Women in the workplace

cracker

Women in the workplace

Postby cracker » September 10th, 2017, 8:31 am

I did not plan to make a post about this topic but when I saw the comments made by another tuner from a previous topic with regards to this issue, I feel as though this should be highlighted. Many times women have to leave work early because they have to pick up their children, or other times they are sick, their stomachs are hurting them, they on they are seeing their monthlys etc. Whatever excuse they can come with to abandon their job. Some of these issues can be genuine but in many instances they are not. When they are pennialised it's always "it's my children first" or some other excuse. Keep in mind that I am not stereotyping, insulting nor degrading womankind as there are many women who work just as hard as their male companions, willing to make sacrifices and are very dedicated to their jobs. Thoughts??

Re: Women in the workplace

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2017, 8:33 am

cos you're a misgoynist/neanderthal and are just hiding yuh prejudice, ent? no wonder T&T backward.

Postby matr1x » September 10th, 2017, 8:48 am

He is right, those observations are in many fields.

Try asking a woman to replace the water dispenser. They expect men to do it, as if it's our job.

cracker

Postby cracker » September 10th, 2017, 9:40 am

desifemlove wrote:cos you're a misgoynist/neanderthal and are just hiding yuh prejudice, ent? no wonder T&T backward.

First to begin with the comments in the post were not mine, those were the opinions expressed by another tuner (please see topic COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD) which was stated quite clearly in my remarks.So its either, you're an idiot, a troll or your can't read too good. I believe it's the latter.. Get someone to read it over for you(I hope you are not deaf also).

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2017, 9:47 am

cracker wrote: Whatever excuse they can come with to abandon their job. . When they are pennialised it's always "it's my children first" or some other excuse.

This right here. I stopped reading then.

If you are going with the comments from another post, you should liberally use quotation marks so we could understand your point.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 10th, 2017, 9:54 am

cracker wrote:I did not plan to make a post about this topic but

u should of went without the plan ... and not make it ..

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2017, 9:56 am

10-01 wrote:
cracker wrote:I did not plan to make a post about this topic but

u should of went without the plan ... and not make it ..

Postby hydroep » September 10th, 2017, 10:00 am

Both sexes duck work it's just that society has been conditioned to be more forgiving of the excuses made by the ladies whether they are lying or not. After all, how can you fault someone for not looking after their children?

But their are times you can call them on their BS, just be discreet about it. For example if they come with the "I'm just a poor, weak, li'l woman" routine, offer to assist them, meaning they will have to do some of the work. Other times just tell them you're busy or say yuh hand hurting yuh and they'll have to find some other way to get it done.

Under no circumstances should you do it all because from then on it will be expected. Bad habits are harder to break.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 10th, 2017, 10:05 am

hydroep wrote:Both sexes duck work it's just that society has been conditioned to be more forgiving of the excuses made by the ladies whether they are lying or not. After all, how can you fault someone for not looking after their children?

But their are times you can call them on their BS, just be discreet about it. For example if they come with the "I'm just a poor, weak, li'l woman" routine, offer to assist them, meaning they will have to do some of the work. Other times just tell them you're busy or say yuh hand hurting yuh and they'll have to find some other way to get it done.

Under no circumstances should you do it all because from then on it will be expected. Bad habits are harder to break.

wat if they passing ting for the boss and getting time off all d time ? i know something like this taking place .. and not 1 person can do anything about it ....

Postby hydroep » September 10th, 2017, 10:06 am

^You win some and you lose some... :lol:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 10th, 2017, 10:11 am

hydroep wrote:^You win some and you lose some... :lol:

tru ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 10th, 2017, 10:12 am

I made the post and i stand firmly by it...if someone can prove me wrong...all well and good..but my statements are geared toward the younger generation...very rarely you will see older women using children as excuses...I remember one instance where a lady missed her deadline and the excuse " meh child had national test" what the fck that have to do with your deadline...

