Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

vaiostation

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby vaiostation » April 28th, 2017, 10:57 pm

From what I know with respect to petrotrin's hiring practice is this:
The majority of jobs are advertised​ internally, these jobs are given to the union so they will put their candidates up for selection. This is due to some agreement that the union has with the company. So you have to know someone to even know there is a vancacy in the first place and you need someone to drop in your application in the union office. Next, even though your application inside that doesn't guarantee you will get through. If a big man call hr an say hire a particular person them gotta do it, so that's a next hurdle you gotta pass through.
Also from what I understand some of the hiring practices and also contracts given is influenced by politics.
The pnm in government in office right now, and their party supporters are mainly from a particular race so they link up their soldiers, the same goes for the unc when then in power. It's mostly a case of nepotism rather than racial discrimination, cause let's be honest here, it ain't no random Indian or African getting hired.
Also concerning the public job advertisements that is usually nothing more than a formality. I remember someone applied an got true with a job, and about a few months later the advertisement for the job came out to do no more than waste people time.
Also with respect to the the idea that people get through with almost no qualifications is somewhat true.
I personally know a few men who would fall into that pool, however they got their qualifications eventually. Also there was a case a few years ago with people using fake cxc and city&guilds qualifications.
I remember there was a guy from my area who was caught got fired for it, but was eventually rehired because he get linked up again.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 28th, 2017, 11:03 pm

So yesterday a friend of mines and my self went to personally hand in our resume at petrotrin HR...before entering the building a guy came outside...i ask him if its here they are handing in resume for RFO he said yes...he now handed in his....NOTE: this guy is of African decent.....on entering the office i asked where can i put these resume for RFO...THEY TOLD US TO APPLY ONLINE THEY NOT ACCEPTING ANY RESUME FOR REFINERY OPS HERE.....I WAS SHOCKED....IS IT BECAUSE THAT BOTH OF US ARE INDIAN???...they did not take our resume.....an they took the guy one who left 5min before....AND THE BOTH FEMALES EMPLOYEES WHO TOLD US THAT WERE OF AFRICAN DECENT...is this the manner in which these ppl conduct company business???...also i talked to a few of my other friends whole handed in their resume that same day....they said they had no problem they took our resume....NOTE MY OTHER FRIENDS ARE OF AFRICAN DESCENT....what you fellow trinituners have to say about that...ALSO TAKE IN TO CONSIDERATION THAT MY FRIEND AND I WHO WENT TO APPLY FOR THAT REFINERY OPS JOB WE ARE WELL QUALIFIED AND ARE TOP NOTCH OPS BOTH ON PAPER WORK AND IN FIELD AND DCS...WHAT ATTRACTED US WAS THE BENEFITS THAT PETROTRIN HAS FOR EMPLOYEES.....so i guess that if u do get your resume in make sure your last name is...JOHN...SMITH...PATRICK...ETC....NOT....harry...seepaul...or balkission...you will not have a chance...my friend....

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 28th, 2017, 11:12 pm

Also a panda of mines call me and told me about the BIG AUDIT that petro is going to get in a few weeks....They gonna audit their work staff to find out what qualification they have..and if they have any and how did they get into these position....and if they are not qualified the are gonna be sent home asap...and HR IS GONNA GET BUSS UP FOR THIS AS WELL CAUSE THEY HIRED THESE UNEDUCATED PPL.....

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 29th, 2017, 12:01 am

sinister_14 wrote:So yesterday a friend of mines and my self went to personally hand in our resume at petrotrin HR...before entering the building a guy came outside...i ask him if its here they are handing in resume for RFO he said yes...he now handed in his....NOTE: this guy is of African decent.....on entering the office i asked where can i put these resume for RFO...THEY TOLD US TO APPLY ONLINE THEY NOT ACCEPTING ANY RESUME FOR REFINERY OPS HERE.....I WAS SHOCKED....IS IT BECAUSE THAT BOTH OF US ARE INDIAN???...they did not take our resume.....an they took the guy one who left 5min before....AND THE BOTH FEMALES EMPLOYEES WHO TOLD US THAT WERE OF AFRICAN DECENT...is this the manner in which these ppl conduct company business???...also i talked to a few of my other friends whole handed in their resume that same day....they said they had no problem they took our resume....NOTE MY OTHER FRIENDS ARE OF AFRICAN DESCENT....what you fellow trinituners have to say about that...ALSO TAKE IN TO CONSIDERATION THAT MY FRIEND AND I WHO WENT TO APPLY FOR THAT REFINERY OPS JOB WE ARE WELL QUALIFIED AND ARE TOP NOTCH OPS BOTH ON PAPER WORK AND IN FIELD AND DCS...WHAT ATTRACTED US WAS THE BENEFITS THAT PETROTRIN HAS FOR EMPLOYEES.....so i guess that if u do get your resume in make sure your last name is...JOHN...SMITH...PATRICK...ETC....NOT....harry...seepaul...or balkission...you will not have a chance...my friend....

