Re: COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2017, 8:20 pm

I think you meant to say "mayhem & rectum"
all dem studying to do is bugger the population pockets

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2017, 8:48 pm

In Trinidad and Tobago we enjoy perks of living in a country rich in natural resources. One of these perks, the electricity subsidy, has been gaining much public scrutiny.

Could this be an area government will cut back on?

car

COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby car » September 27th, 2017, 9:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:In Trinidad and Tobago we enjoy perks of living in a country rich in natural resources. One of these perks, the electricity subsidy, has been gaining much public scrutiny.

Could this be an area government will cut back on?

Yep. Once they publicizing it. Soon to come. At least they give a bit of time for you to brace before getting hit.

The way i’m forced to look at it is that I’m finally paying the correct price for electricity and not as “they raise current prices”

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2017, 9:35 pm

Cost of living in trinidad would be a mofo very soon...its already bad

car

Postby car » September 27th, 2017, 10:05 pm

Young people have it hard now yes. I remember long time ago is only rum and cigarette does raise for budget. So if you is a non drinker and non smoker you good to go.
Now is tax in everything and subsidy to go soon.
Sorry for people who have to work the rest of their lives to be able to build a house and raise a family.

Postby RedVEVO » September 28th, 2017, 5:10 am

car wrote:Young people have it hard now yes. I remember long time ago is only rum and cigarette does raise for budget. So if you is a non drinker and non smoker you good to go.
Sorry for people who have to work the rest of their lives to be able to build a house and raise a family.

Young people could handle stress ..
Ole Gringo eat ya oat meal and doh worry nah ..

We have credit card .

Postby meccalli » September 28th, 2017, 5:33 am

Well I eat pretty cheap even though I don't have to buy it at my age but, there's beans, legumes, oats, rice, taro, a little fish or chicken.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2017, 7:09 am

this rounds is either yuh have or not...simply put

Drea

Postby Drea » September 28th, 2017, 9:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:
car wrote:Young people have it hard now yes. I remember long time ago is only rum and cigarette does raise for budget. So if you is a non drinker and non smoker you good to go.

Young people could handle stress ..
Ole Gringo eat ya oat meal and doh worry nah ..

We have credit card .

Funny you'd say that, a few days ago the suicide rate was being discussed and its quite high with young persons leading the numbers. I think the youth of today are not equipped to deal with stress, we have been taught its not ok to fail.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:this rounds is either yuh have or not...simply put

Yup.

Postby RedVEVO » September 28th, 2017, 1:27 pm

Where the suicide rate high ? In Trinidad ? Or elsewhere ..

That have nothing to do with the cost of living $$$ ole gringo ..

Drea

Postby Drea » September 28th, 2017, 1:32 pm

Yes Trinidad, there are a lot of cases that you don't hear about because its not covered in the news.

Not saying it have anythin to do with COL, was just responding to a previous statement

Postby RedVEVO » September 28th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Drea wrote:Yes Trinidad, there are a lot of cases that you don't hear about because its not covered in the news.

Not saying it have anythin to do with COL, was just responding to a previous statement

Ok .. :D

Drea always makes logical sense .

He is Vulcan :D

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 29th, 2017, 5:13 am

Agreed

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2017, 6:31 am

and it's going to keep get more & more difficult. plenty of them will work the rest of their lives & still can't afford to own their own home.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 7:15 am

and it's going to keep get more & more difficult. plenty of them will work the rest of their lives & still can't afford to own their own home.

this is scary AF...you know how hard it is to rent for the rest of your life..then again it have people who love that lifestyle

Postby hydroep » September 29th, 2017, 7:26 am

Since February 2016:

Grocery Items that have suffered a high rate of inflation:
1450 ml Dish-washing liquid that used to sell for $ 23.99 is now $ 29.99...25% increase.
1 lb. Lentils $ 6 - $ 8...33% increase.
1/2 Kg Brown sugar $ 5.49 - $ 7.99...45% increase
2 L sodas $ 7 - $ 9...28% increase.
Watermelon lb. $ 2.50 - $ 4.50...80% increase
Hot peppers ea. $ 0.50 - $ 1.00...100% increase

Other things that have remained relatively stable:
2 Kg Flour $ 12.59 - $ 13.50...7% increase
2 Kg Rice $ 13.99 - $ 14.99...7% increase
1/2 lb. Garlic $ 6.99 - $ 7.99 lb...14% increase
1 bundle Patchoi $ 7 - $ 8...14% increase
900 ml Soya Oil $ 12.99 - $ 12.99...0% increase

Things that have gone down:
Cream Snack Cake $ 1.50 - $ 1.00...33% decrease... :lol:

Market stuff generally fluctuates but some things like watermelon and Hot Peppers have skyrocketed.

