Rowlee Mudda song ...

Re: Rowlee Mudda song ...

Postby rspann » December 29th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Redman wrote:If he free to write it..then others free to say what they want about it.
He free to sing.
X free to say it cross a line.
Y free to say it wrong to speak out against it.

True, everybody entitled to have their opinion on it , but my point is ,why they don't have objections to the other songs of that ilk? Also ,why should he be banned ? What about the little (6yo-10yo) schoolgirls that was singing with the soca artiste ,shaking their hands and saying "it bunnin ,it bunnin..... " how come nobody was offended by that ? I find the children's authority should have dealt with that issue , and all who protesting now ,should have raised their voices then. My concern is not the sheit he sing , but freedom of speech shouldn't be suppressed . Remember he not cursing , TATT has no right to interfere. Last time I checked count is not a obscene word. Why the police don't charge him for the song if it is obscene?

Postby 16 cycles » December 29th, 2017, 10:07 pm

Massive responses from historical content on point...

TaTT setting up themselves for a discrimination claim based on their lack of enforcement of everything else....

Postby rspann » December 29th, 2017, 10:13 pm

They cannot enforce anything ,they just trying out their needles. If he not using obscene language , wtf they could do? The man only say that the woman plant a garden and she counting the crops. He didn't even call the PM name. Who is Rowlee?

Postby The_Honourable » December 29th, 2017, 10:19 pm

16 cycles wrote:Massive responses from historical content on point...

TaTT setting up themselves for a discrimination claim based on their lack of enforcement of everything else....

Exactly...

If Massive really decide to take them on, he will have numerous examples on radio currently and from the past to back up his case.

On radio they normally edit the expletives or play a "clean" version of a song. I don't see why they can't give him the same opportunity.

Postby Morpheus » December 29th, 2017, 10:45 pm

rspann wrote:
Redman wrote:If he free to write it..then others free to say what they want about it.
He free to sing.

True, everybody entitled to have their opinion on it , but my point is ,why they don't have objections to the other songs of that ilk? Also ,why should he be banned ? What about the little (6yo-10yo) schoolgirls that was singing with the soca artiste ,shaking their hands and saying "it bunnin ,it bunnin..... " how come nobody was offended by that ? I find the children's authority should have dealt with that issue , and all who protesting now ,should have raised their voices then. My concern is not the sheit he sing , but freedom of speech shouldn't be suppressed . Remember he not cursing , TATT has no right to interfere. Last time I checked count is not a obscene word. Why the police don't charge him for the song if it is obscene?
Who is the nobody you referring to?

Postby mero » December 29th, 2017, 11:45 pm

rspann wrote:They cannot enforce anything ,they just trying out their needles. If he not using obscene language , wtf they could do? The man only say that the woman plant a garden and she counting the crops. He didn't even call the PM name. Who is Rowlee?
Didn't know when you hear a song on radio, you sense the lyrics to decipher things like Rowlee from Rowley :/

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 30th, 2017, 1:45 am

No_Name wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:seems like massive cant comprehend the crap he is trying to pass off as music.
imagine the nation's children singing this crap ,that could ever be right?
then he displays his ignorance of how TATT operates
what a waste

Aaam, Fella, wa bout all dem "nookie fatt" crap comin outta Jamaica & d Nikki Minajes and the likes of with their blatant obscenities comin outta Uncle Sam? Aren't they more prevalent than Massive's song?

