Which is Better MIC or NESC

Speedy1234

Which is Better MIC or NESC

Postby Speedy1234 » February 8th, 2018, 10:50 am

If i want to do an Electrical course to get into the Industry like Petrotrin, PCS Nitrogen,Atlantic LNG Etc.... Which school is better and which certificate is highly recognised between MIC or NESC that the industries accepts more? Anyone ever went either school and working in the Industry with that Certificate? I already have my O'Levels Passes ( just dont have chem or phys ) but i want to do a trade to work in the industry oil and gas sector... Please give me some feedbacks....

nolimit

Re: Which is Better MIC or NESC

Postby nolimit » February 8th, 2018, 12:55 pm

You should look into the UTT Pt. Lisas Campus courses that they offer. Sometimes you even get hired by the companies within the Pt. Lisas estate

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 8th, 2018, 1:30 pm

I think for companies PCS or Atlantic you will most likely need a technicians diploma. But even if you have it the chances of finding a job in one of these larger companies are next to impossible in these difficult economic times without links...
For a company like Petrotrin, a good amount of people used to pass through with MIC, but you still need links.

My advice is that you could go either MIC, NESC or even YTEPP and get certified and they most likely get you jobs with contractors so you can gain experience. From this point you could try and get in with another contracting company or perhaps try starting up your own business. I would advise this path because there are hundreds if not thousands of qualified technicians, operators and engineers that are unemployed right now and are unsure when their next job will be and thousands more uninformed people finishing school every year and ending up in the same situation.

Also, just know that if you want to actually be able to work as soon as you finish your schooling, don't go utt because is just book work ya getting in there which is useless without​ experience... Jus saying...

Just know that working in the oil and gas industry is not the be all end all.

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 2:37 pm

^^^ Good advice bro

Speedy1234

Postby Speedy1234 » February 8th, 2018, 3:26 pm

vaiostation wrote:I think for companies PCS or Atlantic you will most likely need a technicians diploma. But even if you have it the chances of finding a job in one of these larger companies are next to impossible in these difficult economic times without links...
For a company like Petrotrin, a good amount of people used to pass through with MIC, but you still need links.

My advice is that you could go either MIC, NESC or even YTEPP and get certified and they most likely get you jobs with contractors so you can gain experience. From this point you could try and get in with another contracting company or perhaps try starting up your own business. I would advise this path because there are hundreds if not thousands of qualified technicians, operators and engineers that are unemployed right now and are unsure when their next job will be and thousands more uninformed people finishing school every year and ending up in the same situation.

Also, just know that if you want to actually be able to work as soon as you finish your schooling, don't go utt because is just book work ya getting in there which is useless without​ experience... Jus saying...

Oh ok but MIC have these different programmes like Hype and MUST ... so not sure which programme in mic that goes through petrotrin if is the Hype Programme.....

Speedy1234

Postby Speedy1234 » February 8th, 2018, 3:27 pm

nolimit wrote:You should look into the UTT Pt. Lisas Campus courses that they offer. Sometimes you even get hired by the companies within the Pt. Lisas estate

yea but i dont have a science sub at the moment right nw i doing Physics for june but not sure if i passin it...

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2018, 5:14 pm

Speedy1234 wrote:
nolimit wrote:You should look into the UTT Pt. Lisas Campus courses that they offer. Sometimes you even get hired by the companies within the Pt. Lisas estate

yea but i dont have a science sub at the moment right nw i doing Physics for june but not sure if i passin it...

Don't let that get you down. I didn't do physics for CXC either. UTT blanked me to do electrical engineering as a result.

Used all I learned at another school to do my own thing. There is a world of opportunity out here.

I wrote CXC physics some years later though, passed it without even studying.

vaiostation wrote:I think for companies PCS or Atlantic you will most likely need a technicians diploma. But even if you have it the chances of finding a job in one of these larger companies are next to impossible in these difficult economic times without links...

People dont want work, I have an ad up a few days now and not one reply. Only one interesting candidate showed interest.

