Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Numb3r4

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Numb3r4 » May 5th, 2017, 10:51 pm

Essentially its all about stacking the deck and not delivering any sort of product or service.

Said product or service is just a happy coincidence or simply a mechanism for income generation to be spread to the choosen few.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 5th, 2017, 10:55 pm

People tend to view people who speak the truth as being stupid. We are given so much wrong information that the truth also sounds like a lie.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 5th, 2017, 11:04 pm

^^^ Maybe they just don't want to face it...the truth that is. It's tough to do that.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 6th, 2017, 10:26 am

Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:Did i say anything wrong...wat did i say that wasnt truthful....and let them do there background checks....let me educate u a bit companies dont go through social media to find employees...they go to your previous employer....is wat you can do for the company and your experience and education....is not about wat u write on social media this is your private life not your profession....try and crawl out d bucket u living in before u decide to comment on my post...dont be fooled...

It is clear you are not aware of this. But employers do this. I was simply trying to give you advice and you are continuously painting a bad picture of yourself..

Ok kool....if you dont have ah big link to get in to certain companies and no one knows u....u not gonna get in...its not like i want to work petro....and incase u didnt know dey only calling people with links for the ops jobs...they already start...since i bashing them they wont call me as you all say...by chance any of u who didnt bash dem...dey call any of you all yet..??..FOR YOUR BEST BEHAVIOUR ON SOCIAL MEDIA...IT MAKES ME WONDER WHY DID I DO A DEGREE...I SHOULD OF JUSK KNOW PPL IN THERE AND DONT BE BASHING NO ONE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND I GO GET AH JOB IN PETRO....LIKE IF I NEED ONE DEY....

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2017, 10:49 am

Ye ole tale of fox and grapes yes

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 6th, 2017, 6:36 pm

Lol

Postby Mark! » May 6th, 2017, 11:50 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:Did i say anything wrong...wat did i say that wasnt truthful....and let them do there background checks....let me educate u a bit companies dont go through social media to find employees...they go to your previous employer....is wat you can do for the company and your experience and education....is not about wat u write on social media this is your private life not your profession....try and crawl out d bucket u living in before u decide to comment on my post...dont be fooled...

It is clear you are not aware of this. But employers do this. I was simply trying to give you advice and you are continuously painting a bad picture of yourself..

Ok kool....if you dont have ah big link to get in to certain companies and no one knows u....u not gonna get in...its not like i want to work petro....and incase u didnt know dey only calling people with links for the ops jobs...they already start...since i bashing them they wont call me as you all say...by chance any of u who didnt bash dem...dey call any of you all yet..??..FOR YOUR BEST BEHAVIOUR ON SOCIAL MEDIA...IT MAKES ME WONDER WHY DID I DO A DEGREE...I SHOULD OF JUSK KNOW PPL IN THERE AND DONT BE BASHING NO ONE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND I GO GET AH JOB IN PETRO....LIKE IF I NEED ONE DEY....

..ok den
i dont think anyone would want you near dey dcs yes :lol: :lol:

tr1ad wrote:Ye ole tale of fox and grapes yes

man crying about ppl with a link but desperate for one....wtf

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2017, 11:52 pm

Man eh need a job dey...Yuh cyah read oar bigman

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 7th, 2017, 12:47 am

Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:

..ok den
i dont think anyone would want you near dey dcs yes

Wey like some ppl stupid...and cant comprehend wat im tryin to tell u guys....i dont need a job at petro im great where i am....and for all those who apply i wish you all the best.....

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 7th, 2017, 12:58 am

sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:

..ok den

Wey like some ppl stupid...and cant comprehend wat im tryin to tell u guys....i dont need a job at petro im great where i am....and for all those who apply i wish you all the best.....

And to MARK..u sounding like u is ah bess operator....maybe you should teach ppl about ops instead of being an arrogant muffler bearing....maybe u should explain to some of these guys in hear how...DCS/Complex loop....SIS.../controllers reverse and directing acting controllers...performance and CCC control...trip string....single element and triple element and under pressure controllers does work....since im not skilled to be on petro DCS.....educate some ppl in here cause you is ah bess operator...smh....i sure u cant even read ah facking P&ID.....but is only speed talk from u and d rest of jackass inside here...