Oh, an Massive, you rebuttals on par hoss, let PNM'S Oman Group continue givin their Tits to TTAT, feed em study...
what foreign artist may have our children telling the prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago he mudda count? you guys not thinking.
and TATT have no dealings with massive, massive is fass and out of place to reply to TATT,he dont have a relationship with them.
TATT can only control those radio and television stations by reminding them about the contract they singed with the authority when they obtained their licence /concessions ,in this instance massive has crossed the line according to the clause in the licence but if his music is played he is never gonna get in trouble with TATT as some will want us believe ,its the concessionaires that transmit the dotishness will lose their licence

Postby rollingstock » December 30th, 2017, 1:48 am

megadoc1 wrote:
No_Name wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:seems like massive cant comprehend the crap he is trying to pass off as music.
imagine the nation's children singing this crap ,that could ever be right?
then he displays his ignorance of how TATT operates
what a waste

Aaam, Fella, wa bout all dem "nookie fatt" crap comin outta Jamaica & d Nikki Minajes and the likes of with their blatant obscenities comin outta Uncle Sam? Aren't they more prevalent than Massive's song?

Oh, an Massive, you rebuttals on par hoss, let PNM'S Oman Group continue givin their Tits to TTAT, feed em study...
what foreign artist may have our children telling the prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago he mudda count? you guys not thinking.
and TATT have no dealings with massive, massive is fass and out of place to reply to TATT,he dont have a relationship with them.
TATT can only control those radio and television stations by reminding them about the contract they singed with the authority when they obtained their licence /concessions ,in this instance massive has crossed the line according to the clause in the licence but if his music is played he is never gonna get in trouble with TATT as some will want us believe ,its the concessionaires that transmit the dotishness will lose their licence

Stfu with that dotish rhetoric.
Where was your voice when derogatory lyrics were sang about the previous pm?

I still believe massive song is in poor taste but any attempt to censor it is uncalled for.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 30th, 2017, 2:28 am

rollingstock wrote:Stfu with that dotish rhetoric.
no its facts, if you dont have a radio licence I can understand your ignorance on the matter, I currently have a radio licence from TATT and I know how this goes down

rollingstock wrote:Where was your voice when derogatory lyrics were sang about the previous pm?

no one can question when I should raise an objection ,I heard this crap and I strongly object to it !
my lack of not doing it before or in the future is entirely up to me . where was my voice ? its here NOW

rollingstock wrote:I still believe massive song is in poor taste but any attempt to censor it is uncalled for.
the only problem I have with this song is it may encourage persons and children to tell the current prime minister of this country, he mudda count and all of us know they wont be saying count !
this I object to cause it wont stop there and we will continue downhill from here,soon no office in this country would have the respect it deserves,and you as an officer knows how it feels to be disrespected

Postby rollingstock » December 30th, 2017, 2:41 am

Yuh talking sheit for a big man.
A whole heap of steaming manure.

You're just the other side of the coin ZR on.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » December 30th, 2017, 3:24 am

rollingstock wrote:Yuh talking sheit for a big man.

You on a roll today :rofl:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 30th, 2017, 3:36 am

your opinion is kindly noted,when they tell you and yuh peers yuh mudda count ,allyuh does quick to drag them before the court citing anoying language

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2017, 3:49 am

rspann wrote:
He free to sing.

This population is being twisted further and further by the propaganda mechanisms on both sides.

The song was written in order to create the fervor.
The intent is to cross the line.
And then it enables the responses to be labeled anti free speech.

With your lineage, are you not concerned that the art form is being used in more and more instances as a divisive TOOL.?
I.e. The goal is division....not art

I'm happy that whoever comes out against the song....threatens action.
Let the court adjudicate...that's the system

Free speech isn't absolute or free....we need to establish our limits as apeople.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 30th, 2017, 4:08 am

So it only have one rowley in trinidad ?
I might be wrong but where is the reference to our Beloved Prime minister ?

Postby meccalli » December 30th, 2017, 5:52 am

Redman wrote:we need to establish our limits as apeople.

Thanks to this song, we can now do so if that indeed is the concern, rather than a political advent. The best thing about this is the fact that it may lead to cleaning up the airwaves or will they continue to broadcast all that filth that the people like to listen to? Maybe now they'll look at why our nation is rampant with sex craved and violent teenagers in our schools and the far reaches of the social reinforcement of what young minds hear.
Redman wrote:The goal is division....not art

Maybe we should have been talking about it and discouraging it then, in past examples of what the artist replicated today; not now, or we wouldn't be having this discussion today. Maybe we're just maturing as a society?

