Brace For Very High Grocery Prices

Re: Brace For Very High Grocery Prices

Postby Rovin » October 24th, 2017, 2:35 pm

xxtraa fooods does be hot in spite of their ads saying everyday low prices

doh talk bout hiiillooo nearly every single ting is at least $1-2 more but i guess when u shop there is cause "u ha morney"

for me : price club ftw ..... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:xxtraa fooods does be hot in spite of their ads saying everyday low prices

doh talk bout hiiillooo nearly every single ting is at least $1-2 more but i guess when u shop there is cause "u ha morney"

for me : price club ftw ..... :|

Believe it or not... men does go xtraaaa foods and massy to signal "deh reach"..them chinee grocery doh be that bad if you ask me...we just need a good one with a variety of stuff to choose from at the same low prices and we good..

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 25th, 2017, 6:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
zoomedic wrote:Butter makes you aggressive
It may notbe too good for one's health
And who knows what is in moo milk
Anyhow there many ways to enjoy the benefits of being a vegetarian diet and I am always greatful for all god blessed us in trinidad with
What about hemp milk ??
Or almond milk ?

Yet to see udders on an almond

nestle full cream ftw

Not a win.

We offer consumers great tasting milk with high nutritional value and a variety of options for various consumers: Our 100% Fresh Cow’s milk( which is our Blue pack) which comes straight from our farmers to Nestlé then to our consumers. The Full Cream Reconstituted Milk is milk made from powdered milk (which consist of milk ingredients) and water to give you a glass of milk or to give you the fluid version of milk. It is what a consumers would have done at home, when they add water to powdered milk. In this case, Nestlé has this step for you.
https://www.nestle.tt/brands/dairy/about-uht-milk

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 25th, 2017, 6:46 am

Miktay wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:groceries can put their prices as they see fit , it simply is up to u as d consumer to buy by them or not or go to more than 1 business place to buy whatever cheaper at whichever place .... :|

Ammmmm no...That's not how life/economics/society works. A lot of you all have a misguided idea about how a mixed econmy work. We don't live in a free market economy we live in a mixed economy where Government is suppose to be a regulator and monitor and punish any activity that can be considered exploitative etc. They don't. We seem to believe that demand and supply solves everything....It can never.

In developed nations there are anti competitive rules and regulations that seek to eliminate consumer exploitation and abuse. That is how a rationale society works. A business doesn't operate in a vacuum. It can't just set whatever price if wants and the market will regulate it. In Trinidad we don't have an abundance of competitors to really regulate the market through supply and demand. Most businesses in Trinidad collude, banks, supermarkets etc. This is where gov't comes in and regulate accordingly. it's not just demand and supply.

Society is an ecosystem. Businesses receive tax breaks etc and other favourable state goods that allow for profit making. That goodwill is suppose to be passed on to the consumer. For too long we have been fooled with inefficiencies, exploitation and just say that the consumer has all the power when the reality is the prices not different among retailers. Most of our dairy products for instance are of the lowest quality yet we pay above premium price for them. That is exploitation. Plain and simple.

I sympathize with your pov but asking for more Gubbament regulation will IMHO only make matters worse.

Observe how many laws and regulations we already have that are not being enforced.

But that will not make coping with the current price increases any easier.

It iz my believe that free market enterprises s/b able to charge whatever they want.

Sighhhhh....Why is this so difficult to understadd. That is not how free market works. When thinking about "free market" think things like nba finals tickets and not butter etc.

In a free market economy, the law of supply and demand, rather than a central government, regulates production and labor. Companies sell goods and services at the highest price consumers are willing to pay, while workers demand the highest wages companies are willing to pay for their services. A purely capitalist economy is a free market economy; the profit motive drives all commerce and forces businesses to operate as efficiently as possible to avoid losing market share to competitors.

Command economies are marked by communist and socialist tendencies. The government controls the means of production and the distribution of wealth, dictating the prices of goods and services, and the wages workers receive.

