10-01

Cedric “Burkie” Burke Admits he got HDC contract under PNM

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 8:09 am

Burke 2.jpg
Burke 2.jpg (93.24 KiB) Viewed 6906 times

Sea Lots community leader Cedric “Burkie” Burke yesterday admitted his company - Burke and Company Ltd - has obtained a Housing Development Corporation (HDC) contract at Woodstar Avenue, Bon Air South, under the People’s National Movement Government.

Burke, who was detained in the 2011 state of emergency, charged as being a gang leader and later freed, said he also received several contracts under the then People’s Partnership regime.

“I have never gotten a contract from anybody. I am part of a company. I have two companies ... my companies tender for contracts under all administrations. It does not matter under PNM or who. I work with each and any government that is there. Some contracts we get, some we don’t,” said Burke, whose uninvited attendance to Marlene McDonald’s swearing-in at President’s House last week ultimately led to her latest firing by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on Sunday.

Burke said he has been operating his businesses legitimately for the past ten years and pays taxes, but could not say how many contracts he had been awarded over the years.

“No I can’t because I did a lot of work. We not only going to Manning and Rowley administration. I did a lot of work under the PP Government in its five years as well.”

Asked what were some of the contracts he was awarded, Burke said to reveal this was not necessary.

“I complete them. I being paid for them, so I don’t think that is part of anything. When the time comes that will be easy to clarify.”

He said to tender for a contract his companies had to go through certain procedures.

“There are certain documents you have to submit, so don’t think for a moment that you could get a contract without submitting these things.”

Asked if Burke and Company Ltd was awarded an HDC contract for the East-based housing project, which is currently under construction, Burke said “yes.” He said his company was one of several contractors involved in the project, but did not specify exactly what were their job specifications and the payment attached.

Last September, Housing Minister Randall Mitchell turned the sod for construction of 60 town houses on five parcels of land in Arouca, which was projected to cost $48 million. At that time, Mitchell said contractors for the project had been evaluated and the HDC would announce the successful contractors.

Yesterday, when told Burke claimed he was one of the contractors involved on the project, Mitchell said he was not aware and advised HDC managing director Brent Lyons be contacted.

Addressing the issue in a text message last night, Lyons confirmed Burke’s company is one of four firms on the Bon Air South housing project.

The company won a competitive tender for one of four packages tendered,” Lyons wrote.

Lyons could not say when the contract was issued, the scope of works or the value of the contract, but promised to provide the info today.

Yesterday, Burke said while his business was now being roped into the brouhaha, he never approached McDonald for a contract while she served as housing minister. He said he had also not spoken to her since she was fired.

“But she knows my support is there.

As much as the country stating that she was fired because of me, I think she knows what would have really transpired. She knew I had good intentions. I went to support Miss McDonald. That was all it had to it.”

Blaming social media for blowing things out of proportion, Burke said “this pressure is nothing new to me. My children are the ones who paying the price for it now. At the end of the day I teach them to be strong in the face of adversity. All those who saying this and that... let them produce the evidence and go to the police. I don’t understand how I was this big threat to President Carmona. I am yet to see evidence to support that. The last time I check my name was not Bin Laden, nor am I part of Isis.”

look how files jus spilling ...........

Re: Cedric “Burkie” Burke Admits he got HDC contract under PNM

Postby Ben_spanna » July 5th, 2017, 8:17 am

Burke and company is Registered with the Trinidad and Tobago CONTRACTORS association?

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2017, 8:24 am

This is nothing new.

Awaits Redman to defend this bullchit

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 8:35 am

“The company won a competitive tender for one of four packages tendered,” Lyons wrote

so burkes went up against those big contractors and won this competitive contract via wat criteria ?

"60 town houses on five parcels of land in Arouca, which was projected to cost $48 million"

so if 4 packages was tendered lets jus say divide the 48 M by 4 ...... so burkes have a 12 m contract ?

being a community leader pays off welll i must say ........

Daran

Postby Daran » July 5th, 2017, 8:44 am

10-01 wrote:“The company won a competitive tender for one of four packages tendered,” Lyons wrote

so burkes went up against those big contractors and won this competitive contract via wat criteria ?

"60 town houses on five parcels of land in Arouca, which was projected to cost $48 million"

so if 4 packages was tendered lets jus say divide the 48 M by 4 ...... so burkes have a 12 m contract ?

