sMASH wrote:not-the-mama will reference leekoko for u... (or what ever it is the saying that they say.)
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Rowley could do anything he wants because he knows UNC will not win, Kamla and the Cabal will make sure that UNC never wins another election.
So Rowley can be lazy and just tax everybody and not worry about anything. This is not the legendary pandey/ramesh UNC this is the joke UNC run by retards, Rowley have nothing to fear.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Rowley could do anything he wants because he knows UNC will not win, Kamla and the Cabal will make sure that UNC never wins another election.
So Rowley can be lazy and just tax everybody and not worry about anything. This is not the legendary pandey/ramesh UNC this is the joke UNC run by retards, Rowley have nothing to fear.
greggle71 wrote:I could live with a land and building tax but was never in favour of using the rental value as a basis. Developing my own space which indirectly increases my utility consumption should be reflected in my utility bills and not the property value. I prefer they meter my water so I could control that spend rather than a new bathroom that increases my property value and net tax.
What makes better sense is a square feet calculation based on a zoning definition, residential, commercial or industrial. Within each type you create tiers based on infrastructure and environmental factors.
If I want to live in Westmoorings or Valsyn or Gulf View which may be the top tier residential zone then based on my square footage I will know what is payable etc.
It also gives governments the impetus to continuously enhance infrastructure within zones to move communities up through the tiers and increase revenue. Better roads and utility supply, crime, education, access to health facilities, sporting and green spaces are some of the indices that can be factored.
The proposed scheme just creates complexities that causes confusion.
adnj wrote:Are you saying that you would rather base rates on a calculation of square footage per defined locale and type of property?
If you are, that is essentially the way that a property evaluation is done to assess value. You can get a per square foot value of most property in Trinidad based on location and intended usage.greggle71 wrote:I could live with a land and building tax but was never in favour of using the rental value as a basis. Developing my own space which indirectly increases my utility consumption should be reflected in my utility bills and not the property value. I prefer they meter my water so I could control that spend rather than a new bathroom that increases my property value and net tax.
What makes better sense is a square feet calculation based on a zoning definition, residential, commercial or industrial. Within each type you create tiers based on infrastructure and environmental factors.
If I want to live in Westmoorings or Valsyn or Gulf View which may be the top tier residential zone then based on my square footage I will know what is payable etc.
It also gives governments the impetus to continuously enhance infrastructure within zones to move communities up through the tiers and increase revenue. Better roads and utility supply, crime, education, access to health facilities, sporting and green spaces are some of the indices that can be factored.
The proposed scheme just creates complexities that causes confusion.
Monkey Man wrote:but im only seeing things for renters there
. what about the people who own homes?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Monkey Man wrote:but im only seeing things for renters there
the tax is based on the potential rental value of the property. So you will be taxed based on what your property would be rented for if you were to rent it.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so wah going on with men who like to build without approvals
ADONI wrote:^^Paint sales go drop now!!!
hydroep wrote:The $ 3000.00 per month rental figure they're using in that illustration is extremely conservative even for modest homes in urban areas. No doubt, it was chosen to appease the masses by making the calculated tax look reasonable.
There'll be surprises a plenty when the final assessments are done. Prepare yourselves.
Monkey Man wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Monkey Man wrote:but im only seeing things for renters there
the tax is based on the potential rental value of the property. So you will be taxed based on what your property would be rented for if you were to rent it.
so if i rel struggle to buy a piece of lann in the bush and build a small dwelling. Then all of a sudden the place get bright and mall and movie town and ting get build... my tail will get wail.
Phone Surgeon wrote:what they gonna do with land and houses that in contention before the courts though