Petrotrin refinery shut down

vaiostation

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby vaiostation » August 31st, 2018, 6:06 am

lalloboy101 wrote:Anyone knows if santa flora operations would be affected? Know someone there in GIS

Everyone is getting affected. The entire company will be reorganized.

matix

Postby matix » August 31st, 2018, 6:10 am

Open Tuner this morning and in a good mood. First thing I could see is this !!! Wtf manImage

Postby gastly369 » August 31st, 2018, 6:18 am

lalloboy101 wrote:Anyone knows if santa flora operations would be affected? Know someone there in GIS
All..... everyone...

Postby Redman » August 31st, 2018, 6:22 am

I would love to see the GORTT validate this 25B that they are saying the refinery needs immediately....
They are saying that Petrotrin needs 25....and even after this the refinery will lose 2B

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 31st, 2018, 8:47 am

wickedtuna wrote:Yo where yuh ....Jennifer%20Baptiste%20Primus.jpeg

You noticed that she's M.I.A. as well?!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 31st, 2018, 8:52 am

Wtf. Why Allyuh feel is only PAP. Is the whole damn company.

Hard luck for them and dey GIS. Jus now is SOS.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 31st, 2018, 10:10 am

A billion-dollar Petrotrin payout is ahead to refinery workers who will lose jobs—including an early retirement package for those over 55 who will receive full pensions.

“We haven’t worked it out fully yet but the (termination benefits package) figure will be huge - significantly more than a billion dollars,” Energy Minister Franklin Khan told reporters yesterday.

Khan gave the estimated cost of workers’ termination benefits following yesterday’s launch of state-owned TTT Limited television station, formerly CNMG. (See page A7)

Earlier this week, Petrotrin’s board confirmed plans to close the company’s refinery in October in a move which will cause the loss of 1,700 permanent jobs. But OWTU president general Ancel Roget has called on Government to rescind the decision and call an election or “face chaos.” (See page A5)

But Khan said yesterday, “Mr Roget represents a trade union that seeks to represent workers as it sees fit. T&T’s based on law and order and any action they take, once legal, is acceptable. But if it’s illegal, the state would have to act.”

“So no - we’re not rescinding the decision,” Khan confirmed.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-08- ... ion-payout

car

Postby car » August 31st, 2018, 10:15 am

Curtms wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-08-30/billion-payout

The amount of cancer the refinery men have and just don’t know it yet will eat up all the money they get.

Postby nervewrecker » August 31st, 2018, 10:15 am

Best part of it all is how frankie khan says we will buy fuel, but we eh know from where yet.

Refinery was our biggest forex earner. Where we getting money to buy fuel?

Cant manage a boat to tobago we will manage one to get fuel from another country.

Postby nervewrecker » August 31st, 2018, 10:16 am

Substation at pap on fire btw guys.
Must sabotage to give it away..

Been sabotaging sf days now.

car

Postby car » August 31st, 2018, 10:17 am

nervewrecker wrote:Best part of it all is how frankie khan says we will buy fuel, but we eh know from where yet.

Cant manage a boat to tobago we will manage one to get fuel from another country.

Plans in they head is very different from actually getting it done. We will have to wait and see.

Postby hydroep » August 31st, 2018, 10:28 am

car wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Best part of it all is how frankie khan says we will buy fuel, but we eh know from where yet.

Plans in they head is very different from actually getting it done. We will have to wait and see.

Wouldn't be surprised if they're doing things vikey-vie on purpose. With no "plan" in place they could always use the excuse that "we have to buy fuel" from source X or source Y at higher prices and then justify it by saying "it was necessary" or "a short term measure" to ensure the country didn't suffer from shortages. Meahwhile some PNM bam-bam licker stands to benefit from the inefficiency...just like what went on at Petrotrin or with the procurement of ferries after the sabotaging of the sea-bridge.

The more things change the more they stay the same...:|
Last edited by hydroep on August 31st, 2018, 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 31st, 2018, 10:30 am

nervewrecker wrote:Substation at pap on fire btw guys.

Nah its the Reservoir on fire

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2018, 10:31 am

hydroep wrote:
car wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Best part of it all is how frankie khan days we will buy fuel, but we eh know from where yet.

Wouldn't be surprised if they're doing things vikey-vie on purpose. With no "plan" in place they could always use the excuse that "we have to buy fuel" from source X or source Y at higher prices and then justify it by saying "it was necessary" or "a short term measure" to ensure the country didn't suffer from shortages. Meahwhile some PNM bam-bam licker stands to benefit from the inefficiency...just like what went on at Petrotrin or with the procurement of ferries after the sabotaging of the sea-bridge.

