Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Cantmis

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Cantmis » April 27th, 2017, 6:26 pm

BlackOps2 wrote:First is d family and friends selection. Then the blindfold selection where they jus choose some out of d hundreds randomly and throw away the rest

Well lucky me ...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 27th, 2017, 7:54 pm

Petrotrin will call a couple hundred people give them an exam.
After the exam they will discard all who don't have links(if you don't receive a call an ask a reason why, them will say ya fail de exam).
If it have anything remaining them might give a fella a bligh.
I've seen it and lived it!

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2017, 8:04 pm

^^ it is known.

steven

Postby steven » April 27th, 2017, 8:17 pm

good day, I recently saw nu - iron is accepting application for process technician do anyone know whats the hours of work and salary?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » April 27th, 2017, 9:04 pm

steven wrote:good day, I recently saw nu - iron is accepting application for process technician do anyone know whats the hours of work and salary?

shift work about 9 k + operator

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 27th, 2017, 9:04 pm

8 or 12 hrs?

the only easy day was yesterday

Postby De Dragon » April 28th, 2017, 12:20 am

trinidrift wrote:8 or 12 hrs?

12, 2 days, 2 nights, 4 off like most of the Estate.

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » April 28th, 2017, 12:44 am

urbandilema wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:Hema looks yummy tho

She does look good...all the gym she does

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 7:54 am

I prefer sigonie but Heima could get hit too

10-01

Postby 10-01 » April 28th, 2017, 9:51 am

trinidrift wrote:8 or 12 hrs?

12, 2 days, 2 nights, 4 off like most of the Estate.

corrct :!:

Piggymus Prime

Postby Piggymus Prime » April 28th, 2017, 11:30 am

steven wrote:good day, I recently saw nu - iron is accepting application for process technician do anyone know whats the hours of work and salary?
Last edited by Piggymus Prime on May 6th, 2017, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gencon

Postby gencon » April 28th, 2017, 2:14 pm

so why the hell petrotrin post that add on caribbean jobs.com?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 2:45 pm

Because they don't want anyone in the public to see it and would have a valid excuse to only hire people who knew about it internally

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 28th, 2017, 2:46 pm

instantfrugality wrote:so why the hell petrotrin post that add on caribbean jobs.com?

Just to show d public they advertise for the job....many ppl who wrk there have no qualifications they get in there cause they have a LINK which i find is dog sheit....give qualified ppl the opportunity....then again if you not of African decent hard luck padna....it would be really hard for u to get in trust me i know....

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 3:13 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:so why the hell petrotrin post that add on caribbean jobs.com?

Just to show d public they advertise for the job....many ppl who wrk there have no qualifications they get in there cause they have a LINK which i find is dog sheit....give qualified ppl the opportunity....then again if you not of African decent hard luck padna....it would be really hard for u to get in trust me i know....

X2 even if your family is the HR manager once your an Indian you can suck salt

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 28th, 2017, 3:20 pm

trinidrift wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:

You need to ask yourself if petrotrin a stable company they in alot of debt...if one was to leave their permanent job and go there to work and things go south then you are the first to be sent home...that company is going to crash and burn....all other companies in trinidad sent home workers petrotrin has not sent home anyone and they running at a lost....makes u wonder when ppl gonna get axe....the company can only carry them so far but trust me a storm is gonna it that company and their staff is gonna be reduce by 55% be wise before leaving your stable job to go for an uncertain job....

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 3:42 pm

That's true but as my brother always says there is no permanent job anymore so there is alot of uncertainty abour

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » April 28th, 2017, 4:14 pm

trinidrift wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:

X3 if u an African want a job as a doctor in the health sector

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 9:10 pm

sinister_14 wrote:

Most of the guys I know in there have nothing less than a diploma. They doing thier bachelor's degree right now. All have excellent work ethics.
When the older heads go home and they take over the company might head in the right direction..

Petro running a loss right now as they paying off the debt jones built up. When that is paid off things might get better.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 9:16 pm

sinister_14 wrote:

Most of the guys I know in there have nothing less than a diploma. They doing thier bachelor's degree right now. All have excellent work ethics.
When the older heads go home and they take over the company might head in the right direction..

Petro running a loss right now as they paying off the debt jones built up. When that is paid off things might get better.

Nobody is saying that isn't true but due to your CAREFUL EDIT of the whole quote it shows that you are in favour of the unfair hiring practices at play here and you cannot be taken seriously by the public at large especially me

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 9:24 pm

trinidrift wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:

Nobody is saying that isn't true but due to your CAREFUL EDIT of the whole quote it shows that you are in favour of the unfair hiring practices at play here and you cannot be taken seriously by the public at large especially me

HR recently asked people to submit their paperwork. Bamscees of those who got in jusso were quaking.
I know plenty people working in there that have no family employed with the company. But as usual the select few does paint a bad picture in the public eye and now everyone thinks is only freind and family in there.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 9:34 pm

What select few? Petro is so well known for this practice that many and that includes myself have given up on trying to get in and have ventured into other companies. I personally have links both friends and family in all different capacities within the organisation and they are all saying the same thing the biggest chance of getting through is either being of African descent or being able to pull major cables to get in or be of a certain political affiliation. So to say people does get in just so with no help is a VERY rare that no1 ever believes it occurs.

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 9:36 pm

Plenty he say she say.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 9:40 pm

I am speaking from personal experience not heresay

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 9:55 pm

You just said your family and friends say.
Make up your mind

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 9:59 pm

Yes I did because that is what was told to me by persons within the HR department especially

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 10:07 pm

So is he say and she say then?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » April 28th, 2017, 10:12 pm

If coming directly from petro he department is he say she say then yes

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2017, 10:14 pm

You ask 5 different people in hr the same question, you get 5 different answers.
Dont believe me, call them Monday bright and early.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 28th, 2017, 10:57 pm

From what I know with respect to petrotrin's hiring practice is this:
The majority of jobs are advertised​ internally, these jobs are given to the union so they will put their candidates up for selection. This is due to some agreement that the union has with the company. So you have to know someone to even know there is a vancacy in the first place and you need someone to drop in your application in the union office. Next, even though your application inside that doesn't guarantee you will get through. If a big man call hr an say hire a particular person them gotta do it, so that's a next hurdle you gotta pass through.
Also from what I understand some of the hiring practices and also contracts given is influenced by politics.
The pnm in government in office right now, and their party supporters are mainly from a particular race so they link up their soldiers, the same goes for the unc when then in power. It's mostly a case of nepotism rather than racial discrimination, cause let's be honest here, it ain't no random Indian or African getting hired.
Also concerning the public job advertisements that is usually nothing more than a formality. I remember someone applied an got true with a job, and about a few months later the advertisement for the job came out to do no more than waste people time.
Also with respect to the the idea that people get through with almost no qualifications is somewhat true.
I personally know a few men who would fall into that pool, however they got their qualifications eventually. Also there was a case a few years ago with people using fake cxc and city&guilds qualifications.
I remember there was a guy from my area who was caught got fired for it, but was eventually rehired because he get linked up again.