T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Joshie23

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Joshie23 » July 20th, 2017, 7:48 pm

drchaos wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:But still tho...tttl is some rel criminals

165 dollaz for a facking thailand made oil filter?

That same filter selling for 80 dollars elsewhere

Daz all dealerships dred.

Massy was charging me $450 VAT exclusive iirc, for a sensor..I got the same sensor in Southern Sales for $275 VAT inclusive, so they're not terrible all the time and this is not the first time I've noticed a huge difference in prices from Massy vs SSL for parts that are shared between the Korean twins.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 20th, 2017, 7:51 pm

SS was actually cheaper than Massy for your sensor? Which one of the "ktwins" do you have joshie and what sensor was it?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » July 20th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Same experience here needed to change an oil unit IIRC it was about $150 in SS and $250 in Massy. Vehicle is a Sportage.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 20th, 2017, 9:00 pm

agent007 wrote:SS was actually cheaper than Massy for your sensor? Which one of the "ktwins" do you have joshie and what sensor was it?

I think pencil coils as well

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 20th, 2017, 9:18 pm

I get oil filters for the Jetta at SS. When Massy was selling the exact same part for 140 5 years ago I was getting it at SS for 95. Prices fluctuate between 95-120 nowadays but still cheaper than at Massy. Why? I don't know. Cheaper even than ERM.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 20th, 2017, 9:20 pm

agent007 wrote:car, you sure the regular Juke can take super? check this:
source: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=211575&start=30

basically:
QG13DE - super
HR15DE - super
QG16DE - super
HR16DE - premium
MR16DDT - premium
QR20DE - super
MR20DE - super
VQ20DE - super
VQ23DE - super
QR25DE - premium
VQ35DE - premium
VQ37VHR - premium

Massy did not mention these so I'm not sure what is the correct fuel for them:
HR12DE
GA14DE
GA16DE
SR20DE
VQ30DE

Hope Subaru buyers take note... The amount of subarus I have seen coming in for service by Massy reporting poor acceleration and loss in power.. And the mechs say alot have severe knock sensor readings (dunno what it suppose to mean, I just maco while I'm there)

Also point to note 2 wrx I've seen with pdm plates in the last month have their engines gutted ...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 20th, 2017, 9:21 pm

A33_VQ35 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Juke still ugly af.

Lol, wait till a Turbo juke run up on u...

I'm not stock and a juke is heavier. They are fast though but b14 with sr20 fast too. Nissan could keep that ugly juke. Turbo or not. Must not reward blatant mediocrity with sales.

car

Postby car » July 20th, 2017, 9:29 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
agent007 wrote:car, you sure the regular Juke can take super? check this:
source: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=211575&start=30

basically:
QG13DE - super
HR15DE - super
QG16DE - super
HR16DE - premium
MR16DDT - premium
QR20DE - super
MR20DE - super
VQ20DE - super
VQ23DE - super
QR25DE - premium
VQ35DE - premium
VQ37VHR - premium

Massy did not mention these so I'm not sure what is the correct fuel for them:
HR12DE
GA14DE
GA16DE
SR20DE
VQ30DE

Hope Subaru buyers take note... The amount of subarus I have seen coming in for service by Massy reporting poor acceleration and loss in power.. And the mechs say alot have severe knock sensor readings (dunno what it suppose to mean, I just maco while I'm there)

Also point to note 2 wrx I've seen with pdm plates in the last month have their engines gutted ...

Knock sensor issuses usually has to do with not using the higher octane fuel. The amount of men I know buying Subaru and too cheap to run super.
I cya afford premium and that is why I wouldn't buy a vehicle that requires it.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 20th, 2017, 9:35 pm

I just checked out the tare weight in kg for both Jetta and Juke and they are both rated at 1335 and 1300 respectively. Yours being the 118KW (158hp) TSI version with DSG and the Juke at 140KW (188hp) with 6MT. I still don't think the Juke would "run up on you" whether you were stock or not. I'm pretty sure our heavy Passat TSI will destroy a Juke.

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » July 20th, 2017, 9:42 pm

agent007 wrote:I just checked out the tare weight in kg for both Jetta and Juke and they are both rated at 1335 and 1300 respectively. Yours being the 118KW (158hp) TSI version with DSG and the Juke at 140KW (188hp) with 6MT. I still don't think the Juke would "run up on you" whether you were stock or not. I'm pretty sure our heavy Passat TSI will destroy a Juke.

Run dem run dem run dem, let a Drag Race take place

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 20th, 2017, 9:49 pm

Juke 1.6T manual 0 to 62 in 7.8 seconds.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 20th, 2017, 9:51 pm

That running up on stock jettas and worse yet 1.8t Passats with the quickness but then again would you really care? It's like a first gen yaris getting excellent fuel economy. Do you really care?

nick639v2

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby nick639v2 » July 20th, 2017, 10:01 pm

For discussion

Right now what SUVs offer manual and 4x4???

Or even auto transmission with a locking diff??