Children are responsibilities not excuses

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 10th, 2017, 10:16 am

Some of the preggers one also, Ive seen a couple of them work almost up to childbirth and they work normal, no excuses, this pipsqueak on her third or fourth child and not even a good two to three months pregnant and already dont want to work. If you dont want to do a strenous job stay in the office work you had

cracker

Postby cracker » September 10th, 2017, 11:03 am

bluefete wrote:
cracker wrote: Whatever excuse they can come with to abandon their job. . When they are pennialised it's always "it's my children first" or some other excuse.

If you are going with the comments from another post, you should liberally use quotation marks so we could understand your point.

I didn't have to since I did not explicitly use the person words, because some of were mine, also the tuner was giving examples of what goes on in his workplace and I know he didn't mean all women just some. In addition I think my point was articulate, concise, and comprehensive anyone with a brain who read it could understand. Except maybe you.

Postby RedVEVO » September 10th, 2017, 11:09 am

cracker wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I didn't have to since I did not explicitly use the person words, because some of were mine, also the tuner was giving examples of what goes on in his workplace and I know he didn't mean all women just some. In addition I think my point was articulate, concise, and comprehensive anyone with a brain who read it could understand. Except maybe you.

So how long you pregnant now ? :D

cracker

Postby cracker » September 10th, 2017, 11:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I made the post and i stand firmly by it...if someone can prove me wrong...all well and good..but my statements are geared toward the younger generation...very rarely you will see older women using children as excuses...I remember one instance where a lady missed her deadline and the excuse " meh child had national test" what the fck that have to do with your deadline...

I hope you realize that in no way I am attacking you, or trying misconstrue what you said. It's an interesting observation and I agree with you. However, I stated previously I know you didn't mean all women are guilty of this.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 10th, 2017, 11:48 am

cracker wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I made the post and i stand firmly by it...if someone can prove me wrong...all well and good..but my statements are geared toward the younger generation...very rarely you will see older women using children as excuses...I remember one instance where a lady missed her deadline and the excuse " meh child had national test" what the fck that have to do with your deadline...

I hope you realize that in no way I am attacking you, or trying misconstrue what you said. It's an interesting observation and I agree with you. However, I stated previously I know you didn't mean all women are guilty of this.

No offense taken bro...harsh reality we work in

Postby The_Honourable » September 10th, 2017, 12:10 pm

Let me recall the post... i still stand by what I said below and i hear "shaked livin wake d dead" comment 100%

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....

reach tuh work late...blame the child
can't meet a deadline...blame the child

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more

I have seen this happen many times at my workplace in different departments. Yes men will state at times that having children "nuh easy" but i have seen many women use their children as an excuse (sympathy card) to come late, leave during work, or leave before the end of their shift to collect their children. Then when they get reprimanded, they more vex than you and say "meh children first", "there need to be more allowances for women", "man does get away with ting", "the manager doh like meh" etc. Whoever want to get emotional and bawl sexism can suck salt.

I had a manager above me who is a single mother and made it her business to be at work before 8am and leave after work hours. Is not often she will bring the child to the workplace, and if she does, she will get permission to do so. She never uses her child as an excuse and works hard.

Ben_spanna is correct. At the end of the day, whether you find a child is a blessing from God, or you want to make one so you can fit socially with family, church, friends and get dem likes on facebook, or even to lockdown the woman or man, children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child. It's not easy to have a worklife and be a parent at the same time but both the male and the female should know this before bringing a child into the world. Plan accordingly and use birth control until you are ready.

Postby matr1x » September 10th, 2017, 12:23 pm

White knight galore in this thread

dboss12

Postby dboss12 » September 10th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Hahah@ water dispenser.....

Women only fight for equality in the workplace for jobs with perceived status and power.
There fight for equality is unequal.
That said i agree with OP

Women in the workplace

Postby MaxPower » September 10th, 2017, 2:59 pm

Hello friends...