I had a similar poor experience when I went for my GIT interview/assessment in petrotrin HR. dept.
I was sitting waiting for my interview when a petrotrin employee walked by (oldish man) and caught the attention of a senior HR employee. So I eased dropped in to their conversation and it went a little like this:
HR person-"Aye, I didnt see yuh daughter come yet for the interview"
Employee-"What you talking about? Alyuh hiring?"
HR person-"Bring she in the morning you could drop the documents whenever nah."
When I heard this I just smh knowing that I had to attend numerous assessments before I could have qualify for that interview. I lost all hope at that point.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 29th, 2017, 12:44 am

Dont worry my friend after this EXTERNAL AUDIT MOST OF THEM GONNA BE ON THE BREADLINE THESE ARE THE PPL WHOLE BLOCK QUALIFIED PERSONS FROM OBTAINING JOBS THEY DESERVE.....

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 29th, 2017, 4:30 am

Years ago I remember being accepted for a training programme in Petrotrin. Of the 12 persons selected, I was the only person not related to anyone in the company, I was asked a few times by the HR persons there who I knew, as if that was one of the requirements. Only then I realized how bad nepotism is in this country, over the years I've seen it in other places.

Postby tr1ad » April 29th, 2017, 6:58 am

tried for over 15 years to get in there... never "lucky"

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 29th, 2017, 7:24 am

So nervewrecker is it still a heresay or do you need more evidence?

gencon

Postby gencon » April 29th, 2017, 8:18 am

Yeh i have a former classmate that work in there permanent now. We did our technical courses together 17 years now. Every year this person emails asking for my updated resume. I send it but petro never called me. My friend told me that they are over worked and need more workers in there department but the hiring is being blocked at higher levels of management. Not sure if my name or straight hair have any thing to do with it.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 29th, 2017, 9:20 am

From what I've heard probably around half the company gonna get mash up soon, especially those in admin.
I mean clearly petrotrin is overstaffed, but it's mostly in administrative positions. Basically a bunch of pencil pushers who get link up and have no particular skills other than sitting in air condition.
Also from what I've heard from the field men is that a lot of the time the people who get link up can't do the job or have little to no understanding of the field them in, so the senior men get burdened cause them hadda do their own job plus the work of the unskilled workers(who don't even try to learn the job because "they reach"), the unskilled labour is what burdening the company, and it is greatly magnified by the incompetence of management. I ain't know what some of them "workers" will do them kick out and hadda work on the outside, cuase a lot of them first job was in petrotrin and never worked on the outside. It ain't have no Union to protect ya when yo hadda burn in de sun and take cuss whole day just for minimum wage. Men might commit suicide from having to do all that hard work.

Petrotrin is a massive company and requires a lot of skilled people, which we have in this country but are never given the opportunity because of reasons. Hopefully they can get back on their feet soon.
Last edited by vaiostation on April 29th, 2017, 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 29th, 2017, 9:29 am

vaiostation wrote:From what I've heard probably around half the company gonna get mash up soon, especially those in admin.
I mean clearly petrotrin is overstaffed, but it's mostly in administrative positions. Basically a bunch of pencil pushers who get link up and have no particular skills other than sitting in air conditioning.
Also from what I've heard from the field men is that a lot of the time the people who get link up can't do the job or have little to no understanding of the field them in, so the senior men get burdened cause them hadda do their own job plus the work of the unskilled workers(who don't even try to learn the job because "they reach"), the unskilled labour is what burdening the company, and it is greatly magnified by the incompetence of management. I ain't know what some of them "workers" will do them kick out and hadda work on the outside, cuase a lot of them first job was in petrotrin and never worked on the outside. It ain't have no Union to protect ya when yo hadda burn in de sun and take cuss whole day just for minimum wage. Men might commit suicide from having to do all that hard work.

Petrotrin is a massive company and requires a lot of skilled people, which we have in this country but are never given the opportunity because of reasons. Hopefully they can get back on their feet soon.

I totally agree

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 29th, 2017, 11:15 am

Dam thats f-ed up

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 29th, 2017, 11:40 am

I know some people who got into peteo with no link, no friend, maybe they were lucky.
But if you really reeled you didn't get the opportunity to apply for the job, and you se clear racism, take it up with the EOC. See if you get redress

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 29th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Racism is rampant in Petrotrin.
Heard from someone at the top that there was some evaluation or exam that prospective employees had to undergo and time after time the majority of the persons scoring in the top would be of a certain race and be hired.
The union pressured the leadership to hire more workers aligned with the unions interests so the persons who scored at the top of the evaluation of a certain race were discarded and persons chosen from the lower performing half to have a more unionised ethnic mix of workers.
I am never surprised when I hear anything bad about Petrotrin, Police Service or any public service or government office.

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2017, 2:08 pm

trinidrift wrote:So nervewrecker is it still a heresay or do you need more evidence?

But they just reinforce what I said.
Go there 5 times is 5 different story.
I applied for about 10 - 12 years.
Have some people that dont know how to deal with people and its not limited to petrotrin.
Donno what a specific ethnicity has to do with how well someone does a job. 95% of what I know in my trade was taught to me by a guy of african ethnicity from petrotrin and im east indian. He is the best at the job, plain talk bad manners. Always punctual, polite, well mannered, goes beyond the call of duty, promt response and dead on with a diagnosis.

