venum wrote:what was the engine model on those Turbo Sirius engines?
Sanctifier wrote:1,995cc = G63B = 168bhp w/o front I/C (early) / 177bhp with front I/C (later)...
::::::::::: UK and JDM 2-litre Lancer EX Turbo.
1,795cc = G62B = ............................................... 160ps with front I/C...
::::::::::: JDM Lancer EX 1800 GSR. (not sure about UK availability)
4G63Turbo wrote:guys are still modding these cars
wish I knew where they find parts for them.
my mechanic has a foreign and it came with adjustable shocks and coilover springs.
I even saw one with some huge brakes. Where do these guys find these things.
venum wrote:wonder if he willing to sell
these box lancer threads havee been giving me visions and inspirations
ah wonder what the mainenence on those original engines are like?
I expect that it isn't as easy as a CK2
what was the engine model on those Turbo Sirius engines?
and yet a certain TME member (more like President) ent give me the honours of a shotgun ride at Dex yet!
Sanctifier wrote:My first rwd 1800 GSR was no trouble at all. Very quick... Fantastic car!![]()
It was in great condition anyway... My Dad rolled it...![]()
Second was a pain in de azz. It wasn't well maintained when I got it.![]()
Needs a complete rebuild now... plus G63B that I bought......
But no money for it until next year.BTW... No it's not for sale.
Buy a K&N air-filter for stock air-box (Car Boutique - St. James.)
With slight mods (snorkel) the stock air-box works well. (PM me.)
Check ARP for con-rod bolt kit for it. Try for ARP head-studs too... Both not too expensive.
Buy EBC instead of manual boost controller to avoid "spikes" and fuel-cut...
Try for Bosh fuel pump or similar... "Piggy-backs" should work well too...
You might have to uprate the clutch... I never did. Check others for advice... but still try to stick with a "sprung" competition disk.
Strong engines... they take much more boost... Then we'll see which Mini can stay with it...
The only down-side is the brakes. On parts-shop disk pads it's sheit. Can you say brake fade?
Go with bigger front disks from day one with good aftermarket pads...
(No personal experience here though.) EBC pads or similar??? Check MLR Forum for more advice.
My $0.02c