Ah the famous "competitive" tendering - where each contractor is told by the tender assessment committee how much to bid beforehand. Therefore, you have 10 projects, everybody gets a piece.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » July 5th, 2017, 8:47 am

I wonder why the heading didn't state he got contracts under both PNM and PP? If something is wrong with one giving him, then both erred and vice versa. Also if he was freed, what exactly is the issue, isn't he innocent until proved guilty? If Rowley as a member of the NSC saw evidence that warranted a firing, why aren't they using the information to arrears convict?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 8:52 am

whizzard wrote:I wonder why the heading didn't state he got contracts under both PNM and PP?

they pointing fingers at PNM only as our PM said contracts will be awarded properly and no bid rigging will take place i guess he didn't expect this can of worms , and this contract was awarded to him wat less than 5 mths ago :!:

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 5th, 2017, 9:00 am

Wasn't this guy jack Warner good friend...

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 5th, 2017, 9:07 am

YEA PAL.

LIKE I AM GONNA TAKE HIS WORD FOR IT.

...He seems like such a trustworthy chap.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2017, 9:12 am

How much Burkie does get for shaking down businesses in Sea Lots for "Protection"?
That's probably more lucrative than any HDC contract as there are no overheads, no taxes - just pure profit.

Postby 16 cycles » July 5th, 2017, 9:39 am

in some instances, its done by having resident(s) on the pay role but they don't actually show up ...ever ...but collect the salary....

Postby Ben_spanna » July 5th, 2017, 9:49 am

Remember- its Not the Lowest Tender that is awarded the job!

Daran wrote:
10-01 wrote:“The company won a competitive tender for one of four packages tendered,” Lyons wrote

Ah the famous "competitive" tendering - where each contractor is told by the tender assessment committee how much to bid beforehand. Therefore, you have 10 projects, everybody gets a piece.

Postby Redman » July 5th, 2017, 9:50 am

zoom rader wrote:This is nothing new.

Keep waiting-apparently his contracts under the PP eh bother ing you..

keep up with your butthurt Larry

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 10:00 am

Redman wrote:

but on another note we talking PNM here and we taking the PM word of NO bid-rigging or underhand contracts being awarded thats wat the PM said ... yet contracts being awarded to community leaders ........ so are we as a people to believe our PM ... and is the same sheit that was happening when PP was in power happening now ... ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 5th, 2017, 10:40 am

Focus on the real issue here, this man have no neck?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2017, 10:42 am

buh allyuh doing like gang leaders now start getting contracts...this sheit going on years now, it just happen to come out on the press

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 5th, 2017, 11:05 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Focus on the real issue here, this man have no neck?

I hear ah padna say it was lost after he stuck it out for the PNM...Hear that Redman...

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2017, 12:02 pm

10-01 wrote:
Redman wrote:

but on another note we talking PNM here and we taking the PM word of NO bid-rigging or underhand contracts being awarded thats wat the PM said ... yet contracts being awarded to community leaders ........ so are we as a people to believe our PM ... and is the same sheit that was happening when PP was in power happening now ... ?

Redman duh seem to understand that PNM running the should show and they should set an example and refrain from jobs for the boys.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 5th, 2017, 12:09 pm

redman singing

"You ah meh Burkieeeeee
Me no love yuh partially,
wine yuh body with authority"

Postby mero » July 5th, 2017, 2:36 pm

Monkey Man wrote:redman singing

"You ah meh Burkieeeeee

Cyak

airuma

Postby airuma » July 5th, 2017, 4:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:buh allyuh doing like gang leaders now start getting contracts...this sheit going on years now, it just happen to come out on the press

So the gang leaders don't have to tighten their belt too! The PM already established that it cannot be "business as usual" with the current oil price/ state of the economy.
If the man company has the capability and delivers on quality work, on time and within budget..... I don't see the issue here.

Postby matr1x » July 5th, 2017, 6:38 pm

Pnm people brakesing for burke. Criminals sticking together

Postby RedVEVO » July 5th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Monkey Man wrote:redman singing

"You ah meh Burkieeeeee

Monkey man is Destra ..

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 6th, 2017, 7:35 am

Contractor Kenroy Dopwell yesterday admitted he is a director on two wholly-owned state enterprises - the New City Mall and East Side Plaza, Port-of-Spain -, which fall under the remit of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development once managed by Marlene McDonald.

In an earlier interview yesterday, Dopwell, when asked if he was a member of the two boards, opted to distance himself from answering the question, saying he just wanted the whole controversy with close friend Cedric Burke’s involvement in McDonald’s firing to die down.

