What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby sMASH » February 4th, 2018, 9:12 pm

blasted PNM siphoning money out of the treasury, like water from a WASA truck in a west moorings pool.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 4th, 2018, 9:19 pm

drchaos wrote:
De Dragon wrote:The PNM's plan is to be clueless and dotish about the economy. This they are succeeding admirably at doing.

This is actually false ... Their greatest trick is to make you think they are incompetent and you have been lapping up their deceit.
Its better to look incompetent than outright corrupt.

Eg. Sinanan is currently looking like a dumb ass having started the highway project knowing FFOS has filed court papers asking if the project was encroaching on the Aripo Savannah. Now there is an injunction the Gov is doling out plenty money per day due to the works being put on hold with the injunction. Who is all this money for no work being done being handed to??? His Nephew's in KALCO.

That's some crafty sheit right there ... These guys are way above your league Dragon ... You taking the bait like the rest of the average Trini's out there.

Thanks for your useless pseudo-analysis. We all know your position wrt to this admin.

Showing that you take bait easy is useless???

Postby De Dragon » February 4th, 2018, 10:21 pm

drchaos wrote:
De Dragon wrote:The PNM's plan is to be clueless and dotish about the economy. This they are succeeding admirably at doing.

This is actually false ... Their greatest trick is to make you think they are incompetent and you have been lapping up their deceit.
Its better to look incompetent than outright corrupt.

Eg. Sinanan is currently looking like a dumb ass having started the highway project knowing FFOS has filed court papers asking if the project was encroaching on the Aripo Savannah. Now there is an injunction the Gov is doling out plenty money per day due to the works being put on hold with the injunction. Who is all this money for no work being done being handed to??? His Nephew's in KALCO.

That's some crafty sheit right there ... These guys are way above your league Dragon ... You taking the bait like the rest of the average Trini's out there.

Thanks for your useless pseudo-analysis. We all know your position wrt to this admin.

Showing that you take bait easy is useless???

What bait did I take? Are you trying to gloss over incompetence with corruption? Which in your "learned" opinion is not "bait worthy?"

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 5th, 2018, 12:20 am

UNC and PNM bait ... you are just a loud mouth taking things at face value and not understanding what is really going on.

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2018, 1:25 am

drchaos wrote:UNC and PNM bait ... you are just a loud mouth taking things at face value and not understanding what is really going on.

Thanks for telling me what I understand nimrod. What I understand perfectly, is that you're an arse who has no point, thus you troll without a shred of evidence to back up any of your useless, pointless claims.

eazzy

Postby eazzy » February 5th, 2018, 1:42 am

here's an idea, how about you all try going on 4chan's /pol/ board right, and making posts and trying to have discussions there. when you get laughed at for being third world garbage, maybe then you'll realize how petty and useless you all are being in threads like these, and actually be a useful citizen in trying to right things in T&T. you guys are pretty much on the way to growing into those morons who call in on political radio shows and spew a bunch of ignorant nonsense.

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2018, 4:31 am

^^ start sumting...

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2018, 5:13 am

eazzy wrote:here's an idea, how about you all try going on 4chan's /pol/ board right, and making posts and trying to have discussions there. when you get laughed at for being third world garbage, maybe then you'll realize how petty and useless you all are being in threads like these, and actually be a useful citizen in trying to right things in T&T. you guys are pretty much on the way to growing into those morons who call in on political radio shows and spew a bunch of ignorant nonsense.

Here's another idea, why don't you fack away? :wink:

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2018, 6:28 am

Eazzyfemlove.

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2018, 6:31 am

rspann wrote:Eazzyfemlove.
Yep she's easy to spot.

ED is a hell of a thing to have

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2018, 6:32 am

desi created another account

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2018, 6:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

desi created another account
Yep her estrogen level went up

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 5th, 2018, 8:44 am

eazzy wrote:here's an idea, how about you all try going on 4chan's /pol/ board right, and making posts and trying to have discussions there. when you get laughed at for being third world garbage, maybe then you'll realize how petty and useless you all are being in threads like these, and actually be a useful citizen in trying to right things in T&T. you guys are pretty much on the way to growing into those morons who call in on political radio shows and spew a bunch of ignorant nonsense.

