THE safety of meat and meat products coming into this country is engaging the attention of three ministries which will be holding a meeting to discuss the matter and recommend solutions.
This after disclosures during a recent Joint Select Committee meeting, that meat which could be classified as unfit for human consumption was being imported and sold in this country.
The ministries of Health, Agriculture and Trade and Industry will be joining forces as they consult with officials of the Bureau of Standards, Chemistry Food and Drug Division, Public Health Lab, Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) and other stakeholders, in a meeting scheduled for two weeks from now, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said yesterday.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:....Anytime you see meat that unusually big you know its foreign nasty stuff.
Dizzy28 wrote:As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.
RedVEVO wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.
Clarence the ToothLess Lion have some personal agenda .
If he thinks Tyson is unfit for human consumption -
Then stop it by Law - Use Minister's Power.
He ALSO claims the bottled water is a rip off .
But WASA giving you Mauby colored juice to bathe and drink
Redman wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:As Minister of Agriculture under whose authority the chief veterinary officer resides and who is responsible for certifying meat imports, Clarence needs to do something about that inferior chicken he speaks about. I hope he is doing something and not just bumping his gums.
Im guessing that inferior does not mean that it is disqualified from entry to TnT.
Edible meat has grades.
So inferior could be an attempt by the ministerat moral suasion-and I applaud this.
It would be up to those importing Tyson to take the minister to task-IF they can prove that their meat is not inferior.
Redman wrote:God forbid the minister might be doing something pragmatic
RBphoto wrote:Just another thing to tax. Have nothing to do with quality. Clarence Rambharat probably has some lobby group behind him to do that.
dogg wrote:years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?
Dizzy28 wrote:dogg wrote:years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?
Dumping has nothing to do with quality (just saying!!)
dogg wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:dogg wrote:years after I and others brought up the dump chicken issue and the Minister is NOW talking about it?
Dumping has nothing to do with quality (just saying!!)
yuh ever smell those dumped chicken quarters? In this case it has everything to do with quality
Dizzy28 wrote:RBphoto wrote:Just another thing to tax. Have nothing to do with quality. Clarence Rambharat probably has some lobby group behind him to do that.
Ronnie Mohammed of Nutrimix was with Rowley in Australia.
Just saying!!