He said the current fire-storm over McDonald’s firing was affecting his family and the media was blowing the issue out of proportion and destroying the lives of innocent people.

But later on, when contacted again told that he was listed as one of five directors of both entities, Dopwell admitted the information was no secret.

However, Dopwell was named as a director under the name “Kenny” and not Kenroy. The boards are chaired by Sheldon Johnson while vice chairman is Sharon Cedeno. Also named as directors are Sharon Felix, McDonald’s Port-of-Spain South constituency assistant, Charmaine Sylvester, Ken Taylor and Ronnie Dacosta.

“What I am saying, this is old news, because when the board was installed it was all over the newspapers. My picture was in the newspapers. Why is it going to be an issue now? Why you’ll trying to take something out of it... to make it an issue?” Dopwell asked.

“It did not have any kind of mischief or anything there. Why people trying to make mischief with me by saying that we on a board and this and that? Why? We on a board almost two years now.”

Dopwell had accompanied Sea Lots community leader Burke to President’s House last Friday to witness the swearing-in ceremony of McDonald as Public Utilities Minister. But Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley fired her on Sunday, saying it was a direct result of her alignment with Burke. (See editorial on Page A20)

Asked if McDonald had any influence in selecting him as a member, Dopwell said he was not the only person on the board.

“So why me? There are about six or seven other people on the board. I am a good citizen out here.”

Noting that he also stood up for the people of Sea Lots to get safety barriers, a traffic crossing and a walk over following the accident that claimed the lives of a mother and her two children in 2013, Dopwell said, “My face is not a new face to the world. It is not a face of negativity. It is a face of positive. I am qualified in what I do.”

Pressed on who appointed him, Dopwell said the People’s National Movement is a big party.

“There are a lot of people. Is not only Marlene McDonald we deal with. Is not only Marlene McDonald I rally behind. I am a PNM supporter. I am still a PNM today. I respect the boss (referring to the PM).”

Dopwell said he was chosen by the PNM to sit on the board based on certain criteria.

“They recognised us in the party. I stood up in 2013 for the mother and two children who were killed and it was offered unto you...,” he said.

“What is the big fuss? It was not offered to a criminal, it was offered to a legal citizen of Trinidad and Tobago. Is it going down that road because I am from Sea Lots? Because that is the road it going down.”

Since the board was formed in September 2015, Dopwell said they had done a lot to uplift and upgrade the plaza and mall.

“I am an active member of the board. The board has been doing a lot of good work. East Side Plaza is much more visual and customer friendly. You used to feel like you are in the market, now you could actually see it is a mall.”

Pressed further, Dopwell opted not to continue with the interview, saying he did not like how the questioning was going.

“The way the questions are being directed now I will see that in tomorrow’s Guardian,” he said.

He suggested that we direct our questions to Johnson.

Rowley unleashed the can of worms without even knwing .... :lol:
#firePNM

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 6th, 2017, 7:56 am

airuma wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:buh allyuh doing like gang leaders now start getting contracts...this sheit going on years now, it just happen to come out on the press

So the gang leaders don't have to tighten their belt too! The PM already established that it cannot be "business as usual" with the current oil price/ state of the economy.
If the man company has the capability and delivers on quality work, on time and within budget..... I don't see the issue here.

is either you being real sarcastic or your parents growing you up in a box

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2017, 7:56 am

That's really no big deal though, in fact that's a good opportunity offered

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 6th, 2017, 8:01 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
airuma wrote:

is either you being real sarcastic or your parents growing you up in a box

box is joke yes paper bag

Postby Dizzy28 » July 6th, 2017, 9:19 am

This Government closes down state enterprises dealing with Agriculture which has the potential to offer sustainable jobs and export opportunities with the proper management and forms state companies to deal with shoppping centres in the seedier parts of PoS??

Let's do This!!!!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 6th, 2017, 9:42 am

Dizzy28 wrote:This Government closes down state enterprises dealing with Agriculture which has the potential to offer sustainable jobs and export opportunities with the proper management and forms state companies to deal with shoppping centres in the seedier parts of PoS??

Let's do This!!!!

#Novisionorplanforthecountry

Postby hydroep » July 6th, 2017, 9:59 am

Is really who you know oui. Can't blame any of the youth that drops out of school and follows these community leaders. If they're willing to accept the risk along with the payoff all power tuh them... :|