never tinted
is only boolas does beat up for tint anyways

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby eliteauto » September 14th, 2018, 7:31 pm

rspann wrote:
eliteauto wrote:35 front, 20 rear is pretty standard, no issues with this

I have to check the correctivity of that statement.
I feel it's errorful.

lurker :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby redmanjp » September 14th, 2018, 11:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What measures are in place for drivers who wish to verify whether their tint legal or not??

Before the law is changed we can have random checks by TTPS using the light meters and simply advise ppl of the tint level detected.

Also laws mandating labelling of light level on all tint sold as well as mandating that those sellers have a properly calibrated light meter so that buyers have the option of measuring the combined effect of the factory installed window plus the new tint applied.

My 2c

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2018, 12:42 am

You can buy your own calibrated light meter and know precisely what your tint level is for about TT$400.

You can choose to only purchase from a seller that can also test their work when completed.

You can also choose not install tint on your windows at all.

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What measures are in place for drivers who wish to verify whether their tint legal or not??

Before the law is changed we can have random checks by TTPS using the light meters and simply advise ppl of the tint level detected.

Also laws mandating labelling of light level on all tint sold as well as mandating that those sellers have a properly calibrated light meter so that buyers have the option of measuring the combined effect of the factory installed window plus the new tint applied.

My 2c

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2018, 6:09 am

I read someone talking about a light meter app...what app allyuh using??

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 15th, 2018, 7:35 am

Light meter apps are snake oil

Camera sensors aren't designed for those things and wont give an accurate measurement. It might be able to tell the difference between clear glass and welding glass though.

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2018, 8:31 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Light meter apps are snake oil

Camera sensors aren't designed for those things and wont give an accurate measurement. It might be able to tell the difference between clear glass and welding glass though.

Smartphone lux meter apps will however give a fairly accurate relative comparison in bright daylight.

Testing indicates that most smartphones with a good camera system give relative readings that are within about 15% of actual when moving between indoor and outdoor lighting levels.

https://www.dial.de/en/blog/article/luxmeter-app-versus-measuring-deviceare-smartphones-suitable-for-measuring-illuminance/Image

Postby skylinechild » September 15th, 2018, 7:51 pm

i thought by now this thread would have move views / responses - seeing as how its a automotive based site and almost everyone who is a member here drives ( in t&T) and has tint.

thought the comments would be more but it appears that persons dont seem to care to comment here or submit a suggestion !

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2018, 8:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:

My 2c

Police advise on tint....sure.. is ticket in yuh mc...men using deh eyeball as light meter

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 15th, 2018, 9:03 pm

This was on my mind as well. I would like to find out but not with this light meter app nonsense. If I get a ticket in my mc they ain't wanna her bout no app.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 15th, 2018, 9:43 pm

damn I got schooled

Well I learn sumn there, thanks man. Once things involving optics I dunce

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2018, 6:10 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:thanks man

No problem. You're right about phone apps not working for low light photography though.

Try this free app for Android to check your tint. I haven't (and probably won't) but some of the reviews are good.

If it works, start checking tints for a $20. ;)

GSoft Tint Meter

https://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://play.google.com/store/apps/details%3Fid%3Dam.gsoft.tintmeter%26hl%3Den%26referrer%3Dutm_source%253Dgoogle%2526utm_medium%253Dorganic%2526utm_term%253Dgsoft%2Btint%2Bmeter%26pcampaignid%3DAPPU_1_liqeW_ylEIWQ_QbJz5ygDg&ved=2ahUKEwj8yM3qor_dAhUFSN8KHcknB-QQ5YQBMAB6BAgLEAI&usg=AOvVaw375u2R7c85B9S2p62GTflG

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2018, 9:06 am

I used the gsoft already...it is pretty decent...wonders if i could fight them in court using it doh?

Postby skylinechild » September 17th, 2018, 12:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I used the gsoft already...it is pretty decent...wonders if i could fight them in court using it doh?

somewhere in the final draft of the legislation it will state something to the effect of "only using certified devices
( specs may be given here as to what is certifiable and what isnt ) to verify the quantity of VLT transmission and all other methods / devices will be determined to be non certified / non effective and void."

simply put... yes you can use it..... no it wont hold up in court of law.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 17th, 2018, 5:18 pm

A light meter for tint is supposed to have its own light source to determine, and not external.

Postby De Dragon » September 17th, 2018, 11:42 pm

adnj wrote:You can buy your own calibrated light meter and know precisely what your tint level is for about TT$400.

You can choose to only purchase from a seller that can also test their work when completed.

You can also choose not install tint on your windows at all.

redmanjp wrote:

My 2c

Are you crazy? This is the tropics. What is needed are laws that are measurable and enforceable so that people can comply, and not this dotish "it looking too dark" police sheit.

sickbad

Postby sickbad » September 18th, 2018, 1:41 am

Lemme tell yuh d real scene, sexiest tint you could get away with.

80% VLT 3m crystalline whole front, cuts UV, IR ..-real good for seeing and dodging sprangers on the beetham
35% VLT lumar ATR metallic tint driver, and passenger legal enough to make out the silhouette of a head
30% VLT ceramic 2ply still kinda legal, Back passenger-people would have to come up close and cover their eyes to see yuh laptop on the backseat!
20% VLT back glass because 3 out of 6 glasses light here is where you go 'all out ' because the popo doesn't even know about UV/IR wholefront, the 35% is legit enough.. He is not going to bother you for the darkest back glass, which makes the back and front even darker so other drivers won't make you out when you cut dey ass off on the highway.
That's what I want to do with my whip at least, legit ? or reconsider my choices in life ?

