End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Re: End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby MaxPower » September 9th, 2018, 10:01 pm

OP, im glad you found google.

Happy posting doll

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 10:04 pm

MaxPower wrote:OP, im glad you found google.

Happy posting doll
Ok then

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 10:07 pm

Thought it was an interesting article

Hopefully I will be around to see some teslas on the road in Trinidad

Postby MaxPower » September 9th, 2018, 10:08 pm

PariaMan wrote:To me right now it is just Kia and Hyundai, the rest are just for the 1 %

allyuh will never get over this 1% ting eh...it eatin up allyuh petty trini bad bad.

U see where they are?

Where are you?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 10:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:To me right now it is just Kia and Hyundai, the rest are just for the 1 %

allyuh will never get over this 1% ting eh...it eatin up allyuh petty trini bad bad.

U see where they are?

Where are you?
Well you quoted Porsche and BMW and thats out of my range so I more interested in cars that I could purchase nothing against the 1 %

Postby gastly369 » September 9th, 2018, 10:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh fawwking up the man but he have a point, how much mechanics in this country fixing Hybrids and Electrics?

I remember my old EG8 Civic had an electrical issue where it would not start in the sun, 3 electricians and 2 mechanics later and it still couldn't start in the sun, I sold that car.

So just imagine asking them to fix a Hybrid or Electric.

Half the mechanics in this place on cocaine
Ohgorrrrr dan doh expect mango tree mech and to have a reliable car nah

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 10:13 pm

The real revo will be mass market EV that is affordable to the average Joe

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2018, 10:31 pm

future electric cars could be very generic, simply a rear axle with motor attached to each wheel
Along with speed controllers and traction control.

Electric bikes have become very generic and commodtized presently.
Many big cities have problems now with food delivery guys using them as they approach speeds of licensed vehicles

supernedd

Re: End of ICE

Postby supernedd » September 10th, 2018, 1:42 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Still have people asking " who go fix that"

Still have new car dealers not offering any hybrid or EV vehicles

Hoss

U do know that locally kia has the niro

Hyundai has the ioniq in both hybrid and full EV

Toyota started bringing the aqua/prius-c

Porsche has a few models hybrid locally as well.

Bmw has a few hybrids as well.

Even a few lexus hybrids have been imported by the dealer

So we coming along.

Trinis are backward, but we also like to play follow-fashion....so the latter will prevail and we will get there eventually.
You should too.
so true

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 10th, 2018, 1:44 am

gastly369 wrote:But but ..no brapppstutututu
it will play thru the radio speakers

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » September 10th, 2018, 3:09 am

How much lithium the world have to make hybrid car batteries vs. how much oil we still have to make gasoline? Palos, we will quicker all go CNG or hydrogen before we go fully electric. That's the reality!

Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 10th, 2018, 3:39 am

Yes, There Will Be Plenty Of Lithium For Energy Storage

September 2nd, 2018 by Tina Casey 

The energy storage sector has been growing robustly, despite some concerns about the global supply chain for one key material, lithium. Well, that question could soon be moot. The California-based startup Lilac Solutions has just received a major financial boost for an innovative, low-impact method for extracting lithium from abundant brines around the globe.

Source
https://cleantechnica.com/2018/09/02/ye ... y-storage/

Postby Slartibartfast » September 10th, 2018, 2:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh fawwking up the man but he have a point, how much mechanics in this country fixing Hybrids and Electrics?

I remember my old EG8 Civic had an electrical issue where it would not start in the sun, 3 electricians and 2 mechanics later and it still couldn't start in the sun, I sold that car.

So just imagine asking them to fix a Hybrid or Electric.

Half the mechanics in this place on cocaine
What year was this? You should try buying a car that isn't old enough to have a bachelor's degree.

I also remember a time when people didn't want to buy those fancy "fuel injected" cars cuz mechanics didn't know how to fix dat. And there is no way to fix an injector if something goes wrong and it's big money to replace. Funny that somehow a lot of people seem to be buying fuel injected cars now.