Postby *KRONIK* » July 20th, 2017, 10:38 pm

nick639v2 wrote:For discussion

Right now what SUVs offer manual and 4x4???

Or even auto transmission with a locking diff??

For a manual
You may have to look at a 79series land cruiser

As for auto with diff lock...maybe the 3.2 everest since its based on the ranger platform and those come with e lockerz
or high spec land cruiser

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 21st, 2017, 3:06 am

Pirate wrote:Same experience here needed to change an oil unit IIRC it was about $150 in SS and $250 in Massy. Vehicle is a Sportage.

At least yours came from SS, mine is a Tucson and it was the diesel filter water sensor, agent007. I've realized that Massy is ridiculous with it more often than not and which so much competition, why? I was telling my wife, I believe they still thrive because to some Trinis, exorbitant prices must equal better quality. While this does hold some truth, it obviously can't apply to identical, original parts and with [customer] service being equally sh_tty from both companies, I'll obviously go where my dollar has a further reach.
NB-Not to contradict myself though and I'm in no way an agent for SS, but Ronnie from the Parts Department was very helpful. The south branch was out of stock so he ordered down the last one from PoS for me and we've never met - request, part number search, etc..he took all the info over the phone and a week later I had my part in my hand. 754-0790 is his number if you guys would like to try for yourselves; just sharing a good customer service experience.

MrSennin wrote:Run dem run dem run dem, let a Drag Race take place

Ghee. Dem. Fiyahz.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 21st, 2017, 5:49 am

Noted joshie, Good info posted, thanks. Dealerships are making huge profits and we know why. Thing is for some dealerships there are five revenue generating business units which are:
1. New vehicle sales
2. Service
3. Parts
4. Used vehicle sales
5. Lease and rentals

We have an alarming FOREX issue in this country and dealerships are not left out in terms of suffering, some more than others. The business model for some is to push new vehicles with incentives so that they can make more money through service and parts. You need FOREX especially for those top three business units. Some dealers not getting the opportunity to stock parts apart from the items that you would need to service your car like fluids and filters etc. some dealers don't have enough warehouse capacity so they stock high turnover stuff hence the reason why some people complain that you have to wait long periods for special orders. Lastly, some dealers are just naturally negligent to run their business efficiently to promote good customer service and after sale service/support. We should keep building awareness like we're doing now so that fellow users would be guided accordingly. For those who want Chevrolet and Mitsubishi pricing, check the individual manufacturers subsection of this forum and see for yourself what I posted up (I will be adding more brands as we go along) and will leave you to form your own opinions on same.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 21st, 2017, 6:45 am

In case anyone wanted to know, doing 10k + on the baleno and have not had any major issue thus far. Only thing to note was the oil drain plus that seemed to be leaking after second service when I brought it home. Went back the next day and LSM and the rectified the issue and apologized profusely.

Going for third service shortly, will update my experience

Postby Dizzy28 » July 21st, 2017, 9:29 am

agent007 wrote:Noted joshie, Good info posted, thanks. Dealerships are making huge profits and we know why. Thing is for some dealerships there are five revenue generating business units which are:
1. New vehicle sales
2. Service
3. Parts
4. Used vehicle sales
5. Lease and rentals

As we on Massy and their costs, I am really in shock by the service costs. I came from Ansa before so these Massy's prices have really been an eye opener.
I did my 20,000kms service on the Tucson last month. My four services thus far have cost me
5,000kms - $1300
10,000kms - $1,739
15,000kms - $1,325
20,000kms - $2,450

Apart from oil, oil filter, air filter (once) no other parts have been changed.

On Hyundai Forums I am also yet to see any country that has 5,000km intervals as Massy recommends.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Did anyone check out the Elantra limited at Massy Morvant

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 21st, 2017, 9:32 am

Don't check forums. Check the manufacturer's actual dealer software. Forums only show so much and without context.

Also if only those parts were changed are you saying the air filter is $700+ by itself?

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 21st, 2017, 9:34 am

Our Hyundai vehicle at the 5,000km service cost just under $1,800. Simply to change oil, oil filter and alignment. This was at a Massy Quik Service Center though. IIRC, the labour figure was $577. + vat alone.

It should be noted, Massy people have been saying you must service your vehicle every 5,000kms or 3 months whichever one comes first. So if you drive your vehicle from the service dept and park up the said vehicle at home and say you're flying out for a period of 3 months, when you return your vehicle at 5,100kms would need to do a 10,000kms service. LOL. We all know most motor oils especially synthetic can drain on longer intervals, some up to 25,000kms! Southern Sales on the other hand recommends service at 7,500kms and Hyundai/Kia share the same Hyundai branded engines.
Last edited by agent007 on July 21st, 2017, 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 21st, 2017, 9:36 am

Alignment after 5000km?

