:: The official TOOLS thread ::

car

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » November 18th, 2017, 8:51 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Yep. I support small hardwares, free delivery. No hassle. I could call and order and driver collecting cash.

I want to get one of those belt sander mods for a bench grinder, but I need to buy the grinder. Engine idlers usually work fine for That.

Bench grinder power is usually too low for what you want to do, it will bog down easily.

Postby Rovin » November 18th, 2017, 11:47 am

Phone Surgeon wrote: this looks cool

yes it does look cool & well built but if u do welding u will see from day1 its too small , looks better suited like a tinkering with ur car kinda tool table

imho being a person who used to do welding for a living yrsss ago d smallest welding table or any worktable i will build is a 4'x8' , u can still put heavy duty castors on it & build it at waist level cause bending down kills ur back ...

Postby Chimera » November 19th, 2017, 5:36 pm

watching youtube videos does really show yuh some cool tools eh

https://www.amazon.com/Strength-Strong- ... ing+magnet

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » November 20th, 2017, 5:18 pm

I’m looking for a hilti

Postby *KRONIK* » November 20th, 2017, 5:31 pm

1kingmed wrote:I’m looking for a hilti

Hitli is a brand, not a tool.
Agostini is the local dealer

They are located in el socorro south

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2017, 6:08 pm

lol, yeah local parlance hilti normally referring to large rotary hammering drill with chipping capability
hiltis have a very good reputation worldwide, originally made in Lichenstein
they came out with self sharpening bits

local dealer is pretty expensive
lot of other options available now

I bought a used te-55 back in 1999 on ebay for $198usd incl 9 large bits
locally it was $23k new. Still working and luckily the service light never came on.

I have seen large ones for sale by the folks who sell foreign used tools by caroni roundabout
cheap price, I think it was $3500

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2017, 6:09 pm

17 years and you never had a issue? Wtf

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2017, 6:21 pm

nah it really only got used for a few years for some renovation work
hardly use it now but it has seen some heavy use.
hilti is really a good quality tool

Postby *KRONIK* » November 20th, 2017, 7:02 pm

pugboy wrote:lol, yeah local parlance hilti normally referring to large rotary hammering drill with chipping capability

I am aware...
It just annoys me that ppl can be so dotish with this "any rotary hammer drill is a hilti" nonsense.

A while back i went with a padna at agostoni to collect 2 sds hammer drills from repair. A man was there quarelling with the sales rep that he have a "MAKITA HILTI" and he need to get "this part"
No matter how they trying to explain to the man that the brand is hilti and the device is a hammer drill and that they only do repairs on hilti brand items, he keep insisting he have a green makita hilti and they have to sell him the parts.

Same padna runs a tool rental store.
Every day ppl come in to ask for hitlis.
Whether they need a big drill, a hammer drill, a chisel feature or even demolition hammer. Its all a HILTI. even though they are all dewalt brand.
Usually he has to inquire as to the nature of the job and recommend an appropriate tool because ppl dont even know what kinda "hilti" they need

Smh.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2017, 7:05 pm

Makita hilti lolll

Postby Ted_v2 » November 21st, 2017, 6:47 am

LOL strongly agree.

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2017, 9:00 am

Even hardwares do the same thing. Any sds type bit they call "hilti bits" even though the brand is usually something else

Postby Rovin » November 21st, 2017, 10:53 am

lol at these everything is hilti ppl

its like all laundry detergent is breeze & all dishwashing liquid is squeezy .....

Postby *KRONIK* » November 21st, 2017, 11:14 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:lol at these everything is hilti ppl

its like all laundry detergent is breeze & all dishwashing liquid is squeezy .....

And all diaper is pampers....lol

And recently all online searches are "google"

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » November 21st, 2017, 4:39 pm

I hear you guys and I know that Hilti is a brand; however, the general hammering tool to burst walls and concrete floors is generalized as “hilti” in Trinidad when what it actually is called is a demolition hammer and NOT a “rotary drill with chipping capability.

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2017, 6:44 pm

lol depends on the models in the hilti lineup
smaller Hilti's are listed as rotary hammer drills(which just happen to have a nondrilling/chipping capability)
the larger ones are listed as demolition hammers

google "hilti te-55"

check the hilti website or get a copy of their catalog
its actually very interesting if you into tools

Postby rspann » November 21st, 2017, 7:16 pm

I haz a bosch hilti. I'z ah trini.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 21st, 2017, 7:50 pm

rspann wrote:I haz a bosch hilti. I'z ah trini.

Hoss....dem bossh eh ready fuh d makita hilti dem

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 21st, 2017, 8:09 pm

X_Factor wrote:never seen open end ratchet type wrenches...and i think ratchet wrenches are closed
open end flex head is common but costly
usual suspects in that area will be ft farfan, home mart and that place near chotoos hardware ( tool zone is it?)
he has cheaper brands neiko, performance tool, great neck at hefty prices

if the work area is not that tight you can consider 1/4 inch flex head ratchets
Bought a set of 'OEM' flare nut wrenches with flex heads...looking to sell them back.

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2017, 8:36 pm

nah boy
the hitachi hiltis that whscott selling very popular

*KRONIK* wrote:
rspann wrote:I haz a bosch hilti. I'z ah trini.

Hoss....dem bossh eh ready fuh d makita hilti dem

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2017, 10:24 pm

what would something like this go for locally
te-75

Keeshan Bachan

Postby Keeshan Bachan » November 24th, 2017, 5:25 pm

Looking for a hilti to buy. Brand new. Nothing too expensive. Lol

Postby X_Factor » November 24th, 2017, 6:18 pm

amazon has some decent deals on tool accessories and the odd tool

Postby Ted_v2 » November 25th, 2017, 8:06 am

where can i get one of those tables to buy? I am getting the bigger designed ones at anands but thats more suited for painters ect, 4 people could stand on those, thats how big they are.

i need one for working on certain vehicles and the odd resting of tools, ect. Where i getting that?

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2017, 8:55 am

How much for the one by anands

Postby Rovin » November 25th, 2017, 11:37 am

buy some rough cut lumber & screw together with gypsum screws - will cost next to nothing ....

Postby Ted_v2 » November 25th, 2017, 1:49 pm

the one by anands is like 1200 i think, i honestly cant remember but it was well built. Its located in the hardware section on the creek. It have plenty good deals there and the prices are not always right so you could get some excellent deals.

My uncle buy 6 bar stools at 50$ each

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2017, 6:51 pm

Pillai tools/Truevalue having a big sale tomorrow
el socorro
see they advertise makita angle grinder $350
gonna get two
they have lots of kitchen stuff and very good prices on shopvac and the washable shopvac filters

Postby adnj » December 1st, 2017, 7:45 pm

car wrote:So I’m building this 2”x72” belt grinder.

Knife grinding heaven.

There is a metal tubing supply (I don't remember the name) by the airport that sells by the foot... they seem to carry most sizes.

That's a nice home build but I don't see an adjustable platen behind the belt. I don't suppose that you absolutely need one but in my experience, they do help you to get the perfect angle on some grinds.
Last edited by adnj on December 1st, 2017, 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » December 1st, 2017, 8:00 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Image

where can i get one of those tables to buy? I am getting the bigger designed ones at anands but thats more suited for painters ect, 4 people could stand on those, thats how big they are.

i need one for working on certain vehicles and the odd resting of tools, ect. Where i getting that?

It's called a work platform. The legs fold and it can be used as a short scaffolding plank.

Check just about anywhere that has a good ladder selection.