From what I can see, one side wants to have their cake and eat it too while the other is happy to tell them they can't. I sincerely hope something positive comes out of this issue regardless of the irreversible damage done in the past. Yes, massive's song is wrong and so was every other 'picong' rubbish heap. If indeed our society is opposed to that form of culture, it needs to be addressed across the board, not selectively. Otherwise, let us embrace and encourage what has been done for so long, and we'll continue to reap the produce of it.
Last edited by meccalli on December 30th, 2017, 6:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 30th, 2017, 5:58 am

My beef is with tatt...I accept the song is sheit....but all of a sudden tatt get some teeth...nah man...men sang/singing more degrading stuff and nobody beat up...

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2017, 6:07 am

Megadoc is indentied as a true PNM

One silly song have all these PNM ppl in a twist .

This song really hurting dem.

For decades injuns had to go though this. Now the tables turn and the entire state is apon one man.

Megadoc now finds his voice

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 30th, 2017, 6:08 am

With the right lawyers massive could make some money

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2017, 7:41 am

A clear demonstration of political allegiance taking precedent over commonsense.

As men we know the difference.
A padna saying HYMC is one thing
A stranger saying it is fighting words.

Intent is really the arbiter of whether OFFENSE is taken.

as is context.

as meccalli said, at least we have a discussion going-

make no mistake though-Massive achieving his goal.
And it has nothing to do with art

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » December 30th, 2017, 8:01 am

Look at the state of our country.. and them concerned about a song? First time TATT open they mouth.

Allyur PNM/UNC counts like it so yes.. allyur really don't like yourselves.. to be putting yourselves through this.

Look at the other day in pricesmart when you all were fighting for black cake.. was all that really necessary?

Massive song still better than all that dancehall garbage you all listen to.

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2017, 8:12 am

Redman wrote:A clear demonstration of political allegiance taking precedent over commonsense.

As men we know the difference.
A padna saying HYMC is one thing
A stranger saying it is fighting words.

Intent is really the arbiter of whether OFFENSE is taken.

as is context.

s meccalli said, at least we have a discussion going-

make no mistake though-Massive achieving his goal.
And it has nothing to do with art

I think its more racial than political. Its a hurt that has built up overs the years caused by the anti indian calypsoes ,and now when theres an anti african PM song, and a chutney at that too, ,its being condemned.

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2017, 8:21 am

Intent could never be the arbiter of whether offense is taken. You can say something quite innocent ,with no malice aforethought ,but it still can offend someone while others genuinely see no problem with it. Massive song is not offensive to me ,personally , but I can see how it can be to others. Being offensive has never been a guideline for banning before.
I also see the point of the ones who find it offensive to them. My only argument is that when the shoe was on the other foot ,they had no problem with it. Also freedom of speech and artistic license should not be suppressed ,unless its outright vulgar or obscene.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2017, 8:26 am

PNM dishing out anti injun racist songs for decades and now one song have them busy .

The entire state is now being use to go after this song .

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2017, 8:33 am

Wikipedia wrote:[Size="150"]origins[/size]

Calypso music was developed in Trinidad in the 17th century from the West African Kaiso and canboulay music brought by African slaves imported to that Caribbean island to work on sugar plantations. The slaves, brought to toil on sugar plantations, were stripped of all connections to their homeland and family and not allowed to talk to each other. They used calypso to mock the slave masters and to communicate with each other. Many early calypsos were sung in French Creole by an individual called a griot. As calypso developed, the role of the griot became known as a chantuelle and eventually, calypsonian.

