Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Re: Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby RedVEVO » September 24th, 2017, 10:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart young said there was a breakdown in law and order in Dominica... How exactly does that differ from here??? He said people are homeless and hungry...am we have that here as well...common sense not so common any more

Send Stuart back to .. ? Where he from ?

He is all talk and no action . What Stuart EVER do for T&T ?

Send Rowley back to Tobago . He need a real job .

There he can set up a shelter and feed the Dominica people.

Postby De Dragon » September 24th, 2017, 10:19 am

RedVEVO wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart young said there was a breakdown in law and order in Dominica... How exactly does that differ from here??? He said people are homeless and hungry...am we have that here as well...common sense not so common any more

Send Stuart back to .. ? Where he from ?

He is all talk and no action . What Stuart EVER do for T&T ?

Send Rowley back to Tobago . He need a real job .

There he can set up a shelter and feed the Dominica people.

Another moron who couldn't cut it without family connections.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 10:23 am

Does Dominica have a prison? Was the prison affected? Since the island uninhabitable where the prisoners going?

We taking them too?

Postby RedVEVO » September 24th, 2017, 10:34 am

Franky Khan also talking watery water bison BS ..

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170923 ... r-humanity

There are so many many homeless and hopeless in Trinidad .

People suffering and actually "decaying" on the streets of Trinidad - (Man , Woman and Child)

Yet he claims TT has lost it's humanity . It is Rowley's PNM that has now politicized humanity :roll:

PNM continued Trini Xenophobia ( fear & hatred of strangers or foreigners or of anything that is strange or foreign )

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 10:48 am

2 things people getting confused about with this issue.

1) Dominica is not Dominican Republic, two different places

2) 6 month stay - the PM NEVER said it was a 6 month stay. Furthermore he never mentioned about them returning moreso after the 6 months.
WHAT HE DID SAY was that there will be a 6 month ease on the immigration restrictions to citizens of Dominica. Meaning less criteria is required for Dominicans to visit or stay here for 6 months!!

It does not mean after 6 months they have to return.

I guess both points intertwined in terms of the persons intelligence.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 10:54 am

How could the PNM talk about humanity when they refer to their fellow CITIZENS as alligators in murky waters, calcutta ship, lagoon, etc.

We don't even love our own so how could we love another?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 24th, 2017, 11:18 am

I wonder if franklin et al knows what humanitarian means or fully understand the concept

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 11:19 am

boxy wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
boxy wrote:Where u get info about them being place in Fatima and St Mary's?

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-09-23 ... initiative
Ok so the schools operated by Catholics have charitably opened their doors to the victims. For 6months are then saying that the school will keep them indefinitely? Cause what I read there and the opinion u gave earlier makes me wonder if u are a stranger to reality. Let's be realistic here if the island was populated 50% by Hindus wouldn't Sat open his schools to them as well?

Food for thought....

The minister of education approached the schools. You ever hear about victimisation by not complying?

So u don't find going to school, which you believe is 6 months, is disruptive to a child? One minute you in a Dominican school, next minute you in a highly competitive, highly classed and high standard school with high achievers and you with yuh under-achieving (cause we don't know who going where) self have to struggle with ur displacement problems, catching up in class, then you back in Dominica in a 6 month built school.

How that sounding? Realistic? Disruptive? Or just PNM logic?

All these "just 6 month" believers, how long you think it will take to build back schools, roads, hospitals, ministries, etc.?

6 months?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 24th, 2017, 11:22 am

Sat maraj aint entertaining that one bit...not one sdms school doing that

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2017, 11:23 am

Next year we having a new holiday. Dominican arrival day.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 11:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I wonder if franklin et al knows what humanitarian means or fully understand the concept

He should house some in the multi-million dollar mall he have in Fyzabad which he built while in Opposition.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 24th, 2017, 11:29 am

kstt wrote:
boxy wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
boxy wrote:Where u get info about them being place in Fatima and St Mary's?

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-09-23 ... initiative
Ok so the schools operated by Catholics have charitably opened their doors to the victims. For 6months are then saying that the school will keep them indefinitely? Cause what I read there and the opinion u gave earlier makes me wonder if u are a stranger to reality. Let's be realistic here if the island was populated 50% by Hindus wouldn't Sat open his schools to them as well?

