Redman wrote:If he free to write it..then others free to say what they want about it.
He free to sing.
X free to say it cross a line.
Y free to say it wrong to speak out against it.
16 cycles wrote:Massive responses from historical content on point...
TaTT setting up themselves for a discrimination claim based on their lack of enforcement of everything else....
Who is the nobody you referring to?rspann wrote:Redman wrote:If he free to write it..then others free to say what they want about it.
He free to sing.
True, everybody entitled to have their opinion on it , but my point is ,why they don't have objections to the other songs of that ilk? Also ,why should he be banned ? What about the little (6yo-10yo) schoolgirls that was singing with the soca artiste ,shaking their hands and saying "it bunnin ,it bunnin..... " how come nobody was offended by that ? I find the children's authority should have dealt with that issue , and all who protesting now ,should have raised their voices then. My concern is not the sheit he sing , but freedom of speech shouldn't be suppressed . Remember he not cursing , TATT has no right to interfere. Last time I checked count is not a obscene word. Why the police don't charge him for the song if it is obscene?
Didn't know when you hear a song on radio, you sense the lyrics to decipher things like Rowlee from Rowley :/rspann wrote:They cannot enforce anything ,they just trying out their needles. If he not using obscene language , wtf they could do? The man only say that the woman plant a garden and she counting the crops. He didn't even call the PM name. Who is Rowlee?
what foreign artist may have our children telling the prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago he mudda count? you guys not thinking.No_Name wrote:megadoc1 wrote:seems like massive cant comprehend the crap he is trying to pass off as music.
imagine the nation's children singing this crap ,that could ever be right?
then he displays his ignorance of how TATT operates
what a waste
Aaam, Fella, wa bout all dem "nookie fatt" crap comin outta Jamaica & d Nikki Minajes and the likes of with their blatant obscenities comin outta Uncle Sam? Aren't they more prevalent than Massive's song?
Oh, an Massive, you rebuttals on par hoss, let PNM'S Oman Group continue givin their Tits to TTAT, feed em study...
megadoc1 wrote:what foreign artist may have our children telling the prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago he mudda count? you guys not thinking.No_Name wrote:megadoc1 wrote:seems like massive cant comprehend the crap he is trying to pass off as music.
imagine the nation's children singing this crap ,that could ever be right?
then he displays his ignorance of how TATT operates
what a waste
Aaam, Fella, wa bout all dem "nookie fatt" crap comin outta Jamaica & d Nikki Minajes and the likes of with their blatant obscenities comin outta Uncle Sam? Aren't they more prevalent than Massive's song?
Oh, an Massive, you rebuttals on par hoss, let PNM'S Oman Group continue givin their Tits to TTAT, feed em study...
and TATT have no dealings with massive, massive is fass and out of place to reply to TATT,he dont have a relationship with them.
TATT can only control those radio and television stations by reminding them about the contract they singed with the authority when they obtained their licence /concessions ,in this instance massive has crossed the line according to the clause in the licence but if his music is played he is never gonna get in trouble with TATT as some will want us believe ,its the concessionaires that transmit the dotishness will lose their licence
no its facts, if you dont have a radio licence I can understand your ignorance on the matter, I currently have a radio licence from TATT and I know how this goes downrollingstock wrote:Stfu with that dotish rhetoric.
rollingstock wrote:Where was your voice when derogatory lyrics were sang about the previous pm?
the only problem I have with this song is it may encourage persons and children to tell the current prime minister of this country, he mudda count and all of us know they wont be saying count !rollingstock wrote:I still believe massive song is in poor taste but any attempt to censor it is uncalled for.
rollingstock wrote:Yuh talking sheit for a big man.
A whole heap of steaming manure.
You're just the other side of the coin ZR on.
your opinion is kindly noted,when they tell you and yuh peers yuh mudda count ,allyuh does quick to drag them before the court citing anoying languagerollingstock wrote:Yuh talking sheit for a big man.
rspann wrote:Redman wrote:If he free to write it..then others free to say what they want about it.