Free market economies and command economies exist more as abstract concepts than as tangible realities; almost all of the world's economies feature elements of both systems. For example, while the U.S. allows companies to set prices, and workers negotiate wages, the government establishes parameters, such as minimum wages and antitrust laws, that must be followed.

Read more: What are some examples of free market economies? | Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers ... z4wW11DCCT
Follow us: Investopedia on Facebook

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 25th, 2017, 7:54 am

Sighhhhh....Why is this so difficult to understadd. That is not how free market works. When thinking about "free market" think things like nba finals tickets and not butter etc.

Ticket sales for the NBA finals are limited. There are a finite number of seats available. But popularity and demand iz huge for thiz premium product. So demand greatly exceeds supply. Nba final tiks can fetch any price. However ticket sales are a voluntary transaction. Most basketball fans prefer to substitute or refuse to buy tickets by watching the game at home or at the local pub rather than spending hundreds of thousands to attend the event.

Similarly butter whilst being a less premium product can fetch any price if demand greatly exceeds supply. But that doesn’t normally happen. Because the market (the interaction of thousands of willing buyers and sellers) sets the price.

Like NBA fans butter ‘fans’ can substitute...make their own...or refuse to buy.

In a free market economy, the law of supply and demand, rather than a central government, regulates production and labor. Companies sell goods and services at the highest price consumers are willing to pay, while workers demand the highest wages companies are willing to pay for their services.
A purely capitalist economy is a free market economy; the profit motive drives all commerce and forces businesses to operate as efficiently as possible to avoid losing market share to competitors.

Thiz iz not entirely accurate. Lawyers bankers and doctors exist in purely capitalistic economies yet each of these professions are regulated and protected by Gubbament.

Command economies are marked by communist and socialist tendencies. The government controls the means of production and the distribution of wealth, dictating the prices of goods and services, and the wages workers receive.

Free market economies and command economies exist more as abstract concepts than as tangible realities; almost all of the world's economies feature elements of both systems. For example, while the U.S. allows companies to set prices, and workers negotiate wages, the government establishes parameters, such as minimum wages and antitrust laws, that must be followed.

Agreed. But you’ve still havent made a clear case for Gubbament regulation of butter or food.

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2017, 9:12 am

hear na

anyone here does drink black and white whiskey?

i was in hilo yesterday and i see they have the 1 Liter for $222 (prices valid only until end of october)
while all the time i does pay $165 in a mini mart in aranguez. $57 difference!

whats the usual price for b&w other places?

i think psmart is a $175 or $180
Last edited by Chimera on October 30th, 2017, 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2017, 10:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:hear na

anyone here does drink black and white whiskey?

i was in the hilo yesterday and i see they have the 1 Liter for $222 (prices valid only until end of october)
while all the time i does pay $165 in a mini mart in aranguez. $57 difference!

whats the usual price for b&w other places?

i think psmart is a $175 or $180

Why you drinking that nasty engine de-greaser boi :lol:
Not 100% sure on the average price for b&w, but $180 or thereabouts sounds about right.

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2017, 10:43 am

daz what i could afford bai :(

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2017, 12:37 pm

Chivas Regal isn't much more expensive, & is a FAR better product.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » October 30th, 2017, 12:41 pm

88sins wrote:Chivas Regal isn't much more expensive, & is a FAR better product.

Something special is my fav 145 for 750 ml at Anand low price..

Postby RedVEVO » October 30th, 2017, 6:25 pm

Redress10 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
zoomedic wrote:Butter makes you aggressive
It may notbe too good for one's health
And who knows what is in moo milk
Anyhow there many ways to enjoy the benefits of being a vegetarian diet and I am always greatful for all god blessed us in trinidad with
What about hemp milk ??
Or almond milk ?

Yet to see udders on an almond

nestle full cream ftw

Not a win.

