THE BEST VAN

nick69

Re: THE BEST VAN

Postby nick69 » June 24th, 2017, 10:18 am

Does anyone know if the Mazda bt-50 has any issues like the ford ranger since they share the same platform?

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2017, 1:03 pm

nick69 wrote:Does anyone know if the Mazda bt-50 has any issues like the ford ranger since they share the same platform?

Used an oas bt50 for awhile. It cannot be killed and has power for days.
Plenty people have ford and have no issues.

Seems there is the bad few in the set

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2017, 1:10 pm

nick69 wrote:Does anyone know if the Mazda bt-50 has any issues like the ford ranger since they share the same platform?

my cousin has a brand new bt50 and is having a endless transmission problem with it
where is randomly "kicking"

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 24th, 2017, 7:53 pm

i have the New BT50.. what you mean by "kicking"

also i heard its wise to change the intercooler hose, as it runs down the side of the engine...it gets brittle after a while...so change it out and go hard piping....well thats what i heard

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2017, 9:58 pm

nos_specialist wrote:i have the New BT50.. what you mean by "kicking"

also i heard its wise to change the intercooler hose, as it runs down the side of the engine...it gets brittle after a while...so change it out and go hard piping....well thats what i heard

That new one does run like an animal.
One try to race me a night, I relax at about 180km/h and he was closing in the gap at the end of the highway. Got to give jack his jacket, he performing!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 26th, 2017, 9:02 pm

Boy so far No issues, except Southern sales... but some Obscene language and loud bushcoolie behaviour solved that issue

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 28th, 2017, 8:05 am

My latest truck is the Ford Ranger and I have had zero issues with it to date. The version I have is the 3.2 6fwd. I have always heard about “issues” with these trucks and I think they were solely related to the first batch which came in a long time ago.

These are advanced vehicles and cannot be serviced by your average “mango tree mechanic” and needs to be serviced and updated (ECU) by the firm. Secondly, the technicians that serviced these vans were re-trained on the proper techniques of doing so.

I’m not about to go into the “bess van argument” but simply to say that I would continue with the Ranger line for many years to come.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 28th, 2017, 11:35 am

the WL 3.0 turbo models were awesome, i could see myself with a auto in that.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 29th, 2017, 1:06 pm

Hi guys I have some interesting pickup news/info to share:

1. The GM and Isuzu partnership wrt small pickups (Chevrolet Colorado and Isuzu D-Max) came to an end. Going forward the next Isuzu D-Max will not be based on a GM design.

2. The Ford and Mazda partnerships wrt their small pickups is also at an end. Going forward, it means the Ford Ranger and Mazda BT-50 will no longer be shared platforms and drivetrains.

3. Mazda and Isuzu decided to team up to create an all new pickup. It means, the next Mazda BT-50 will be a twin of the next Isuzu D-Max.

So seeing that SS is the local dealer for Mazda and Isuzu, when that time comes in a couple of years it would be a situation where whichever van is either cheaper or looks better is the one to buy.

4. When FCA through Fiat required a small pickup, they by-passed all other offerings and turned to Mitsubishi to supply them with the L200 Sportero which is to be called the Fiat Fullback. Even though FCA has access to the RAM brand of pickup trucks, they took the easy way out and turned to Mitsubishi for help. At least this is not the first time Mitsubishi had a partnership with Chrysler.

5. Renault (part of the Nissan-Renault Alliance) has their own version of the Nissan NP300 Navara/Frontier called the Renault Alaskan.

6. When Daimler Benz considered entering the small pickup market, they teamed up with Nissan to supply them with the NP300 which will become the basis of the all-new Mercedes Benz X-Class. This is interesting that Daimler would head to the NP300 as opposed to the L200 Sportero because Daimler already owns the majority of Mitsubishi Fuso (the company that makes commercial vehicles like trucks and buses). But, perhaps it was a good move because now that Nissan has a controlling stake in Mitsubishi Motors, there is a possibility in several years to come that the next NP300 Navara/Frontier and L200 Sportero will become one pickup sharing the same chassis and drivetrain.

Interesting times ahead as the market consolidates.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 29th, 2017, 4:22 pm

agent007 wrote:. . . 4. When FCA through Fiat required a small pickup, they by-passed all other offerings and turned to Mitsubishi to supply them with the L200 Sportero which is to be called the Fiat Fullback. Even though FCA has access to the RAM brand of pickup trucks, they took the easy way out and turned to Mitsubishi for help. At least this is not the first time Mitsubishi had a partnership with Chrysler. . .

