TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Cant comment on the availability of jobs.
But I have a couple padnahs who did IT and Comp Sci.
The comp sci fellas ketching ARSE. Don't go into comp sci unless you really love it. If you hadda come on tuner and ask which one better, then doh bother with it. You'll hate it. IT is easier, but you'll get some entry level job to start with and you'll have to supplement with other courses to build your resume to move on up.
Not trying to discourage you, but shits hard yo. Unless you really love it, run een.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Came across this thread, was wondering something, how come UWI offers IT part time but not Computer Science?
I ask this because from what I have seen 90% of the IT and CS courses are the exact same thing. Does this mean that you could do the 90% of courses part time and go full time to complete the 10% other courses and actually get a CS Degree?
The way I see it, if you are working fulltime and you can only go to classes part time, would it then be possible to complete the IT credits and do the rest of the CS courses fulltime? I have my doubts about this since CS Degree in UWI does require A level Math and Physics to gain entry but I am not sure how this actually works. And since SBCS no longer has GATE I think people would save a lot more money by simply going to UWI.
Ronaldo95163 wrote:ruffneck_12 wrote:Cant comment on the availability of jobs.
But I have a couple padnahs who did IT and Comp Sci.
The comp sci fellas ketching ARSE. Don't go into comp sci unless you really love it. If you hadda come on tuner and ask which one better, then doh bother with it. You'll hate it. IT is easier, but you'll get some entry level job to start with and you'll have to supplement with other courses to build your resume to move on up.
Not trying to discourage you, but shits hard yo. Unless you really love it, run een.
wtf really?
I always thought Comp sci woulda secure a sure job.
infinite_RPM wrote:If u want to do programming do the compsci in uwi.. but please note that for the avg person compsci is quite hard..
even one of my compsci lecturers told me that he took 4 years to complete it full time.. if there is still the comp2000 and comp3000 courses be ready for real pain..
But at the end of the day it's hard.. people only want programmers with years of experience.. me and a buddy did compsci and now we are ppos lol..
But you should always do you like.. if you don't like programming but you like computers do the IT
zoom rader wrote:All this education and some lil injun planting a lil bodi make more money and driving a cash paid raj hilux
Nah no bodi, banana and cassava yesrspann wrote:zoom rader wrote:All this education and some lil injun planting a lil bodi make more money and driving a cash paid raj hilux
Yeah ,we seeing the blue hilux avatar.
infinite_RPM wrote:I not sure what u need to get in the programme now. Uwi was mostly C but logic is the same across the board... Once u can code in one language u could learn all.. you'll need to dabble in a lot of different languages throughout the programme