More than proportionate increase in the price of foreign/foreign branded/items with foreign inputs. Has it significantly cut down on the purchases of those items thereby saving foreign exchange? Continually restocked shelves would say otherwise.
Last edited by hydroep on September 29th, 2017, 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 7:32 am

is there anything that suffers from a price reduction in this country??

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 29th, 2017, 7:34 am

^yuh bank account

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2017, 7:50 am

it will be very very hard for any so called millenial age group to adjust
they grew up and started working life in the age of consumerism in trinidad

unless you grew up in the 70-80s you really have no idea what hard times are

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2017, 8:02 am

pugboy wrote:it will be very very hard for any so called millenial age group to adjust

Start planting food.I growing mint right now, because mojitos are life.

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2017, 9:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

this is scary AF...you know how hard it is to rent for the rest of your life..then again it have people who love that lifestyle

usually only until they grow up & have kids & think about their offspring's future, or reach retirement age & realize that they can't afford to pay rent while only receiving that small NIS pension. but by then is too late. it eh easy to HAVE to get up & go to work everyday till you dead, just to pay for a place to eat/sleeep/crap/keep junk, that was never & will never be yours.

I does tell people, thank God if yuh not in that situation, & pray & work hard to get out of it as quickly as possible if you are.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2017, 9:25 am

timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:it will be very very hard for any so called millenial age group to adjust

But can you afford limes?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » September 29th, 2017, 9:31 am

Small kitchen gardens help a lot peppers, ochroes, pimento etc. Substitute the foreign brands for local. Portion size , eating less.
Just to name a few that help reduce your monthly expenditure

Drea

Postby Drea » September 29th, 2017, 9:34 am

^^ Grow the limes...

But honestly i think more ppl need to move to growing your own basic stuff, I myself have given it thought but you know the lazy mentality. Hopefully by year end I'll get to it and buy the big rectangular pots and start because celery and chive in the market selling $7 a bundle.

One thing my household buys a lot is bread and i will never forget kiss bread being $5.25 (or less) when i was a kid, mums used to hand me the $5 and tell me go in the change bowl and dig up the coins. Now same bread is $14.75

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2017, 9:38 am

Drea wrote:^^ Grow the limes...

But honestly i think more ppl need to move to growing your own basic stuff, I myself have given it thought but you know the lazy mentality. Hopefully by year end I'll get to it and buy the big rectangular pots and start because celery and chive in the market selling $7 a bundle.

One thing my household buys a lot is bread and i will never forget kiss bread being $5.25 (or less) when i was a kid, mums used to hand me the $5 and tell me go in the change bowl and dig up the coins. Now same bread is $14.75

Kiss is a ripoff...........much smaller bakeries sell higher the same type of breads at a better quality for cheaper than them. I know Kiss has logistics that the small man bakery doesn't (delivery to the neighbour shop) however the small bakery doesn't buy flour in a 40 ft cargo from NFM every few days nor other raw materials in the bulk that Kiss does.

Drea

Postby Drea » September 29th, 2017, 9:41 am

It is, I rarely buy it much. I rather go to Linda's and you get the hops or regular bread for $12-14 and its more fulling.

Postby teems1 » September 29th, 2017, 10:01 am

In the 70s and 80's, one of the new basic prefab houses in Santa Rosa was around 50k. A secondary school teacher's starting salary was around 1000TT and the TT:USD was around 2:1.

So that is approx 50 months salary to purchase a house.

Today an extremely basic house is 1.3m and a teacher's starting salary is around 10K. That is 130 months salary. Nearly three times more difficult.

Also back then workers didn't have to worry about outsourcing/offshoring to India/China. Being perpetually being on contract was non existent. Shareholder and investor expectations were not as unreasonable as today whereby growth is expected every quarter or the executives lose their jobs.

The hard times people remember was due to the easy lines of credit being opened up to persons who benefited from the oil boom and were unable to repay when the price went down. Banks have since tightened up their due diligence whereby the number of defaulted loans and houses being foreclosed is very small.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 10:02 am

timelapse wrote:

But can you afford limes?

limes, lemons and any other citrus is the way to go if you decide to get into agriculture.

Postby ismithx » September 29th, 2017, 10:14 am

also make your own foodstuff. I make both almond milk and peanut butter at home, the money savings are real!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2017, 10:19 am

people need to practice making breakfast and lunch from home...buying food everyday go kill allyuh mc