Re: Brian Lara Stadium Flopz?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 16th, 2017, 10:45 am

Postby Ben_spanna » May 16th, 2017, 12:08 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:den seems like dumb design then... what a waste!

The stadium was designed for the 2007 CWC OF warm up games. They probably thought the hype of the tournament would have extended to the warm ups which it usually does. I think the warm ups were eventually played in uwi grounds. Anyways, t20 cricket is huge and QPO charges ridiculous amounts to host matches which is a big part of the reason we don't get as much matches as say Barbados or Antigua or st Kitts or Guyana. Those stadiums are state owned (in whole or in part) and hence the rent is much cheaper. That was a big part of the rationale to build the stadium. It was meant as an alternative to QPO. If you are speaking about the lack of pitch cover from the stands, check the Galle Cricket Stadium in SL and the cricket ground in Hamilton in NZ[/quot
Everyone in this country Knows that the BLS is this governments white elephant, if you believe otherwise....... seek professional help!

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2017, 1:06 pm

i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,

is better they had demolish it and sell the steel for scrap

is karamath had build that initially ent?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 16th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,

Build is such a strong word!!

airuma

Postby airuma » May 16th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Quite right... very strong word indeed. I wonder how many persons in defense of this stadium, read the Uff report. It's available online and once you get past the slightly blurred typing, it is a good read.... I think attending that opening was a celebration of one of the greatest failures of Trinidad and Tobago! Imagine after this opening on friday, the minister of health, this morning on "morning brew" said that there is no need for children's hospital! These are the idiots that we seem to like to manage OUR money!

Postby Ben_spanna » May 16th, 2017, 1:53 pm

The minister actually said that there is no need for the childrens hospital?
This countrys people really are at being held ransom in the hands of these 2 foolish political parties, neither of who really do care about its citizens

airuma wrote:

Quite right... very strong word indeed. I wonder how many persons in defense of this stadium, read the Uff report. It's available online and once you get past the slightly blurred typing, it is a good read.... I think attending that opening was a celebration of one of the greatest failures of Trinidad and Tobago! Imagine after this opening on friday, the minister of health, this morning on "morning brew" said that there is no need for children's hospital! These are the idiots that we seem to like to manage OUR money!

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2017, 1:53 pm

Hopefully later ill take a read of the report. Basically the structure dangerous ?

airuma

Postby airuma » May 16th, 2017, 3:17 pm

I don't remember any technical issues being discussed in the report, besides, we have excellent welders and inspection capabilities in Trinidad so I will have to see bad welds together with AFC drawings to believe that. The monitoring and control structure left alot to be desired though!

Drea

Postby Drea » May 16th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Didnt see the interview, but I think some things can be taken in context, when/if that hospital is opened its going to be a major cost on the state. Yes POS and SF general is over populated and yes we do have sick children, but when you don't even have staff for the existing hospitals who will staff this new children's hospital? Imagine you have a bunch of doctors without work, just waiting on contracts. I personally know of a few who went to school with me, one was home for close to 6mths waiting to see if his contract would be renewed. In the end he ended up applying and receiving a contract opportunity in Grenada with the University hospital, and there are more young trinidadian doctors there.

So there is definitely a flaw somewhere. We can't afford to pay doctors, we have aging doctors who arent leaving, doctors can't even get permanency so is contract to contract..

But I agree with a previous poster, all administrations is the same thing.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 16th, 2017, 10:15 pm

The point I am really trying to drive home is... we do not need the BLS either but it was completed and will add at least maintenance cost to our country.... so his statement is worthless given very recent developments. I don't have all the info but I will lean to thinking that we can benefit more from medical tourism rather than sports tourism.

Postby De Dragon » May 16th, 2017, 10:24 pm

airuma wrote:The point I am really trying to drive home is... we do not need the BLS either but it was completed and will add at least maintenance cost to our country.... so his statement is worthless given very recent developments. I don't have all the info but I will lean to thinking that we can benefit more from medical tourism rather than sports tourism.

When the PNM pays for your daughter's wedding you tend to talk kantery like them. This imbecile and his equally imbecilic colleagues would rather an operating cost for a stadium that will generate 0 revenue.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 16th, 2017, 11:52 pm

j.o.e wrote:All this toting. Game was nice , had a very big crowd. I rather consider the talent an academy can hopefully develop if it is run as planned. South ppl love cricket, nice to have a first class ground. Even the stereotypical UNC base are the biggest cricket fans.
QPO is privately owned and historically was never intended for blacks (Indian or African) yes I'm taking it there.
Politics aside if money is spent on a facility no use abandoning it. That's just more wastage.

Definitely agree with this...the stadium will likely pay for its own maintenance with proper management (lol), and given that its state owned will likely result in more matches being allocated to tnt due to the lower cost.
I'm a bit shocked that the capacity is only 15000 though..thats ludicrous.
Expecting a return on that 1 billion is like expecting everyone to obey the speed limit - never going to happen. However there are benefits (like forex) that can be had again with proper marketing and management (and again...lol).

