Job help for recent graduate

Drea

Job help for recent graduate

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 11:43 am

I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....

Trying to help out a young friend who just finished his degree at UWI, where or what type of jobs would be available for to him as he completed his degree in Geomatics engineering (spatial analysis) and also land management. I provided him with some internships that I saw but would like maybe specific companies that he can apply to directly in this field.

Monkey Man

Re: Job help for recent graduate

Postby Monkey Man » July 6th, 2017, 11:53 am

...Packing grocery shelf. Totally serious this time around.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 12:00 pm

Monkey Man wrote:...Packing grocery shelf. Totally serious this time around.

Thanks banana man... waiting for other suggestions.

Postby 88sins » July 6th, 2017, 12:12 pm

Tell your friend that he should check out the gas stations and security firms, they usually hire often.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » July 6th, 2017, 12:16 pm

Drea wrote:I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....

Trying to help out a young friend who just finished his degree at UWI, where or what type of jobs would be available for to him as he completed his degree in Geomatics engineering (spatial analysis) and also land management. I provided him with some internships that I saw but would like maybe specific companies that he can apply to directly in this field.

link me up tooo na OP

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 6th, 2017, 12:35 pm

carribbeanjobs.com or uwi has a job drive sometimes let him check with the head of his department companies normally call heads for trainees

Postby MaxPower » July 6th, 2017, 1:02 pm

O Opindra,

Alot of tuners here feel that employers MUST hire them based on them having a "UWI degree". Honestly most people dont care and one should not seek recognition or demand employment.

Unfortunately, it is what it is, tell your bud dont get their hopes up, be prepared to start small, be prepared to take instructions from someone who is less qualified. Use all possible contacts to get the job.

I wish them all the best and stay focused.

"The guys that last in this business, are the guys who fly straight. Low-key, quiet. But the guys who want it all, chicas, champagne, flash... they don't last" - Frank Lopez

Drea

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 1:12 pm

10-01 wrote:carribbeanjobs.com or uwi has a job drive sometimes let him check with the head of his department companies normally call heads for trainees

Thanks will let him do this....

MaxPower wrote:O Opindra,

Alot of tuners here feel that employers MUST hire them based on them having a "UWI degree". Honestly most people dont care and one should not seek recognition or demand employment.

Unfortunately, it is what it is, tell your bud dont get their hopes up, be prepared to start small, be prepared to take instructions from someone who is less qualified. Use all possible contacts to get the job.

I wish them all the best and stay focused.

"The guys that last in this business, are the guys who fly straight. Low-key, quiet. But the guys who want it all, chicas, champagne, flash... they don't last" - Frank Lopez

Not sure what you are inferring by this, how is asking for info demanding employment/ seeking recognition? He is currently job searching and while he may start off in an unrelated field it isn't unrealistic to still search and try to get a foot in the door of the area you chose to study. You yourself said "Use all possible contacts to get the job" which is what I'm helping him do.

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2017, 2:35 pm

Pics of applicant

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 6th, 2017, 3:03 pm

reality of job hunting in Trinidad : it's not about who you know, it's who knows you....(daz if yuh want ah big wuk) or

recently men start OJT, realize is failure and then end up within MNS as police, army, ttcg etc etc

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » July 6th, 2017, 3:09 pm

You can check a few of these companies, if not so already:
L&S surveying
Voltech
AIMS might be an option as well.
I know a few guys got thru with Petrotrin as well as part of the trainee program

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 6th, 2017, 3:37 pm

Also don't rule out the possibility of the OJT programme once it's still active.
It's a decent start and can be a placeholder job for the next 2 years while the search continues. They may also get some good organizational experience of working in the real world. It's a culture shock for a good bit of them.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 3:49 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:You can check a few of these companies, if not so already:
L&S surveying
Voltech
AIMS might be an option as well.
I know a few guys got thru with Petrotrin as well as part of the trainee program

Thanks! I'm not familiar with businesses in this field so just wanted a general idea of company's to keep an eye out for. I suggested the Nestle needs youth program to him also, might not be the same type of engineering but experience is experience.

VexXx Dogg wrote:Also don't rule out the possibility of the OJT programme once it's still active.
It's a decent start and can be a placeholder job for the next 2 years while the search continues. They may also get some good organizational experience of working in the real world. It's a culture shock for a good bit of them.

I would hope he already signed up with OJT although not too sure what is happening with them at the moment. He had some work experience already did some vacation work with Carib and at Mass wood group during Jul/Aug over the past years.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 3:49 pm

kavaninho wrote:

link me up tooo na OP

With? Info....

Postby matr1x » July 6th, 2017, 4:28 pm

If it is a hot girl...become arm candy

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » July 6th, 2017, 5:07 pm

He could become a gang leader atleast he would be an educated one then go visit Marlene she go give him a job even get him to meet el presidente

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 6th, 2017, 5:09 pm

Dafuq is a degree in Geomatics engineering?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 6th, 2017, 7:49 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Dafuq is a degree in Geomatics engineering?

google is free jus like tuner ..... use it

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » July 6th, 2017, 10:38 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Dafuq is a degree in Geomatics engineering?

UWI dragged in Geomatics under the engineering faculty in the recent past.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » July 6th, 2017, 11:07 pm

Just goes to show another one join the educated eat ah food crowd. You wait till yuh graduated to look for ah job? Have he/she ever heard of UWI's world of work, etc?

Come on graduates, that's why the country spent billions to train a lot of you so you can be the future. At this rate, I say cut out GATE, BUILD A WALL BETWEEN THE TREASURY AND TERTIARY INSTITUTION and make education great again and you go see how they act will fall into place ..............

