Steering rack repair.

jackal

Steering rack repair.

Postby jackal » November 10th, 2017, 3:48 am

I was hearing that there is a person who does repair then somewhere in central or Caroni.

Any know of him or his phone contact?

Re: Steering rack repair.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 6:56 am

You can check out constant velocity tt in san fernando

http://constantvelocitytt.com/contact.php

The rebuild/repair steering racks and velocity joints

Postby nervewrecker » November 10th, 2017, 8:30 am

*KRONIK* wrote:You can check out constant velocity tt in san fernando

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 10th, 2017, 8:57 am

Inside for the info. Mine is leaking so I will check them out.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 9:00 am

They do both electric and hydraulic

Postby Ted_v2 » November 10th, 2017, 6:53 pm

Yuh know how much to replace the Cv boots by them?

Im fedup of not getting good quality replacement boots, nor good metal ties when i purchase a replacement boot.

I aint mind spending a lil 250 to do 4 boots, one of my outer and one of the inner leaking.

Postby rspann » November 10th, 2017, 7:01 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Yuh know how much to replace the Cv boots by them?

Im fedup of not getting good quality replacement boots, nor good metal ties when i purchase a replacement boot.

I aint mind spending a lil 250 to do 4 boots, one of my outer and one of the inner leaking.

That is more like the price of one, but they do have good products and equipment. They mic. the balls and the cages , can check for bends on the shaft ,and have almost all components including metal straps. The steering rack story is different. Its quite expensive . I do racks by Trintech Chrome only if it is one that is unavailable. Sometimes the shaft has to be re-chromed so it's better to go there directly. They also make seals ,so if you can't get a kit , they make it. There is a place in Aranguez who does steering racks at a reasonable price, especially if you buy the kit. 774-2222. Pawan.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » November 10th, 2017, 7:02 pm

Any reviews of CV? Got quoted a price of 5k for a rebuild. Is it worth the price?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Depends on the vehicle.

I bought a repair kit for my grand vitara by them
Came with boot, grease, clamps etc
500-ish

My mech installed it.

They also did my terios for 1700-ish
Thats was for cleaning, new CV, new boot, grease, clamps, and repaint of shaft

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 7:12 pm

bossmann wrote:Any reviews of CV? Got quoted a price of 5k for a rebuild. Is it worth the price?

Thats a lot.
Is that for 1side?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 7:13 pm

rspann wrote:

That is more like the price of one, but they do have good products and equipment. They mic. the balls and the cages , can check for bends on the shaft ,and have almost all components including metal straps. The steering rack story is different. Its quite expensive . I do racks by Trintech Chrome only if it is one that is unavailable. Sometimes the shaft has to be re-chromed so it's better to go there directly. They also make seals ,so if you can't get a kit , they make it. There is a place in Aranguez who does steering racks at a reasonable price, especially if you buy the kit. 774-2222. Pawan.

Thanks for the steering rack info spann.
Will check him out next week

bossmann

Postby bossmann » November 10th, 2017, 7:14 pm

I'm guessing both. It's an additional 1800 if they remove and remount. E25 btw. Was hoping for a little longer warranty though. 6mths if they do removal and 3 if they don't.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 8:07 pm

bossmann wrote:I'm guessing both. It's an additional 1800 if they remove and remount. E25 btw. Was hoping for a little longer warranty though. 6mths if they do removal and 3 if they don't.

That relllllll expansive hoss

Ball in your court tho...i eh wanna give ppl bad advice.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » November 10th, 2017, 8:15 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
bossmann wrote:I'm guessing both. It's an additional 1800 if they remove and remount. E25 btw. Was hoping for a little longer warranty though. 6mths if they do removal and 3 if they don't.

That relllllll expansive hoss

Ball in your court tho...i eh wanna give ppl bad advice.
Lol I just called to see pricing. Plan to look elsewhere.

Postby nervewrecker » November 10th, 2017, 9:12 pm

If you take out your boot and take it to them they will get one for you.

Kit comes with grease, metal strap, boot and I cant remember what else.

Ask for kavita, dont call my name.

As far as their steering rack repairs, heard good things. Quoted me approx 5 or 6K to do over mines, when they done it like new though. Turned out I had gotten air in my power steering line, wasnt the rack bad.

Postby rspann » November 10th, 2017, 9:14 pm

Kavita with a big A . kavitA

Postby Ted_v2 » November 10th, 2017, 9:29 pm

would look into that.

I am more than capable of doing the repairs but the lack of parts, ill holla and see if i can locate a kit.
need some grease, the proper boot and the metal straps.

