Cheap and smelly leg and thigh chicken quarters

dogg

Re: Cheap leg and thigh chicken quarters

Postby dogg » July 27th, 2016, 10:16 am

I'm reassured that my concerns weren't paranoia.

THE safety of meat and meat products coming into this country is engaging the attention of three ministries which will be holding a meeting to discuss the matter and recommend solutions.
This after disclosures during a recent Joint Select Committee meeting, that meat which could be classified as unfit for human consumption was being imported and sold in this country.

The ministries of Health, Agriculture and Trade and Industry will be joining forces as they consult with officials of the Bureau of Standards, Chemistry Food and Drug Division, Public Health Lab, Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) and other stakeholders, in a meeting scheduled for two weeks from now, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said yesterday.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2016, 10:33 am

I don't buy food from fast food outlets anymore unless its KFC where I know its local, I also only buy local where I am 100% sure its local meat. I don't expect the government to do anything about this because this is a 3rd world and none of them in office actually give a sheit.

Anytime you see meat that unusually big you know its foreign nasty stuff.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Agreed.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 27th, 2016, 9:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:....Anytime you see meat that unusually big you know its foreign nasty stuff.

Aye doh say that so loud bai..
You want meccalli to jump een with
"all big chicken is healthy cornish ones"

Postby meccalli » July 27th, 2016, 9:26 pm

90% of my protein comes from fish and legumes, no need to be so salty about factual and well researched information.

Agriculture Minister: US imported chicken costs just US$0.09/lb and is inferior

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 4th, 2018, 10:42 am

THE livelihoods of rural communities and 15,000 direct jobs across the country are at risk if US chicken importers undercut the local market with “inferior” chicken they buy at US$0.09 a pound, Agriculture Minister Clarence Rambharat said on Friday evening at The University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, campus.

The audience at The UWI conference on “Revitalising the Buffalypso, Our National Treasure” applauded lustily when he called the US chicken inferior to T&T’s fresh meat.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 6b68b.html

Re: Agriculture Minister: US imported chicken costs just US$0.09/lb and is inferior

Postby Dizzy28 » June 4th, 2018, 10:53 am

As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.

Re: Agriculture Minister: US imported chicken costs just US$0.09/lb and is inferior

Postby Chimera » June 4th, 2018, 10:55 am

true talk

that tyson brand that everyone using is pure garbage

Postby Redman » June 4th, 2018, 11:47 am

Dizzy28 wrote:As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.

Im guessing that inferior does not mean that it is disqualified from entry to TnT.

Edible meat has grades.

So inferior could be an attempt by the ministerat moral suasion-and I applaud this.

It would be up to those importing Tyson to take the minister to task-IF they can prove that their meat is not inferior.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 4th, 2018, 12:07 pm

All them foreign meat is sheit I wouldn't self give my dog to eat that

Postby RedVEVO » June 4th, 2018, 1:19 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.

Clarence the ToothLess Lion have some personal agenda .

If he thinks Tyson is unfit for human consumption -
Then stop it by Law - Use Minister's Power.

He ALSO claims the bottled water is a rip off .

But WASA giving you Mauby colored juice to bathe and drink :roll:

Postby Gladiator » June 4th, 2018, 7:44 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Clarence the ToothLess Lion have some personal agenda .

If he thinks Tyson is unfit for human consumption -
Then stop it by Law - Use Minister's Power.

He ALSO claims the bottled water is a rip off .

But WASA giving you Mauby colored juice to bathe and drink :roll:

He is the best politician I ever met.... could real give a good talk and then do absolutely nuttin.

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2018, 8:04 pm

pricesmart chicken make me stop buying chicken roti, curry chicken, stew chicken, etc, outside.

continue buying pricesmart chicken. dais what we deserve in this nasty pnm country.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2018, 8:25 pm

clarence say he not letting it in, cause jobs.

Postby wagonrunner » June 4th, 2018, 8:47 pm

equivalent of the online shopping tax.
pay the people who support him their ridiculous prices, instead of you getting value for your dollar.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 4th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Aye ,,,my dogs love foreign fowl.....leave that so

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Redman wrote:

Im guessing that inferior does not mean that it is disqualified from entry to TnT.

Edible meat has grades.

