Phone Surgeon wrote:a time i had a add in the papers for a welder...had a good bit of things to do but wanted to give whoever came the easiest thing to do first to see the scene
that was to build a burglar proof cage for my store that would be bolted to the walls. had to have a regular 32x80 door as well as a small door to hand customers items.
so one man come...with a whole file folder of certificates...where he work for OAS and this offshore company and that offshore company.....and this welding shop and that welding shop....and he went (i think its MIC? ) etc....
so i show him what i need done...we agree on price...i tell him go ahead
i come back to check him 30 mins later to see if he measuring up n thing
he measuring by sight.....using the tiles and his finger span to measure distance...because he doh have a measuring tape...and he hadda buy one......
and he done cut up 3 length of rhs eh.....
dude2014 wrote:
Welders, come on, dont give the trade a bad name
nos_specialist wrote:Good day folks.. sharing this update. I cant weld.. but when a welding guy wanted to charge me $9500.00 for simple windows to put in my shipping container office..i decided its time to learn.
I brought in an Evolution Rage 3 saw (this is realll mad) made fabrication so much easier
And i have a Hilco 110v Arc welder..(its working besss)
This is my first attempt at window fabrication and welding..
pugboy wrote:those blades supposed to last a while
clean the steel properly, use squeezy or good dishwashing soap
dont just wipe it with gas like the rest of them
let it dry then prime, use one of the little rollers, plenty quicker than a paintbrush.
dell4sell wrote:Inspired by your work man, I looking to rear some animals but I want to use ibeams for the posts, looking to store feed and ting overhead and I wanted to use wood but it have more termite than dirt in my yard. Wanna know what I should use to cut the ibeams, looking to use 3" or 4" as they on sale..
kripplerz wrote:Best bet would be a chop saw. The question is what tools do you have access to ?
pugboy wrote:Round galv pipe might be stifferdell4sell wrote:Inspired by your work man, I looking to rear some animals but I want to use ibeams for the posts, looking to store feed and ting overhead and I wanted to use wood but it have more termite than dirt in my yard. Wanna know what I should use to cut the ibeams, looking to use 3" or 4" as they on sale..
dell4sell wrote:Yeah I now price some for 13-1500 range so.. and pipe will be a lot easier to cut.. Thanks fellas