My welding experience..

Re: My welding experience..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 21st, 2017, 1:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:a time i had a add in the papers for a welder...had a good bit of things to do but wanted to give whoever came the easiest thing to do first to see the scene

that was to build a burglar proof cage for my store that would be bolted to the walls. had to have a regular 32x80 door as well as a small door to hand customers items.

so one man come...with a whole file folder of certificates...where he work for OAS and this offshore company and that offshore company.....and this welding shop and that welding shop....and he went (i think its MIC? ) etc....

so i show him what i need done...we agree on price...i tell him go ahead

i come back to check him 30 mins later to see if he measuring up n thing

he measuring by sight.....using the tiles and his finger span to measure distance...because he doh have a measuring tape...and he hadda buy one......

and he done cut up 3 length of rhs eh.....

^^^^ :shock: :shock: :shock:

bwda :lol: :lol: :lol:

even if he did 4get it home he cuda go by 1 of dem $10 store or even a variety store & buy a $20 measuring tape ...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 21st, 2017, 2:06 pm

I have a partner do the same thing... Gone to check a wuk and walk with no tape... If yuh see his welding plan, no on/off switch or switch to adjust amps...

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 21st, 2017, 3:32 pm

ollur felllas need to teach dem men whose mind dont operate professional.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 21st, 2017, 3:59 pm

If you big in the welding business, just remember around this time with Culvert Inverted Contvoluted small job may be what you will have to depend on. That is why we celebrating DIY and Youtube videos.

Morale ah de post:

SMALL JOBS MATTERS TO A LOT OF US ................

Welders, come on, dont give the trade a bad name

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2017, 4:16 pm

Good luck

First to begin 99% of guys calling themselves welders are not really welders
They don't even know what the numbers in 6013 stand for, far less what is a good bead or not.

Second a good welder should have the work ethic of a good wood joiner in terms of fit and square etc
Few understand that.

If you go on weldingweb forums you will learn from real welders
They even advise you from looking at your beads what you can improve on.

dude2014 wrote:
Welders, come on, dont give the trade a bad name

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 21st, 2017, 5:34 pm

well i finished my second window, ordered a new blade for the Saw....and need a new pair of gloves (that one i have...was already dryrotting lol)

went and buy primer, paint, opening mechanising thingys... would put together maybe tmr...right now taking a relax...

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2017, 6:22 pm

those blades supposed to last a while

clean the steel properly, use squeezy or good dishwashing soap
dont just wipe it with gas like the rest of them

let it dry then prime, use one of the little rollers, plenty quicker than a paintbrush.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 9th, 2017, 5:00 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Good day folks.. sharing this update. I cant weld.. but when a welding guy wanted to charge me $9500.00 for simple windows to put in my shipping container office..i decided its time to learn.

I brought in an Evolution Rage 3 saw (this is realll mad) made fabrication so much easier

And i have a Hilco 110v Arc welder..(its working besss)

This is my first attempt at window fabrication and welding..

What's your thoughts on the rage 3 saws accuracy. Seems to me whenever I use mines. I check it before at full extension and it seems to be a little off most of the time. Cutting steel u might not notice it. But for 1x12 boards I get an error.
And also I dunno if you do but after cutting metal use a magnet to pic up all the cuttings otherwise it will start rusting in all different creases on your saw.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » July 9th, 2017, 5:03 pm

So far so good... i havent cut wood with it.. i did make a small adjustment to the laser tho to get it a bit more accurate...i find the fence is slight bit off

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 9th, 2017, 5:10 pm

Yes the fence always needs a little adjustment. I gave up on the laser I don't use it. I can't really hate on it otherwise it cuts clean and neat. And I like that everything can be adjusted.
Good job on the welds I'm a bit jealous though because i do some welding now and again and it's hard to get a continuous bead like that with my 220 plant on hollow sections.

Postby De Dragon » July 9th, 2017, 5:27 pm

pugboy wrote:those blades supposed to last a while

clean the steel properly, use squeezy or good dishwashing soap
dont just wipe it with gas like the rest of them

let it dry then prime, use one of the little rollers, plenty quicker than a paintbrush.

Its a pain in the arse, and a bit expensive, but I now swear by etching primer.

Postby pugboy » July 10th, 2017, 6:27 am

you can always tell poorly prepped/primed work when you see the rust spots developing several months later.

What works real good is to brush on a rust remover like wonder and then wash off after a few mins
it etches the metal surface and primer sticks even better

Postby RBphoto » July 10th, 2017, 2:07 pm

Grinder and paint make me the welder I ain't.

dell4sell

Postby dell4sell » July 12th, 2017, 1:31 pm

Inspired by your work man, I looking to rear some animals but I want to use ibeams for the posts, looking to store feed and ting overhead and I wanted to use wood but it have more termite than dirt in my yard. Wanna know what I should use to cut the ibeams, looking to use 3" or 4" as they on sale..