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 21st, 2017, 9:45 am

Yes the alignment was done at approx 5,136kms or month 5 of ownership and they got it wrong. Now the 10,000kms service is due soon but this time I booked it at the main service center (Morvant) and I will ask them to correct the alignment then. There is another Hyundai vehicle we have which is now 13 months old at 5500kms and it already did the 10,000kms service and they screwed up the alignment on that as well because in both instances it was not required in the first place and they charged us for it but we did not make it an issue then. My Uncle corrected it himself when he got home. Anyhow, we won't be patronizing any of those Quik Service Centers anytime soon as we learnt our lesson. All services for our Hyundai's and Nissan will be at the main shop in Morvant where the senior and experienced technicians work.

NB. We trying very hard like most people to ensure our vehicles are covered under warranty. Failure to miss a service amongst many other stuff can void warranty and all these dealers are quick to point out a customer related fault simply to void warranty so we are trying really hard to maintain full compliance on the fleet. Dealers can hold you by the "nuts" because of this warranty adherence programme.

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » July 21st, 2017, 11:03 am

pablo_tt wrote:In case anyone wanted to know, doing 10k + on the baleno and have not had any major issue thus far. Only thing to note was the oil drain plus that seemed to be leaking after second service when I brought it home. Went back the next day and LSM and the rectified the issue and apologized profusely.

How you find your rear shocks perform Pablo? I have mine doing 6500 and I find I am feeling every bump in the road. Really looking at changing them. How much did your 10k service cost and what did they do/change?

car

Postby car » July 21st, 2017, 11:08 am

jumpkickjoe wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:In case anyone wanted to know, doing 10k + on the baleno and have not had any major issue thus far. Only thing to note was the oil drain plus that seemed to be leaking after second service when I brought it home. Went back the next day and LSM and the rectified the issue and apologized profusely.

How you find your rear shocks perform Pablo? I have mine doing 6500 and I find I am feeling every bump in the road. Really looking at changing them. How much did your 10k service cost and what did they do/change?

Changing shocks so soon in a new car? Something have to be wrong there. Take it back.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 21st, 2017, 11:13 am

agent007 wrote:Noted joshie, Good info posted, thanks. Dealerships are making huge profits and we know why. Thing is for some dealerships there are five revenue generating business units which are:
1. New vehicle sales
2. Service
3. Parts
4. Used vehicle sales
5. Lease and rentals

As we on Massy and their costs, I am really in shock by the service costs. I came from Ansa before so these Massy's prices have really been an eye opener.
I did my 20,000kms service on the Tucson last month. My four services thus far have cost me
5,000kms - $1300
10,000kms - $1,739
15,000kms - $1,325
20,000kms - $2,450

Apart from oil, oil filter, air filter (once) no other parts have been changed.

On Hyundai Forums I am also yet to see any country that has 5,000km intervals as Massy recommends.

I feel massey does that so they will make more money. No need in this day n age to change oil every 5000K because if u do North South runs, that will come quickly.
Last edited by A33_VQ35 on July 21st, 2017, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 21st, 2017, 11:15 am

agent007 wrote:Yes the alignment was done at approx 5,136kms or month 5 of ownership and they got it wrong. Now the 10,000kms service is due soon but this time I booked it at the main service center (Morvant) and I will ask them to correct the alignment then. There is another Hyundai vehicle we have which is now 13 months old at 5500kms and it already did the 10,000kms service and they screwed up the alignment on that as well because in both instances it was not required in the first place and they charged us for it but we did not make it an issue then. My Uncle corrected it himself when he got home. Anyhow, we won't be patronizing any of those Quik Service Centers anytime soon as we learnt our lesson. All services for our Hyundai's and Nissan will be at the main shop in Morvant where the senior and experienced technicians work.

NB. We trying very hard like most people to ensure our vehicles are covered under warranty. Failure to miss a service amongst many other stuff can void warranty and all these dealers are quick to point out a customer related fault simply to void warranty so we are trying really hard to maintain full compliance on the fleet. Dealers can hold you by the "nuts" because of this warranty adherence programme.

Not saying to cuss up a dealer but don't let a dealer intimidate you. Ask the manufacturer questions directly rather than just the dealer. Know that dealers are there to make money on you most times so take advice on minor components with a grain of salt. Service major components and see about minor ones yourself I'd possible. They won't void transmission warranty because you didn't do alignment for example.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 21st, 2017, 11:48 am

agent007 wrote:Anyhow, we won't be patronizing any of those Quik Service Centers anytime soon as we learnt our lesson. All services for our Hyundai's and Nissan will be at the main shop in Morvant where the senior and experienced technicians work.

Have you ever been to the service center in Diego Martin on Majuba Cross Rd, I've had nothing but good service there servicing my wife's tucson. They even have a rim repair guy on the compound as well.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 21st, 2017, 11:59 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Don't check forums. Check the manufacturer's actual dealer software. Forums only show so much and without context.

Also if only those parts were changed are you saying the air filter is $700+ by itself?

The billed cost for the air filter is 217 vat ex.
Its the Labour cost that varies significantly each time.

Postby Kenjo » July 21st, 2017, 12:17 pm

The main advantage of the outside service centres for massy is that they are fast when it's a straight forward service. Prices I have to query if they are standardized because I had once or more before massy doing a survey and asking how the prices were which I assumed would be the same as at the main branches