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 7th, 2017, 12:51 am

The inability of the young and qualified to get a job isn't really the fault of the young, they just did what they were told by the adults, they thought they were doing the "right thing", and for most of the time they were right, it did make the more employable, however we see now much of that was based on the "boom money" not really a true value for the skill and talent of a tertiary educated person.

The problem is that this generation got caught in the flux and sad to say they on the losing end, this means that greater emphasis has to be placed on guiding young folks on proper career choices and placement, in this instance they shouldn't listen to their parents, as in most cases their parents are not suitably skilled to offer advice that is relevant to the current job market, 1) the job market of yesteryear is gone and 2) they (the parents) are still too concerned with money as the be all end all....well this mentality did pervade all of the society...

Kids now have to make their own choices, the problem is that they are in effect graduating in a bust so with or without and education job placement is difficult. The access to opportunities are limited regardless of qualification.

Now we must also address the area you are qualified in, geomatics I assume is associated with the field of geology and dealing with the earth's surface, the primary industry for this skill set is the oil and gas sector in Trinidad and Tobago....so it goes without saying....Good Luck....All the major oil and gas employers are laying off, or only hiring or relocating Trinbagonians from abroad, guys with experience, so in that case the market is a bit saturated again hard for a young graduate to compete with someone with experience. Now can this field be exported to possibly surveying and civil engineering, you could try to get in with that and apply to a construction company????

Now can you convince a company of the value of your unique skillset, and hope they can match your skillset well that is up to you, at this point put salary expectations out of your mind, be grateful for experience. Again be warned the local industry isn't really set up take full advantage of persons with tertiary level qualifications, the majority of the employers that really do the sophisticated work that demands that level are foreign multi-nationals, don't get me wrong there are locals but like I say few and far between. The locals that do really employ at the tertiary level are Government run companies...another story by themselves.....

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 4:01 am

Complete BS commentary .

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 4:11 am

Geomatics engineers manage local, regional, national and global spatial data infrastructures.

Geomatics Engineering also involves aspects of Computer Engineering, Software Engineering and Civil Engineering.

Look into GIS. It is an excellent field .

Apply to BP Training Program.

http://www.bp.com/en/global/bp-careers/ ... uates.html

OP, FYI - UWI Engineers are able to get extremely well paid jobs (US$) in international companies
in Dubai and Saudi Arabia . If the person is willing to work outside of TT - the sky is the limit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2017, 6:16 am

because you graduate with a degree in engineering does not make you an engineer.......my brother had to do a state exam in Miami for him to be recognized and registered as an engineer and it was the only way he could start to practice.

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2017, 6:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:because you graduate with a degree in engineering does not make you an engineer.......my brother had to do a state exam in Miami for him to be recognized and registered as an engineer and it was the only way he could start to practice.

This is why ppl need to think carefully when choosing trin to a degree. Trini degrees may get you a job regional but internationally will leave question marks.

Best advice for the guy is teaching untill he picks up something

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 7th, 2017, 8:49 am

dude2014 wrote:Just goes to show another one join the educated eat ah food crowd. You wait till yuh graduated to look for ah job? Have he/she ever heard of UWI's world of work, etc?

yuh mean world of waste of time. :?

lets be honest in the work environment, hard work and honesty dont pay off in trinidad. People who take short cuts and that are lazay will always pass you in life. So make sure people know u and like u or u have something that can benefit them. cuz that how things get done here.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 7th, 2017, 9:20 am

dude2014 wrote:Just goes to show another one join the educated eat ah food crowd. You wait till yuh graduated to look for ah job? Have he/she ever heard of UWI's world of work, etc?

Come on graduates, that's why the country spent billions to train a lot of you so you can be the future. At this rate, I say cut out GATE, BUILD A WALL BETWEEN THE TREASURY AND TERTIARY INSTITUTION and make education great again and you go see how they act will fall into place ..............

ASSumptions will get you nowhere....

World of work like someone mentioned before is quite a waste of time and the persons did attend. Most companies that show up do so to make a good CSR show but hardly ever hire.

The level of negativity in some responses :roll:

Drea

Postby Drea » July 7th, 2017, 9:22 am

RedVEVO wrote:Geomatics engineers manage local, regional, national and global spatial data infrastructures.

Geomatics Engineering also involves aspects of Computer Engineering, Software Engineering and Civil Engineering.

Look into GIS. It is an excellent field .

Apply to BP Training Program.

http://www.bp.com/en/global/bp-careers/ ... uates.html

OP, FYI - UWI Engineers are able to get extremely well paid jobs (US$) in international companies
in Dubai and Saudi Arabia . If the person is willing to work outside of TT - the sky is the limit.

Thank you will pass on your suggestions

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 8th, 2017, 6:52 am

If yuh yung fren parents voted PNM in 2015 he hadda thank dem and let them as the mp for help tuh get ah wuk, probably on a state board. Before 2015 ah sure he cuda get ah wuk as the head of some covert agency with that uwi degree. I hav a padna with a masters which he got after degree stright from cxc and is about 5 years and he cyah get ah wuk in he masters field and he buy a kia 2700 van an wuking transport delivering juice to shops. AH degree is ah waste ah time.

Postby RedVEVO » July 8th, 2017, 6:57 am

screwbash wrote:

If yuh yung fren parents voted PNM in 2015 he hadda thank dem and let them as the mp for help tuh get ah wuk, probably on a state board. Before 2015 ah sure he cuda get ah wuk as the head of some covert agency with that uwi degree. I hav a padna with a masters which he got after degree stright from cxc and is about 5 years and he cyah get ah wuk in he masters field and he buy a kia 2700 van an wuking transport delivering juice to shops. AH degree is ah waste ah time.

A product of PNM's education at it's very best today - in black and white :D