Trinispougla wrote:Monkey Man wrote:den seems like dumb design then... what a waste!
Phone Surgeon wrote:i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,
is better they had demolish it and sell the steel for scrap
is karamath had build that initially ent?
Dizzy28 wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,
Build is such a strong word!!
airuma wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,
Quite right... very strong word indeed. I wonder how many persons in defense of this stadium, read the Uff report. It's available online and once you get past the slightly blurred typing, it is a good read.... I think attending that opening was a celebration of one of the greatest failures of Trinidad and Tobago! Imagine after this opening on friday, the minister of health, this morning on "morning brew" said that there is no need for children's hospital! These are the idiots that we seem to like to manage OUR money!
airuma wrote:The point I am really trying to drive home is... we do not need the BLS either but it was completed and will add at least maintenance cost to our country.... so his statement is worthless given very recent developments. I don't have all the info but I will lean to thinking that we can benefit more from medical tourism rather than sports tourism.
j.o.e wrote:All this toting. Game was nice , had a very big crowd. I rather consider the talent an academy can hopefully develop if it is run as planned. South ppl love cricket, nice to have a first class ground. Even the stereotypical UNC base are the biggest cricket fans.
QPO is privately owned and historically was never intended for blacks (Indian or African) yes I'm taking it there.
Politics aside if money is spent on a facility no use abandoning it. That's just more wastage.
sMASH wrote:soooo, when urging the citizens to 'tighten yuh belt' u still justify the spending of money on that stadium?
i mean, could it not have waited till a few years when the economy settles?
or u need to find a contract to give out because u can't give out rapid rail contracts any more?
matr1x wrote:Who designed that monstrosity?
airuma wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:i wanna see what the monthly maintenance costs is for BLS ,
Quite right... very strong word indeed. I wonder how many persons in defense of this stadium, read the Uff report. It's available online and once you get past the slightly blurred typing, it is a good read.... I think attending that opening was a celebration of one of the greatest failures of Trinidad and Tobago! Imagine after this opening on friday, the minister of health, this morning on "morning brew" said that there is no need for children's hospital! These are the idiots that we seem to like to manage OUR money!
Phone Surgeon wrote:Phillip Edward Alexander
4 hrs ·
The field at the Tarouba stadium is too small for Test Match accreditation.
Monkey Man wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:Phillip Edward Alexander
4 hrs ·
The field at the Tarouba stadium is too small for Test Match accreditation.
oh boy
...actually hoping that aint true
Phone Surgeon wrote:Hopefully later ill take a read of the report. Basically the structure dangerous ?
Redman wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:Hopefully later ill take a read of the report. Basically the structure dangerous ?
Anecdotally I was told that the QA/QC on that structure during the original build was abysmal.This from an inspection co that said it was the worst fail rate on welds in his experience.
He refused to return to the site.
Separately I have a close friend that turned down structural work when offered, based on the extremely poor quality of work done-they were asked to quote on remedial foundation and up work.
matr1x wrote:If it does, I bet it will make a fart sound as it goes down.
Drea wrote:Didnt see the interview, but I think some things can be taken in context, when/if that hospital is opened its going to be a major cost on the state. Yes POS and SF general is over populated and yes we do have sick children, but when you don't even have staff for the existing hospitals who will staff this new children's hospital? Imagine you have a bunch of doctors without work, just waiting on contracts. I personally know of a few who went to school with me, one was home for close to 6mths waiting to see if his contract would be renewed. In the end he ended up applying and receiving a contract opportunity in Grenada with the University hospital, and there are more young trinidadian doctors there.
So there is definitely a flaw somewhere. We can't afford to pay doctors, we have aging doctors who arent leaving, doctors can't even get permanency so is contract to contract..
But I agree with a previous poster, all administrations is the same thing.