PariaMan wrote:Seems reasonable. Let's say you living in Dominica and have two kids under 13 . Your house is destroyed but you have family in Trinidad. The kids cannot help rebuild but needs to go to school plus they not being around makes it easier for you to rebuild. Then you send them to Trinidad while you stay and rebuild. You have to be a heartless MF not to see sense in that
Obama had stopped deporting Haitians after the earthquake.
sMASH wrote:The flower of the ocean.
I say we bring across some families.
Set them up in some temporary accommodation, or retrofit some stadiums to use.
We have plenty teachers and nurses that need jobs, so we can let him get some ojt dealing with them.
Food? Expand the school feeding program, or work out some deals with catering companies to do bulk work.
Heck, they can make some long lasting foods to send across there.
Or better yet, contract some temporary cooks under the regiment and station them in Dominica to cook.
Construction men looking for wuk?
Send them across to rehabilitate the buildings that have the least turn around time, and get back people living there.
Even if trinis don't want to do it, we have nuff Vene and guyanese and Syrian here looking for work.
Hoss, the only hard thing in this is the funds. As long as the government is willing to shell out the funds, things could get done.
Peeps, u Hadda think, if that was to happen here, that u would want that same help.
PariaMan wrote:1. By airport when it is opened they are working on it
2 He specifically said those who have family here. Living waters are I inviting people to register as host. Do.unto others.(we are on fault lines)
3. I did say kids even if not it is those who have family here. So no need to work.
4. There family in Trinidad.
I have voted for all parties already. So I am unaligned. But sense is sense the people need help and when not if we need help I hope that we get similar offers
matr1x wrote:Who verify that those that entering is not a risk?
PariaMan wrote:So you conveniently disregard where the man say people inviting their family to stay in their house as guests and feeding and housing them?
Oh gosh man.
I really hope the vengeance of Moko/Karma is not real
matr1x wrote:They will come in as voter padding. That will be their payment
PariaMan wrote:It is at times like this that the regional integration that we have been nursing since Independence can be made real. Quibbling about the Government's decision to allow individuals to provide refuge to Dominicans for six months is small-minded and beneath our dignity.
From the Sunday Express editorial
The fact is that what the Government has invoked is not very different from what already exists under Caricom's freedom of movement provision. By right, every Caricom national enjoys automatic right of entry into member countries for a period of six months as long as they are not considered a security risk.
The announcement by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is therefore no change of policy but merely an encouragement to people who are minded to help and the registering of a compassionate attitude which will hopefully guide immigration authorities.
PariaMan wrote:Red Revo reach logic and sense fly off together
PariaMan wrote:So you recommend that we drop out of the U.N.
Or people come some day by a boat and we throw them back in the sea?
And how saying that we have to obey the Charter translate to inviting refugees?
Oh god please do not judge us by the views of a few.
Phone Surgeon wrote:PariaMan wrote:So you recommend that we drop out of the U.N.
Or people come some day by a boat and we throw them back in the sea?
And how saying that we have to obey the Charter translate to inviting refugees?
Oh god please do not judge us by the views of a few.
Me eh recommending nothing. I say help them as much as possible .
But I just saying that one day rowley said that ppl wud only come on invitation by family and friends
And the next day he said if they come just so.....we can't turn them back
PariaMan wrote:So you conveniently disregard where the man say people inviting their family to stay in their house as guests and feeding and housing them?
Oh gosh man.
I really hope the vengeance of Moko/Karma is not real
PariaMan wrote:It is at times like this that the regional integration that we have been nursing since Independence can be made real. Quibbling about the Government's decision to allow individuals to provide refuge to Dominicans for six months is small-minded and beneath our dignity.
From the Sunday Express editorial
The fact is that what the Government has invoked is not very different from what already exists under Caricom's freedom of movement provision. By right, every Caricom national enjoys automatic right of entry into member countries for a period of six months as long as they are not considered a security risk.
The announcement by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is therefore no change of policy but merely an encouragement to people who are minded to help and the registering of a compassionate attitude which will hopefully guide immigration authorities.