vaiostation wrote:I think for companies PCS or Atlantic you will most likely need a technicians diploma. But even if you have it the chances of finding a job in one of these larger companies are next to impossible in these difficult economic times without links...
For a company like Petrotrin, a good amount of people used to pass through with MIC, but you still need links.
My advice is that you could go either MIC, NESC or even YTEPP and get certified and they most likely get you jobs with contractors so you can gain experience. From this point you could try and get in with another contracting company or perhaps try starting up your own business. I would advise this path because there are hundreds if not thousands of qualified technicians, operators and engineers that are unemployed right now and are unsure when their next job will be and thousands more uninformed people finishing school every year and ending up in the same situation.
Also, just know that if you want to actually be able to work as soon as you finish your schooling, don't go utt because is just book work ya getting in there which is useless without experience... Jus saying...
Just know that working in the oil and gas industry is not the be all end all.
nolimit wrote:You should look into the UTT Pt. Lisas Campus courses that they offer. Sometimes you even get hired by the companies within the Pt. Lisas estate
Speedy1234 wrote:nolimit wrote:You should look into the UTT Pt. Lisas Campus courses that they offer. Sometimes you even get hired by the companies within the Pt. Lisas estate
yea but i dont have a science sub at the moment right nw i doing Physics for june but not sure if i passin it...
vaiostation wrote:I think for companies PCS or Atlantic you will most likely need a technicians diploma. But even if you have it the chances of finding a job in one of these larger companies are next to impossible in these difficult economic times without links...
For a company like Petrotrin, a good amount of people used to pass through with MIC, but you still need links.
My advice is that you could go either MIC, NESC or even YTEPP and get certified and they most likely get you jobs with contractors so you can gain experience. From this point you could try and get in with another contracting company or perhaps try starting up your own business. I would advise this path because there are hundreds if not thousands of qualified technicians, operators and engineers that are unemployed right now and are unsure when their next job will be and thousands more uninformed people finishing school every year and ending up in the same situation.
Also, just know that if you want to actually be able to work as soon as you finish your schooling, don't go utt because is just book work ya getting in there which is useless without experience... Jus saying...
Just know that working in the oil and gas industry is not the be all end all.
urbandilema wrote:good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...
at the end of the day op if u doing trade it's good to certify u with both..its a start for u to shape your future and remember never fraid to try somein new
hmm things have changed but op wah course u applied forSpeedy1234 wrote:urbandilema wrote:good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...
at the end of the day op if u doing trade it's good to certify u with both..its a start for u to shape your future and remember never fraid to try somein new
i aint't have Technical Drawing for cxc either cuz i applied for the Certificate in Applied Engineering (CAE) in UTT last year and they told me i need a sci sub or either TD to do the Certificate in Applied Engineering.
urbandilema wrote:hmm things have changed but op wah course u applied forSpeedy1234 wrote:urbandilema wrote:good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...
i aint't have Technical Drawing for cxc either cuz i applied for the Certificate in Applied Engineering (CAE) in UTT last year and they told me i need a sci sub or either TD to do the Certificate in Applied Engineering.
Yup I going in part time..cant go full time due to work and family..ValleyBoyzA wrote:For those considering UTT, if possible enrolling full-time because the part time course are twice as long with the introduction of the two semester system.