Postby skylinechild » September 18th, 2018, 5:05 am

De Dragon wrote:Are you crazy? This is the tropics. What is needed are laws that are measurable and enforceable so that people can comply, and not this dotish "it looking too dark" police sheit.

we not crazy...we too busy looking as USA UK Australia tint laws in order to determine OUR tint laws cause yunno those countries also in the tropics too nah boi dan boi..... :?

Postby De Dragon » September 18th, 2018, 6:05 am

skylinechild wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Are you crazy? This is the tropics. What is needed are laws that are measurable and enforceable so that people can comply, and not this dotish "it looking too dark" police sheit.

we not crazy...we too busy looking as USA UK Australia tint laws in order to determine OUR tint laws cause yunno those countries also in the tropics too nah boi dan boi..... :?

And they determine if a tint is too dark how?

Postby skylinechild » September 18th, 2018, 6:47 am

skylinechild wrote:

And they determine if a tint is too dark how?

well hoss.... dem eah say how dey say what dark is too dark at all nuh..... all they find dat makin sense is studin different countries - USA UK & Australia....as dem places also located in d tropics and also receive d same amt of heat and uv radiation as we nah hoss..... so is all what dem say hadda go.....

/end of sarcasm.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2018, 6:53 am

the underlying factor in this entire topic is somebody have to tender for the light meter contract....talk done

Postby maj. tom » September 18th, 2018, 6:55 am

The sun and heat conditions in Australia are way more extreme than this climate though. Vehicles are tasked hard there. They even recommend wearing sunscreen when you're in the car for long periods if the windows tints are not 100% UV blocking.

"As of June 2018, TAS and VIC are the only two States that still maintain a 35% VLT regulation on all side and rear windows.
NSW, QLD, SA, ACT, WA and NT have introduced different requirements for window behind the driver (windows behind the B pillar). In NT a VLT of 15% for windows behind the driver is allowed. NSW, SA, WA, QLD and the ACT accept a 20% VLT on windows behind the driver."

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2018, 7:46 am

meter calibration is very important to stand up in court
doubt home users will be able to use their own meters in court against a police meter
so who in charge of calibrating these meters ?

Postby timelapse » September 18th, 2018, 9:42 am

What real dotish is the unmarked police vehicles with pitch black tint .They should charge them damn self first. Or remove tint entirely from police vehicles.Maybe we would have less kidnappings and such.

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2018, 11:11 am

timelapse wrote:What real dotish is the unmarked police vehicles with pitch black tint .They should charge them damn self first. Or remove tint entirely from police vehicles.Maybe we would have less kidnappings and such.

iirc those vehicles don't actually belong to ttps.
so, you hoping maybe ttps should charge ttps?

good luck wit dat, when allyuh done figure out how it works keep me in the loop

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 18th, 2018, 11:29 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the underlying factor in this entire topic is somebody have to tender for the light meter contract....talk done

I get the contract to supply the light meter, happy now ??

For decades men asking for a scientific way to measure tint and not relying on the police officer opinion. Now that progress is being made, people studying who getting contract .At the end of the day the meters have to be bought. You cannot go in the Gulf of Paria and throw a line and catch some free light meters You fcuking mad yea. Is this kind of backward thinking that will have us 100 years behind the rest of the world.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 18th, 2018, 12:11 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the underlying factor in this entire topic is somebody have to tender for the light meter contract....talk done

For decades men asking for a scientific way to measure tint and not relying on the police officer opinion. Now that progress is being made, people studying who getting contract .At the end of the day the meters have to be bought. You cannot go in the Gulf of Paria and throw a line and catch some free light meters You fcuking mad yea. Is this kind of backward thinking that will have us 100 years behind the rest of the world.
I think the issue would be with next thing they giving their friends the contract to purchase a light meter for 50k a piece when a legitimate bidder have it for 10k. I glad for the new laws but why does it have to come with corruption

Postby timelapse » September 18th, 2018, 12:55 pm

timelapse wrote:What real dotish is the unmarked police vehicles with pitch black tint .They should charge them damn self first. Or remove tint entirely from police vehicles.Maybe we would have less kidnappings and such.

iirc those vehicles don't actually belong to ttps.
so, you hoping maybe ttps should charge ttps?

good luck wit dat, when allyuh done figure out how it works keep me in the loop

If they don't belong to the police service then they are private vehicles, and as such be subjected to the same laws as everybody else. I am hoping that TTPS stop being such hypocrites with their above the law attitude. In your logic, them good officers that involved in the kidnapping shouldn't be charged ent?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2018, 12:57 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Pricksauce the issue is not buying the meters...the issue is which one of rohani family members gonna gt

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 18th, 2018, 1:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:

Pricksauce the issue is not buying the meters...the issue is which one of rohani family members gonna gt

How you sure is Sinanan family members going to get the contract ? You really brainwashed by Aunty vomit smell yea...Carry on sonny boy, you are beyond help.