Employed one ex offshore guy this week and got an employee for a contractor last week.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » February 8th, 2018, 6:34 pm

good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...

at the end of the day op if u doing trade it's good to certify u with both..its a start for u to shape your future and remember never fraid to try somein new

Speedy1234

Postby Speedy1234 » February 8th, 2018, 7:01 pm

urbandilema wrote:good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...

at the end of the day op if u doing trade it's good to certify u with both..its a start for u to shape your future and remember never fraid to try somein new

i aint't have Technical Drawing for cxc either cuz i applied for the Certificate in Applied Engineering (CAE) in UTT last year and they told me i need a sci sub or either TD to do the Certificate in Applied Engineering.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » February 8th, 2018, 7:07 pm

Speedy1234 wrote:
urbandilema wrote:good advice for op..but he shud realise to the oil nice to work but I know when I left secondary the jobs was nice to enter there..Mic from hearing is great..btw utt doesn't need psy or chem to enter u cud always do their pre engineering course..I may self thinking of finishing my diploma in eeet at utt and no procrastination...

i aint't have Technical Drawing for cxc either cuz i applied for the Certificate in Applied Engineering (CAE) in UTT last year and they told me i need a sci sub or either TD to do the Certificate in Applied Engineering.
hmm things have changed but op wah course u applied for

Speedy1234

Postby Speedy1234 » February 8th, 2018, 7:13 pm

urbandilema wrote:
Speedy1234 wrote:

hmm things have changed but op wah course u applied for

only cae i applied for first.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 5th, 2018, 2:57 pm

Apply for the course yo if u have time..I actually went today to try to start back.Due to how work is now I have more flexibility with time so I'm in reconsideration of applying..I was there about 6 years ago but I didn't finish my technician diploma due to stupid me and feeling I had no time as working far and being on shift...take the time now although gate maybe complicated..

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 11th, 2018, 10:37 am

Well lil update of anyone interested in going utt to their diploma it's still taking students..I actually get call back to is back to school part time next year..Go be hard with work and family life but I go try..

ValleyBoyzA

Postby ValleyBoyzA » June 17th, 2018, 8:23 pm

For those considering UTT, if possible enrolling full-time because the part time course are twice as long with the introduction of the two semester system.

ValleyBoyzA

Postby ValleyBoyzA » June 17th, 2018, 8:23 pm

enrol*

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » June 18th, 2018, 2:46 am

OP check out the cpo course at utt.. the 1st semester courses have everything u need to know in Physics.. it go be challenging but that is d best course to learn about the oil gas industry tbh.. it even have site visits to actual plants and stuff..

It's 14 courses I think.. is really only 3 a little challenging..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » June 18th, 2018, 4:50 am

if u have the time n money.. do mic first .. learn a trade .. journeyman course might be long n then u can go utt after .. then try n get with a contractor to gain experience. or try a maintenance company like ipsl or servitech

supernedd

Postby supernedd » June 18th, 2018, 4:55 am

it takes time i patience.. hopefully no obstacles come your way.. i personally been going different courses for yrs ..i did short courses in mic n nesc .. then i did diploma meeet engineering in trinizuela .. i was planning to go utt after .. but had bills to pay. work .. less free time.. i still end up in a elevator company.. instead of pt lisas .. i always wanted to work offshore.. but to be honest.. d way the economy looking n oil workers losing their jobs . i decided to stay in d elevator field n looking at trying to open a side business or private hustle

Postby tr1ad » June 18th, 2018, 1:03 pm

highly unlikely that a certificate will get you these "nice jobs" you aiming at in top companies - like i said in your other thread - look for something with a small contractor to start the ball.

in this current economic situation, the industry is not guaranteed, set your sights on something sustainable in the longterm

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » June 21st, 2018, 12:20 pm

ValleyBoyzA wrote:For those considering UTT, if possible enrolling full-time because the part time course are twice as long with the introduction of the two semester system.
Yup I going in part time..cant go full time due to work and family..

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » June 29th, 2018, 4:38 am

Tbh offshore work isn't all that u know... People are working for flat 12 hrs per day with no rate increase but the only thing that saves u is u don't have to travel and spend money on food.. That's the only 2 plus