Food for thought....

The minister of education approached the schools. You ever hear about victimisation by not complying?

So u don't find going to school, which you believe is 6 months, is disruptive to a child? One minute you in a Dominican school, next minute you in a highly competitive, highly classed and high standard school with high achievers and you with yuh under-achieving (cause we don't know who going where) self have to struggle with ur displacement problems, catching up in class, then you back in Dominica in a 6 month built school.

How that sounding? Realistic? Disruptive? Or just PNM logic?

All these "just 6 month" believers, how long you think it will take to build back schools, roads, hospitals, ministries, etc.?

6 months?

Dan suppose just suppose the Holy Ghost fathers schools outlined in the article contacted their counterparts in Dominica who are also prestige to arrange? Supposing it's the same Dominican teachers? Supposing cause everyone expressing their opinion as fact.... Like Sat Maharaj who claims we are refugees in n our own country so close the borders/doors

Also there is nothing to believe in with regards to 6 months when it arrives either they leave or get extended. Allyuh men not seeing that this has to be the worst hurricane season in the modern history. This mantra about God is a trini will give us as a nation a serious reality check soon. And When the dust settle pray other countries do not say nah allyuh stay there with allyuh criminals thieves con artists and corruption. Allyuh could rebuild allyuh house and sleep in a tent at night at the mercy of the weather

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2017, 11:43 am

Tsunami shelter: deck it out and load it up.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 24th, 2017, 11:50 am

kstt wrote:
kstt wrote:WE OFFER ALL THIS RELIEF AND SUPPORT TIME AND TIME AGAIN AND ARE STILL DESPISED BY THE CARICOM COUNTRIES.

Curtms wrote:Image

Oh dear!

Blindfold yourselves PNM fanatics. #fakenews

Out of principle, she should refuse the containers of supplies coming from here as well. Also I see Dr. Loudly mention race. I have seen a fair amount of xenophobic posts, but not much on race. Are there a lot of blatantly racist posts out there?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 24th, 2017, 11:51 am

sMASH wrote:Tsunami shelter: deck it out and load it up.

If these hurricanes have taught us anything, it's that we need a few more of these
Last edited by tourniquet on September 24th, 2017, 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » September 24th, 2017, 11:58 am

Google search for the phrase "sexy Dominican women" has skyrocketed since the invitation by the Trinidad and Tobago prime minister

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2017, 12:01 pm

Full agreement.

Probably some schools can be dedicated by odpm for shelters.

Not just say us a shelter, but during the holidays do some dry runs,,, actual drills with real people for occupancy, to see what is necessary for occupation for up to a week.

To work our the logistics with sleep, hygiene, maintenance, food, security etc.

When you get a tropical storm warning, the shelter contingencies automatically activate and the system goes into work.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 12:04 pm

boxy wrote:
88sins wrote:So boxy, which small island you from? You seem extremely defensive, claiming the Dominicans accepting the invitation to come here are "middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters". Just a few small facts for you to keeep in mind, as well as some questions for you.
It have a criminals, substance abusers & vagrants in Dominica, as well as your professionals. Neither you nor the GoRTT, nor the Dominican gov't can't guarantee some of their worst won't end up here. If you believe you can, you're a desifemlove.
How much VAT they gonna be paying on the USD they gonna buy & ship out of here?
How easy you feel it gonna be for a sponsor to support an additional family for 6 months while the visiting contingent is unemployed?
While they are here, let's say for the sake of discussion, they are unemployed & have to spend from their savings to survive here due to sponsors finances running low/out, where they getting the money from to rebuild when they go back home? your pocket?

I just curious about your possible solutions to these quite likely scenarios.

Ok first off why you hurling insults at me bro? (desifemlove dawg?) :(

To answer your questions
1 This isnt going to be a waltz into Trinidad situation you have to prove you have people to stay by or finances to stay here
Caricom and for that matter Interpol shares intelligence when it comes to known criminals lets assume you are right and a criminal known to the Dominica police shows up in the airport immigration scans his passport and all his information shows up on the computer.