Wrt the Couva Children's Hospital...its likely more of a political power play rather than staff/budgetary issue...we have the capability and facilities to train everyone that's required (ergo nurses mainly, as other categories already exist in sufficient numbers)...theyre just poorly managed atm...before i left, i think the nursing programme had actually shut down...not sure what the status is now. Rerouting of resources and the entire logistical setup will be a major challenge, but hopefully one that the ministry will eventually undertake. Also, while there are obvious reasons to bash the MOH atm, i can assure you he's done a bit of good behind the scenes...he understands health systems better than many of his predecessors, and has made changes that prolly wont be appreciated by this generation (long-term). The current staff he recently put in below him are also exceptional at what they do, so i'm hoping for positive changes soon.

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 1:21 am

Who designed that monstrosity?

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 5:27 am

soooo, when urging the citizens to 'tighten yuh belt' u still justify the spending of money on that stadium?

i mean, could it not have waited till a few years when the economy settles?

or u need to find a contract to give out because u can't give out rapid rail contracts any more?

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2017, 6:43 am

sMASH wrote:soooo, when urging the citizens to 'tighten yuh belt' u still justify the spending of money on that stadium?

i mean, could it not have waited till a few years when the economy settles?

or u need to find a contract to give out because u can't give out rapid rail contracts any more?

How dare you impugn the honour of the GORTT! Aren't they led by the "Corruption Buster" himself Scarfy? Isn't he also co-championed in this glorious and noble fight by an AG that tragically "lost" two children?

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 7:26 am

fleck, sry about the impugning. hope my property tax ain't raise because of that.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2017, 9:24 am

matr1x wrote:Who designed that monstrosity?

Turner Alpha was responsible for the design AFAIK and they hired HOK as the design architects.....I'm sure civil men in here could correct me.

Postby desifemlove » May 17th, 2017, 11:45 am

airuma wrote:

On the provision that there is a lot of empty ward space. These can be converted into children only wings.

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Phillip Edward Alexander
4 hrs ·
The field at the Tarouba stadium is too small for Test Match accreditation.

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 12:24 pm

More money wasted. Jeeez

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 17th, 2017, 1:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Phillip Edward Alexander
4 hrs ·

oh boy

...actually hoping that aint true

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2017, 1:43 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Phillip Edward Alexander
4 hrs ·

oh boy

...actually hoping that aint true

Well Trinidad barely gets any Test matches anyhows so that shouldn't be too much of a problem
Since the 2007 WC Trinidad was not allocated a Test match in any of the following years - 2010, 2011, 2013 2015 and 2017.

Postby 16 cycles » May 17th, 2017, 2:41 pm

how many stadia are filled for test matches?

one day like test match now and T20 like one day....

Postby Redman » May 17th, 2017, 5:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Hopefully later ill take a read of the report. Basically the structure dangerous ?

Anecdotally I was told that the QA/QC on that structure during the original build was abysmal.This from an inspection co that said it was the worst fail rate on welds in his experience.
He refused to return to the site.

Separately I have a close friend that turned down structural work when offered, based on the extremely poor quality of work done-they were asked to quote on remedial foundation and up work.

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2017, 5:29 pm

Guess we will see if a earthquake topples it

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 6:10 pm

If it does, I bet it will make a fart sound as it goes down.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 17th, 2017, 6:47 pm

Redman wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Hopefully later ill take a read of the report. Basically the structure dangerous ?

Anecdotally I was told that the QA/QC on that structure during the original build was abysmal.This from an inspection co that said it was the worst fail rate on welds in his experience.
He refused to return to the site.

Separately I have a close friend that turned down structural work when offered, based on the extremely poor quality of work done-they were asked to quote on remedial foundation and up work.

True political style.... we have capable people but we hire incompetent ones to do the job..... this creates a real tug-of-war in the minds of the ambitious.... end result is brain drain via asset flight!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 18th, 2017, 7:07 am

matr1x wrote:If it does, I bet it will make a fart sound as it goes down.

Postby desifemlove » May 18th, 2017, 10:00 am

Drea wrote:Didnt see the interview, but I think some things can be taken in context, when/if that hospital is opened its going to be a major cost on the state. Yes POS and SF general is over populated and yes we do have sick children, but when you don't even have staff for the existing hospitals who will staff this new children's hospital? Imagine you have a bunch of doctors without work, just waiting on contracts. I personally know of a few who went to school with me, one was home for close to 6mths waiting to see if his contract would be renewed. In the end he ended up applying and receiving a contract opportunity in Grenada with the University hospital, and there are more young trinidadian doctors there.

So there is definitely a flaw somewhere. We can't afford to pay doctors, we have aging doctors who arent leaving, doctors can't even get permanency so is contract to contract..

But I agree with a previous poster, all administrations is the same thing.

POS and SF have many empty wards too. If we can keep existing wards, then we can section them off as dedicated children's wards. I no expert in health administration, but then like most things its about resources and capacity. Peopel saying PNM doh care about chirren need to see the bigger picture, not that a PM who has three kids himself (and ALLEGEDLY more from "outside tings") hates kids...

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2017, 10:27 am

let them bring in doctors from phillipines/brazil/india/nigeria/china if they cant get enough staff locally