I agree that it will take a while to catch on because contrary to popular belief, most trinis don't have money to waste. They don't want to buy something that is "unproven" I would give us a lag of about 10 years. Once people start seeing how long EV's could last and parts and mechanics become more available, people will feel that owning a hybrid or EV is less of a risk and popularity will increase. Myself included. I won't buy a EV until I see it become more popular even though I agree that it has many advantages over a ICE vehicle.

Postby adnj » September 10th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I also remember a time when people didn't want to buy those fancy "fuel injected" cars cuz mechanics didn't know how to fix dat. And there is no way to fix an injector if something goes wrong and it's big money to replace. Funny that somehow a lot of people seem to be buying fuel injected cars now.

+1

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2018, 9:40 pm

When TTEC remove the subsidy on electricity it won't be cheap to fuel

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 10th, 2018, 10:49 pm

12 $ by 2 is still only 24$

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2018, 4:50 am

redmanjp wrote:When TTEC remove the subsidy on electricity it won't be cheap to fuel
I believe that in 15 years fuel stations will start to shut down and the only reasonably priced vehicle will be a CNG or electric vehicle.

You'll get used to it.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 11th, 2018, 6:35 am

EV is the future, you saving on vehicle maintenance, the range is good enough for a couple of days on one charge in my estimates. Battery technology getting cheaper and cheaper due to china and others heavy push in that sector.

Homes can be outfitted with equipment so that you can charge vehicle overnight and more or less live off grid. TTEC will hadda suck some salt unless you want to sell power back to the grid then TTEC will be paying you.

Some countries already banned gas vehicles within the next 20years. The writing on the wall, EV is the future.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_banning_fossil_fuel_vehicles

Postby Ben_spanna » September 11th, 2018, 6:44 am

And we stupid Dwarf and hos band of merry government idiots slapped inport duties on hybrids.. we must be the only country NOT encouraging people to go green.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2018, 6:47 am

Coppershot wrote:Homes can be outfitted with equipment so that you can charge vehicle overnight and more or less live off grid. TTEC will hadda suck some salt unless you want to sell power back to the grid then TTEC will be paying you.

Living "off the grid" means that you will have a means to generate all of the electrical power that you need at home.

That is a completely different topic.

What is much more likely is that you see T&T begin to manufacture additional products like printed solar cells on a polymer substrate. That will use petroleum for materials and natural gas for power and materials. The excess electrical power will still be made available on the grid.

You can also expect homes and businesses to use automotive electrical battery technology to store electricity to smooth out the demands on the grid. It will also give homes the ability to store their own generated electrical power and reduce or eliminate the need for backup generators.

Postby gastly369 » September 11th, 2018, 4:12 pm

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2018, 4:31 pm

The World's First Hydrogen-Powered Trains Are Now Running in Germany

This is huge.

[https://www]

KRISTIN HOUSER, FUTURISM

24 SEP 2018

Hydrogen fuel cells are a greener way to power vehicles. But they have also been cost-prohibitive. Now that's starting to change - last week, German passengers boarded the world's first hydrogen-powered trains.

"Sure, buying a hydrogen train is somewhat more expensive than a diesel train," said Stefan Schrank, a project manager at locomotive company Alstom, which built the trains, in an interview with Agence France-Presse, "but it is cheaper to run."

The new trains transport passengers along 100 kilometers (62 miles) of track and can travel up to 1,000 kilometers (621 miles) on a single tank of hydrogen, reaching top speeds of 140 km/h (87 mph).

Chemistry recap: Hydrogen fuel cells generate electricity by combining hydrogen with oxygen, and their only byproduct is water. That makes the cells a promising energy source that produces zero emissions and very little noise.

Though they remain pricey, hydrogen fuel cells have advantages over batteries.

Instead of recharging, for instance, you can just refuel them like you would a gas or diesel engine. And because train schedules are highly predictable, it's easier to build refueling infrastructure.

New research is helping cut the cost of hydrogen, and the fuel source is already in use elsewhere in the world to power buses and cars.

Trains are much heavier, though, so powering them with hydrogen instead of diesel could do much more to cut carbon emissions.