I think people already know that posting here is useless and has no bearing on anything ... round of applause for Captain Obvious aka "eazzy"

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2018, 6:56 am

Carnival time and this is where PNM does the most damage . Expect underhand dealings going on

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2018, 9:16 pm

Venezuela, Trinidad gas talks collapse over price

Trinidad and Tobago has failed to break an impasse with Venezuela over the price it is willing to pay for natural gas. The gas would be delivered from Venezuela's offshore Dragon field to Shell's Hibiscus platform, off northwestern Trinidad and Tobago, from where it would be tied into Trinidad state-run NGC's network. Dragon would initially supply 150mn ft³/d (1.55bn m³/yr), eventually rising to 300mn ft³/d. Trinidadian officials will return to Caracas in two weeks "to attempt to settle the terms of the agreement", the government says. Trinidad and Tobago's gas output has recovered recently, but the Venezuelan gas is considered vital to sustaining its gas-based industries, including the 14.8mn t/yr Atlantic LNG plant.

Source: https://www2.argusmedia.com/ja/news/170 ... over-price

Postby sMASH » July 1st, 2018, 6:19 am

Because 'Murcia needs Venezuela suppressed...

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2018, 6:45 am

De pressure from de new US Ambassador start already!

Postby The_Honourable » November 3rd, 2019, 12:06 am

Continuous decline is not a turnaround

The T&T economy declined by -0.2% in 2018 (pg.135 of the Review of the Economy 2019), a far cry from the 1.9% growth projected by Minister Imbert and less than the IMF projections of 0.3% with which he vehemently disagreed. This decline will continue in 2019 and beyond. Even with the best effort, T&T will not achieve the IMF’s “optimistic” growth rate of 0.0%, far less the World Bank’s 0.9% in 2019. T&T is in the midst of a continuing decline and the 2019 decline will be greater than 2018’s.

This negative outlook is the result of a weakening energy sector. Oil, natural gas production and the manufacture of petrochemicals are the mainstay of the economy accounting for approximately 40% of GDP on average. At the end of July 2019, average natural gas production had increased by 0.007% and oil production had declined by -6.71%. Ammonia prices are depressed, negatively affecting the output of the petrochemical sector and two plants remain closed because there isn’t enough gas to operate them; the future of Train 1 is uncertain. Further, the oil refinery will, in all likelihood, remain closed to the end of 2019. The refinery’s closure will remove at least $2 billion from the 2019 GDP calculation ensuring a decline of -1.5% approximately. The next IMF Article IV consultation report should make for interesting reading, if Mr. Imbert does not try to postpone it again.

Also, energy exports declined by 19%, whilst export sales to Caricom declined by 56.8% in the first quarter of 2019 (pg.125,128). These numbers contrast sharply with the “rosy” picture painted by Minister Imbert. Industry experts confirmed last week that T&T has done well to increase its natural gas production from 3.3 bcfd (billion cubic feet a day) to the current 3.66 bcfd. If production could be maintained at 3.6 bcfd through to 2021, T&T would have done well, even though this is less that the 4 bcfd required to keep the plants operational.

The real crisis is that the viability of the T&T business model has changed. Natural gas is no longer cheap to produce, and we are not producing enough. GDP growth must come from other sectors. This requires significant effort.

Former Finance Minsters Dookeran and Howai used to refer to a waiting list of multi-billion-dollar projects which are now all gone. BPTT’s announcement of 4 dry holes in May and BHP’s dry hole last week are important signals. We cannot wait for new finds or hope that the Trini God will raise prices soon. Salvation does not lie in that direction. Now the petrochemical companies are doing deals in the USA where gas is cheaper.

Neither does it lie in the construction of billion-dollar hospitals in Sangre Grande, Arima, Point Fortin (to add to the Couva hospital), nor in the construction a fourteenth port in Toco. Financing the construction is the easy part; the real task is to find the additional revenue to pay the operating cost of the hospitals and the port when they are completed. Finding an operator for Magdalena Grand is important, but useless without improving the product and service levels in the tourism sector.