We offer consumers great tasting milk with high nutritional value and a variety of options for various consumers: Our 100% Fresh Cow’s milk( which is our Blue pack) which comes straight from our farmers to Nestlé then to our consumers. The Full Cream Reconstituted Milk is milk made from powdered milk (which consist of milk ingredients) and water to give you a glass of milk or to give you the fluid version of milk. It is what a consumers would have done at home, when they add water to powdered milk. In this case, Nestlé has this step for you.
https://www.nestle.tt/brands/dairy/about-uht-milk

There is is also available FRESH - Cow's Milk and Goat Milk.

Goat Milk is better than Cow's Milk - Less fat :D

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2017, 6:37 pm

You know I never drink that.

Postby RedVEVO » October 30th, 2017, 7:16 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

There have so many other nutritious stuff to consume - healthier and happier , clean body :D

Why would you send $200 on a bottle of hard alcohol ?

You know $80 bottle of red wine much better :D

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2017, 7:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

It saddens me to know your life so far has been one of such severe deprivations :lol:

but on a more serious note, yeah you really should try it. It has a smooth mellow flavor, but with wicked kick. I suggest trying it neat first, if not with as little ice as possible as I find too much ice can affect the flavor.

Postby 88sins » October 30th, 2017, 7:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

There have so many other nutritious stuff to consume - healthier and happier , clean body :D

wine is for sissies, & red wine is for sissies on their period :drinking:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 30th, 2017, 7:35 pm

Where you getting that fresh cow milk? I don't want that uht crap or anything from Nestle.

That goat milk does have a funny after taste bai....I good.

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 2:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

wine is for sissies, & red wine is for sissies on their period :drinking:

Wasting $$$ on hard arse alcohol is for real men :D
De rich and luxury lives of the 99% ..

Carry on.

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2017, 8:49 am

RedVEVO wrote:Wasting $$$ on hard arse alcohol is for real men :D
De rich and luxury lives of the 99% ..

Carry on.

yup, I do indeed have every intention to carry on enjoying some of the smaller luxuries in life.
cuz last I checked, I told me it is ok for me to "waste" some of that hard earned $$$ that I worked for on the things I enjoy. :D

But you really should try the Chivas boi, makes you feel all warm & cozy & relaxed & happy. Only issue I have wit it tho, if I've had more than 4 consecutive drinks the ground does start to feel like I standing on a slow moving turntable :lol:

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 31st, 2017, 4:10 pm

Redress10 wrote:RedVEVO

Where you getting that fresh cow milk? I don't want that uht crap or anything from Nestle.

Usually the larger supermarkets carry the University Field station brand and some others.

The Nestle does say "reconstituted" on the box

The Moo brand claims to be from fresh milk and not reconstituted.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2017, 4:36 pm

originalbling wrote:

Usually the larger supermarkets carry the University Field station brand and some others.

The blue pack Nestlé is 100% local fresh milk, NOT reconstituted.
The green (full cream) and red (low fat) Nestlé packs are reconstituted.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2017, 4:46 pm

originalbling wrote:

The blue pack Nestlé is 100% local fresh milk, NOT reconstituted.
The green (full cream) and red (low fat) Nestlé packs are reconstituted.

Anybody ever tried the University Field station brand? The only time I ever drink "fresh milk" is when I go away. Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption. If anybody tried University Field milk then give a review and price as well please.

That Fresh milk in the carton will be UHT. UHT removes all the nutrients from the milk I believe as well as changes the milk at the molecular level hence the weird taste you can get.

Anyone ever mix nestle liquid milk with powdered milk for improved taste etc? I feel I switching to almond milk full time yes.

Never tried Moo though. How is the taste etc. I think that comes from Germany so there might be a difference in taste due to how they feed their animals in Europe etc Anyone can confirm?

