Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Re: Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby De Dragon » April 26th, 2018, 9:50 pm

sMASH wrote:allyuh could afford to shop at masey stores?
good for allyuh

Nahin, only go there when we get company vouchers. Xtra Foods / JTA bizness odderwise.
But xtra foods more expensive than Massy.

I don't think so.

Postby bluefete » April 26th, 2018, 9:55 pm

sMASH wrote:allyuh could afford to shop at masey stores?
good for allyuh

Nahin, only go there when we get company vouchers. Xtra Foods / JTA bizness odderwise.
But xtra foods more expensive than Massy.

Really?

I went X-Tra Foods yesterday and saved $285.15 on things I bought. Let's see:

Supligen - 250 ml - buy one / get one free - I bought a case - saved - $96.00.

Anchor Cheese (big size)- Buy one / Get one free - I got 2 for $53.95 when that is the price for one - saved - $53.95

Just to give you an idea.-

Beware, however, that 1 lb of Anchor butter in X-tra Foods is almost $60.00. Kerry gold is $51.00.

I only go to Massy to buy hops bread and their own branded stuff (Cuisine - but that is now just as expensive as the brand name stuff so I no longer buy them).

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2018, 10:18 pm

Sufferers affected.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2018, 6:56 am

MaxPower wrote:Sufferers affected.

100% correct.

Wealthy people become and stay wealthy because they don't pay 50c for something worth 5c that they can get for free elsewhere.

The poor and middle class remain poor and middle class because they see nothing wrong with paying 50c for something worth 5c that they can get for free elsewhere.

Wealthy people are the ones who buy things for 5c and sell it for 50c because 50c means nothing to poor and middle class people.

And that ladies and gentlemen is the story of how wealth accumulation works; how the poor remain poor, the middle class remain middle class or go back to being poor and the wealthy take little sums from both these groups and become even more wealthy.

And by extension that's why Republic Bank declared $650.4 million dollars in profit yesterday....ie an eye watering, mind blowing $3.6 million in profit a day.

Think about who that $3.6 million is coming from for a second. It's certainly not the wealthy people of this country.

Postby Rovin » April 27th, 2018, 8:17 pm

now i know majority of tuners dont like d messenger in this video [no scene] but 4get who he is & take a listen to d message itself >>>> .......

https://www.facebook.com/phillipedward. ... 126084876/

Postby K74T » April 27th, 2018, 8:22 pm

Nah, fack he.

Massy Stores to charge 50 cents for plastic bags from July 4...

Postby j.o.e » April 27th, 2018, 9:03 pm

What’s the big fuss. I normally take the trolley to my car and put groceries in trunk. All I’m gonna do is put a laundry basket or two in there and voila. Problem solved, easy offload, no bag, no bag tax. Y’all bitchin bout nothing.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2018, 9:08 pm

j.o.e wrote:What’s the big fuss. I normally take the trolley to my car and put groceries in trunk. All I’m gonna do is put a laundry basket or two in there and voila. Problem solved, easy offload, no bag, no bag tax. Y’all bitchin bout nothing.

since this story break, i watching and want to know if people forget about market bag...

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » April 27th, 2018, 9:16 pm

Was in massy today ppl normal no talk about bags ...prices still high af see they giving a free bucket with breeze mayb to put ur goods in walk with ur bucket

TriP

Postby TriP » April 28th, 2018, 1:59 pm

ANONYMOUS T&T SENDS A MESSAGE TO MASSY lol

Postby bluefete » April 28th, 2018, 2:13 pm

^^ That is a damn good piece of work there!!!!

Postby hydroep » April 28th, 2018, 2:29 pm

If they haven't already they should do one on bank charges as well...:idea:

Postby toyolink » April 28th, 2018, 2:31 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ That is a damn good piece of work there!!!!

Agreed!
The fancy planners in these big operations sit in a room and come-up with all kinds of half baked nonsense.
Actually the craft of strategic planning and impact matrix analysis has been lost and the craft of management by "vaps" has found legitimacy.