He free to sing.
True, everybody entitled to have their opinion on it , but my point is ,why they don't have objections to the other songs of that ilk? Also ,why should he be banned ? What about the little (6yo-10yo) schoolgirls that was singing with the soca artiste ,shaking their hands and saying "it bunnin ,it bunnin..... " how come nobody was offended by that ? I find the children's authority should have dealt with that issue , and all who protesting now ,should have raised their voices then. My concern is not the sheit he sing , but freedom of speech shouldn't be suppressed . Remember he not cursing , TATT has no right to interfere. Last time I checked count is not a obscene word. Why the police don't charge him for the song if it is obscene?
Redman wrote:we need to establish our limits as apeople.
Redman wrote:The goal is division....not art
rollingstock wrote:Yuh talking sheit for a big man.
Redman wrote:A clear demonstration of political allegiance taking precedent over commonsense.
As men we know the difference.
A padna saying HYMC is one thing
A stranger saying it is fighting words.
Intent is really the arbiter of whether OFFENSE is taken.
as is context.
s meccalli said, at least we have a discussion going-
make no mistake though-Massive achieving his goal.
And it has nothing to do with art
Wikipedia wrote:[Size="150"]origins[/size]
Calypso music was developed in Trinidad in the 17th century from the West African Kaiso and canboulay music brought by African slaves imported to that Caribbean island to work on sugar plantations. The slaves, brought to toil on sugar plantations, were stripped of all connections to their homeland and family and not allowed to talk to each other. They used calypso to mock the slave masters and to communicate with each other. Many early calypsos were sung in French Creole by an individual called a griot. As calypso developed, the role of the griot became known as a chantuelle and eventually, calypsonian.
Modern calypso, however, began in the 19th century, a fusion of disparate elements ranging from the masquerade song lavway, French Creole belair and the calinda stick-fighting chantwell. Calypso's early rise was closely connected with the adoption of Carnival by Trinidadian slaves, including canboulay drumming and the music masquerade processions. The French brought Carnival to Trinidad, and calypso competitions at Carnival grew in popularity, especially after the abolition of slavery in 1834.
Calypso recordingsEdit
The first identifiably calypso genre song was recorded in 1912, by Lovey's String Band while visiting New York City. In 1914, the second calypso song was recorded, this time in Trinidad, by chantwell Julian Whiterose, better known as the Iron Duke and famous calinda stick-fighter. Jules Sims would also record vocal calypsos. The majority of these calypsos of the World War I era were instrumentals by Lovey and Lionel Belasco. Perhaps due to the constraints of the wartime economy, no recordings of note were produced until the late 1920s and early 1930s, when the "golden era" of calypso would cement the style, form, and phrasing of the music.
Calypso evolved into a way of spreading news around Trinidad. Politicians, journalists and public figures often debated the content of each song, and many islanders considered these songs the most reliable news source.
its laughable how my position on a man's piece of crap that some tries to pass off as art,identifies me as a PNM,megadoc now finds his voice?zoom rader wrote:
Megadoc is indentied as a true PNM
One silly song have all these PNM ppl in a twist .
This song really hurting dem.
For decades injuns had to go though this. Now the tables turn and the entire state is apon one man.
Megadoc now finds his voice
Bro Rowlee mudda count if dont you like it then tough. It was ok for Oma fat account and pissy bed Pam.megadoc1 wrote:its laughable how my position on a man's piece of crap that some tries to pass off as art,identifies me as a PNM,megadoc now finds his voice?zoom rader wrote:
Megadoc is indentied as a true PNM
One silly song have all these PNM ppl in a twist .
This song really hurting dem.
For decades injuns had to go though this. Now the tables turn and the entire state is apon one man.
Megadoc now finds his voice
because I open my mouth on this foolishness , I must go back in time and make noise for all that went afore? HA