Postby rspann » November 10th, 2017, 9:51 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:would look into that.

I am more than capable of doing the repairs but the lack of parts, ill holla and see if i can locate a kit.
need some grease, the proper boot and the metal straps.

A rack is real simple to repair because it's just seals that really go bad. The thing is ,if you make mistake while opening it ,you can damage the housing. Seen it happen already. There is a spot that they punch when they assemble it that has to be drilled out to open otherwise it can gouge the housing. It can be spot-welded after you get through. The side seals that cause leaking from within the boots (the ones on the shaft) are easy to change once it is opened , and the chromed parts have to be inspected for corrosion and pits. If there is any pitting on the chromed surfaces the seals cannot keep in the fluid. These parts can be re-chromed ( not regular chroming , it's a hard chrome ).
The seals on the valving (pinion) is much easier. You just unbolt it and change the seals. You can get seals from any good hydraulic supply company ,like Hydraulic Components.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 11th, 2017, 6:35 am

Yea. Personally I won't touch one mainly due to the reasons above.

I opened a power steering pump in my laurel. The valve body had some residue from a failed low pressure hose. I brake cleaned the sheit out and mounted it back up. Works lol

Sent from my GT-I9060C using TriniTuner mobile app

daron

Postby daron » November 16th, 2017, 7:39 pm

Any one did any steering rack with them ? Quote me $2400 for Toyota Corolla
Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » November 16th, 2017, 7:40 pm

daron wrote:

Thanks

Yea
My rav4 cost 2377.00

daron

Postby daron » November 16th, 2017, 7:41 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
daron wrote:

Thanks

Yea
My rav4 cost 2377.00

Was the service good & how long you did it any issue

Postby rspann » November 16th, 2017, 7:44 pm

What model corolla ? You getting brand new racks cheaper than that. The only one hard to get is the AE 100.

daron

Postby daron » November 16th, 2017, 8:03 pm

rspann wrote:What model corolla ? You getting brand new racks cheaper than that. The only one hard to get is the AE 100.

Corolla nza
Any link would be thankful

Postby rspann » November 16th, 2017, 8:07 pm

Most corolla NZE use a manual rack with an electrical motor on the column. You have the foreign with the hydraulic rack?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 16th, 2017, 8:10 pm

daron wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
daron wrote:

Thanks

Yea
My rav4 cost 2377.00

Was the service good & how long you did it any issue

Service was quick
Took 1day
They thoroughly cleaned the rack and repainted it and changed the boots and put new clamps.
Got 3months warranty.
Rack went to sheit after 6 months.
I just ordered a brand new rack from toyolink yesterday.

Points to note:
1) my mechanic did the removal and reinstallation.
2) my mechanic took off one of the boots to count the teeth and claimed they didnt centre the shaft.
3) the had told me that my rack was too far gone and the repair wont give me much service and the inner shaft had gotten some irrepairable damage.
4) i work is a semi-offroad environment and my steering rack gets a lot of abuse.

Postby rspann » November 16th, 2017, 8:22 pm

Most of the time the chrome on the shaft and barrel gets corrosion which in turn damages the new seals. If the shaft was damaged ,I think they shouldn't have tried to repair and put you in expense. Trintech Chrome does the hard chroming , so they might be the better bet if you really have to repair a rack. They did a marine rack for me which might have cost around $30 g ,cost was $4500.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 16th, 2017, 9:10 pm

rspann wrote:Most of the time the chrome on the shaft and barrel gets corrosion which in turn damages the new seals. If the shaft was damaged ,I think they shouldn't have tried to repair and put you in expense. Trintech Chrome does the hard chroming , so they might be the better bet if you really have to repair a rack. They did a marine rack for me which might have cost around $30 g ,cost was $4500.

Its electric power steering
So the inside has a gear and a toothed shaft

What you referring to works for the hydraulic systems

Postby rspann » November 16th, 2017, 9:19 pm

Yeah correct. What happened to your electric steering? Was it the RAV 4? I just changed one that was sticking and jerking while turning, it was a bearing , but I changed the whole column.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 16th, 2017, 9:27 pm

rspann wrote:Yeah correct. What happened to your electric steering? Was it the RAV 4? I just changed one that was sticking and jerking while turning, it was a bearing , but I changed the whole column.

Yes
The rav4
It now start jerking a bit.
Prior to that it was knocking on rough road. Now it just rattling.
I sure its that as i had 2 mechanic's opinions and i completely re-did my front suspension recently so it have nothing else to rattle there.