally get a high quality diesel with much lower sulphuric levels so that our common rail diesels won’t continue to mash up again.
Ah hear Aurdi, vw AND bimmer all planning to start bringing diesel vehicles again if we getting imported fuel.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 28th, 2018, 3:01 am

33 hertz wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Haven't we been importing fuel since forever?
Hush yuh stink mouth. How dare you try to educate the population

If so then we should already have a buyer. More lies from the useless dishonest government.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 5:49 am

allyuh red & ready yet?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 6:01 am

88sins wrote:allyuh red & ready yet?

Long time...even more so for 2020

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 6:39 am

well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
so when they start supplying fuel & prices at the pump keep climbing upwards at random points in time & they then cut off the supply because we have no forex to pay the bill, then we go see how many ppl really red & ready.

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2018, 6:49 am

So the concern is that fuel prices will rise because Petrotrin folds....although those two data points are not directly related.

The subsidies on fuel are being removed...we will see increased fuel cost if the international prices move higher....Petrotrins existence has no influence on that.

I don't believe the refinery will be shut down permanently....its a massive asset that under the right conditions will work.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 6:52 am

88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel
so when they start supplying fuel & prices at the pump keep climbing upwards at random points in time & they then cut off the supply because we have no forex to pay the bill, then we go see how many ppl really red & ready.

if the subsidies are removed on super and diesel....how much we looking at?? close to $5 per liter?

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2018, 6:59 am

Was all the fuel imported, or was some obtained from petrotrin?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 28th, 2018, 7:01 am

88sins wrote:well i hear baldilocks saying they contracting with shell & another company to supply fuel

What about cooking gas?

PNM people only fear cooking gas they say they are safe because cooking gas won't be affected so they will continue to support the PNM.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 7:04 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

What about cooking gas?

PNM people only fear cooking gas they say they are safe because cooking gas won't be affected so they will continue to support the PNM.

that same $20 BBQ would reach $40

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2018, 8:03 am

we go have to revert to charcoal soon like haiti and other poor countries
boatloads coming from vene

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 8:17 am

Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.

The thinking must be: "Rape them until they riot."...:|

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 10:50 am

if the subsidies are removed on super and diesel....how much we looking at?? close to $5 per liter?

From what I saw awhile ago some ppl were estimating initially just under $6.00/l for super, with increases as time goes along.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 10:56 am

pugboy wrote:we go have to revert to charcoal soon like haiti and other poor countries
boatloads coming from vene

if ppl get off T&TEC grid & use an electric stove they go be aight. at least for a while

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2018, 11:12 am

From what I saw awhile ago some ppl were estimating initially just under $6.00/l for super, with increases as time goes along.

$6 not bad at all was thinking closer to $8

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2018, 11:57 am

hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.

trinis be like : once d rapist is d same color as u its all good ...... :|

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 12:14 pm

Daran wrote:

Oh don't you worry, it'`ll get there & surpass that soon enough if they lease/sell the refinery or just leave it to rot (as is the usual practice with defunct state assets), & scrape together dumb deals with profit driven corporations to supply fuel on a national scale. I have serious doubts about the alleged "restructuring plans" that the Tobago tuntun & Minister of Grinning idiocy yapping about, much less the state retaining ownership & control of production & revenues. But back to the initial topic...

Now, that's approx. 50% increase in fuel cost from where it is now. So, taxis fares will be the first thing to increase, immediately, to be followed soon there after by the cost of goods, starting with the basics such as groceries/produce. Meanwhile, 99% of the working population gonna be making the exact same salaries they did before the increases forced the little purchasing power they had downward, & it'll only get worse. The socio-economic gap we currently live with is going to widen.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2018, 12:31 pm

hydroep wrote:Those fellas know fuel has a very low price elasticity of demand (i.e. they could jack up the price and jackarse Trinis go still pay for it) because on average locals cannot do without their cars.

Only due to a disgusting Public transport system, and lack of Bike lanes and lack of education for motorists to respect bicycles on the roads!
I would happily ride meh bike, but then yuh haffi put a DOME over beetham as I woud feel threatened to ride past there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 12:39 pm

Daran wrote:

Oh don't you worry, it'`ll get there & surpass that soon enough if they lease/sell the refinery or just leave it to rot (as is the usual practice with defunct state assets), & scrape together dumb deals with profit driven corporations to supply fuel on a national scale. I have serious doubts about the alleged "restructuring plans" that the Tobago tuntun & Minister of Grinning idiocy yapping about, much less the state retaining ownership & control of production & revenues. But back to the initial topic...

Now, that's approx. 50% increase in fuel cost from where it is now. So, taxis fares will be the first thing to increase, immediately, to be followed soon there after by the cost of goods, starting with the basics such as groceries/produce. Meanwhile, 99% of the working population gonna be making the exact same salaries they did before the increases forced the little purchasing power they had downward, & it'll only get worse. The socio-economic gap we currently live with is going to widen.

diesel is the real MC...wait for it...this is where yuh going and pay $20 per lb for tomatoes

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 12:54 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

Only due to a disgusting Public transport system, and lack of Bike lanes and lack of education for motorists to respect bicycles on the roads!
I would happily ride meh bike, but then yuh haffi put a DOME over beetham as I woud feel threatened to ride past there

Sometimes it seems as though the authorities have purposely neglected the Public Transportation system, making people dependent on their vehicles. Think about it: apart from the margins, there are all sorts of taxes built into the price of fuel. Those revenues go into the consolidated fund from which Government can thief...ah mean spend.

Long story short, the more people drive the more money Government makes. The motoring public continues to be a cash cow and Sh!tkicker & Co. look like they're gonna milk drivers until blood running from their teats...:|
Last edited by hydroep on September 28th, 2018, 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » September 28th, 2018, 12:57 pm

Aqua or AD wagon?

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 1:03 pm

nah, the name of the game is "make it fubar"

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2018, 1:08 pm

diesel is the real MC...wait for it...this is where yuh going and pay $20 per lb for tomatoes

yuh mean if u could find tomatoes to buy.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » September 28th, 2018, 1:48 pm

:agrue:

Very much so...
Trinis don't knw how/when to say NO/ENOUGH IZ ENOUGH...!!!
Ething izza shrug shoulder, party n lime attitude...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 28th, 2018, 2:54 pm

No_Name wrote::agrue:

Very much so...
Trinis don't knw how/when to say NO/ENOUGH IZ ENOUGH...!!!
Ething izza shrug shoulder, party n lime attitude...

Well let we do something nah! I say blow up parliament! Who in?