HOW ARE THEY TO SHOW FINANCES WITH NO ELECTRICITY NO TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND NO BANK?
IMMIGRATION CONTROL?HOW YOU THINK ISIS FIGHTERS LEAVING AND RETURNING? I ALSO VAGUELY REMEMBER IMMIGRATION DETENTION CENTRE RELEASED A DETAINEE AND COULD NOT FIND THEM AFTER. YOU REALLY THINK THEY GOING TO TRACK AND DEPORT PEOPLE? (Btw I must apologise, I'm not shouting I just typing in capital letters because I don't want to edit with font colour with this phone I have)

2) The PM made it clear dont bother comming here if you have nowhere to go. ALL FREE TO COME NOW!!

3) USD is hard to get from the banks as it is which the ration out to even citizens. (Your arguement holds no water as well due to the fact we are a tourist destination and when tourists leave they dont go with TTD meaning that the few Dominicans that come here isnt going to affect the US situation. Guyana has also offered an invitation so has Jamaica) DO THEY HAVE FOREX AND UNEMPLOYMENT PROBLEMS. ARE THEY IN DEBT. HOW IS THEIR ECONOMIES DOING? HOW IS THEIR US$ GENERATING MECHANISMS TOURISM? OIL AND GAS? AGRICULTURE

4)There are well off people in Trinidad some with alot of money and some whose religion calls out to them to help. There are also churches NGO's corporate citizens who have networks or chains up the islands whose employees they can help. This is strictly volunteering how many people u think going to volunteer anyway its mainly family and friends who will take this request with utmost seriousness

5) when they are ready to go back home most likely IMF the World bank or an entity of that nature will set up a fund where citizens can get a mortgage or refinance one to rebuild. You are forgetting an island was flattened bro things will be put in place all i saying is that the way people carrying on over on fb they seem to forget we have to go vacation up the islands in the near future they wont forget the idiotic few who spat on them when they were literally t their lowest.

SO WHERE ARE THESE AGENCIES NOW WHEN THEY ARE NEEDED? If not now, when? Never!! I rather not speculate and believe in pies in the sky!

Postby zoom rader » September 24th, 2017, 12:12 pm

kstt wrote:2 things people getting confused about with this issue.

1) Dominica is not Dominican Republic, two different places

2) 6 month stay - the PM NEVER said it was a 6 month stay. Furthermore he never mentioned about them returning moreso after the 6 months.
WHAT HE DID SAY was that there will be a 6 month ease on the immigration restrictions to citizens of Dominica. Meaning less criteria is required for Dominicans to visit or stay here for 6 months!!

It does not mean after 6 months they have to return.

I guess both points intertwined in terms of the persons intelligence.

I think this is what I read.
Rowley said the citizens of Dominica can come and stay up to six months then “return to their homes and if they want an extension, they have to apply for the process”.

Cant believe I defending Rowley

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 24th, 2017, 12:20 pm

sMASH wrote:Full agreement.

Probably some schools can be dedicated by odpm for shelters.

Not just say us a shelter, but during the holidays do some dry runs,,, actual drills with real people for occupancy, to see what is necessary for occupation for up to a week.

To work our the logistics with sleep, hygiene, maintenance, food, security etc.

When you get a tropical storm warning, the shelter contingencies automatically activate and the system goes into work.

Out with that logic. I meant we will have to build some more tsunami shelter$$$

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2017, 12:23 pm

Badum tss

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 24th, 2017, 12:23 pm

99% of the posters in this thread have not idea what they are saying sadly as most of the time in this form as it has been invaded by political zealots like UML now Red Evo et al.

As a Fatima Old Boy, I am happy that 30 spaces were offered to Secondary School Students in the in the last two or final year before writing CSEC. The country has been devasted, think if Trinidad or Tobago was similarly devasted not you or anyone in your town village or area had a house, bathroom, room to rest or a roof over your head. Think about that, and suppose we had to go to Guyana, Barbados, Grenada or somewhere else as a temporary measure if most of Trinidad and Tobago was similar devestated.