Postby bluefete » April 28th, 2018, 2:44 pm

toyolink wrote:The fancy planners in these big operations sit in a room and come-up with all kinds of half baked nonsense. Actually the craft of strategic planning and impact matrix analysis has been lost and the craft of management by "vaps" has found legitimacy.

Agreed. But somehow they still call it 'strategic planning'. LOL.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 28th, 2018, 2:51 pm

bluefete wrote:
toyolink wrote:The fancy planners in these big operations sit in a room and come-up with all kinds of half baked nonsense. Actually the craft of strategic planning and impact matrix analysis has been lost and the craft of management by "vaps" has found legitimacy.

Agreed. But somehow they still call it 'strategic planning'. LOL.

Spot on man, spot on.

Postby Les Bain » April 28th, 2018, 7:45 pm

Word from a cashier yesterday revealed its the shopping bags being done away with. The produce by the pound bags and the small black bags to keep saltfish from rubbing up on your dairy products remaining.

The Massy bags look like glorified tote bags. PriceSmart and them old timey market bags hold more.

Postby paid_influencer » April 28th, 2018, 10:00 pm

i went massy today. the $8 cheese is $12.75 there.

i buy two, because time is money

Postby Rovin » May 1st, 2018, 12:24 am

Postby K74T » May 1st, 2018, 1:13 am

kekekeke

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 1st, 2018, 6:06 am

Massy Stores would be sending home some workers as some departments within their retail chain are not profitable. Extensive cost cutting measures are in effect but they are going full steam ahead to open their new Arima branch which would require more staff. So on one hand, they letting go and on the other they are hiring.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 1st, 2018, 10:57 am

Sunny Bling has a vid circulating....

Postby Rovin » May 1st, 2018, 11:27 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Sunny Bling has a vid circulating....

i already posted it last night - look 2-3 posts above here .....

TriP

Postby TriP » May 1st, 2018, 4:16 pm

another one, point fortin massy, big garbage bag, man say he practicing from now :lol:

TriP

Postby TriP » May 1st, 2018, 4:52 pm

Michael Aboud does the math for you: Massy can make millions per year
from charging you for a plastic bag
30167920_1658762200883343_8139192481236055044_o (1).jpg
30167920_1658762200883343_8139192481236055044_o (1).jpg (52.61 KiB) Viewed 3572 times

Daran

Postby Daran » May 1st, 2018, 5:25 pm

TriP wrote:Michael Aboud does the math for you: Massy can make millions per year

Uhm he can't just assume plastic bag consumption will remain the same. The purpose of the .50 per bag is to reduce usuage of bags.

So if anything the profits will be half that figure.

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2018, 7:04 pm

Daran wrote:
TriP wrote:Michael Aboud does the math for you: Massy can make millions per year

Uhm he can't just assume plastic bag consumption will remain the same. The purpose of the .50 per bag is to reduce usuage of bags.

So if anything the profits will be half that figure.

if you consider that he underestimated the bag and walk -in usage ( both of which is very likely if you look at any typical Massy) you'll know that is could be a lot more than his estimate

Postby Rovin » May 1st, 2018, 7:11 pm

ah man walk with he crocus bag yes ....... :lol: :lol: :lol: https://www.facebook.com/angelo.marcell ... 1424248527

Postby Redman » May 1st, 2018, 7:29 pm

Massy uses about 22 million bags a year.
That was in 2016.
Their logistic dept figures.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 1st, 2018, 7:40 pm

So they will cash you out and then wait until bags are packed and then do final total?

Postby maj. tom » May 1st, 2018, 7:47 pm

So this would have inevitably happened and they will undo it. Ineffective just like everywhere else that tried to implement this. But Massy had to try a money scheme. The solution is to not offer any plastic bags at checkout, just reusable cloth bags. Buy once and use for months.

When allyuh go market, allyuh does buy a new bag from the bag vendor every week? btw, the crocus bag working right? He using a reusable bag. Next week nobody will care what statement he was trying to make. The point is he didn't use an extra plastic bag.