So inferior could be an attempt by the ministerat moral suasion-and I applaud this.

It would be up to those importing Tyson to take the minister to task-IF they can prove that their meat is not inferior.

What Rambharat go do if dey keep importing US chicken, threaten to go back Canada? :roll: :roll:
The MoA grants the licence to import this meat. If Rambharat has some proof of the meat's inferiority, then HIS ministry can deny a licence to any importer.
Last edited by De Dragon on June 5th, 2018, 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » June 4th, 2018, 10:21 pm

Just another thing to tax. Have nothing to do with quality. Clarence Rambharat probably has some lobby group behind him to do that.

Postby Redman » June 5th, 2018, 7:00 am

God forbid the minister might be doing something pragmatic

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2018, 7:37 am

Redman wrote:God forbid the minister might be doing something pragmatic

Pragmatic? Based on what empirical evidence or testing Too many politicians toss around reckless statements without facts, or proper information which damages people's reputation and business. He had the time, opportunity and audience to explain his "inferior" comment. I suspect he is pandering to local chicken interests. Tyson should sue his arse and you will see how quick he will boil down like bhagi.

Postby hydroep » June 5th, 2018, 7:57 am

The price of imported chicken is easily 1/2 that of the locally produced fowl at the grocery and is among one of the few sources of animal protein that some people can afford.

If there is a health issue with the product by all means take appropriate measures but it's kinda hard to believe that starboy is genuinely interested in the welfare of the local industry.

BTW...what is his position on the proposed destruction of the St. Augustine Nurseries for NHA housing again?...:|

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2018, 8:01 am

^^accounting. He said that he was specialized in closing down business, that was his purpose when taken in for Caroni.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2018, 9:25 am

RBphoto wrote:Just another thing to tax. Have nothing to do with quality. Clarence Rambharat probably has some lobby group behind him to do that.

Ronnie Mohammed of Nutrimix was with Rowley in Australia.

Just saying!!

dogg

Postby dogg » June 5th, 2018, 10:49 am

years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2018, 10:58 am

dogg wrote:years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?

Dumping has nothing to do with quality (just saying!!)

dogg

Postby dogg » June 5th, 2018, 11:03 am

dogg wrote:years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?

yuh ever smell those dumped chicken quarters? In this case it has everything to do with quality

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2018, 11:19 am

dogg wrote:

yuh ever smell those dumped chicken quarters? In this case it has everything to do with quality

Dumping is a legal term in trade and according to the WTO -
"Dumping is, in general, a situation of international price discrimination, where the price of a product when sold in the importing country is less than the price of that product in the market of the exporting country."

I know what you mean however it is not dumping.

kstt

Postby kstt » June 5th, 2018, 11:46 am

He should provide data to show it inferior, otherwise he just attempting to sway the public to buy overpriced local chicken. It is all propaganda for the local farmers because they want to dig out the eyes of customers, they can't handle competition and they don't want to reduce their profit margins. We like to believe everything we hear and not question their intentions.

Brace for chicken shortages ( locals can't even supply but complaining about foreign chicken) and increased prices!

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » June 5th, 2018, 12:06 pm

RBphoto wrote:Just another thing to tax. Have nothing to do with quality. Clarence Rambharat probably has some lobby group behind him to do that.

Ronnie Mohammed of Nutrimix was with Rowley in Australia.

Just saying!!

Funny you should mention Nutrimix. As of recent it seems they're selling the same hormone packed chicken that is being imported.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 5th, 2018, 1:38 pm

Is it that the quality of the chicken is not as good as the locally produced chicken or is it not fit for human consumption?
Can we get "real proof" that it was purchased at US$0.09/ lb or is this a "legally understated" value by way of legally manipulating the price to reduce import duties or provide evidence for this argument?
Didn't we recently have a meat issue with a South American supplier also? what was the outcome of that?
How many live chicken suppliers do we have? I was told that most of the farms are contracted out by Arawak and the farmers are paid based on the number of "fully grown" chickens they produce.
How much research and development is done on increasing the yield and quality of the chicken? are the farms ever upgraded or farmers ever trained as a result of new research?
Our acceptance of these old failing mechanisms in this information age will never bring about the changes needed in our politicians.