As one poster said above, your party card is worthless in such an evoirmonent.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 24th, 2017, 12:33 pm

Kstt n response to your comment about banks. A bank isn't functional on its physical structure but by its IT Servers they can travel anywhere in the world and their bank info will follow them around so that's nothing to worry about. They are a Highly recognized tourist destination action just like Barbados and the other smaller islands their USD accessibility probably better than ours via banks in their country well was... Now that their country looks like parts of Syria I could stand corrected always good to learn.

Yes all are free to come but other countries have opened their doors who are struggling more than us Jamaica still under the IMF knife and still offered so has Guyana and their infrastructure pails in comparison to ours.

The likely solution to tracking will be the sponsoring family/friend NGO being held directly responsible by the authorities for them its not like they are comming and saying they going on vacation give a hotel address and disappear.
Let's use common sense here it may not be as plain and hopeful as I outlined it because we'll government workers will be government workers but imagine people in Dominica right now and a mini thunderstorm hit them random right now? While we sitting in our offices homes dry quarelling about a policy decision to help them

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 24th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Lots of rains today ...I wish there isn't no flooding here ........... but I know the PM will get help for us locals "doors will b opened "

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2017, 2:03 pm

we should be sending the ocean flower boat with army and coast guard to help secure the place asap

right now there is massive looting, even small boats stopping by from other islands getting accosted by cutlass wielding hungry residents

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 24th, 2017, 2:10 pm

^^ ocean flower may take a month to reach there if it could ...

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2017, 2:11 pm

Not a bad idea, cept it might shut down on the way.

Postby Gladiator » September 24th, 2017, 10:47 pm

In essence Rowley has offered nothing.... just playing politics with the Dominica people's misfortune :twisted:

http://www.looptt.com/content/pms-offer ... com-treaty

Since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley's announcement that immigration restrictions would be waived for Dominican nationals seeking refuge in T&T following Hurricane Maria, there has been a barrage of negative sentiments expressed on social media.

Rowley made the announcement in the wake of widespread devastation which left the island of Dominica in ruins. However, the announcement met with hostility from locals.

Many T&T citizens have made it known that they would not support such a measure as Dominican nationals would "take jobs and use up scarce resources."

But the fact is, Dominicans, as well as nationals from any Caricom nation, have the right of free passage into T&T.

Under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, provisions are made for the free movement of Caricom nationals in and out of member states. Article 45 of the Revised Treaty states: "Member States commit themselves to the goal of free movement of their nationals within the Community."

Additionally, 12 countries are participating in the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME) which allows nationals to seek professional opportunities in any participating State.

The participating countries are Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and Dominica.

Provisions are also made for skilled workers in various fields to be allowed free movement under Article 46 of the Revised Treaty. These include media workers, university graduates, sportspersons, artistes and musicians.

These persons, once obtaining their skills certificates, can live and work freely in member States.

In T&T, such persons also pay taxes and national insurance.

In short, Rowley's offer to waive immigration laws for stays of up to six months is already a measure guaranteed under the Caricom arrangement.

As stated by the Ministry of Foreign and Caricom Affairs: "A Caricom national who is seeking to enter Trinidad and Tobago would be granted a definite entry of six months subject to having satisfied all immigration requirements."

This opportunity is also afforded to Trinidad & Tobago nationals seeking to enter other Caricom countries and many T&T nationals currently live, work and study freely in Caricom countries.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2017, 11:47 pm

If we think Trinis bad we could always be st Kitts ......
http://wp.caribbeannewsnow.com/2017/09/ ... ane-maria/

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 25th, 2017, 2:08 am

kstt wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I wonder if franklin et al knows what humanitarian means or fully understand the concept

He should house some in the multi-million dollar mall he have in Fyzabad which he built while in Opposition.

Dude it isn't a mall he built, it is far more sophisticated than that, it is called the Laura Sewlal Business Centre.

Although to be honest I don't know of any businesses there yet, still they are doing some renovations.

Rumour has it the Siparia magistrate's court will be re-located there until such time that the renovations in Siparia are completed.