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 12th, 2017, 2:00 pm

Best bet would be a chop saw. The question is what tools do you have access to ?

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2017, 2:11 pm

Round galv pipe might be stiffer

dell4sell wrote:Inspired by your work man, I looking to rear some animals but I want to use ibeams for the posts, looking to store feed and ting overhead and I wanted to use wood but it have more termite than dirt in my yard. Wanna know what I should use to cut the ibeams, looking to use 3" or 4" as they on sale..

dell4sell

Postby dell4sell » July 12th, 2017, 2:14 pm

kripplerz wrote:Best bet would be a chop saw. The question is what tools do you have access to ?

Most of my tools are woodworking tools, mites saws, drill press, routine stuff. Been eyeing a chop saw for a while but couldn't come up with a hood enough reason to jump out the money. But now as I need it I can eat crix for a month or two. Looking to get one of those 110v welding plants too.

dell4sell

Postby dell4sell » July 12th, 2017, 2:16 pm

pugboy wrote:Round galv pipe might be stiffer

dell4sell wrote:Inspired by your work man, I looking to rear some animals but I want to use ibeams for the posts, looking to store feed and ting overhead and I wanted to use wood but it have more termite than dirt in my yard. Wanna know what I should use to cut the ibeams, looking to use 3" or 4" as they on sale..

I was thinking that eh, but the price kinda hot and the IBeam at leave gives me a flattish surface to work with. Was looking at 3" SHS too but not sure how sturdy that is

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 12th, 2017, 2:50 pm

chopsaw get so dog cheap u guys eh know how good u have it nowadays , long time 1 use to be in d $3000+ range now u getting it for like $1200 & is known brands like milwaukee , makita & dewalt

i agree with d pipe suggestion above instead of I beams , more rigid & less likely to get rust ....

dell4sell

Postby dell4sell » July 12th, 2017, 3:01 pm

Yeah I now price some for 13-1500 range so.. and pipe will be a lot easier to cut.. Thanks fellas

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 12th, 2017, 3:27 pm

You can go Point Lisas Steel and buy thicker quality galvanise pipe, than what a regular hardware will carry.

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2017, 3:33 pm

I used 2x4 ibeams as posts for a lil shed and they flexed very easily, could twist by hand
Did an extension later and used 2" galv pipe
Much better

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » July 12th, 2017, 10:10 pm

Here is an idea for the posts. You can use 4" pvc pipe as a formwork/casing with two 3/8" rods for reinforcement. It will protect the concrete from corrosion and you doh have to worry about welding when joining as a collar will do. When you reach roof height, use a small plate with holes for the rod and place unto the steel at top of the post before the concrete sets harden.

You can then start to weld from here to form your roof ..............

johnwick343

Postby johnwick343 » July 12th, 2017, 10:58 pm

it seems like you enjoyed the fabrication and welding nice work bro when i first started my welding course i enjoy striking the rod i use to do stick tig and mig with my old boss you should try mig someday because it amazing less sparks and no chipping of flux and the beads does look nice and the sound of it you could weld all day i really like mig

johnwick343

Postby johnwick343 » July 12th, 2017, 10:59 pm

if you want to get rid of rust use *wonder*and leave it on and by a few hours it should look white just wash it off and dry it and paint it

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2017, 6:06 am

yeah wonder breaks the surface so primer sticks real good
I prefer to wash it off too as it leaves a crust sometimes, also it doesnt eat deep scaly rust so that still should be ground off

Postby Rovin » July 13th, 2017, 11:52 am

dell4sell wrote:Yeah I now price some for 13-1500 range so.. and pipe will be a lot easier to cut.. Thanks fellas

something odd to consider when buying a chopsaw : material d base of it is made of , pressed metal types are lighter than d cast iron type (overall weight of d machine too) , u may not give it a thought now but when u have to lift\move it around often u will see what i mean , something i over looked when i bought mine

they making some thin ass flimsy 2x4 Ibeams nowadays so doh jes look for which cheaper but check d thickness quality too

even galvanized pipe making thin too , 1\4 thick steel drill pipe does be nice & easy to weld ...

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 18th, 2017, 8:40 am

I have a de Walt chopsaw about 14 years now. The base it's the pressed metal type and due to use constant tightening of material the base it a little warped. This causes really bad miters. I would say if u can afford it go with a solid base saw.

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2017, 8:57 am

I have a Milwaukee with full metal base
Heavy no tail
Prob 70lbs
Real pressure to carry

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 18th, 2017, 9:04 am

70 pounds is plenty. Good luck toting that.
I believe these are not really for moving around. I link that wherever u put it it remains there it won't move easily if anything hit it.