Postby tr1ad » May 7th, 2017, 5:43 am

Move on fella.... Move on; nobody asking you to prove work "knowledge" or how to get on like an immature retard

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 7th, 2017, 9:42 am

I would take whatever knowledge anyone is willing to pass on. I am sure there is so much to learn. Not everyone knows everything. The point everyone is trying to prove is that due to unfair hiring practices are causing many young qualified ops techs not to be able to join, learn and function within the process environment.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 7th, 2017, 9:58 am

trinidrift wrote:I would take whatever knowledge anyone is willing to pass on. I am sure there is so much to learn. Not everyone knows everything. The point everyone is trying to prove is that due to unfair hiring practices are causing many young qualified ops techs not to be able to join, learn and function within the process environment.

Exactly....but they cannot see that...no one should talk the truth...cause ppl in here does get offended....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2017, 10:35 am

Sinister has some valid points...However I'm also glad he doesn't work at Petrotrin with his other issues. All that anger not necessary or healthy. Especially when having to deal with other employees who may have differences of opinions.

It's a state organization so politics gonna play a part no matter what. I've seen it with both parties. Not saying it's right but just giving some stories I have seen from within:

Arvi Ratiram (name intentionally misspelled) came in as a grad trainee while pnm was in power and while he is officially known as a strong unc. Seems politics work regardless of which party one is with. He proceeded to literally tell coworkers he came here to not work and just biding his time. That kind of attitude is failure. Anyways he eventually went on to be on the board of tstt after being a graduate trainee at Petrotrin for less than two years.

I know another person hired who has close ties to Kamla. That string pulled to get him inside...This guy however does excellent work. I rather this scenario. Mind you string pulled and he was also qualified.

People use strings even in private businesses. Friend of mine got a work at an engineering design company with qualifications that would have made it difficult for him to get in without knowing someone...Today he is one of their best/hardest workers.

Have faith in God to help/protect you and your assets....but he never say don't tie your goat. You do what you have to sometimes to get thru. Hopefully after people get thru no matter what the string pulled you put in good work. Get your qualifications in order because its not the majority getting in without papers to back themselves up a bit.

Postby tr1ad » May 7th, 2017, 10:38 am

Unfair hiring practices and nepotism is not only at state run enterprises .... The nepotism at many a oil/gas companies could make you think you at a state run.

After 20 years in the industry at various levels with numerous operators it makes you wonder

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 10:47 am

Happens in mts too.
Just last week while on a job they allocated a mts guy to assist me (show me around the compound, take me to the jobsite, unlock doors etc).
He was bragging how have a slight electrical background and gt because he have family that link him up. Just now he will get permanent and get vaca, medical etc.
Somehow I feel he was trying to establish that he better than me. I low him and let him bark up the wrong tree.

So its not just in the energy sector.

Happens also on a lot of them religious boards where they use affiliation with a particular religion to get a teaching job.
The church I used to attend was like that. A certain group with a certain last name was very active in all church activites and as they gt with teaching. Cant find em in church again.
All my life I know these individuals and they everything but holy.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 7th, 2017, 11:09 am

Well i see almost everyone in here is almost on the same page...i believe in fairness and everyone should be given an equal opportunity to get a job that they deserve based on qualification and skilled/ experience ..i dont believe that politics and who know you should be everyones trump card....for me that just wrong....i believe if ah man qualified and he cud do d job give him it....dont give him it because its ya padna and he go by beers for all yuh when all yuh liming....that doe work in my books...when ya in d industrial field you need men with ambition self motivated guys....not guys who does only be dragging dey bollz......thats just my 2 cents on this topics...hope u guy see it from my point of view...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 7th, 2017, 11:21 am

^^^ Most people would agree with that point.

However reality being what it is......

Postby tr1ad » May 7th, 2017, 11:27 am

Fairness? Looking for work 6 months now - went to a nitrogen company for an interview .... Total of 5 candidates shortlisted, myself included .... Two months ago they said I wasn't successful via letter; turns out none of the 5 were.... The super sub 6th got the job a Supervisor's nephew .... One that never interviewed for the position

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 7th, 2017, 11:31 am

tr1ad wrote:Fairness? Looking for work 6 months now - went to a nitrogen company for an interview .... Total of 5 candidates shortlisted, myself included .... Two months ago they said I wasn't successful via letter; turns out none of the 5 were.... The super sub 6th got the job a Supervisor's nephew .... One that never interviewed for the position

Sorry again Man and hope u get thru

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 11:36 am

sinister_14 wrote:Well i see almost everyone in here is almost on the same page...i believe in fairness and everyone should be given an equal opportunity to get a job that they deserve based on qualification and skilled/ experience ..i dont believe that politics and who know you should be everyones trump card....for me that just wrong....i believe if ah man qualified and he cud do d job give him it....dont give him it because its ya padna and he go by beers for all yuh when all yuh liming....that doe work in my books...when ya in d industrial field you need men with ambition self motivated guys....not guys who does only be dragging dey bollz......thats just my 2 cents on this topics...hope u guy see it from my point of view...