Postby eliteauto » October 31st, 2017, 5:49 pm

hear nah some of allyuh could overthink stuff seems only foreign could process milk, fresh milk is milk straight from the cow anything else is processed, be it homogenized or pasteurized and T&T does that well, so this whole " Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption" is either yuh have poor guts or fooling yuhself. University Field Station milk is delicious $25-30 a bottle, very creamy and has a rich taste even the 2% is not bad. Moo is supposedly 100% not reconstituted milk, it does taste creamier than say Nestle however I never tasted the 100% blue box from Nestle to do comparison

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 5:56 pm

eliteauto wrote:hear nah some of allyuh could overthink stuff seems only foreign could process milk, fresh milk is milk straight from the cow anything else is processed, be it homogenized or pasteurized and T&T does that well, so this whole " Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption" is either yuh have poor guts or fooling yuhself. University Field Station milk is delicious $25-30 a bottle, very creamy and has a rich taste even the 2% is not bad. Moo is supposedly 100% not reconstituted milk, it does taste creamier than say Nestle however I never tasted the 100% blue box from Nestle to do comparison

Where that selling for $25 ?

It is $60 :shock:

It so creamy , you can add some to the bath water in the tub.
And play with the rubber ducky all night ..

Postby Chimera » October 31st, 2017, 6:35 pm

I never knew that about red pack vs blue pack nestle milk

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 31st, 2017, 6:44 pm

It might very well be easier to just buy the cow instead of trying to figure it all out.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2017, 6:49 pm

eliteauto wrote:hear nah some of allyuh could overthink stuff seems only foreign could process milk, fresh milk is milk straight from the cow anything else is processed, be it homogenized or pasteurized and T&T does that well, so this whole " Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption" is either yuh have poor guts or fooling yuhself. University Field Station milk is delicious $25-30 a bottle, very creamy and has a rich taste even the 2% is not bad. Moo is supposedly 100% not reconstituted milk, it does taste creamier than say Nestle however I never tasted the 100% blue box from Nestle to do comparison

if you can vouch for University Field Station then cool but anything in a carton package is only uht or reconstituted. Not sure about the milk from Ramsaran. I checked their milk drinks such as peanut punch and saw that they used skimmed milk to milk those so I'm not sure if the milk that they sell is reconstituted skim milk or not. That used to taste good though if I remember correctly.

Think you can also get fresh milk from Dolce Valley Dairy farm but never saw the product on display or sale though so can't say for sure.
Last edited by Redress10 on October 31st, 2017, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2017, 6:50 pm

Pasteurization is the process of heating milk up and then quickly cooling it down to eliminate certain bacteria. For effective pasteurization, milk can be heated up to 145 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes, but this method isn’t very common. More common is heating milk up to at least 161.6 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 seconds, which is known as High-temperature Short-Time (HTST) pasteurization, or flash pasteurization. This method will keep milk fresh for two to three weeks. Then there’s Ultra-Heat Treatment (UHT), whereby milk is heated to 280 degrees Fahrenheit for a minimum of two seconds. This processing results in a shelf life that can extend up to nine months. Milk treated with pasteurization or HTST is labeled as “pasteurized,” while milk treated with UHT is labeled as “ultra-pasteurized.”

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/ ... 06168.html

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 6:52 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:It might very well be easier to just buy the cow instead of trying to figure it all out.

Some people afraid of a cow , they cowherd :D

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2017, 6:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I never knew that about red pack vs blue pack nestle milk

Nestle hoping that you never knew as well. Basically the red pack is reconstituted milk, water added to skim milk powder. They basically mixing milk for you to drink. LMAO....Not sure about the price if it cheaper, equal or more expensive to the blue pack etc. I don't buy Nestle etc so I can't say.

Postby hydroep » October 31st, 2017, 7:05 pm

LOL...so I went in de usual bakery...$ 18.00 for a loaf of bread. Yes, $ 18.00...buh de lady say it is a "heavy" loaf... :lol: