UWI BSc Computer Science VS BSc Information Technology?

Re: UWI BSc Computer Science VS BSc Information Technology?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 12th, 2018, 3:34 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Cant comment on the availability of jobs.
But I have a couple padnahs who did IT and Comp Sci.

The comp sci fellas ketching ARSE. Don't go into comp sci unless you really love it. If you hadda come on tuner and ask which one better, then doh bother with it. You'll hate it. IT is easier, but you'll get some entry level job to start with and you'll have to supplement with other courses to build your resume to move on up.

Not trying to discourage you, but shits hard yo. Unless you really love it, run een.

wtf really?
I always thought Comp sci woulda secure a sure job.

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » February 12th, 2018, 11:59 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Came across this thread, was wondering something, how come UWI offers IT part time but not Computer Science?
I ask this because from what I have seen 90% of the IT and CS courses are the exact same thing. Does this mean that you could do the 90% of courses part time and go full time to complete the 10% other courses and actually get a CS Degree?

The way I see it, if you are working fulltime and you can only go to classes part time, would it then be possible to complete the IT credits and do the rest of the CS courses fulltime? I have my doubts about this since CS Degree in UWI does require A level Math and Physics to gain entry but I am not sure how this actually works. And since SBCS no longer has GATE I think people would save a lot more money by simply going to UWI.

I've done this - however, it takes A LOT of convincing and recommendations from lecturers and higher up staff (3.75+ GPA for me) for it to happen, as well as you will NOT get GATE for the 2nd degree

One issue also to note is that when I did it, C was the language for the CompSci degree and Java was the language used in IT - I had to demonstrate sufficient knowledge in both in order to get the exemptions with respect to the similar courses and its content

Afaik Maths was the only requirement for Compsci back then (10yrs)

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » February 13th, 2018, 9:43 am

If u want to do programming do the compsci in uwi.. but please note that for the avg person compsci is quite hard..

even one of my compsci lecturers told me that he took 4 years to complete it full time.. if there is still the comp2000 and comp3000 courses be ready for real pain..

But at the end of the day it's hard.. people only want programmers with years of experience.. me and a buddy did compsci and now we are ppos lol..

But you should always do you like.. if you don't like programming but you like computers do the IT

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 13th, 2018, 10:10 am

CS is a slightly more technical and difficult degree to attain than IT/ICT/IS/BIS/CIS degree as it involves more programming. In the real job market one is not considered superior over each other, it all depends on your company and position and appetite to gain further certs. If for personal satisfaction you want a more technical undergrad qualification then do the CS. If you want to combine the business and management side of things then you can leave that for your MBA as a graduate qualification. Many MBAs include IS in modules pertaining to Operations and Strategy. Please understand that an IT degree is no walk in the park type qualification because at Level 6, it is a requirement for the student to know some programming for web and app development, databases, data mining/analytics and networking.

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2018, 10:10 am

All this education and some lil injun planting a lil bodi make more money and driving a cash paid raj hilux

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 13th, 2018, 12:59 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Cant comment on the availability of jobs.
But I have a couple padnahs who did IT and Comp Sci.

The comp sci fellas ketching ARSE. Don't go into comp sci unless you really love it. If you hadda come on tuner and ask which one better, then doh bother with it. You'll hate it. IT is easier, but you'll get some entry level job to start with and you'll have to supplement with other courses to build your resume to move on up.

Not trying to discourage you, but shits hard yo. Unless you really love it, run een.

wtf really?
I always thought Comp sci woulda secure a sure job.

It does
People always want comp sci men to build/maintain apps/websites an ting.
IT men just hadda fix printer jams

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 13th, 2018, 5:03 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:If u want to do programming do the compsci in uwi.. but please note that for the avg person compsci is quite hard..

even one of my compsci lecturers told me that he took 4 years to complete it full time.. if there is still the comp2000 and comp3000 courses be ready for real pain..

But at the end of the day it's hard.. people only want programmers with years of experience.. me and a buddy did compsci and now we are ppos lol..

But you should always do you like.. if you don't like programming but you like computers do the IT

What exactly is the requirement for entry into UWI Computer Science? Is A level Math a must? anything else?
Or an even better question the entry requirement for IT in UWI?

Programming is not a problem for me, I am actually developing a video game using C#, I am doing everything myself the graphics, sound, animation, programming etc The only reason I want to do computer science is because I can already code

I currently have a full time Job Monday to Friday 8 - 4 so there is noway for me to go UWI fulltime, I have no problem paying for the Degree Cash as I know I won't get GATE anymore, I assume it will cost me around $50,000. My aim was to do IT part time and complete the remainder modules for CS fulltime since both IT and CS have the exact same modules. Just that CS has some extra hardcore stuff

UWI I am speaking about offcourse, I could get into SBCS to complete the final year in their Greenwich CIS but that would be useless to me. It only covers basic programming while I am interested in real computer science. While developing games I come across problems where knowledge of Math and Physics is quite important, from what I understand a Computer Science degree tends to cover the Math and these things. Now I could learn the Math and Physics on my own which is what I do whenever I reach a dead end but having a CS degree I am assuming would allow me to get very far in bigger companies.

Not sure exactly how programming jobs work in Trinidad and what employers usually ask if they ask for CS degrees specifically? most of my work I do is freelance. These days I find myself taking small jobs to create 3D assets more than anything else. Many indie devs learned programming but never 3D design

If I were to guess, the main thing stopping me from UWI would be the entry requirements. However I wonder if they would take my current skill as an exemption? what if I could show them my actual real world experience on the projects I created thus far and what I am capable off? I have a bunch of diplomas, advanced diploma and stuff including 5 O' level with Math and English. Not sure if all of this is enough because UWI does tend to have strict requirements I think it is A level Math and Physics or no deal when it comes to them. I think for the very least I should have enough for entry into their IT degree? the UWI IT degree is much more programming oriented than places like SBCS.

Postby rspann » February 13th, 2018, 5:41 pm

zoom rader wrote:All this education and some lil injun planting a lil bodi make more money and driving a cash paid raj hilux

Yeah ,we seeing the blue hilux avatar.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » February 13th, 2018, 5:42 pm

I not sure what u need to get in the programme now. Uwi was mostly C but logic is the same across the board... Once u can code in one language u could learn all.. you'll need to dabble in a lot of different languages throughout the programme

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2018, 5:44 pm

rspann wrote:
zoom rader wrote:All this education and some lil injun planting a lil bodi make more money and driving a cash paid raj hilux

Yeah ,we seeing the blue hilux avatar.
Nah no bodi, banana and cassava yes

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 13th, 2018, 5:45 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:I not sure what u need to get in the programme now. Uwi was mostly C but logic is the same across the board... Once u can code in one language u could learn all.. you'll need to dabble in a lot of different languages throughout the programme

Yeah that is fine I like learning different languages, the first language I learned was C and it was the most important thing I could have learned. After learning C, learning C#, C++ and Java becomes easier and makes more sense.

It is true the logic is what is needed, the language is just a tool really. All of them have their pros and cons even assembly language has its pros over Java. Case in point ESET NOD 32 core is partially written in Assembly.

THis is why those IT degrees at SBCS is pointless for programming they just teach you about some languages you don't do the really important things like Algorithm Analysis and Design and Discreet Math like you do in UWI computer science.