Monkey Man wrote:...Packing grocery shelf. Totally serious this time around.
Drea wrote:I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....
Trying to help out a young friend who just finished his degree at UWI, where or what type of jobs would be available for to him as he completed his degree in Geomatics engineering (spatial analysis) and also land management. I provided him with some internships that I saw but would like maybe specific companies that he can apply to directly in this field.
10-01 wrote:carribbeanjobs.com or uwi has a job drive sometimes let him check with the head of his department companies normally call heads for trainees
MaxPower wrote:O Opindra,
Alot of tuners here feel that employers MUST hire them based on them having a "UWI degree". Honestly most people dont care and one should not seek recognition or demand employment.
Unfortunately, it is what it is, tell your bud dont get their hopes up, be prepared to start small, be prepared to take instructions from someone who is less qualified. Use all possible contacts to get the job.
I wish them all the best and stay focused.
"The guys that last in this business, are the guys who fly straight. Low-key, quiet. But the guys who want it all, chicas, champagne, flash... they don't last" - Frank Lopez
lalloboy101 wrote:You can check a few of these companies, if not so already:
L&S surveying
Voltech
AIMS might be an option as well.
I know a few guys got thru with Petrotrin as well as part of the trainee program
VexXx Dogg wrote:Also don't rule out the possibility of the OJT programme once it's still active.
It's a decent start and can be a placeholder job for the next 2 years while the search continues. They may also get some good organizational experience of working in the real world. It's a culture shock for a good bit of them.
kavaninho wrote:
link me up tooo na OP
Strugglerzinc wrote:Dafuq is a degree in Geomatics engineering?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:because you graduate with a degree in engineering does not make you an engineer.......my brother had to do a state exam in Miami for him to be recognized and registered as an engineer and it was the only way he could start to practice.
dude2014 wrote:Just goes to show another one join the educated eat ah food crowd. You wait till yuh graduated to look for ah job? Have he/she ever heard of UWI's world of work, etc?
Come on graduates, that's why the country spent billions to train a lot of you so you can be the future. At this rate, I say cut out GATE, BUILD A WALL BETWEEN THE TREASURY AND TERTIARY INSTITUTION and make education great again and you go see how they act will fall into place ..............
RedVEVO wrote:Geomatics engineers manage local, regional, national and global spatial data infrastructures.
Geomatics Engineering also involves aspects of Computer Engineering, Software Engineering and Civil Engineering.
Look into GIS. It is an excellent field .
Apply to BP Training Program.
http://www.bp.com/en/global/bp-careers/ ... uates.html
OP, FYI - UWI Engineers are able to get extremely well paid jobs (US$) in international companies
in Dubai and Saudi Arabia . If the person is willing to work outside of TT - the sky is the limit.
Drea wrote:I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....
Trying to help out a young friend who just finished his degree at UWI, where or what type of jobs would be available for to him as he completed his degree in Geomatics engineering (spatial analysis) and also land management. I provided him with some internships that I saw but would like maybe specific companies that he can apply to directly in this field.
screwbash wrote:Drea wrote:I know tuner is filled with persons of many talent....
If yuh yung fren parents voted PNM in 2015 he hadda thank dem and let them as the mp for help tuh get ah wuk, probably on a state board. Before 2015 ah sure he cuda get ah wuk as the head of some covert agency with that uwi degree. I hav a padna with a masters which he got after degree stright from cxc and is about 5 years and he cyah get ah wuk in he masters field and he buy a kia 2700 van an wuking transport delivering juice to shops. AH degree is ah waste ah time.