This is the problem we having here...its not about the sexes...its about the employers in the workplace.

Management must pay attention to the work habits of all employees...if you have sexual relations with your workers, favoritism etc, it will impact the workplace...

Dont blame the sexes, its normal for them to feel they are entitled to do what they want....its up to the employers to get their people in line.

Also remember u have some males who cannot handle rejection/BLANK and will always think the worst of hard working females...

Postby desifemlove » September 10th, 2017, 3:01 pm

i don't think you're smart enough to know HR matters. I believe you only jus pass UWI, ent?

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2017, 9:09 pm

Children who have Asperger’s syndrome may have difficulty cultivating friendships. They may not connect with their peers due to a lack of social skills. They may find it hard to talk to other children or to participate in group activities.

Straight from the textbook.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » September 10th, 2017, 9:27 pm

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2017, 9:33 pm

rspann wrote:Children who have Asperger’s syndrome may have difficulty cultivating friendships. They may not connect with their peers due to a lack of social skills. They may find it hard to talk to other children or to participate in group activities.

Straight from the textbook.

I see what you did there

Postby MaxPower » September 10th, 2017, 9:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:i don't think you're smart enough to know HR matters. I believe you only jus pass UWI, ent?

Sounds like you were rejected? Yep hadda be.

How did it feel when she laughed at that useless penis? shameful.

Not everyone joined u at UWI btw...how are those unrecognized qualifications u have going?

Damn desiduncey....sucks to be you...small wuk for you for life..lmfao

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 10th, 2017, 9:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Let me recall the post... i still stand by what I said below and i hear "shaked livin wake d dead" comment 100%

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....

reach tuh work late...blame the child
can't meet a deadline...blame the child

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more

I have seen this happen many times at my workplace in different departments. Yes men will state at times that having children "nuh easy" but i have seen many women use their children as an excuse (sympathy card) to come late, leave during work, or leave before the end of their shift to collect their children. Then when they get reprimanded, they more vex than you and say "meh children first", "there need to be more allowances for women", "man does get away with ting", "the manager doh like meh" etc. Whoever want to get emotional and bawl sexism can suck salt.

I had a manager above me who is a single mother and made it her business to be at work before 8am and leave after work hours. Is not often she will bring the child to the workplace, and if she does, she will get permission to do so. She never uses her child as an excuse and works hard.

Ben_spanna is correct. At the end of the day, whether you find a child is a blessing from God, or you want to make one so you can fit socially with family, church, friends and get dem likes on facebook, or even to lockdown the woman or man, children cost money. Cost of living is going up and it is increasingly expensive to take care of a child. It's not easy to have a worklife and be a parent at the same time but both the male and the female should know this before bringing a child into the world. Plan accordingly and use birth control until you are ready.

This is a true statement, although it may not be every woman. Most I encountered use these excuses almost everyday

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 10th, 2017, 10:29 pm

All this talk bout women leaving wuk to take care of the children...
Way d child fadda????

Postby matr1x » September 11th, 2017, 2:20 am

It's about time we talked about the elephant in the room.

No, not Marlene, that's for another day. She still looking for Burke neck.

We talk about sufferers in the workplace, but the true masters of it is women. Most. Most men ain't even realize they getting chain up

So many issues where they want equal pay, but not doing equal work. Most women in accounting departments are professional gold diggers. They know what people making and who to hit on at Christmas party.

Postby The_Honourable » September 11th, 2017, 3:34 am

Men need to treat women the same as another male colleague in the workplace. If a woman asks you to do something, think about what would you do if a male asked you to do the same. If you would do it for both sexes, sure go ahead. If you doing it because is a woman, especially if she is attractive, talk to yuh all nice and flirty with her hand briefly touching your arm, you need to sort out yuhself.

Also... play dumb. You will learn a lot of bs going on in yuh environment plus, less likely to be asked for favors and less trouble.