If all goes well with these first two trains, Alstom hopes to add another 12 to its Lower Saxony fleet. So while they might be the world's first hydrogen-powered trains, they're unlikely to be the last.

https://futurism.com/hydrogen-powered-trains/

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 26th, 2018, 7:00 pm

So no one has life cycle cost analysis figures for their powertrain of choice to show how it is superior to the other choices?

synTax_ErR0R1

Postby synTax_ErR0R1 » September 26th, 2018, 8:35 pm

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2018, 8:37 pm

i have come across 5 inovations/refinements that improve the efficiency of the ICE to a point that still makes them rivaling electric vehicles.
1. a dual opposed piston 2 stroke desiel engine.
2. variable compression normal engine.
3. mazda skyactiv x improvemnts on exhaust scavenging
4. mazda skyactiv x intricate control of the spark and ignition scenario at the higher rpm's
5. toyota improvement on the flow path of the combustion air, by modifying the intake valves and inlet chamber design.

volvo and mercedes have come up with a gerator,motor on the shaft of the turbo, that can be used to improve performance and scavenge electricity.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 27th, 2018, 8:53 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:So no one has life cycle cost analysis figures for their powertrain of choice to show how it is superior to the other choices?
It is generally accepted that the maintenance of a fully electric is far less than ICE vehicles. Consider no oil change no filter change no coil pack no spark plug no coolant no radiator no hoses no belts

Also no 5000 km maintenance labour charge

Also about 12tt in electricity to " fill up"

Even if the price of electricity doubles it will still be 24 tt

The ioniq maintenance period is 7 months for example

The problem is the cost of the battery which causes the initial cost at the moment to exceed the price of a comparable ICE

How ever the experts predict that by 2020 the price pet KWH will fall to 100 US from around 180 US

When this happens the cost of an electric vehicle will become on par with an equivalent ICE

At this point in time party done

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 27th, 2018, 8:57 pm

sMASH wrote:i have come across 5 inovations/refinements that improve the efficiency of the ICE to a point that still makes them rivaling electric vehicles.
1. a dual opposed piston 2 stroke desiel engine.
2. variable compression normal engine.
3. mazda skyactiv x improvemnts on exhaust scavenging
4. mazda skyactiv x intricate control of the spark and ignition scenario at the higher rpm's
5. toyota improvement on the flow path of the combustion air, by modifying the intake valves and inlet chamber design.

volvo and mercedes have come up with a gerator,motor on the shaft of the turbo, that can be used to improve performance and scavenge electricity.
The issue is not just fuel efficiency

Think

1. lower maintenance cost

2. Better warranty on drive train

3. Better performance

4. Climate change

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2018, 9:06 pm

im not against electric. the only real issue i have with it is the energy storage system. conventional batteries are not power dense enough, and the exotic materials may holistically be very bad or even worse than CO2.

and, u still need to generate electricity. and in places where there arent any renewable resources, u would rely on engines generating the motive forces. and diesel and kerosene tends to be the most energy dense way to store a lot of energy in a usable form.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 27th, 2018, 9:15 pm

sMASH wrote:im not against electric. the only real issue i have with it is the energy storage system. conventional batteries are not power dense enough, and the exotic materials may holistically be very bad or even worse than CO2.

and, u still need to generate electricity. and in places where there arent any renewable resources, u would rely on engines generating the motive forces. and diesel and kerosene tends to be the most energy dense way to store a lot of energy in a usable form.
The niro has a range of 480 kilometres

It is projected that with the improvement of tech by 2020 we can expect ranges to exceed 800 km which will be better than straight ICE vehicles

Again at this point in time party done

People will start to realize that their ICE vehicle investment will not look so good 5 to 10 years down the line

Already i am hearing in TT people and companies selling cars are being constant asked for hybrids

A friend with a Xtrail for sale says that the first question asked is if it is hybrid

Look at the amount of vezel and aqua on the road

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 27th, 2018, 9:28 pm

Meh Porsche 911 or nothing for me. Gotta keep saving