Even if the TT Revenue Authority gets off the ground and is more efficient in its tax collection, any administration will need to be more selective in its management of the state apparatus and enterprises. As Dr. Williams said a long time ago, money is not the problem; the absence of competent management was the heart of the problem.

Perhaps the most damning failure of this administration has been to confuse campaign rhetoric with the reality of government. Like its predecessor, the PNM has continued its 2015 campaign, never losing an opportunity to bash the UNC for its many infelicities, downplaying its own. In the process, the real issues confronting T&T have not been addressed, obfuscated by focusing on the short term. T&T’s problems have been presented as a financial crisis caused by a “wasteful” UNC and a decline in energy prices. Fixing the problem has come to mean spending $50 billion instead of $60 billion whilst maintainable revenue is $42 billion.

In painting a picture of improving natural gas production in the 2019 budget, the Finance Minister is either delusional or deceived, or attempting to delude and deceive. Disturbingly, GDP forecasting has now been moved to the Finance Ministry. Either way we have lost time. The country is not engaged in the transformation exercise required to address our difficult future, the Economic Advisory Board frustrated and disbanded. Professionals who counseled a different approach have been demonized, vilified and branded as unpatriotic.

In 1981 the PNM administration had USD $ 8 billion in reserves which dissipated by 1987. This PNM administration has $6.9 billion today plus the HSF, and the situation is similar. Difficult circumstances require leadership, competent management and accountability, not demagoguery.

- Mariano Browne

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/continuo ... ano-browne

Postby zoom rader » November 3rd, 2019, 12:27 am

^^^ Bro PNM ppl don't understand dem kind of maths and figures.

All dem know is Kamala fault

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 3rd, 2019, 9:23 am

Pnm still winning...bout economy on the decline...minimum wage increase yo..

Postby Ben_spanna » November 3rd, 2019, 10:56 am

As next year is an election year, one would have thought that their budget would have stimulated the construction sector and the local manufacturers, however there is still No new plans afoot, and to make matters worse, imagine when you have local people supplying and making the same products that certain favored contractors are being allowed to now import without any tendering process even happening fairly.
Trinidad is going to get worse in the coming year, let’s really pray we don’t end up like the next Jamaica or Venezuela.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 3rd, 2019, 1:14 pm

#RowleyOut

#PnmOut

Postby maj. tom » November 3rd, 2019, 1:34 pm

and who you going to put in? Kamla? Kamla dog?

Postby The_Honourable » November 3rd, 2019, 1:39 pm

maj. tom wrote:and who you going to put in? Kamla? Kamla dog?

Abdullah obviously :lol:

#cleansweep

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 3rd, 2019, 1:48 pm

Nah never. She even worst cause she actually blatantly clueless and incompetant.

Rowley go win but this defeat should force Kamla to finally leave and UNC get a new leader to unite the opposition.

Pnm not lasting a full second term plus Rowls already pushing 71+ and PNM have no succession planning in place. So a next election by 2022 atleast.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 3rd, 2019, 1:49 pm

Duke ftw

Postby De Dragon » November 4th, 2019, 5:39 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Abdullah obviously :lol:

#cleansweep

Kinda hard when you're only contesting 7 seats.

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 8:46 pm

wey dey feel , dey go win dem 7 seats & want to be leader & playing rankin ting

dunno wa kinda medication dem on , maybe zesser pills ...

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » November 5th, 2019, 12:32 am

Redress10 wrote:

Nah never. She even worst cause she actually blatantly clueless and incompetant.

Rowley go win but this defeat should force Kamla to finally leave and UNC get a new leader to unite the opposition.

Pnm not lasting a full second term plus Rowls already pushing 71+ and PNM have no succession planning in place. So a next election by 2022 atleast.

Lol wishful tinkin. Kamla like opposition leader, she staying right dey as long as Sipria votin she and UNC winnin' at least 15 seats :drinking: :drinking:

PNM going full second term boy, succession planning, boy, dey go pull a person for 2020 who go be d new leader, once they tow de 1% line, dey doing what dey need to. :bday:

Postby matr1x » November 5th, 2019, 6:22 am

Pnm is like any beetham household. Tief someone else money, spend it dotish, and begging the next day