What 90% of the keyboard warrior's need to do is come off the net and socialise. You in the same boat as all others, everyone want the job, everyone only form of interfacing is via a piece of paper. Get out there and get known. When they see your name come up they might say "well watch nah, i know for sure, you see this soilder, he is a good one. The kinda dude we need in here to turn this place around, call him for the interview".
It had men that worked with contractors and seen to have the right attitude. They have what it takes and their standard of work was second to none. Have no family in there but when they get called for the interview together with you, who you think they will be in favor of?

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » April 29th, 2017, 10:54 pm

Anyone knows any operator in Petro that doesn't have a diploma? But rather PPO/CPO?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 30th, 2017, 6:46 am

BlackOps2 wrote:Anyone knows any operator in Petro that doesn't have a diploma? But rather PPO/CPO?

Let me tell you about my experience with this.
A few years ago I was in utt doing ppo, about a month after completing it I gave someone an application to drop in for me, however the person whom I gave my application to informed me that hr wasn't accepting certificate level anymore and that I needed a diploma instead. I said ok can't really argue with that.
The strange thing is about a few days after that a partner of mine who was in the same ppo class as me got called in for the same operator position I applied for, and actually got through even though he only just had ppo with literally no experience.
Partner eventually told us that his dad is a big man in petrotrin so you know what went on.
There's your answer.
Moral of the story​ is that rules only apply to the common people...
So you see where playing it safe and trying to do things fair does get you. The only thing honesty gets you in this world is the ability to ask for grease... Sometimes...

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » April 30th, 2017, 12:05 pm

Anyone realise today is the 45th day of notice for the ipsl folks who were sent home? They should have been paid their severance by now. I know Franklyn Khan was rel talkin big about getting gas for those 2 methanol plants (m1 & m2) but as usual they gone quiet and the retrenchment notice period is over so cant call them retrenched folks back to work.

I also notice the m4 plant like it shutting down every week now since frankie "give" them gas. Anyone know if they have plant problems or if ngc just taking the gas back at will? m4 have a 3 month contract but this first month them probably shut down 4 times already. Wouldnt be surprised if ngc take back the gas though. it have contracted plants that not receiving enough gas because frankie wanted to give m4 gas for 3 months. I done see more ngc lawsuits in they tail. is ah no win situation

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 30th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Boy nobody really knows what is going on. Everything is speculative even in upstream

the only easy day was yesterday

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » April 30th, 2017, 6:47 pm

I was wondering about the upstream sector as well. the pm and his minister of everything came back from the us claiming all these great things gonna happen for gas in the country yet now everything gone quiet too.

Postby tr1ad » April 30th, 2017, 11:16 pm

Yea but the Bp "investment" is nothing new they "negotiated"

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » May 1st, 2017, 6:08 am

true that. that US trip was one big pr stunt

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 1st, 2017, 8:34 am

True true. BP is given all permission to rape our lands and enslave the people. If people thinks that we ever came out of the colonial system they lied.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » May 2nd, 2017, 5:28 am

M4 was having some plant issues. Hopefuly the retrenched men get tru with some of these jobs floating around. But what would be interesting is the men who are still employed, if they leave the company to go mitsubishi, petrotrin and texas and leave ipsl high and dry....

Postby tr1ad » May 2nd, 2017, 9:02 am

Texas ? Lol work permits very hard to come by unless it's a very specialised field .... Which the US would already have; they would settle for local.. but the amount home its best stay where they are

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 2nd, 2017, 9:48 am

Nu iron buying mittal?

Piggymus Prime

Postby Piggymus Prime » May 2nd, 2017, 10:01 am

Curtms wrote:Nu iron buying mittal?

Where you hear that from bro?

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2017, 7:17 pm

That would interesting...

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 3rd, 2017, 10:06 pm

So anyone know how much ppl gonna get buss from petro.
....after this audit...anyone from petro in here to give us any details....??

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 3rd, 2017, 10:28 pm

^^^ Not from petro but I know some well informed people working there.
From what I've been told is that they want to cut the majority of the temp people so maybe around close to about 2xxx. I heard that they will begin to pool workers together. An example would be to have all the electrical men in one area instead of have them spread out to different areas. It will basically work like this, all electricians in one department, if it have a job they will send the required amount of workers, at that point they will be able to see how many people they really need for that specific department and cut the unnecessary workers and reduce overstaffing. This same principal will continue to other departments such as Mechanical, operations etc. The company might recommend giving certain workers more task, so it will lead to certain other workers becoming redundant and therefore cut.
Also a good bit of the unessential admin staff will more than likely get let go.
They will bring in a large number of contractors to fill the void. It will be cheaper since you don't gotta pay no benefits and other things.
Remember all of this is speculative at the moment until the audit is complete, plus we're not sure how the union might react.
I also heard that the company that is performing the audit has been given an extension, so we'll have to wait closer to year end for the final verdict.