You painting a picture like you know for a fact its a set of dimwits they hiring.
From what you posted earlier I can safely say you are severely misinfirmed amd have no clue.

Btw, I forgot to add when I worked in the public sector and was still in school I know many people whom wanted the summer vacation internship.
Sad to say, before the process even begun they know who going where. These interns were getting more than me (salary wise), were all family with people high up, now able to put that they have relevant experience in the field and finished with their degree.
So not all who get a job fair and square outside there are what they say they are in paper.

I got through with my internship fair and square btw. It was through the school. And I learned a lot during my internship.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 7th, 2017, 11:47 am

sinister_14 wrote:Well i see almost everyone in here is almost on the same page...i believe in fairness and everyone should be given an equal opportunity to get a job that they deserve based on qualification and skilled/ experience ..i dont believe that politics and who know you should be everyones trump card....for me that just wrong....i believe if ah man qualified and he cud do d job give him it....dont give him it because its ya padna and he go by beers for all yuh when all yuh liming....that doe work in my books...when ya in d industrial field you need men with ambition self motivated guys....not guys who does only be dragging dey bollz......thats just my 2 cents on this topics...hope u guy see it from my point of view...

Postby tr1ad » May 7th, 2017, 11:50 am

And don't get me wrong I agree with you.... More so that a piece of paper vs a man with 15 years experience .... And the paper wins; to me that shouldn't be the case 75% of the time.
But needless to say that while it happens in state enterprises as you've exampled, doesn't mean that there's a big share if the workforce that has gotten through legitimately

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2017, 6:29 pm

Experience pwns paper..
Plain talk bad manners!

Seen a 50 something year old guy walk in a panel and press two button, turn two knob and get a generator running.
Men with their papers tearing out their hair from their heads for hours prior to his arrival.

Edit: now dont get me wrong eh, cant retire with all the info. Have to pass it on to the younger ones with the papers so they will understand it and know how to work it.
If I had my way I install a plc and done. Eventually we have to get with the times.
Last edited by nervewrecker on May 7th, 2017, 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 7th, 2017, 6:53 pm

Agreed

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » May 7th, 2017, 7:03 pm

trinidrift wrote:
Curtms wrote:PNM party card is a must for ngc

And all they companies.

Lol...you jelly brah? Party cyard gets you sum nice tan coveralls.

Postby Mark! » May 7th, 2017, 7:57 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:

..ok den

And to MARK..u sounding like u is ah bess operator....maybe you should teach ppl about ops instead of being an arrogant muffler bearing....maybe u should explain to some of these guys in hear how...DCS/Complex loop....SIS.../controllers reverse and directing acting controllers...performance and CCC control...trip string....single element and triple element and under pressure controllers does work....since im not skilled to be on petro DCS.....educate some ppl in here cause you is ah bess operator...smh....i sure u cant even read ah facking P&ID.....but is only speed talk from u and d rest of jackass inside here...

calm the F down punk ...im not an interviewer.

im agreeing with the guys here, while the practice is not right, it happens..unqualified or over qualified.. but one time you may be on the right end of the stick... even nerve said networking is important, GONE are the days where it is HIGHLY LIKELY for you to get a high paying position out of a random pool.

as hard as you worked for your qualifications times may come where they are secondary... but no one can take them away at the end of the day...

and wrt social media take note of how trinidrift operates

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 7th, 2017, 9:39 pm

Just got word that petro....GTL project is going to be restarted.....contracts were handed out last week for fabrication etc...

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 7th, 2017, 9:41 pm

It's supposed to be a good investment but isn't it already a mismanaged money pit

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 7th, 2017, 9:43 pm

Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
Mark! wrote:

..ok den

calm the F down punk ...im not an interviewer.

im agreeing with the guys here, while the practice is not right, it happens..unqualified or over qualified.. but one time you may be on the right end of the stick... even nerve said networking is important, GONE are the days where it is HIGHLY LIKELY for you to get a high paying position out of a random pool.

as hard as you worked for your qualifications times may come where they are secondary... but no one can take them away at the end of the day...

and wrt social media take note of how trinidrift operates

Explain please?