The more things change the more they stay the same...:|
Worked with super fast

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2018, 10:32 am

Monkey Man wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Substation at pap on fire btw guys.

Nah its the Reservoir on fire
Saw a vid with a transformer yard fire outside Yara behind igl.

Pt lisas. Not point a Pierre

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 31st, 2018, 10:37 am

call ah general election now

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 31st, 2018, 10:48 am

^^^ Didn't kamla's government want to privatize petrotrin as well...
Don't matter who was in charge at the time, same thing would have happened...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lip18Dz-ntQ

Postby gastly369 » August 31st, 2018, 11:47 am

nervewrecker wrote:Best part of it all is how frankie khan days we will buy fuel, but we eh know from where yet.

Aeromarine barbados ltd go deliver......any name line up dey?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2018, 12:09 pm

Ent alwari say they ready for anything

Postby rspann » August 31st, 2018, 12:13 pm

Jenny has to be the ugliest woman I ever saw. No competition.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2018, 12:31 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
screwbash wrote:yuh aint hear petrotin wukers want the same deal that caroni get. rowlee go gee dem land as part ah dey package in some marginal area and money too. dey go forgive him and vote dem back. is only indian who duz hold a life long grudge and ah ' ah go do fuh yuh' mentality and den run an open a next party like ramesh, makela,hulsie,duckandrun and others.

PNM not going and give black man land... yuh quicker get it from the queen.

PNM like to keep dey own under control. In some outlandish scheme, some of petrotrin lands or other state lands will be under HDC control and it will take recipients 15 - 20 years to get it. Those who do get it will be paying a rent till dey dead... and they better behave themselves during election season otherwise "dey will come for the land."

Why should they be given valuable state assets? Those assets don't belong to Petrotrin only. They belong to the collective State. They were employees...they signed an employment contract to do a job for which they were handsomely rewarded. That employment has now been terminated and they will receive a generous severance package. Why should they be given things such as lands and equity in the new company? That is madness. Equity is the reward given for investors...they are not investors....they were employees..Nothing more and nothing less....Trinidad continues to make people feel they are more important than they ever was. Everyone seems confused as to their role in this country.

If we keep making convenient political decisions we will never advance. Equity and lands for what? Working at the company? There is too many entitled people in this country. Take your exit, take your severance and start over...That is life.

If the union and petrotrin people know so much about the oil refinery business then why don't they take the money and buy one. There's plenty for sale all over the world.
https://priosgroup.com/products/entire-oil-refineries/

Newsflash, oil refineries are mainly owned by private individuals, firms and government....That's where the investments come from. No government has 25 billion tt to burn in a oil producing company that produces 40000 barrels of oil per day yet employs over 5000. That is madness.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2018, 12:33 pm

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2018, 12:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Only in TnT that could happen yes...Time to seriously do something about those Unions.

Imagine they want to shut down the country on September 7th because of this whilst the other unions have no current issues with the government...What madness.

Lennox Petroleum is the same company that the workers protested on the rig causing all sorts of health and safety problems.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2017 ... t-extended

Postby maj. tom » August 31st, 2018, 1:09 pm

This seems relevant but I really have no idea what is going on in this presentation.

Postby teems1 » August 31st, 2018, 2:22 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^ Didn't kamla's government want to privatize petrotrin as well...
Don't matter who was in charge at the time, same thing would have happened...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lip18Dz-ntQ

This would have happened long ago if the 2 US bond repayments were to the local government.

Government would have done like Caroni, forgive the 2B debt and close/sell off the assets if possible.

However the bond payments are to foreign investment banks where it is not as simple a case as forgiving the debt. The government would have to step in and figure out how to handle the brunt of the repayments which take time/resources/legal expertise etc.

Postby matr1x » August 31st, 2018, 2:25 pm

Notice the silence.

If kams had done it...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 31st, 2018, 3:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:This seems relevant but I really have no idea what is going on in this presentation.

Didn't they say Petrotrin was top heavy?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » August 31st, 2018, 4:36 pm

Wouldn't mind turning that around

kstt

Postby kstt » August 31st, 2018, 9:07 pm

Can anyone tell me when did Petrotrin EVER refine 150,000 bpd?

kstt

Postby kstt » August 31st, 2018, 9:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Why are you spamming the Petrotrin thread with this waft Lennox nonsense. Let Wayne gorn from here!!