What compact pickup does Dodge/Chrysler offer? The Dakota was stopped a few years ago. Chrysler no longer produces a compact pickup under any of its brands, so FCA had to look elsewhere and went with a familiar partner.

Looking forward to see the Jeep pickup. I wonder if Lifestyle Motors would import them?

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » July 2nd, 2017, 7:10 pm

Hey guys I am seriously interested in the latest bt-50, can I have some reviews on its reliability and cost to service?

nick69

Postby nick69 » July 4th, 2017, 2:55 pm

I'm curious too about reliability and maintenance of Mazda vans also. Following

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 6th, 2017, 9:43 am

jl6106 wrote:Hey guys I am seriously interested in the latest bt-50, can I have some reviews on its reliability and cost to service?

for the fully loaded price of 250k for the 2.2L it is hard not to be interested.
mazda bt-50.png
mazda bt-50.png (135.59 KiB) Viewed 7183 times

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 6th, 2017, 9:43 am

mitch1980 wrote:
jl6106 wrote:Hey guys I am seriously interested in the latest bt-50, can I have some reviews on its reliability and cost to service?

for the fully loaded price of 245k for the 2.2L it is hard not to be interested.

Postby K74T » July 6th, 2017, 11:53 am

Those BT-50 require Heavy T?

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » July 6th, 2017, 12:06 pm

Yes they do

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » July 6th, 2017, 12:06 pm

Similar weight to the rangers

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 6th, 2017, 2:37 pm

That has to be the best deal out now regarding vans

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » July 6th, 2017, 5:25 pm

Not considering pick ups till they revise the speed laws, which means I probably will never own one lol

whizzard

Postby whizzard » July 6th, 2017, 6:35 pm

greggle71 wrote:Not considering pick ups till they revise the speed laws, which means I probably will never own one lol

I forgot about that

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 28th, 2017, 8:06 am

The speed is really a non issue , if u get used to driving 80 then driving 65 will be fine

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 3rd, 2017, 3:58 pm

Guys, wah about the Mitsubishi L200. TT Auto Guide said is 199K. Looking to get a pickup in a month or two...

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2017, 1:47 am

ADONI wrote:Guys, wah about the Mitsubishi L200. TT Auto Guide said is 199K. Looking to get a pickup in a month or two...

Pickup good...once could live with de looks

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 4th, 2017, 9:33 am

Boi, once it wuking, I could live with that. Ah think I will draw the line at the Wingle and Mahindra doh... :mrgreen:

whizzard

Postby whizzard » August 4th, 2017, 11:42 am

I know ppl with both of those and they find that they working good for the price.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 4th, 2017, 12:17 pm

ADONI wrote:Guys, wah about the Mitsubishi L200. TT Auto Guide said is 199K. Looking to get a pickup in a month or two...

Very good pickup, especially for the price

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » August 17th, 2017, 1:33 pm

Hey guys,
Just collected my new Bt50 on Tuesday so I will give a first impression. Xternal- the styling is really nice and I can't complain. Bought the silver as it blends with the grill and rims nicely. Spray lines tray but not the top edges so I not sure if to spray the rest or get a tray liner. Nice clearance and view of the road. Intend to buy a tray cover so any recommendations will be appreciated.
Internal- honestly to Me, nothing fancy like the others, leather interior controls on steering wheel, small screen on the dash. Hoping to eventually change the head unit and install a double din touch screen. I see this in the Australian market bt50

Will provide update when I have to go in to service or get the free check at 1000km. Stay tuned.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 18th, 2017, 12:51 pm

jl6106 wrote:Hey guys,
Just collected my new Bt50 on Tuesday so I will give a first impression. Xternal- the styling is really nice and I can't complain. Bought the silver as it blends with the grill and rims nicely. Spray lines tray but not the top edges so I not sure if to spray the rest or get a tray liner. Nice clearance and view of the road. Intend to buy a tray cover so any recommendations will be appreciated.
Internal- honestly to Me, nothing fancy like the others, leather interior controls on steering wheel, small screen on the dash. Hoping to eventually change the head unit and install a double din touch screen. I see this in the Australian market bt50

Will provide update when I have to go in to service or get the free check at 1000km. Stay tuned.

enjoy ....be safe

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2017, 9:53 am

update to what i posted earlier about my padna getting headache with his new bt50 and transmission issues

AC does stop working now and then randomly

yesterday this light come on in the vehicle

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 30th, 2017, 12:37 pm

Did your friend get the issue sorted out found out what was causing hours problem/s