Modern calypso, however, began in the 19th century, a fusion of disparate elements ranging from the masquerade song lavway, French Creole belair and the calinda stick-fighting chantwell. Calypso's early rise was closely connected with the adoption of Carnival by Trinidadian slaves, including canboulay drumming and the music masquerade processions. The French brought Carnival to Trinidad, and calypso competitions at Carnival grew in popularity, especially after the abolition of slavery in 1834.
Calypso recordingsEdit

The first identifiably calypso genre song was recorded in 1912, by Lovey's String Band while visiting New York City. In 1914, the second calypso song was recorded, this time in Trinidad, by chantwell Julian Whiterose, better known as the Iron Duke and famous calinda stick-fighter. Jules Sims would also record vocal calypsos. The majority of these calypsos of the World War I era were instrumentals by Lovey and Lionel Belasco. Perhaps due to the constraints of the wartime economy, no recordings of note were produced until the late 1920s and early 1930s, when the "golden era" of calypso would cement the style, form, and phrasing of the music.

Calypso evolved into a way of spreading news around Trinidad. Politicians, journalists and public figures often debated the content of each song, and many islanders considered these songs the most reliable news source.

now, what ever the contract between the TATT and an individual says, the blasted art form was a way to critique the contemporary authority! Be them a slave owner of a government.
The new as aspect it took on, was a means of spreading information they may have eluded the masses.

Does the contract between the artist and TATT means that the artist must never talk about TATT in any negative way, even if TATT is clearly in the wrong?
Why is our authority beyond criticism and picong? They blasted use our tax payers money to jest about them selves, amongst themselves in our parliament. They them selves take their jobs and our welfare as second place.

Yes, some police abuse their power to advance their personal agendas. That wrong act does not excuse or justify other in the government persecuting others. It is wrong, and bad in all scenarios.

And when u look at the substance of high bashes by the fat arse brigade and TATT, they actually don't hold water, what they accuse isn't actually there.

Just because u say a post has racism and sexism in a public authoritative post, does not transform a benign post into being sexist and racist.

Allyuh like allyuh don't understand the stories from when allyuh young, The Emperor's New Clothes.
Just because someone in a authority says something is a certain way, doesn't automatically make it that way. Be the little boy too stupid to eat bullcrap from authority.

Another thing is animal farm, where ur equals gain power, then ride ur backs pretending to still be equals. jess because they look like u and talk like u and say they hate the other people, doesn't mean that they have ur best interest, and u are together. Just feeding u what want to hear to use ur support to get more power.

While I don't find the chutney has any amazing creative notes, it is merely a mediocre composition commenting on the crime situation and the negligence of the relevant authority to deal with it, and uses the double ontundre to reference Rowley, the false claims that it is sexist and rude is being used to advance political agendas by a political organisation, Then getting another national authority in charge of regulating things, to display that same bias, is a dangerous road to sensorship and then dictatorship.

The bad thing is, there are are many other things that wants to change the laws to go down that road.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2017, 8:38 am

From now till elections I hope that song is played over and over .

Let it be the new anthem

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2017, 8:54 am

I will run crazy song.. Where Paul mother came from America

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2017, 8:55 am

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2017, 9:18 am

If anybody could post Clyde Weatherhead and Steve Smith's articles in today's Express, that sums it up best.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 30th, 2017, 9:40 am

For decades injuns had to go though this. Now the tables turn and the entire state is apon one man.

its laughable how my position on a man's piece of crap that some tries to pass off as art,identifies me as a PNM,megadoc now finds his voice?
because I open my mouth on this foolishness , I must go back in time and make noise for all that went afore? HA

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2017, 9:53 am

megadoc1 wrote:

its laughable how my position on a man's piece of crap that some tries to pass off as art,identifies me as a PNM,megadoc now finds his voice?
because I open my mouth on this foolishness , I must go back in time and make noise for all that went afore? HA
Bro Rowlee mudda count if dont you like it then tough. It was ok for Oma fat account and pissy bed Pam.

You are nothing but double standards